Rent Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag for Xbox One
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

Used: $24.99

Also on:PS4, Xbox 360, PS3, Wii U

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

1723 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great and Awesome

posted by RoBxToRReS (DES MOINES, IA) May 26, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its the Same familiar mechanic's but however , it truly brings a pirate feeling among you as your playing. love the open sea's and treasure hunting , diving underwater for treasures are great too , while avoiding sharks etc. and even taking over and robing other ships is epic. but I Recommend for all AC fans. and too those that are big private fan's. !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much Better Than Assassins Creed 3

posted by SalP (LONGVIEW, TX) May 14, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

AS IV Black Flag is definitely an improvement over AS3. The variety of the cities is welcome and the ship controls are vastly better. The ship battles in AS3 were tedious. In AS4, they are actually fun. They are even more fun when you can annihilate everyone when you get the ship fully upgraded. The story is not as good as the past games but the graphics and load times are a plus on the next gen console. If you are a fan of the Assassin's Creed series, this is a game you should not miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not what i was Expecting

posted by Hey2thezeus (DUNKIRK, NY) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I was skeptical about this game mainly because i didnt like the ship combat from AC3 . I love the ship combat in this game, they added a lot of new mechanics that make it more immersive and fun. Having a big area to explore , upgrading and customizing your ship, random storms that can mess up your ship if youre not careful and hearing your crew sing and call out for things they spot really adds to the game. Combat and free running feels better than ever and the towns feel alive with people doing random things like fishing , swimming and singing about treasures and pirates.The only thing i don't like is when your'e outside the animus, those missions are kinda boring and slow. Luckily it doesn't happen a lot.

This game looks Amazing And the ability to capture and record cool moments with the xbox DVR is very cool and easy. The ocean looks and feels like a dangerous place to be especially during a storm. Getting into a ship battle and blowing it up is only the beginning , you can board the ship and take what they have to upgrade your ship.I was tired of assassins creed but this game brought me back in and might be my favorite assassins creed. Great gameplay , great visuals , great music they nailed the pirate feel and look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stop trolling us sony fanatics

posted by cernunnos (GAINESVILLE, FL) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Come on, already has an avg score of 1 because of fanboys. Please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Assasins Creed 2/ Score 6 out of 10

posted by scarbizzle (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

nothing has changed in this game since ac 2, nothing new to offer, sure they've added a slew of other little changes but its nothing that shakes or stirs up the formula and barely pushes any new ideas. well, at least I can run in between tree branches. I mean cmon , I still have to follow people and hide in haystacks to complete a mission?!? If you like all the rest of the games in the series and want to do the same thing you've been doing since AC2, then go right ahead this game is probably a 8, 9, or 10 for you. Besides the slight upgrade in graphics and a slight bit more responsive control, this is really just AC2 in a fancier package, with you as a pirate. Sorry AC fans, not trying to diss, would just like the series to take a new turn to showcase what next gen can do for this title. I don't like to pay 40,50,60 bucks for games ive pretty much already played before. Feels like im being duped every time they start showing those pretty little commercials trying to entice me with promises of the next great AC game. I also don't feel its right for game companies to release yearly titles because they have a franchise name they can cash in on. I cant stand businesses practices like that. This is definitely not the next great AC game and that's why it deserves a 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Played them all loved them all.

posted by lethal_3ffect (PALACIOS, TX) Sep 17, 2014

Member since May 2011

This 1 is my favorite hopefully just until November 2014.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty awesome game overall but could be better.

posted by Jeramiah (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Sep 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2008

The story takes place during the 17th century colonization of the Caribbean islands by England, Spain, and France . You are a captain of the pirate ship Jackdaw, but get sucked into a war between the Templars and the assassins. The area that you start off in is controlled by the spanish/British navy, and their ships are always attacking you. As the game progresses you go around the islands and capture each of the naval ports, making it easier to navigate the sea.

The graphics are pretty amazing. gameplay is easy to pickup on. Fighting/assassinating people is easy enough to get the hangout of it but still difficult enough to make it challenging. Some missions require you to be stealthy. Your main weapons are your sword, your pistol, and some other minors items like the smoke bombs or the dart gun. Once your ship is upgraded you can rack up money pretty quickly by raiding other ships and selling their cargo. You can also capture other ships and use them in your navy to complete missions for money.

If you don't want to follow the story there are plenty of side activities to do. You can do some pretty challenging treasure hunting. There are maps that just have a rough sketch of the general area the treasure is in. Once you find that area you have to match up the landmarks and comb the area for the treasure.

The main peeves that I have with the game are that when you get to the point where you earn serious gold, you run out of stuff to buy. I mean it takes a while to accumulate enough gold to fully upgrade your ship, but it would be better if they had items that were just crazy expensive that you really had to work to get. The templars suit that you spend forever on side quests searching for the keys, doesn't really help you that much. You can't add the Legendary ships to your fleet. There are only about 5 or 6 different guns and swords that you can buy and none are immensely powerful. If they would changed a few things around it would be a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

assains creed does it again

posted by zebrahater (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 11, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

awsome game still dont like the ships but they have improved so much looking foward to the next one thought the ending was wack tho made it seem like him and his daughter had a thing weird

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Booty Stank

posted by dirtydangf (LONG BEACH, CA) Sep 10, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Yo booty stank

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by gameaholic05 (VISALIA, CA) Sep 8, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

If you love exploration games, finding hidden treasures, and a great story this game is for you! The game mechanics work flawlessly, climbing buildings is as fluid as ever, while ship battles are a new element to the franchise, and looting ships becomes an obsession quickly. If you've been on the edge about this game, I'd say take the leap into this immersive, pirate-style game! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better Than Expected

posted by TheRealCypher (ARLINGTON, TX) Sep 6, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I did not have high expectations for the game since Assassin's Creed games are becoming the new Madden; however, this was much better than AC3. I liked how the naval combat has been improved and is an interracial part of the overall gameplay. I wish the story was a little better though. It felt like the usual Assassin vs Templar story line was not fleshed out enough. Overall, the best Assassin's Creed since AC2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AC Black Flag

posted by TimeElite12 (DEFIANCE, OH) Aug 11, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

Im a big assassins creed and loving Ezio and having a new story line. they just did a really job with it. they did a great job with Edward and i really enjoyed it and hoping the next one is much better then 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome

posted by triplepf (DUPONT, WA) Jul 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

great game not as game changing as ac3 but a solid continuation. controls and good graphics. beautiful ship battles fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game a lot of time

posted by kyle24nascar71 (CONWAY, AR) Jun 29, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

It is a very fun game but the game gets very repetitive. most of the missions are fun, but you'll have to spend hours trying to get the stuff to help you in the mission.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fine fun

posted by shrikeVFX (DALLAS, TX) Jun 28, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Yes, another in the series, and still a little bit the same, but the pirate aspect is novel, and the looks and plays nice

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Whole New Game

posted by the_hartzinator (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 8, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

I have always been impressed by the Assassin's Creed franchise, but WOW! Black Flag has truly done it again. The stunning visuals, intuitive free-running mechanics, and killer assassinations are what originally got me addicted to the franchise, but the new and improved sailing mode is a whole new game in and of itself, and it's a darn good one too. Boarding and sinking enemy ships, taking over cliffside forts, and hunting for treasure and killer whales are given the fitting backdrop of your piratey crew singing old nautical tunes to pass the time. I have found my self white-knuckling my controller several times. It also makes for a more natural-feeling, huge open world that can be traveled in more than one way.

Only negatives are that the XBox Live features still need a lot of work, and the little Kenway's Fleet mini-game is just downright lame. But those aren't enough to bring this down any lower than a 9.

TL;DR - This is a great game with a HUGE world that can be explored through an addictive and fun sailing mechanic. Might be keeping this one for the library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by twoDeeP92 (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Perfect game lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Yet

posted by SuckItNow (SARASOTA, FL) Jun 2, 2014

Member since May 2014

Assassins creed is always groundbreaking, new technology looking it's best! And this is no different, but beyond that I do believe it is the best game to date. All of the minor annoyances from previous generations have been polished out and what's left is just gold. The fact that you are a game designer at the company that made the game, classic Assassins.

You can literally sail for hours and never get bored, and the side games and missions in single player alone is enough to keep you entertained for weeks! And then there's multi-player to boot.. Play it now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best AC yet!

posted by Bradman33 (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) May 23, 2014

Member since May 2014

I rented Black Flag and a week in, I decided to buy it from Gamefly. It's the best Assassins Creed to date. The story is strong and moving, and keeps you reeled in. After completing the main missions, I had only completed 49% of the games. There is still so much more to do! That isn't even including the 3+ hours of extra game play with the Freedom Cry add-on. Definitely worth a play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Sweet Addition to the AC Storyline

posted by ShoonSpank (DESERT HOT SPRINGS, CA) May 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

The Good- This Assassins Creed still has the heart and soul of the old games in every way. An immersive storyline that has you coming back for more. I rented this game on both the One and the 360, the graphical changes are intense. Cut-scenes are fluid, lip sync almost spot on, and the bump in graphics makes being out at sea that much more fun.

The "Meh"- Combat is repetitive, and it has been ever since the 1st AC game. While it is fun to do for the first 40% of the game sooner or later it gets old.
3-5 Combo Hack+Slash-X

Melee Counter-B (Can be followed up with a Disarm/Throw/Kill or Headshot X,Y,A,B)

Weapon Auto Shot-Y (Can be aimed and used with LT+RT)

Human Shield- A (When being fired at)

Now, this has been the standard since AC2 if I'm not mistaken. This game in terms of combat hasn't really evolved at all. Same thing with stealth, while it does feel fluid it still feels like the original AC games. This can be construed as good or bad. I just personally think it gets old.

The Bad- The only bad part behind this game is the lack of creative fights/battles. Now the last boss was "Interesting" at best but nothing gamebreaking for the AC series.

They also stripped our ability to choose different types of weapons. Now I do sort of understand this because most pirates used Swords/Cutlasses, yet being able to choose between different fighting styles in any game is always fun to have. Don't know why they would get rid of it.

All that aside...... This game is a must rent for AC fans and all those who love a good story.

Thank You Ubisoft!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

At leaset there is color!

posted by Mr_VIsta (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Apr 18, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

For me I was expecting more, but got the same old same old. Jumps sideways for no apparent reason while running. Super annoying was the items dangling in the trees. Not only do you have do the impossible to get there , the items take off and you have to capture them...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by sdl20041 (FORT GEORGE G MEADE, MD) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Aug 2009

If you are a fan of the Assassins Creed Franchise and absolutely love pirates, this is the game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WOW!

posted by Jtownhero (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I was wondering if this franchise could keep getting better after the latest Assassin's Creed and they did not disappoint. The story line was pretty intense, although it wasn't as good as the previous Assassin's Creed. The gameplay is insanely fun. You get to pirate your own ship and upgrade it. It's a must play hands down. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because it doesn't really have any replay value after you get done beating it. The online multiplayer sucks though so don't count on that to be fun. It's all about the campaign in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same Old Thing

posted by TheTommyBoy (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

If you've never played Assassin's Creed before, you'll absolutely love this game. If you have played it before, however, It's pretty much the same thing as the last 3 games with the exception of being able to make items from hunting animals and steering a boat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really good

posted by rosesandcrack (SILVER SPRING, MD) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

One of the better assassins creed games very immersive and fun game but not as griping as Ac2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse