Rent Assassin's Creed for PS3
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.5

14674 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must play!!!

posted by llcoolme (VISTA, CA) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

38 out of 40 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This game, I admit took a while to grow on me. Between the seemingly repetitive missions and confusing storyline, I nearly returned it. I decided to give it one more try. I'm glad I did because as the plot thickened I found myself immersed in the story of the once great assassin, fallen from glory, trying to redeem himself and restore the faith once given to him by his brotherhood and trusted master. This, with the aid of a rather surprising plot twist of the games introduction, is where it gets interesting, and addictive, leaving you wanting to know what's going to happen next. There were a few minor glitches where i swung my sword at an enemy and when he blocked it he sunk in the ground ( I thought that was pretty cool though). One time the game froze, just once, no biggie. That aside, the game play was fluid with large maps and plenty of things to keep you occupied. Like scaling large buildings overlooking the city to get info on your assassination targets. To helping out civilians in distress who will in turn assist you in fleeing the scene of a messy assassination. The controls take some practice to get the character to perform the intended movements (i.e. you have the option of kill or stun during combat). Fortunately, the game has a training ground where you can hone your many skills. The graphics on my hdtv make me proud to own a ps3. This was one of the better games I've played in a while. took me 2.5 wks on and off to beat. The game was not short though, with an ending that will leave you waiting for he sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

altair just passedUpThePrince,w/o stopping time

posted by mike6002 (CRANDON, WI) Dec 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

29 out of 31 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

the game is repeditive, that is the only reason it got a 9 and not a 10. But the worlds, tha AI and what you can grab/climb is out of this world, the game will remind you of prince of persia but only for a few seconds, because once your on your horse riding to the city you will find out how much more indepent you are as Altair. the controls are pretty spot on, little tricky to learn but work great. the frame rate rarely, and mean almost never jumps, which means you can have hundreds of people on screen at once and never have to worry about missing a jump off a roof or into a hay stack, the story is a little weird, nothing like you would think just from screens, but it seems to work. hopeing for a sequel with more and more powers or at least some kind of power.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good Game!!

posted by fattyboy30 (BELLEVUE, WA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great. As soon as I got it from Gamefly i popped it into my ps3 and i couldn't stop playing it. I loved how the creators made the game so you feel like your apart of the historic cities. The character designs are perfect and the story line is awesome. I ended up buying the game after i rented it. I suggest this game to RPG gamers and to anyone who like a little history in their games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

repetitive but fun

posted by nathandrake (ASTORIA, OR) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now i'm writing this after I played every other assassin's creed game exept ac 3. So far ac 2 is the best but not the best at evrything. This is much more intresting story and it's harder as well. That said it gets very repetitive go to town, get information, get permision to kill guy, kill guy. All the information stuff is boring except for mabye picking pockets. The actual assassination is fun wether stealth or running in with a sword. Oh by the way don't do extra side missions it's useless you get no more information because you don't ever get any information from them. It is fun all in all but just a reall good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ABSOLUTE MONSTER

posted by HD7BBG (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Creed is a gem, especially on the PS3. Having Hi Def. makes the game play and graphics great! I admit the first few days were pretty confusing, but after the plot started getting deeper and the more goodies I unlocked, I fell in love!! Those looking to play it, your in for a treat!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassin's Creed Was A Great Game

posted by smorri1 (ANTELOPE, CA) Dec 3, 2013

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was my first time playing the Assassin's Creed Franchise. I was really having alot of fun playing this game, it was pretty easy to get the hang of the game play, the Graphics were outstanding, I really liked the Cloud effects in the game, it was great. I loved the Viewpoints in the game it was a great look to your enviroment. I really liked the counter kills and the silent kills, the animation were very impressive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassin's Creed

posted by Assassinofkings (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Jan 24, 2013

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Warning: This game is in fact very repetitive. BUT this does not mean it isn't worth the play. Just me but I recommend you at least try this game before going to the others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game.

posted by xrgamer (INDIO, CA) Nov 11, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

my reason for playing this game was to find out more about the series.. that being said without trophies there is little icentives to collect all the collectibles or fully sync your memories,,
now the disc itslef seemed to randomly stop working towards the end.
the game is worth a rent but i wouldnt recomend a buy unless your a die hard fan of the series. the game does have a story yet desmound is hardly answered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Art of Assassination

posted by SilentHillSF (JANESVILLE, WI) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing...a genre buster to be exact.....the game combines go anywhere, do anything gameplay where you can explore entire cities and do the main story or do well....repititive but still fun side missions and has some of the most addictive combat out of any game I've ever played...and Altair is an amazingly created protagonist who is extremely likeable....but the story can be confusing and not really having a satisifying ending but it's enough to keep you in suspfense (if your a first time player and you haven't played any other game in the series like me.) for Assassin's Creed II

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Bosnmate (FORT WORTH, TX) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have always been a fan of Assassin's Creed. I would sometimes play the first rather than the Assassin's Creed Brotherhood. I recommend anyone who likes these types of games to seriously consider playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by johnroth (LAKELAND, FL) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS AMAZING ALTAIR SOUNDS STUPID WITH HIS AMERICAN ACCENT INTEAD OF MIDDLE EASTERN ACCENT BUT GAME HAS GREAT GRAPHICS AMAZING GAMEPLAY AND IS MUCH MORE FUN WHEN U GET GOOD ENOUGH TO FIGHT 30 MEN WITH YOUR HIDDEN BLADE (ME) GETS A LITTLE REPEATING BUT IS AN AMAZING GAME AND NEVER GETS OLD BECAUSE OF THE LARGE MAP.ONE THING I WISH THEY DID WAS MAKE YOUR PLAYER CUSTOMIZABLE AND BE ABLE TO CHANGE THE COLOR OF YOUR PLAYERS CLOTHES HOWEVER ALL IN ALL THIS GAME IS DEFINATELY WORTH RENTING OR BUYING. 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BGE

posted by JoeBob14 (NEVADA CITY, CA) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Best Game Ever!!!!

non combat game play: loved it, being able to jump on every surface sneak up on people and kill them so fun!

combat game play: a new step into combat with both video and non-video combat

A.I.: great, kind of annoying because its hard to hide but it makes it ever more real

videos: never seen anything like it you can actually move in the cut scenes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The truth About The game

posted by TyrantRDFL (GLENDALE, NY) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Sep 2004

42 out of 50 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

My reason for giving it a score of a 7 is simple. While the game looks great and controls really good , the game itself gets repetitive. Here is the breakdown
You go to a city access all view points so you know where to go , save some citizens, Speak to informers and the leader of the bureau then kill your target. I have yet to see anything else different in the game. Its a cool game but not nothing extraordinary. Its a good rental not worthy of a purchase. I hope my review helps. I like to keep my reviews simple and to the point. No need for all the details on the story yada yada yada.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is one creed you will want to follow

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Assasins creed i was shaky on i read mixed reviews some good some bad but when i played it i loved it. playing as an assaisan is a genre in itself it's very unique gameplay you can assasinate,hide,and do much more unlike some action adventure games where you just barge in you take subtle aprroaches after all it is your mind your playing in. you will have options how you want to fight be stealthy,or just go out sword swinging with that there so many more things you can do in assasins creed you'll just have to follow that creed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Freezing Disappointment

posted by Ravenheart (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

30 out of 37 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

When I first begun the game I didn't understand the score IGN had stamped the title. It became more obvious as time went on. I stay down and played the game out right for 3 days taking in everything I could until the very end. The journey was not at all as fun as I was hoping. It had its moments, and the storyline was interesting to say the least, but the game was disappointing. It felt like a movie to game title, and then I realized that the progression of the game played out too similar to the Spiderman franchise. It soon became very repetitive and the VA of each citizen became painfully annoying, repeating the same lines to the point where I just muted the game. Moreover, the AI was terrible, they attack you one at a time, and can sometimes be completely oblivious to a murder in their exact line of sight. You'll see for yourself. If that wasn't enough the game is guaranteed to freeze on you before completion. You will find infinite load times, and plenty of character turn a-rounds in frozen environments. This game is heavy in its flaws but fantastic in execution. Learning the interface was the most fun I had with the game, but as time went on, I just wanted it all to end. The game has those next-gen visuals, but not the next-gen game play I'd been waiting for... Lastly, to sum this up, I enjoyed the small innovations that the game had to offer (which wasn't much), but after all these Jade Raymond interviews, 3 years of development, and all the commercial hype... and this was the final product? I hope there's more to this than I'm seeing and they can clean up the issues they had with this title and give us the experience promised for the next one. I was really looking forward to this, it was really a fantastic concept, but what a let down. I give it at 7.4/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just read the review...

posted by ANDYman (FENTON, MI) Nov 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

30 out of 41 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

first off, i completely agree with what the user thorvault had to say... I found myself climbimg more than anything, the beginning was extremely confusing,pickpoketing is annoying. My problam with this is i cant play this for any longer than 30 minutes because it gets repetative. There are positives about this game tho. Amazing graphics, cool music, killing in this game is very entertaining, and most of all its not just a reguler shooter like most games... I highly suggest you renting this before you buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Expected a lot more

posted by Ehhhhh (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Great game if you enjoy walking around and doing nothing. Graphics are great, with a good concept just gets really old really fast. I could only play it for a couple hours before I just gave up. Rent it before buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect Sandbox Adventure

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

21 out of 29 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

This is a perfect sandbox game, the AI is very
realistic if you turn your back to an enemy expect to get stabbed, jump from rooftop to rooftop never gets old nor does the leap of faith
to the ground, the graphics are beyond beautiful and the sound is crystal clear and stunning. the developers did an amazing job on character control, the low profile movement and high profile movement switch makes it very easy to
perform exactly what you want to do. other developers need to take note. this game is well worth playing over and over

Total score 10
graphics 10
Storytelling 10
sound 10
control 10
gameplay 9.5
Fun factor 9.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Almost great

posted by Thorvault (SANTA ROSA, CA) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

First off, I will start with the pro's. Great graphics, good music, good story (at first), and amazing sandbox free roaming. Now the con's. Glitchy... very very glitchy. easily became repetitive, and towards the end of the game you no longer needed to be sneaky, just ended in a big sword fight for the last 3 or 4 assassinations. The ending was BS!!!! I have never seen such a lame ending in god knows how long. You will find yourself climbing more then actually killing, Game should be called climber's creed.

In no way is this a bad game, if it was I would have scored it less, It just doesn't live up to all the hype. They should have delayed it to work out the glitches, instead of rushing it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Something new outside shooting games

posted by skey11 (NORFOLK, VA) Nov 14, 2007

Member since May 2007

30 out of 45 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's an awesome game the look at, the graphics and sharp and the visuals are great. The storyline has a smooth twist that you may not think about which makes this game a must play. The combat could be a little better but the fact of the free climbing and roaming feature they have makes up for it. You can climb up on anything that appears to have a ledge and jump freely to another object with ease. You are going to need both on certain missions to escape the enemy being that they are just a quick as you are. When you earn counter kills is makes the game especially useful in 10 on 1 situations although only one enemy attacks at a time. The stealth is the best approach but it's always fun to test your might. Great game to have. Something refreshing outside the sequels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great until the end

posted by sagusam (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I liked the entire game until I reached the very end because this game had the worst ending of any game that I can ever remeber playing. It was like the ending to the second Matrix it just ends at a very crucial point in the game and I hate that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SOLID

posted by angelfan16 (COVINA, CA) Dec 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Really good game thats a bit repetative, but the overall swagger and just the plain fun of how you slice and dice your enemies makes you jump into the repetative gameplay head first. Overall the game looks great and makes up for the gameplay in plot and just plain overall fun. WHO doesnt like walking up behind somebody, shanking them in the back, and getting away with it untouched. Scaling around cities and exploring everything makes this game a total and absolute must!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could have been a lot better

posted by commyj1 (VALPARAISO, IN) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was pretty excited about this game until I played it. The missions are very repetitive, always having to climb up buildings and pickpocket people becomes very annoying. The game control isn't that great and my PS3 froze about 5 or 6 times in the 3 or 4 days I played it. The game has a good story line and the next game in the series has real potential. Dont buy this game, just rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GAME OF THE YEAR!!!!!!!!!!

posted by crocks (SALEM, OR) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I don't know about halo 3 but from the games that i have played this is by far the best... EVER!!!!!!!!!!

But ever time i play it is VERY hard if you accidentally fall off a tall building, still if you are a parent and your kid wants this game, and they are responsible and aren't easily influenced by video games, GET IT!!!

I hope this is Useful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Title

posted by ShadowHawk (ARLINGTON, VA) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I read the reviews from the "big companies" and some things they are right about, others, couldn't be further from the truth.

Yeah, you learn a fact that some say could wait until later in the game, I say, it is important. Why? Because how everything is, the visuals and whatnot. If you do not know, you will see.

The story is pretty good. Some parts are long winded, but you know what... when the characters talk and their mouths move with the words and not just open up and down like a puppet, that is fine.

There aren't really cut scenes per se in the game. Even when there is a cut scene rolling, you can move about or change to a different camera angle.

The visuals are absolutely stunning. You can see way out into the distance and the people moving about. This is not a game for quick action junkies. If you run around the city and jump on top of roofs, the citizens DO notice and they talk about it. The guards get interested and soon you are the center of attention.

The animation of the fights, climbing, running, falling, riding the horse (although combat on horseback is lacking) all is superbly done.

The acrobatics of the game are not using any crazy button combos but allows you to do things without really trying. This is both good and bad.

Good because while running from a fight, or chasing someone or even trying to take a short cut, you don't have to worry about hitting certain buttons and moving and your surroundings and lets you have a more enjoyable experience.

Bad is due to the fact you are simply in essence, running back, kiting, losing agro and then move back into combat range. Or just mindlessly running forward and watching yourself doing the hopping around.

Scaling buildings is breathtaking, but unforgiving if a mistake is made, and you will make mistakes. Fall too high and you die.

I really really do like how they put a twist on being an assassin here.
Never kill and innocent
Never let them know who you are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse