Rent Assassin's Creed Revelations for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed Revelations

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

12065 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fantastic for rent

posted by Huntman123 (HOLLY SPRINGS, NC) Jul 8, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Just as addicting as all other AC games. There are a so much more different things they added to the game, such as enemies, weapons (butt load of bombs) and mission types (master assassin missions).

They did however focus way too much on their new addition of bomb making, the online multiplayer community is pathetic to say the least and you get the feeling of "what now" too quick (once you do everything). Plus they do that annoying required free day trial or sign up through U-play to play online.

Definitely worth the rent, definitely not worth the buy. Great game however.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Basically an expansion pack for Brotherhood.

posted by twitchyhooligan (LITTLETON, CO) Apr 17, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Fun, just like Brotherhood - core mechanics and gameplay are exactly the same, this one just continues the storyline. The core missions on this one felt a little more linear - but are still fun.

I went out of my way to avoid the RTS style neighborhood defense missions. I got an Assassin's creed game - If I wanted to play Age Of Empires, I would play Age of Empires.

(No Spoilers.) Also, the carriage and parachute sequences are just downright silly, and really not all that fun. I didn't enjoy them at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good addition to Assassin's Creed series

posted by drock1 (CHARLESTON, SC) Apr 6, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

All the highlights from the old ones with some new additions. Challenges were challenging but not impossible.

I have my usual bone to pick with Ezio's sudden inability to make a free-run/climb action that he more than achieves at other times, a half foot step becoming a ledge, etc. But most of all, they force a scroll of the entire credits to replay the game free-roam. Something I unfortunately discovered after quitting and trying to restart after a good 4 minutes of them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More of the same.

posted by DarthTaint (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Dec 2007

I have been following AC (Assassin's Creed) since the very first title back in late '07. I must say that it has not disappointed me at all, but this particular title has left me with mixed feelings. Aside from the Altair missions, the whole bomb crafting distraction, and Ezio obviously being much older, not much has changed from our last adventure. Of course, the story is immersive and intelligent, with a depth that I have not seen other titles strive for. The world is huge and of course the city is insanely detailed, as we have come to expect as much. Okay, so now that I have stated the obvious, I would like to use my remaining characters for this review to explain why this title falls pretty short.
Let's start with the bomb creation. While it was impressive by itself, this fell very short of what it could have been. While it was impressive in theory, there really was no purpose for it. Where there were certain missions that made mention of bomb usage, you could completely ignore it using another tactic.
Moving on, the arsenal of weaponry hasn't changed much at all. The hook blade was awesome, thoughI saw just about all the weapons from Brotherhood, with minimal new additions, from what I could tell.
The Altair side missions seemed forced and rather out of place, with the original voice actor being absent. While that isn't a big deal, I have yet to determine the real reason for this.
Combat was something left to be desired. The kill animations seemed to last too long, giving another enemy time to attack. I didn't appreciate that.
Everything that was from AC: Brotherhood can be found in Revelations, with some minor additions to gameplay that don't really stand out.
All in all, this game is still a must-have for fans who have been following the series, as the story is one of the main driving forces.
There isn't anything that this game does/has that makes it bad, but they should have titled it "Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood 2" so fans will know what to expect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Assassin's Creed for Geriatrics

posted by 3rd_St_Saint (TERREBONNE, OR) Mar 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

Don't let this review fool you - many of the staples from the previous titles return, as well as subtle saboteurs that try to assassinate you the same way you've done all these years... My gripes are few, but pervasive.

First off, the year is 1510. About... Eight years after Brotherhood? Ezio went from looking 34 to now 67. Desmond as well, who now has grooves in his otherwise fresh face. Altair also returns, but his face has been reconfigured as well, making him look like a young Steve Buscemi. Ouch.

The 'Top' button has been re-configured into your secondary weapon (which, I never quite got used to). Multiplayer costs money for the code (unlike Brotherhood) and Ezio got rid of his cape and instead, replaced it with the fur from his Brutus outfit. The 'Assassin's White' looks pasty at best, and even the storyline was brief, shallow and nowhere near as expansive as either II or Brotherhood.

In fact, Desmond's story is far more interesting than what happens to Ezio this time around, as it greatly moves the plot along, but aside for an alliance that Ezio makes, it's easily forgettable in that it's not personal like it was with the Borgias.

Play it to get caught up (as I did) and don't even bother with the side quests. I'm sure ACIII will wash the taste of this joke out of my mouth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I NEVER GOT IT!!!!!!!

posted by Noriega93 (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I was supposed to get this game 2 months ago I thought it was just taking a while to come but I never got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassins creed revelations

posted by Eric101 (ATOKA, OK) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

It was great nice story very good gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh

posted by waltonky (GRAND BLANC, MI) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I've always liked the story of this series but the gameplay has been hit or miss for me. This title has a suspiciously low required assassination count for this series. But it's mainly filled with lots of stuff that I felt questioning the point of.

The biggest example is the weird tower defense minigame that I played once in the tutorial. I guess it's a punishment for allowing your infamy to get too high. But why would you let it? It's so easy and cheap to bring your notoriety down that it's hardly something that's ever a threat. And the few times I did allow my notoriety to get a little too high nothing happened at all.

Then there's the shop buying which is incredibly annoying to me. I'm not sure why buying everything has to crank my infamy up another 25% but apparently it does. It's strange that buying a shop would crank it higher than killing many soldiers in plain sight does.

There's a large arsenal of weapons and I bought some of them buy to be honest there was never really a reason to use anything other than the assassin knife things and a sword. I didn't even use the bombs because I thought they were incredibly tedious and ultimately not worth my time.

On the plus side, the free running is better than in previous iterations. And that seems to me to be the bane of this series: as the free running improves the rest of the games get bogged down by stuff that I ultimately dislike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun but frustrating controls

posted by Dukesfan (CYPRESS, TX) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

The game's controls are frustrating during fights (counter attacks), but it's fun with a cool location (Italy), and cool characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I did not finish this game

posted by CrkdWookie (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

Which I realize may disqualify me from rating it, but I throw that out there because I think it's telling that it's the only Assassin's Creed game I did NOT finish. I played the heck out of all of the previous ones and came back for whatever DLC they had for dessert - and I'm a guy who tends to play a game for a while then get distracted and never quite finish it.

That said, I did play a lot of the multiplayer in this one, and while I don't know if anyone is still playing it with AC3 out there, I have greatly enjoyed the cat and mouse multiplayer games since they were first introduced to the series.

Here are the main reasons I couldn't be bothered to finish this game:
1. The Desmond stuff. It's the weakest part of any AC game, yet is shoved to the forefront quite a bit. I wish they'd just do a Desmond game where he becomes a proper assassin and get it out of their system. There's an extended sequence where he's trapped in the animus, being haunted by the spirit of a previous test subject, and has to do platforming and solve puzzles to escape. Or something. I honestly got so bored and frustrated with those bits I flipped over to the multiplayer.

2. Ezio is like 60. Ok, well 52-53 to be more precise. Either way, it starts to strain credulity that he's climbing walls and throwing himself off rooftops and not breaking a hip or something, let alone outfighting people who are now half his age.

3. The setting just wore out its welcome. The Renaissance setting was novel at first, and then they had some more story to tell, but by this, the fourth, I think, game starring Ezio both the Italian Renaissance and the hero were starting to wear a bit thin for me.

A very good game but I can't say I'm disappointed that Ubisoft finally decided to move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NICE

posted by 86replay (DELTA, UT) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

Very Much Like AC2 but huge and more of everything I love. The den fights aren't bad either. Less of the Annimus scenes :) Guards to Kill everywhere and you get rewards for it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another addition

posted by Ynotnoswad (TULSA, OK) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This game answers a lot of questions about Enzio, and the Apple Of Eden, as well as the war between the Assassins and The Templars, I hated being trapped in the Animus, but it only added to the games feeling of something impending. There were some hairy parts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

U said game I have

posted by harty43 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I don't even have the freakin game yet still waiting on it. So tell me how can I give u a review ??????????

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

freezes up

posted by Catherine3 (HAZARD, KY) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

The game Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe is freezing up and I can not play it.Sending it back to gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same Game We Know and Love

posted by StoryMode (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Assassin's Creed: Revelations did not revolutionize the series, but it sure was fun to play. Games are often criticized when they don't make grandiose changes to the gameplay or storyline. But in my opinion, if you're doing something right, just keep doing it.

Revelations did introduce faster climbing abilities with the hook blade as well as greater bomb technology which really fleshed out the stealth missions. The added den defense mode was unnecessary in my opinion. It felt thrown on at the last minute, and honestly those who like Assassin's Creed enjoy running on rooftops and raining terror and death down on the streets of Venice and Istanbul. We don't really want to stand on a rooftop commanding soldiers.

But when all is said and done, the additions did make an impact on the game as a whole and most of them were a breath of fresh air. Those of us who played the first Assassin's Creed will be happy to see Altair return in playable flashback sequences. For someone like me who loves the story above all else, hence the name, seeing Altair and Ezio reach their ends together was perfect.

This is a solid game. It didn't make the big changes that AC2 did compared to the first game, but it was a great play nonetheless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AC: Revelations

posted by IGetFluffy (APPLETON, WI) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

There really isn't much for me to say about this game, though I will say what little I can.

Personally, I believe the Assassin's Creed series is amazing, and Revelations is no different. While it felt shorter than 2 and Brotherhood, the presentation was still absolutely amazing. The scenery is breathtaking, and the cutscenes were done well, giving you that feel as if you were actually in the game itself. While the combat hasn't received many updates, I personally don't think it needs any updates. All in all, this was a great game, though it'll leave you a bit disappointed if you're a major Assassin's Creed fan like I am. For some reason, it feels incredibly short, and not as satisfying as the others (except for the very first, because Assassin's Creed 1 was pretty bad, in my opinion). If you like being stealthy, as well as a handsome Italian accent, then this game is a must!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Same old game

posted by mrevilbunny39 (SHERWOOD, AR) Nov 10, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

Different name same game. The only reason to rent this is to just get more of the story other than that it is very bland.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Reliable

posted by BigMac373 (BURIEN, WA) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

If you are a fan of this series then this game is a must rent. It is the same old Assassins Creed, BUT its reliably entertaining. There arent too many new aspects of the game except bomb crafting, the Hook Blade and parachutes but it keeps you interested and into the game.

All in all this was a very satisfying end that wrapped up both Ezio and Altiar' story lines.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Assassin's Creed REVELATIONS

posted by TMan_360 (CORBIN, KY) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I rated this game a 7 (GOOD) because it is to short yet fun. There are only 7 or 8 sequences, (I did not count). It got me really mad becuase i pressed the right buttons but it did not do the correct command. It might be my controller but I am not sure. I recommand this game to anyone thats likes the "Assassin's Creed" games.

Sincerly TMan_360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nice

posted by nubianprincess (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Oct 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

hot game love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Loved It

posted by Redrum741 (LAFAYETTE, LA) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

The story of ACR will keep you on the edge of your seat and to top it off, literally blows your mind. Such a compelling story with excellent storylines, and the gameplay was nothing short of amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More of the Same

posted by k17haag (WEST DEPTFORD, NJ) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

To be honest I did not complete this game. I found that during my playthrough that the game was just more of the same heres a target go kill them. There are new additions that the game developes in a strategy type of design but the game still left me with feeling of being down this road before. Also I should mention that the game felt slow and unresponsive in regards to motion, not as in previous Assassin's Creed games in which the characters movements flowed. I score the game a 6 as the art work still lets you live in the historical settings but painfully slow and sometimes silly quests bring the score down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

assassins creed revelations

posted by anton040 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

this game reminds me to much like prince of persia all this jumping on ledges and planks . I'm all over the prince of persia thing for real!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Acheivments???

posted by xxcodxgodxx (NORTH PORT, FL) Sep 28, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I wasent happy to find out 85% of the games acheivments are in multi player which u must buy a pass for....kinda stupid... still an over all good game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game...but got boring fast?

posted by omithealien (SANTA ANA, CA) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is like all the other assasin's creed games. Its good, but for some reason got boring real fast for me. I got to the 3rd sequence achievement and returned it to gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse