Rent Assassin's Creed Revelations for PS3
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed Revelations

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

7250 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Yet

posted by goget17 (AMES, IA) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

41 out of 48 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Assassin's Creed Revelations is the best title to come out of the series so far. The detail of constantinople is breathtaking, along with Masayaf that we get to return to with Altair. The first game was lacking quite a bit and I'm very happy Ubisoft told Altair's story once more in Revelations. Revelation's ties up the plot nicely and the characters are much more interesting then in previous releases. The only bad thing I can say about it is that there is not as much new as I could have hoped for, and the den defense part of the game is a bit tedious. Repetition seems like the formula in these games, but I can look past that when it comes to Ezio's amazing story.
+Gameplay
+Interesting Gripping Story
+Returning to Altair's story and tying up the plot
-Den Defense and Repetitive sidequests

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Assassin's Creed Revelations Review....

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) Nov 19, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2011

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Assassin's Creed Revelations is an eye popping gorgeous game. The story is brain bustingly amazing. There is so much right about this game, and then there is some wrong in this game.

There can be lags when you're climbing up a building and jumping up onto the roof from the side. The frame rate isn't the greatest, just like most of the other Assassin's Creed games. When you circle the camera around Ezio or Desmond or even Altair, that's right, you finally get to play as Altair again, the screen looks as if some of the picture is jumping apart. I can deal with that, but some people would end up having a stroke, those are the people who are obsessed with Assassin's Creed games and wanting them to be perfect.

They capture Ezio's age perfectly. The fact that he's somewhere around 50 now is the fact that in some of the cut scenes after you jump up a building or run after someone, Ezio is out of breath. It's a perfect feature to the game that ups the scoring, the fact that they have some realism in it.

Definitely a good game with the story and the graphics, but they should really consider a better engine for the sanctity of the frame rate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game needed another year of design....

posted by Darwin67 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I am about 98% done with the game....and the only word that comes to mind is, 'really?'. Revelations, while a stunning game visually, has truly fell short of its potential. A fan of the series, I had a tremendous amount of enthusiasm to play out the stories of what have become two very enigmatic characters.

While the game has remained somewhat true to it's premise. I was surprised to see that much of what made the game fun in the previous installments have been removed. Contracts, basically gone. Ezio is left to completing just the story line. While he goes about looking for books and fragments, what is lacking are the opportunities to go after evil doing priests, nobles and the like. Having the ability to choose was far more fun than what we are left with now....completing Assasin training missions. Boring. The 'defend the den' mini-game is pointless and tedious. As are the levels on the island where we must restore Desmonds memory. I miss the horses as well as being able to sell collected items in the shops. Ezio also pretty much stays in one area...a fairly small map compared to previous games.

This game definitely needed more than a year of development. It eels rushed and cobbled together and is not a shining example of what this series is capable of....to see that you need only turn to brotherhood.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Visually spectacular

posted by Zerjax (MOBILE, AL) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The difference stereoscopic 3D makes is so substantial I couldn't possibly play without it. In 2D it looks exactly like brotherhood (vomit) and in 3D it looks like AC2 but better! Oh and screentearing is nonexistent, yay! If you're a hardcore fan of the series AC: R is a thing of beauty, especially in stereoscopic 3D.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rehash

posted by BraveSam (DALLAS, TX) May 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All the Assassins Creed squeals are, for the most part, just a rehash. The 2nd time was fun because some of the flaws were fixed and the story was good. I couldn't make it through the third game because the same old routine became boring. I didn't last an hour the 4th time around.
If they want to do Europe again, try the 19th century. The American Revolution or Civil War would be awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Assassins Creed Rocks, But Not This One

posted by ExtraSaucy57 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Worst game of the series..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by apramsh (MODESTO, CA) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Assassin’s Creed: Revelations is, first and foremost, a giant, beautiful sandpit for the player to enjoy at their leisure. They can take out enemy strongholds and build new headquarters on the ruins.

They can recruit assassins to their guild and send them off on secret missions through Europe, Africa and the Middle East. They can bribe thugs or Romany women to distract guards while they help themselves to trinkets or the contents of a passer-by’s pockets.

They can use a Hook Blade to grab hold of roof ledges or rip out the throats of their opponents. They can craft a large array of bombs. They can defend their guilds against armies of attackers in a tower-defence game.

They can buy equipment, collect earnings and renovate buildings. But best of all, they can parkour through the game’s vast open expanse, shimmy up towers, leap from building to building and engage in a lot of swordplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Minor Annoyance doesn't deminish it's qual

posted by Misfit77 (DENVER, CO) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love the AC series and I'm happy Ubisoft has found it's anchor franchise in this time of economic downturn. AC Revelations is a great new chapter in the ACII saga. It is truly the last mission for Ezio and Altair's story. It maintains the great additions of AC2 and Brotherhood and that's great, because as we know, Revelations is merely a plot ending story and not a new beginning. Having said that, for a story that is supposed to tie up a story, the story doesn't stand on its own. I never felt truly impressed or hooked to the story. I was merely playing to find out what happens before AC3 comes out next year. It was a bit disappointing. The other misstep... Tower Defense. A most pointless and silly exercise that breaks up the plot and the flow of the game. I hope Ubisoft never implements this in any future AC games. Leave a good thing the way it is and make the story the driving force. At the end of the day, AC Revelations is still very enjoyable and remains a great swan song for Ezio and Altair's characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was good not great

posted by goalguy47 (DENVER, CO) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

coming into this playing the whole series i am slightly (only slightly) disappointed. This game could have been soo much more. i remember thinking while i was about half way through it that this game must have been made to kkep us gamers interested in the series. there were numerous glitches and faults to the game that made me believe that they didnt work very hard on this title and instead are trying to add to the story so that the final game make more sense and to tie everything together. overall a decent game. not as good as the last one or AC2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not sure

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I think it was a amazing game. I liked it but i have to say the story is getting boring. Going to place after place battling templars. It isn't getting funner but boring. The best part for me customizing my cloths Colors FTW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Assassins Creed Revelations - Good but Not Great

posted by jmorales1981 (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Overall I will say that I enjoyed Revelations as a whole, but there was some pretty obvious designed mistakes with that game that I just don’t understand how they made it to the final version of the game. Take for instance a contested Den when the Templars attack. You make your way to the Den and fight a couple of Templars before you can interact with the Den door so you can open up the now Infamous Tower Defense mini game. As you get through the Tower Defense games they get increasingly more and more difficult with them finally coming to a final wave of Templars pushing a massive cannon siege weapon that 1 shots defenses in mere seconds.

Defeating the siege weapon is quite challenging no matter how you put it. Luckily for me I beat it finally with a lot of strategy and a great degree of difficulty. You basically have to have 20 riflemen alive and ready to attack the siege weapon by the time it comes out. Not to mention you have to use your own cannon to fire back at it. However you have to hit it at least 2 to 3 times with your own cannon to really make a difference. Now after ALL that work you successfully defend your den, but lets say you don’t win and lose your den to the Templars. You then load into a world where the Templars have your Den back. Here is where the game fails MISERABLY…

All you need to do is kill two random highlighted targets that wander around close to where you loaded or a Captain that just stands there doing nothing waiting for a knife in the back. Then you climb the tower to light the pyre to signal you have taken the den back. Here is the point. It takes LESS than 30 seconds and only TWO kills (tops) to get the den back but it required hundreds of troops and almost 10 minutes for the Templars to bring an army at you only to defend it with a captain or two small officers.

This is RIDICULOUS. Ubisoft really fell short with this game and could have made it great. The only saving grace is the storyline. It's ok, but just not good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Assassin's Creed Recollections

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Nov 17, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Played Assassin's Creed? Pretty good right? Ambitious and awesome for a new IP huh?

Hey there. Played Assassin's Creed II? Pretty good huh? Like, AMAZING right? Incredibe the amount of improvements they've made from the first one. The graphics, story, dialogue, all good.

Hey, you play Assassin's Creed Brotherhood? It's like Assassin's Creed II but 100% better right? Which is crazy because II was so freakingly amazingly awesome and yet, somehow, someway, this is better. Absolutely amazing.

Hey, check this out. It's Assassin's Creed: Revalations. It's the 4th installment in the series, the 3rd and last installment in the Assassin's Creed II story arc and you know what? It's AWESOME. Just enough improvements to keep the game fresh and exciting and build some excitement for Assassin's Creed III.

It will be familiar, but in a good way. There's plenty of new stuff. Enjoy the great story and look forward to next year's installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Disappointing, but worth playing

posted by PJgirl (RUTLEDGE, TN) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

After the last two games, I had high expectations and was sadly disappointed. The story mode was extremely short, with too many repetitive mundane missions. Gorgeous graphics, but with such a small play area, shouldn't they be? One of the appeals of Assassin's Creed is the wide open spaces between different cities, but here your stuck, with only one chance to travel outside the preset boundaries. So, if your bored and want to pass some time and revisit a character you like immensely, then definitely play it. But, if you are expecting it to be even better than it's predecessors, just stick with the first two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Brotherhood... Part 2

posted by JahSoulSun (LINDENWOLD, NJ) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Gonna make it short. This game is over rated. I loved brotherhood, so many new additions to the series. This new game revelations feels more like an expansion. Now you can throw bombs... great (sarcastic). The tower based strategy new addition is boring and time consuming. I would rather enter a giant battle with all my assassins and go into real time combat. If you just played brotherhood recently as I have, you may find yourself disappointed with this game. Def rent, don't buy, or just play brotherhood over. The main campaign story line is so bad throughout the series, you won't be missing much in the new addition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

have to pay for multiplayer!!!

posted by gogocats (OWENSBORO, KY) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

read the title

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pure open world bliss

posted by joeclay_RISING (UNION CITY, IN) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic!I'm only a few hours in and i must say this game probably has the Best graphics ive seen so far on ps3(if you know of any games with better graphics let me know.)The story has been pretty interesting and the fighting sequences flow together very well.Along with the best free running action ive seen so far.I would easily rate this game a 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

One to many Assassins Creed games for me.

posted by burtgolleher (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 29, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Ive played all of them including the prior outing AC Brotherhood, and I just cant get past the repetitive nature of the series. Theyve implemented some new features this time around, and the game is gorgeous, but at its core its the same formula as previous efforts, and it just couldnt get me hooked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AC Revalations

posted by gaggor922 (COVINGTON, IN) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Should have rented first.
Not paticulary what I hoped for.
Graphics are the best I have seen in a ps3 game yet!
But, it was like they took everthing fom AC Brotherhood and made it worse.
Id rather play brotherhood again than this.
Story is not that great either.
The whole thing kinda bored me. :/

Kind of a waste of 60 bucks.

Still worth the rent though! But I bought it.
coulda did with out it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst ever

posted by buumoj2 (BROOMFIELD, CO) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 20 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

They took everything good about the assassins creed video games and made it the worst. The hook blade is the same button as drop causing you to fall to your death. Also all the missions leave you on the sidelines instead of fighting your enemies. There is a new army feature which makes you a general, its so boring, you sit there and place your soldiers and watch them fight, if I wanted to play risk I would have rented it. Please get back to action and forget the story line, if this game was really any good like the critics say it would not be available now on the rental queue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ditto

posted by ArkerX (MANASSAS PARK, VA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Same game as the first three, but they saved all of the glitches too! Go buy it this one so they will release it next year as Assassin's Creed 5: The Redundancy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ONE flaw

posted by CODgod1996 (POTOSI, MO) Nov 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This is an absolutely perfect game unless your playing for the main story. Revilations doesn't move the main story arc at all except saying were Desmond and the other assassins need to go. But it does tell Desmond's backstory provided you can find the Animus memory (which replaces flags, feathers) the gameplay was awesome the added hook blade made free-running so much better and made combat look cooler. You do need an online pass to play multiplayer but they give you a free 3 day trial, from what I've played it looks like they reused maps from brotherhood and added a couple new ones. But all in all 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Meh, just Meh.

posted by phycopath (CINCINNATI, OH) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

I can't put my finger on it but i wasn't really to into this one. My expectaions after the second one may have been too high but i just expected better than this. It just seems like a game that would have been popular in the first month the PS3 came out but not now.

There is a weak storyline for me and you begin with almost everything so i would really only like this is i just beat the second one.

I did like the hookblade on a side note.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Assassin's Creed Revelations

posted by heart3259 (CALCIUM, NY) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

the games just sucks way to much story time, just a real boarding game didn,t like it pay it for 1hr got board with it never again will i rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lame with zero historical value

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 3, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

This isn't much of a review just a reason of why this game is completely lame.

Spanish... 21st generation Spanish... Doesn't exist in 1500s. But for some reason, ROME... Consisted of Arabs and Italians, of whom speak Spanish in this game--Not Latin, not Hebrew or Cyrillic, but SPANISH. Where is the greek or anything relavent too that culture at? Considering Italy didn't become ITALY, until late 1700s. So yea... This game has zero historical value. Which its funny they have a "This game is based from historical advents" .. It doesn't need to be 100 Percent accurate, but seriously... They could have at least got that era correct.

Technically, BUGGY... By far the most buggiest of game I've played that sales at full price. Do they just want to lose their entire fan base? Control elements are clunky... The character had times I would be walking around the grounds and some reason the a rock made me look down... At the ground. Fighting kinda "Snaps" into routine... Its not fluent or dynamic -- It just snaps into the motion and so does many climbing elements.

There is more NPC / AI sandbox characters in this game than there is people on the planet(7 billion). Some reason that country is more populated in the game--in 1500s--then it is right now. That is just a lack-luster of resources consumed. They could have put that into consideration and got rid of 90% of bugs and even added more character details and animations, have they just said -- I don't think there was many people on the planet at that time.

If you wanna play the best Assassins creed play the first one. Ubisoft needs to get rid of whatever person(s) they have coordinating this games production -- Because they must be just pocketing cash, because this game is nothing it advertises to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best

posted by riki1227 (MIAMI, FL) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 30 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

yes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse