Rent Assassin's Creed Revelations for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed Revelations

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

12008 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Same old game, new title

posted by denzo45 (ASHTABULA, OH) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Aside from the storyline, the missions are the same style, aside from den defense missions, bomb crafting, and the hook blade, everything else is pretty much the same. It was sad to see Altair and Ezio's story come to an end, because you really got used to them. It was nice to see more personality from Altair. There is much less collecting than previous games. They switched from flags to data fragments. You can also collect books as well. All in all, if you've played the previous games you will enjoy the story, but after playing all four games, it is getting rather repetitive. I get really bored running around the city from point to point, and the tunnel system is rather too spread out to use. The ziplines are a nice addition but again, they are few and far between. I will probably check out the next game only for the story, because I am just getting bored with the gameplay. It's a good game, and it has it's control glitches like the previous ones, but it's worth a rent. It just seems like they are purposefully coming out with a game yearly to split the story up to make money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good not great

posted by Liquidvyse (SPRINGFIELD, OR) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2005

27 out of 34 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Assassins creed revelations is still the same great game it has bin since 2 but the new stuff they added in this one just is not very good, the bomb building seems pointless and the tower defence sections are more of a chore than fun. overall still a quality game worth playing to anyone who already loves the series but if your new to the creed start on 2 .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another Assassin's Creed Bites The Dust

posted by CptnCommamdo (SAN FERNANDO, CA) Nov 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2011

44 out of 56 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

From the Perspective Views of Altaïr, to the Proud & Honorable Desmond, to the Arrogant & Noble Ezío...The 3 now must Unite in order to stop The Témplärs in this new installment from Ubisoft. Assassin's Creed Revelations proves to be a far greater game than Brotherhood. The Story is Phenominal, Voice Acting has improved, Music is still Memorable, Gameplay has had some tweaks & Multiplayer is fun and interactive. Let us pray for those who have fallen to the Epic Conclusion that is Assassin's Creed. Revelations gets a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Instant Amazement

posted by Justbeyou (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2007

27 out of 35 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Graphics--The visual affects in this game are all but completely ridiculous. The visual arts department didn't scale back one bit in this series and it's great to see the continuity in massive free-roam board size.

Abilities & Treasures--AC: Revelations has definitely stepped up character abilities. It seems that some of the game designers have an affinity for chemical experimentation as well. My personal favorite: The Blood Bomb. I won't tell you exactly what it does, but it is pretty funny. Maybe I was a little intoxicated while playing, but it made it all the more hilarious. In the midst of all the fighting, scrambling for hiding spots, and OH SO fun air assassinations, finding little treasures here and there are still part of the fun. It's like hide and seek with the U.S. Treasury.

If you are a fan of the other series, you'll love this too. They've continued with all the great things they've done in the past and added more to it. This will be one of the few games I'll keep in my collection because there is so much you can do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Assassin dejá vu, all over again...

posted by Centauri (MCKINNEY, TX) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I started out this game DESPERATELY trying to like it... Until I realized that I was playing Assassin's Creed Brotherhood all over again. Nothing wrong with that, but... Since there are so many other games this holiday season, I would much rather try something new. This baby is going back. I may rent again after the busy launch season.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another Success for Ubisoft

posted by MKsmash233 (WILLOWBROOK, IL) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If your been following the series then you need this game. There answers for the giant cliffhanger and the main story. I love the addition of bombs. The A.I. may seem a little off at some points but that's hardly noticeable. If you've played any of the other games then you should grab this game as soon as you can. I give Assassin's Creed Revelations 10 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

a step down from brotherhood

posted by 0982345720 (VISTA, CA) Jan 11, 2012

Member since Nov 2009

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this is basically a re-release of AC brotherhood with a few (mostly useless) additions. the story line is a cookie cutter story of ezio traveling to a foreign land to find answers. of course there is a girl and he gets caught up in some local feuds. you also have to run around managing the assassin dens and sending assassins on missions in other cites in a farmville-esque fashion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

More Like Assassin's Creed: Altair's Quest

posted by NegaM (TYLER, TX) Feb 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Assassin's Creed Revelations is what I would call a very dynamic experience. The story excelled, the way they weave the characters 3 games later to still make me care even more for characters I don't even see anymore is amazing. It will close the book on alot of stories, even douchey Duccio (if you know who that is, yay for you).

What this game excels in plot and immersion, it lacks for sometimes in execution. The much hyped bomb system for one, is a beautiful, intricate, cool, and complicated mess. The situations that call for some of the more specific diversionary explosives simply don't exist, and so they remain simply for the players to toy around with and kill time when they get tired of hunting Templar scum.

The additions in this game, sadly, seem to be at the expense of some of other finely tuned mechanics from Brotherhood. Having done away with majority of the weapon alternate attacks, save for the throwing dirt at the enemy to blind them. Also done away with is the traditional weapon wheel, switching it with a two stick replacement which some may find a blessing. I, on the other hand, found myself constantly mismatching my weapons and inventory, not even realizing I had done so until botching up my perfect assassination set up.

All in all, this games flaws do make it an experience that is sure to be a good buy for any adventure game fan, or any fan of the past games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun... but short and heavily padded with bloat.

posted by aeontide (CINCINNATI, OH) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the game very much, the controls, the new weapons (bombs, hook blade, etc.) were great additions to the series and allowed me to approach missions in ways I wish I could have in the past. The skyline is gorgeous and I fell in love with the setting as I played, with the people, and with the combat system. If you play though... you'll notice A LOT of bloat-features that got too much focus and sacrificed the single player experience dramatically. I am honestly disappointed I paid $60 for such a short experience. I have over 300 hours logged in the previous installments, but I found all the collectibles, the treasure chests, bought everything, beat the story, wasted 15-20 hours in the minigames, and beat all the Desmond puzzles in ~36 hours (call my effective play time 16-21 hours then). Now I know the expected game length IS exactly what I played, but I've literally never had this happen to me before -- there was always something else to do. Here in Revelations, what they predict IS the full experience. Their extra features feel like bloat and I don't want to waste my time doing it. I loved what experience I got, but I'm left thinking they ran out of ideas and shovelled in hastily devised minigames to pad the main story. I can't say the game feels rushed because of the sheer number of studios and people working on it, but it does feel incomplete. And that doesn't sit well with me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Experience if you love AC series

posted by Bullet_Raves (GOLETA, CA) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is an improvement on the already working assassins creed formula with a few minor boring parts which consist of big mini games that dont improve the gameplay and get dull fast. For fans of the series the this a good installment and it will not disappoint, but you will not find many new improvements mainly just minor tweaks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Reveals very little

posted by Markus1142 (SOMERVILLE, NJ) Nov 21, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2010

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

AC:R is a mixed bag. The parts that are good, are identical to the previous games; the parts that are frustrating and feel like poorly conceived additions.

Bomb crafting gives you some more options in your missions, but the capacity limit greatly reduces the fun you could have with them. The hookblade lets you use ziplines to quickly move across the city, but only in one direction, and it offers little more in the way of combat.

Defending your assassin dens from Templar attack is a tower defense style mini game, whose interface is often frustrating and becomes completely unnecessary once you level up your Assassins.

Worst of all, unlike the big storyline, conspiracy reveals that have made the previous games such a joy to play through, there is very little actually revealed at the end of Revelations. It does set up the next game nicely, but it still feels like unsatisfying filler when compared to the previous titles in the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Super Short!!

posted by GotGame36 (SAINT PETERS, MO) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was very short compared to Brotherhood plus not enough side missions.

It's still a good game but I gave it a 6 rating due to it being such a short game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ubi delivers...mostly

posted by cyansix (MORAGA, CA) Dec 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rate this game so highly because it's a breath of fresh air from Brotherhood's clunky gameplay and endless collection quests. Ubi really cleaned up this one a lot and the story definitely delivers. The underground city sequence? Vaguely annoying, but bearable. The lairs were MUCH easier, which got a little boring but definitely made me happier, and the 100% sync feature was cleaned up as well so it wasn't as arbitrary. The cliffhanger? Not so awesome, but typical at this point. My one beef with this game is that for the end of the Ezio/Altair cycle, it could've been a couple memory sequences longer, but it's also technically an expansion and not a full-fledged sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by frisco (GARNER, NC) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I've put around 20 hours into the game already, and this is without even touching the revamped multiplayer. The hook blade, zip lines, new combat, and many other additions are great. I'm not into Constantinople as much as Italy (Venice and Rome) but that doesn't take away from the game. My only criticism so far is that the first person Desmond mission are not fun. Traveling through the animus in an awkward first person way is difficult and i'm stuck on the 2nd one. If you have played any AC games and loved them then this is a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fanboys

posted by Kalatrax (POCAHONTAS, AR) Jan 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Fanboys. That is the only reason that this title has a high rating. I gave the first AC game a 9/10 the second which didn't feel all that different a 7/10, and from there on 5/10. I think a 5/10 is generous considering they have not expanded very much on their original thought.

Overall it is the exact same game as it's predecessors; which is not necessarily a bad thing, but for those of you wanting something fresh and exciting you will not find it here. To me this game had great potential, but is a mirror image of those before it. The introduction to den defense is nothing but a real time strategy chore, the bank flat out broken. The bombs, although interesting, are nigh worthless and unnecessary for game completion. The assassin apprentice and conquering other cities from afar is interesting, but not worth it for den defense.

This game sends you on very many go-for quests. The few quests you get to assassinate someone, you have very little breathing room, the assassination must be performed without detection and leaves the player no room for creativity or brute force killings. The main story line is fairly short.

Overall this game is worth a play but not a purchase. All the AC games that came before it are better, have greater story line, and are more interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow.

posted by gamerdude5 (EAST ISLIP, NY) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I've played most of the Assassins Creed series and i have to say, this one impressed me, A LOT. Really like the new bomb making, havent even gotten to the multiplayer so caught in singleplayer. I get bored of single player games really fast, like i'll play final fantasy for 2 hours and then get bored. but i swear i must have like 10 hours already locked on to this. Great game, worth a buy or rent the rest of the series if you havent yet. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An Epic Conclusion

posted by NJLA77 (LOS ALTOS, CA) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have been an Assassin's Creed fan since Assassin's Creed 2. Following Ezio's story has been entertaining, but certain minor details have always left me not completely satisfied by the end. This game is a masterpiece. With easy controls, epic graphics and a perfect storyline, Revelations is one of the greatest games ever made. Everything about it is interesting. Bomb making is an amazing feature, allowing customization of your character and an urge to find treasure chests. The massive map of Constantinople allows for different and unique environments as if you are in different worlds. Revelations has satisfied every desire I wanted in a game, and I would name it Game of the Year. It is one of the greatest games ever created, a golden standard for RPGs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great storyline, suckish gameplay

posted by xminnomarux (INDEPENDENCE, OR) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The whole game is either far too easy or there is some small detail you're missing on one particular part, you find the detail and it's too easy again, i just don't like that in a game, the first assassins creed was far more fun than this one and forever will be to me, the second assassins creed did a great job but since then it's gone down the drain

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Disappointed

posted by GREENX814 (GIG HARBOR, WA) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The game, story line, and everything with it is good but I feel they took a lot out of this game. In brotherhood the puzzles and everything seemed a lot harder. Finding the hidden items were a lot harder too. This game kinda go back to the original where you do the mission and move on. I do like however how you can start exploring and everything after the first 2 missions. Over all the game is good and I enjoyed playing it but my over all favorite was brotherhood and assassin creed 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by max101193 (TYLER, TX) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

after sequence 4 things get pretty intense

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Loved the story but....

posted by Aradace (LANSING, MI) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

11 out of 22 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying I own every other AC game in the franchise besides this one. And thank the maker I only rented it.

It's not a bad game in and of itself per se. It's just that there are quite a few game breaking bugs for starters that just make this game neigh unplayable. One bug in particular, is that the banks are broken (in a nutshell). Untill they get a patch up and running that fixes this problem, I'd advise avoiding this game altogether and just getting the synopsis online.

As I said, the gameplay isnt "bad" itself. What makes it bad is the new elements they attempted to implement. The bomb crafting was nice although I didnt really use it much as I dont really like bombs. But the den defending, that's where I take issue with this installment. It gave the game a somewhat of an RTS feel and I personally despise RTS games of any and all kinds. If I wanted to play an RTS, I'd play an RTS.

But the banks being broken and the den defense system were enough for me to give this game a 4 where without those, I could have easily given this a 9.

Here's a hint Ubisoft; For AC3, do everything you did in this game MINUS the den defending and capturing. In fact, if you're going to use an already existing system, use Brotherhood's.

Again, in terms of story and piecing everything together, this game was pretty brilliant. But as far as gameplay goes, once AC3 comes out next year, Im simply going to forget that Revelations even happened.

Do yourself a favor, RENT this one and dont buy it. You'll thank yourself later for not wasting 60 bucks on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointment

posted by Ax3man (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Only a person that never played any of assassin creed games can find it entertaining. Revelations is exact copy of Brotherhood and previous AC games with few new additions (hook, bomb making, tower defense).

What was COPY-PASTED from previous AC games:
You play as Ezio and Altair.
You have to purchase shops and various buildings AGAIN.
Instead of feathers NOW you collect animus fragments.
Guild challenges, Guild quests.
Assassin recruitment (exactly the same).
You can send assassins to the missions (could be fun if you NEVER played AC: Brotherhood).
Viewpoints (luckily there's only 22)
Your assassins have the same exact abilities as in Brotherhood.
Pretty much the same weapon arsenal.

What's new:
New face recognition technology (meaning characters look different than in previous AC games). Now our friend Desmond Miles looks like Niko Bellic.
Desmond side story (Mirror Edge + Minecraft = Desmond sequences) not only that they are frustrating and completely out of place but you learn nothing that you didn't know about Desmond.
You can make your own bombs.
You have a hook. You can now use hook instead of your hands to grab on the ledge. The power of innovation! /sarcasm..... You can also use it for ziplines.
Tower defense.........
Story is short.

They spend all of their resources improving useless multiplayer instead of focusing on single player. For those that are interested in multiplayer - it requires online pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Eeh

posted by BlindxDivinity (SAYREVILLE, NJ) Dec 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Campaign was great. Like always- an amazing story line. But, to be honest... It just so darn predictable. There really wasn't anything new. Multiplayer is ALOT better. But, no horses, no new places to discover, its basically the same game but with a new story. I just felt disapointed in the sum of it all. But its definately somthing worth getting to play once. Or for an advocate collector to keep for his collection. All in All... GOOD game, but nothing new...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Entertaining game, a little short IMO

posted by erraticarsonist (STEWARTSTOWN, PA) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played and beaten all of games in the AC series, with Brotherhood and Revelations being the only two that I have not bought. Although I believe this is the best game so far, I was also a little disappointed in the length of the game. When I first saw the size of the map of Constantinople, I was a little sketchy. However, as I played the game, made awesome bombs, did side quests, ranked up my assassins, I was relieved that they added much more content outside of the main story line. Also, I loved this games' story the most out of all the ACs. But after you beat the story line and desmond missions/defend your towers 10+ times, make a ton of bombs that you hardly ever use, and realize that there's no {SPOILER} unique armor, such as the Armor of Brutus in Brotherhood, I quickly lost interest and sent the game back. It's defiantly worth a rent in my opinion, it kept me entertained for a little more than a week, anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good but needs improvement

posted by Jo3m4n (MAUSTON, WI) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i thought this game was great from start to finish but i could barley get passed all of the same problems i had with brotherhood. they got it perfect in the second game but that was because they waited two years to release it. they were to impatient and released the passed two games within two years. which if done correctly its fine but in this case it wasn't so. if don't wait for the next game to release you have problems such as bugs, glitches, and over thought gameplay. buying stores is fun and all but i found it distracting from the actual gameplay and story. characters were much better than in brotherhood and so was the overall game in my opinion but some may disagree. so ubisoft i have one suggestion. WAIT BEFORE YOU RELEASE SEQUELS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse