Rent Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag for PS4
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.2

1589 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game I've played in a while

posted by uttles (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. The AC story was pretty good, as usual, but what put it over the top was the ability to sail the open seas and just go around being a pirate and doing whatever the heck you wanted to do. My only complaint with this game is that there wasn't and endless amount of stuff to do on the ocean. If they could somehow turn the pirate aspect of this game into a stand-alone game (maybe even with multiplayer like Need for Speed) then it would be amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great great game

posted by Ericktorrez96 (HUMBLE, TX) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Loved the graphics and game is just incredible. Game seems endless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Creed

posted by Digi1435 (BEDFORD, VA) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the best out of the series thus far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

assassins creed 4

posted by mistermike (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 12, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ill make this simple and to the point. If you're a fan, then you'll enjoy this game. It's basically the same kind of gameplay. The ship battles are a lot of fun at first; so is upgrading the ship. But after you finish doing all that, you will want to just finish the game. The main character, Kenway, is cool. My favorite assassin yet. I just wondered where he learned to kick so much booty from the beginning of the game when he wasn't even an assassin. Either way, there's not much else out on PS4. Rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just okay

posted by Warpath21SHG (LANCASTER, CA) Feb 22, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is fun but it looks like a PS3 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ac4 at its prime!

posted by NFAMOUS806 (AMARILLO, TX) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Graphics 9.3
Storyline 9.0
Gameplay 9.0

Best nextgen launch game available besides BF4!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KILLER INSTINCT

posted by Fearzum101 (CONROE, TX) Nov 22, 2013

Member since May 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I love this game. The ability to roam where I want to. Go where I want to. Do whatever I want to. The sea battles are great. The graphics are killer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A masterpiece!

posted by Salz1978 (LEXINGTON, KY) Nov 19, 2013

Member since May 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have put about 15-20 hours into the Playstation 4 version of Black Flag, and the game is amazing. The graphics are beautiful and frame rate is nice.

There are simply a ton of things to in this game. Lots of upgrades to buy and craft for your Edward as well as your ship. A lot of islands and underwater locations to explore, as well as side activities like hunting, whaling, gambling and more.

Naval combat is a blast. There's nothing like taking on a powerful Royal Convoy and earning a nice fat reward when you come out on top.

Great game! Can't recommend it enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Excellent game, if you can tolerate the glitches!

posted by jpwolf (PLANO, TX) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is great game, and I have spent probably 50 hours playing it. I love the sea battles, even though the controls are a bit wonky. It is hard to see where your shots will go, especially once you get in close, especially your very important mortar shots.

On foot, the controls also need help, as he seems to do stuff randomly. Very beautiful game.

Now, for the many, many issues: The U-play passport/server problem is huge! The UBI servers haven't worked properly since launch, so about every 90 seconds you will receive an on-screen notice telling you that you can not connect, which always creates a brief freeze, and sometimes causes a long freeze, even causing you to reload once in a while. This is literally every 2 minutes! Aside from the freezing, you will see a lot of texture pop-ins, get stuck on a rock or twig and be unable to move. The worst glitches by far happen during combat.
The camera is a total nuisance, changing itself to a view where you can't see your enemies, which is important, especially when you are being attacked. Several times I have died during boarding because the game glitched out and I was attacked by enemies not even near me, or they stab me through a building or other permanent object. My all-time favorite was when I was attempting to use the pulley to kill the scouts, and was attacked and knocked off the mast before I even arrived.
The worst example was using the pulley and I flew over the ship up into the air and then fell about 50 meters to my death.
Yes, I am playing this on my brand-new PS4. I even replaced the game thinking that would help. UBI should really be ashamed about the wonky camera, controls, server issues and glitches.
As I said, great game, if you can tolerate the glitches!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old stuff ....

posted by Lvs_U_Stunned (TAMPA, FL) Dec 22, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Not sure why the 2nd, 3rd and 4th revisions of this game get high marks. It's the same dumb tasks every time. This game is 90% repetition, and 10% story line. If I wanted to spend 40 hours doing the same menial tasks over and over and over I would get a Wii .....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same old repetitive game

posted by tke144red (EAST PETERSBURG, PA) Dec 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is silly. Graphically its nice, but as a game it is lacking. You just go around collecting items, and jumping on stuff for updates. Follow a main story line along the way. If you like doing the same thing 40 times in different cities, this is the game for you. I can't believe its so popular among some folks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Suck!

posted by 30yo (STOCKTON, CA) May 11, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Hard to control, can't skip the movies, on the board all the time.
They make this game on board to increase the gameplay time, everything is too slow, easy to die (stupid ideas).
Board battle really suck, boring and headache.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome amazing

posted by Chevinator (SELMA, OR) Jul 5, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

What a story! Loved the characters, the voice acting, the graphics, and the gameplay! Although it got glitchy and laggy at some points, this was definitly a real good game. Best that ive played in a while. I didnt really get into multiplayer much because it doesnt look like anything special. Cant join a game and it seems like it take awhile to level up and what not. Wasnt really into it. But the story mode is DEFINITLY worth playing for sure. Spent a lot of time upgradimg my ship, fighting other ships, whaling, doin assassin contracts, and just making bank. The game is also quite long so be prepared on that, but its not like i got bored with it, its like i wanted to keep progressing and upgrading my ship and edward and see whats going to ne be next. This is probably the best AC game out of the whole genre in my opinion. I would conisider renting this game mainly for the story. Dont worry much on the multiplayer...your not missing anything. But besides that great game! Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Black flag review

posted by AddictedGamer93 (EASTLAKE, OH) Jun 29, 2014

Member since May 2014

Story mode- Definitely one of the better assassins creed titles. Same good old controls with new brutal moves and kills. Less weapons in this title than in previous ones unfortunately but combat has been refined and made easier than before which at first I didn't like but after you start boarding enemy ships you realize combat is nearly flawless. The actual story is bland and predictable this time though. Your goal is to find not a piece of Eden this time but a place called the observatory. The story is straight forward with no plot twists or surprises at all which is rare for an assassins creed title. The bulk of the fun comes from ship combat. I lost hours of time using my ship to harass and capture hundreds of enemy ships. Saying it's addictive is understatement. I finally achieved 100% game completion and I can confidently say the game is worth renting but not buying. There is not a high replay value.

Multiplayer- Multiplayer on the other hand is the antithesis of the story mode. There's a few different types of game modes including deathmatch, wanted, manhunt, artifact, and domination. By time I started playing it was nearly impossible to find a match in any game mode. Not that it mattered much because they hid most of the abilities so high up in the levels it would take weeks to even get modest abilities in order to defend yourself. The crowds are sparse meaning it takes no skill or effort to find your targets. In my opinion they botched multiplayer.

Conclusion- Single player is more than worth a rent or the gameplay even with the story being lackluster. Multiplayer is pathetic and you shouldn't waste your time on it. Rent don't buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay Game.

posted by Bodhi (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 22, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

I love AC and all of the other games. I did how ever not like this one as much as the others. This game was very difficult and did not give much opportunities to try stuff out. I feel like the open world sea and some of the combat was just too hard for my liking and took many tries. Maybe its just but me but the sea aspect really frustrated me and that's why I give it a 7-10. The land aspect of the game was great I had tons of fun with that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok game

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 21, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Assassin Creed ever yr

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

TWO WORDS SHIP BATTLES

posted by Uplayaz (COLUMBIA, KY) Jun 12, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

This game is so good. I love this game it makes you feel like an actual pirate. The gameplay is your typical assassin's creed but this time they focused more on ship battles which is awesome. Also the its a huge open world with a ton of collectibles side missions and so on. The story keeps you guessing and you can really get attached to the new protagonist Edward Kenway, Connor's grandfather. You can also meet a lot of side protagonist that you can get attached because the story is good and juicy. Over all this game is worth a buy definitely. Especially if it is on sale.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by Mad_Dog_555 (CHESTER, VA) May 30, 2014

Member since May 2014

been fan for years but the open world blows it this is one of the most best games I played for ps4. Great graphics good replay value could not ask for more. I am still not finished locating all the relics and secrect locations great game. Rent or buy you don't lose but if you rent dont expect this game to be 100%. In a couple of days finding everything might take a week or more plus they got a download content best to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

VERY Overrated

posted by gamefly41 (JONESBORO, AR) May 17, 2014

Member since Nov 2010

I finally put aside my skepticism and decided to rent this game. And to be honest....I wish I hadn't!! The controls are clumsy, the combat is boring and unresponsive and the lack of a morality system is unacceptable! I mean, you have a perfect stage set for good/bad pirate and it's not utilized!! I seriously quit after a few hours because the combat is so ridiculously annoying. You will be pressing the attack button and not attack because an NPC is in the way of your auto lock. The graphics were better in AC3. This game has a lot of near concepts, but is very lacking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Black Gag

posted by Mentol603 (MANCHESTER, NH) May 14, 2014

Member since May 2014

i never really took time play the originals but this is sort of dumb its cool driving a pirate ship and stuff but just open world games in my mind loose track of missions and get to over whelmed just not my cup of tea graphics are deep so getting better just not what expected on Next Gen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Poor Mechanics Runied My Experience

posted by KySky (LONDON, KY) May 9, 2014

Member since May 2014

My previous gaming console was a Wii that I hadn't played in the 2 years. I bought a PS4 back in November 2013 and this was one of the first titles I purchased. Needless to say I took the game back to Gamestop after investing roughly 15 hours in it. The hand-to-hand combat and sword play was nothing more than repetition in button massing, no thought was needed for defense or offense. But what really got me burned up was when I was required to run down individuals (or simply running around on the ground) down allies and side streets and my character kept wanting to run up walls. I think the idea of the game was to remain on roof tops, no matter what, and only come down when interacting with the story line. Infamous Second Son done a much better job with their mechanics in this respect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

amazing

posted by slayer87g (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) May 8, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

best one yet so smooth on ps4 had it on ps3 was choppy the ship controls are way better than 3 huge map great upgrades for Edward as well as the ship

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ehh

posted by Bennngeeee (TEMECULA, CA) Apr 29, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Probably the most boring assasins creed game I have played. Very disappointing. I couldn't even stand it enough to blast through the main missions. Everything was either extremely easy or stupid hard. You can't just jump around killing guys anymore it's more of a stealth game now. If I wanted to play hitman I would of, which sucked as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Absolutely Amazing

posted by BrandonLR2D2 (BUTLER, PA) Apr 26, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Ubisoft had me a little worried after playing "Assassins Creed Revelations" as in my opinion it felt as though the series was coming to an end almost as if they were running out of ideas for the game. FEAR NOT! as this is not the case with Assassins Creed Black Flag, with absolutely stunning next gen graphics. An amazing fresh new story that loosely intertwines with the other Assassins creeds games. In my opinion this is exactly what the series needed to keep it alive. I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone looking for a new and amazing next gen title! I give it a STRONG 9 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrible

posted by Jimbozine (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 25, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

It seems exactly the same at the PS3 version. I expected it look better . I dont understand all the good reviews it has . Dont bother playing this on the PS4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse