Rent Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag for Xbox One
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U, PS4

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

953 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not what i was Expecting

posted by Hey2thezeus (DUNKIRK, NY) Nov 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I was skeptical about this game mainly because i didnt like the ship combat from AC3 . I love the ship combat in this game, they added a lot of new mechanics that make it more immersive and fun. Having a big area to explore , upgrading and customizing your ship, random storms that can mess up your ship if youre not careful and hearing your crew sing and call out for things they spot really adds to the game. Combat and free running feels better than ever and the towns feel alive with people doing random things like fishing , swimming and singing about treasures and pirates.The only thing i don't like is when your'e outside the animus, those missions are kinda boring and slow. Luckily it doesn't happen a lot.

This game looks Amazing And the ability to capture and record cool moments with the xbox DVR is very cool and easy. The ocean looks and feels like a dangerous place to be especially during a storm. Getting into a ship battle and blowing it up is only the beginning , you can board the ship and take what they have to upgrade your ship.I was tired of assassins creed but this game brought me back in and might be my favorite assassins creed. Great gameplay , great visuals , great music they nailed the pirate feel and look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stop trolling us sony fanatics

posted by cernunnos (GAINESVILLE, FL) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Come on, already has an avg score of 1 because of fanboys. Please.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Assasins Creed 2/ Score 6 out of 10

posted by scarbizzle (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

nothing has changed in this game since ac 2, nothing new to offer, sure they've added a slew of other little changes but its nothing that shakes or stirs up the formula and barely pushes any new ideas. well, at least I can run in between tree branches. I mean cmon , I still have to follow people and hide in haystacks to complete a mission?!? If you like all the rest of the games in the series and want to do the same thing you've been doing since AC2, then go right ahead this game is probably a 8, 9, or 10 for you. Besides the slight upgrade in graphics and a slight bit more responsive control, this is really just AC2 in a fancier package, with you as a pirate. Sorry AC fans, not trying to diss, would just like the series to take a new turn to showcase what next gen can do for this title. I don't like to pay 40,50,60 bucks for games ive pretty much already played before. Feels like im being duped every time they start showing those pretty little commercials trying to entice me with promises of the next great AC game. I also don't feel its right for game companies to release yearly titles because they have a franchise name they can cash in on. I cant stand businesses practices like that. This is definitely not the next great AC game and that's why it deserves a 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

At leaset there is color!

posted by Mr_VIsta (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Apr 18, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

For me I was expecting more, but got the same old same old. Jumps sideways for no apparent reason while running. Super annoying was the items dangling in the trees. Not only do you have do the impossible to get there , the items take off and you have to capture them...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by sdl20041 (FORT GEORGE G MEADE, MD) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Aug 2009

If you are a fan of the Assassins Creed Franchise and absolutely love pirates, this is the game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WOW!

posted by Jtownhero (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I was wondering if this franchise could keep getting better after the latest Assassin's Creed and they did not disappoint. The story line was pretty intense, although it wasn't as good as the previous Assassin's Creed. The gameplay is insanely fun. You get to pirate your own ship and upgrade it. It's a must play hands down. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because it doesn't really have any replay value after you get done beating it. The online multiplayer sucks though so don't count on that to be fun. It's all about the campaign in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same Old Thing

posted by TheTommyBoy (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

If you've never played Assassin's Creed before, you'll absolutely love this game. If you have played it before, however, It's pretty much the same thing as the last 3 games with the exception of being able to make items from hunting animals and steering a boat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really good

posted by rosesandcrack (SILVER SPRING, MD) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

One of the better assassins creed games very immersive and fun game but not as griping as Ac2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Assasins Yet

posted by pat332 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Mar 24, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Very good game. If you are a fan of laid back rpgs this game is for you. Took me a while to beat and super addicting/riveting story. Highly reccommend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game... and so many things to do.

posted by dsnow24 (VANCOUVER, WA) Mar 20, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

I think this one tops the last assassins and is the best one out of the series. The ship battles are really cool and it is fun to bounce around all of the islands. The graphics are amazing and the game sounds and effects are so realistic that it really seems like you're almost part of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

pirates

posted by GamerDeeEL (VICTORVILLE, CA) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

If you're a pirate fan, this game is for you. The controls are cool but not perfect. I've seen better graphics and better storylines.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It's bland.

posted by Premium_Jay (ALVA, FL) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Eh. I have never been this disgusted with an AC game. It is terribly long, graphics could be wayyyyyy better considering it's on "next generation" consoles , and the story line drags. To add to this, the controls and feel of the game are old and crumby. They need to update that because it disgusts me..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its Assasins Creed

posted by Griot28 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 11, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Im not the biggest assasins creed fan. i usually play about half and then get bored. Same happen for this one. I probably would have played more with less boat travel but the boats and the canon fights really made me not want to keep picking it up to get to the stuff i did enjoy. (Random killing and hiding.) But it was fun for the parts that i liked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pending if it is the best...

posted by jacksonran (BEDFORD, IN) Mar 10, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

I gave AC: 10, AC2: 9, BH: 6, REV: 7, and AC3 a 9. Now this is back to a ten. The first couple chapters took the spirit away but it came right back as the story progresses. I won't ruin anything... but it makes sense why its seems bad when you see how you get your assassin's outfit.

Good: The graphics, environment, and gameplay with pre set abilities. (not to mention the tear jerking ending). The environment is beautiful and amazing no matter if you are in a cove, deep jungle, or the ocean. You can be a brutal fighter, assassin, or a pirate. You don't have to learn you basic skills over or earn your weapons like you did in most of the others. Your upgrades come with your hunting skills. The resource feature is great. You can spend many hours plundering the sea or just go through the basic gameplay. It avoids the "100 plus items collections" achievements too.

Bad: There isn't much to complain about unless you hate the Caribbean or Pirate theme in general. Its like how I didn't like Ezio too much.

Ugly: The only thing is that you can't judge your "Assassin" get go in this game. It drains your spirit as an Assassin at the start. Just let it take its course though, it makes sense.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game terrible controls

posted by Jeffsreviews79 (YAKIMA, WA) Mar 9, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

This is a fun game but they have made 7 or so assassins creeds now and they all have terrible controls. That's its major downfall gets very frustrating when running or jumping and they are all like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty fun for a short time

posted by K1NG0D (PLEASANT GROVE, UT) Mar 5, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I really liked the story of it, and the ship combat was fun for a time.
But as every other Assassin's creed game The fun of killing guards from rooftops and haystacks fades away, And all the stuff you have to do to get 100% synchronization in the game just feels repetitive and boring. I am glad however that they got rid of the online passes from past Assassin's creed games, That made it better especially getting the game from gamefly Overall a good game for a short time so i recommend renting but not buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same ole AC, but more boring

posted by Friedmak33 (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Mar 5, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

Having only played AC1, I was excited to get back to this franchise and see where they have gone with it. Wow was I disappointed. Sure, there's a ton of new things to do but none of it is fun. I thought the treasure maps were a good idea and one of the first things I tried, but then found that the map was blocked off because I wasn't far enough into the game to even find the treasure. I thought this was open world? Boating is slow and boring and I had no desire to fight on the seas. On land I was constantly inadvertently climbing walls/rocks I didn't intend to. This makes it extremely difficult when trying to chase someone. The AI of the enemy is horrific. Where are the improvements from AC1? They all walk in some inane pattern (or just stand there) which as a gamer made me feel insulted. This made the stealth aspect of the game extremely boring for me. I felt like all I was doing was waiting for the stupid AI to finish their pre-programed route before I could attack. To add to their stupidity, when they see you and then you run into a hiding spot, they just brush it off once you've hidden for a few seconds. "Yeah, I didn't just see someone run into that haystack." To add to the boredom, if you do happen to screw up and get detected or killed in one of the stealth missions, they place you so far back that you have to go through this monotonous chore again.

I was really excited to play through this game and after the first city I was pretty gung-ho on completing it, but then it just got really boring and repetitive and I had to give up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Eh, ok

posted by postwarmarine (SPRING HILL, FL) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

While originally excited for this game, I quickly began to understand this game really didnt have much to offer other than slighty improved visuals and a kickass time being a pirate, that slowly become repetative and boring. Some will like it, and some wont, and some will find it wanting or needing something. Its ok, but as I am bored with it, Ill be returning it soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pirates and Ships are Neat

posted by Clemsontgrs05 (NORRIS, SC) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I came into this game hoping that the Pirate setting would breath fresh air into the franchise.

I always grow bored with the Assassins Creed games, but the ship building and setting was enough to have me excited to try Black Flag.

Unfortunately, there was nothing here to keep me coming back. I played the game for around 7-8 hours and was immensely bored with it. Fetch mission after fetch mission with some sailing and annoying "collectibles", to find everywhere, got old within the first 4 hours. I believe I chased/tackled/and followed people 10 times in the first 2 hours. This was repetition at its worse...and the gameplay of the previous games that had me bored to tears.

I think it's time for me to give up on this series. I really wanted to love Black Flag. I love pirates, and the one part I did enjoy was the ships. Sailing on the ocean and inlets is pretty neat. Once on land though, it's the same shoddy..pre-programmed climbing routes and missions.

The AI is often incredibly dumb too. I finished one mission by just running right up to my objective, throwing a smoke bomb, then hanging next to where I just threw the bomb. All the AI that had approached me decided I was no longer a threat....and walked off. I now just hopped up right next to the objective and walked into my destination.

Why not have some guards guard the area?

Yes, I could have scaled a massive amount of conveniently placed walls and pillars, but I learned that I can also just barge in...hit one button to confuse everyone, then hide for 30 seconds and complete a mission.

Bleh. I don't recommend the game unless you really like Pirates and can handle the horribly repetitive gameplay/controls/missions throughout. There's nothing new here outside of the ships and the pirates.

I wish Ubisoft would try harder. Do something different with the gameplay...maybe make it more free flowing and less robotic.

2/10 - For Gameplay and Fun
7/10 - For Pirates and Ships

4/10 - Overall :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Typically Great AC, with too many boats!

posted by rogers916 (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 28, 2014

Member since Jul 2011

This is another great installment of the Assassins Creed series. If you you like playing any of the AC games then you are sure you like this.
But if you were one of those people that did not enjoy the boating parts of the previous games, I wouldn't even pick this game up.
For me, there was far too much emphasis on being on the ship and fighting against other ships. I mean, it's fun, but we all know AC is famous for, and played by people who enjoy running around the land, climbing, jumping and stealthily assassinating people!

This is actually going to be the first AC game I will not complete.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So much to do

posted by Iceperson (SAPULPA, OK) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

This one has so much to do. Story was interesting, but I had so much fun just exploring. Other than a few scenarios that were painfully twitchy the game was thoroughly enjoyable. If you're like me and don't have super fast reflexes there are a few spots that might frustrate you. Unfortunately they are areas that can block you from progression too. My 17 year old son was nice enough to get me through them so I could finish the main story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Assassins Creed Game yet

posted by hummingalong (BOISE, ID) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

If you haven't enjoyed or played the others in the series, don't let that deter you!

Picture Assassins Creed (stealthy & easy controls, beautiful scenery, assassin contracts) meets Far Cry (hunting, crafting), and TONS of ship battles, treasure hunts etc.

This time it's far less focus on you as a player roaming on foot/horse. At least half the game is played in the ship, which is AWESOME.

The sea is beautiful, and incredibly realistic. The storms are scary and intense. The ship battles are fun and deliver on the satisfaction you'd expect from crushing another ship in battle and taking their crew and cargo. A very welcome unexpected element was all the "pirate songs" you can collect and hear your crew singing. You can turn it off if you hate it, but I find myself whistling the tunes through out the day. They're pretty songs!

The only reason this doesn't get a 10 from me, is that it allows people to pay to skip ahead making it an unlevel playing field.

I have not yet played the multiplayer. I have heard it doesn't allow for ship battles and the such, but rather just a catch me if you can type of chase mode. If that is the case, it would be a huge let down, but the game stands on it's own as a single player in my opinion, as it has in the past with similar multiplayer modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

AC Black Flag

posted by narckilla (MILLERSBURG, OH) Feb 13, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Game wasn't impressive graphically. I think its time AC gets laid to rest. I felt like ive played it before just like a COD game. If you played on AC game youve played them all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

HUGE GAME

posted by tony33oh (AKRON, OH) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

This game has an intense amount of things to do. From sinking ships out in the open seas to plundering the depths of wreckage. Sure there is also the reoccuring assassins missions and eavesdropping. But its so much more than that now. And on the XBOX ONE, the water looks so real and its such a sight to see on a clear sunny day. At first though it can be quite overwhelming. I completed this game in its entirety in under 24 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another fantastic addition to the series!

posted by XboxGamerMike (DES MOINES, IA) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Ubisoft has done it again with another gem in the world of an assassin. The graphics and open world really bring this game to life in a pirate setting. The controls are similar to previous Assassin's Creed games so you still feel familiar playing if you are used to the other games. The story and the characters are great. So if you are a fan of the series, this will not disappoint!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse