Rent Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag for PS4
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

933 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ac4 at its prime!

posted by NFAMOUS806 (AMARILLO, TX) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics 9.3
Storyline 9.0
Gameplay 9.0

Best nextgen launch game available besides BF4!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KILLER INSTINCT

posted by Fearzum101 (CONROE, TX) Nov 22, 2013

Member since May 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I love this game. The ability to roam where I want to. Go where I want to. Do whatever I want to. The sea battles are great. The graphics are killer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A masterpiece!

posted by Salz1978 (LEXINGTON, KY) Nov 19, 2013

Member since May 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have put about 15-20 hours into the Playstation 4 version of Black Flag, and the game is amazing. The graphics are beautiful and frame rate is nice.

There are simply a ton of things to in this game. Lots of upgrades to buy and craft for your Edward as well as your ship. A lot of islands and underwater locations to explore, as well as side activities like hunting, whaling, gambling and more.

Naval combat is a blast. There's nothing like taking on a powerful Royal Convoy and earning a nice fat reward when you come out on top.

Great game! Can't recommend it enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Excellent game, if you can tolerate the glitches!

posted by jpwolf (PLANO, TX) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is great game, and I have spent probably 50 hours playing it. I love the sea battles, even though the controls are a bit wonky. It is hard to see where your shots will go, especially once you get in close, especially your very important mortar shots.

On foot, the controls also need help, as he seems to do stuff randomly. Very beautiful game.

Now, for the many, many issues: The U-play passport/server problem is huge! The UBI servers haven't worked properly since launch, so about every 90 seconds you will receive an on-screen notice telling you that you can not connect, which always creates a brief freeze, and sometimes causes a long freeze, even causing you to reload once in a while. This is literally every 2 minutes! Aside from the freezing, you will see a lot of texture pop-ins, get stuck on a rock or twig and be unable to move. The worst glitches by far happen during combat.
The camera is a total nuisance, changing itself to a view where you can't see your enemies, which is important, especially when you are being attacked. Several times I have died during boarding because the game glitched out and I was attacked by enemies not even near me, or they stab me through a building or other permanent object. My all-time favorite was when I was attempting to use the pulley to kill the scouts, and was attacked and knocked off the mast before I even arrived.
The worst example was using the pulley and I flew over the ship up into the air and then fell about 50 meters to my death.
Yes, I am playing this on my brand-new PS4. I even replaced the game thinking that would help. UBI should really be ashamed about the wonky camera, controls, server issues and glitches.
As I said, great game, if you can tolerate the glitches!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same old repetitive game

posted by tke144red (EAST PETERSBURG, PA) Dec 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is silly. Graphically its nice, but as a game it is lacking. You just go around collecting items, and jumping on stuff for updates. Follow a main story line along the way. If you like doing the same thing 40 times in different cities, this is the game for you. I can't believe its so popular among some folks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old stuff ....

posted by Lvs_U_Stunned (TAMPA, FL) Dec 22, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Not sure why the 2nd, 3rd and 4th revisions of this game get high marks. It's the same dumb tasks every time. This game is 90% repetition, and 10% story line. If I wanted to spend 40 hours doing the same menial tasks over and over and over I would get a Wii .....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome + Fun

posted by GhettoEx (EL PASO, TX) Apr 15, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Had aGReat Time PLaying this, Graphics Are Awesome, and al the new things u can do in AC4 are jsut awesome and makes the games feel really fun and cool..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the top AC games thus far!

posted by Ravynheart (LOUISVILLE, KY) Apr 15, 2014

Member since Oct 2006

This game, while not truly next-gen, is very much worth the time and effort one can put into it.

The story is, interesting. Maybe a bit off, at times, but still interesting enough to pull you in and not let go.

For those, like myself, who really enjoy getting into side missions...this, is paradise! You could spend weeks in this game, working on upgrades and side-missions, never touching the main story, and STILL not run out of stuff to do. There are forts to take over, treasures to find, sunken ships to secure, assassinations to complete, Templars to hunt, fragments to be found, keys to be obtained, stones to be checked, creatures to be harpooned...and, of course, ships to destroy!

EVERYONE, who knows ANYTHING, about AC4, knows this is about being a pirate. Plundering! Pillaging! Sinking enemy ships!

You will spend most of your time on the Jackdaw, your ship. At first, it takes a little getting used to sailing. But once you get a feel for steering and speed, it becomes second nature pretty quick. As the game progresses you will find harsher weather and sea conditions to fight against, while battling ships at the same time, but by then it should be no trouble.

On land, Kenway moves just like his grandson Connor, from AC3, easily moving through trees and brush, up the sides of buildings, or along the rigging of ships.

Graphically, this is not a next-gen game, but it is still very pretty. From swimming underwater, to moving through brush, to climbing trees, you will be surrounded by tropical beauty the entire time, no matter how many times you play through, and this game does have good replay value.

All in all, I have to recommend AC4 as a buy. I bought it, and have never regretted it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

broken games suck

posted by YUNGWON317 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 11, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

from the time I received this game in the mail it didn't work. the most game play I got in was about 20 mins before the game crashed. I tried multiple times and with out fail one after another all attempts failed. the little bit of game time I did get in I was constantly bothered by the server error for uplay not being able to sign in. searched the net for all info on the topic tried several solutions including initializing my ps4 and deleting all saved content from the cloud nothing. it's not the ps4 cause all other games work fine juss this one. I love ubisoft the make good games but the messed up big with this one. when the game worked ill give it a 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Looks Amazing!

posted by psnBigBoi345 (KENNESAW, GA) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Graphically, this game is beast on ps4, the gameplay was pretty good as well, took me about a month (on and off play) to complete the game. I would recommend this if you like assassins creed and great graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FANTASTIC!!

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Nov 2004

The world of Black Flag is nothing short of remarkable. This is the most expansive setting in the history of the franchise, a virtual rendition of the West Indies that encompasses all manner of burgeoning colonies, Mayan ruins, and deadly jungles. Cities like Havana and Nassau reflect the series' trademark attention to detail, from the stonework cathedrals of the former to the ramshackle taverns of the latter. Then there are the remote islands inhabited by nothing more than crabs and sea turtles, underwater shipwrecks waiting to be explored, and vast stretches of sparkling Caribbean waters that are every bit as deadly as they are gorgeous.
Black Flag looks especially impressive on the PlayStation 4, where improved lighting and a greater resolution bathe the world in a terrific level of visual fidelity and artistic flourishes. You're better able to notice the little things, like the way foliage gives way to Kenway while he sneaks through the bushes, or the realistic flutter of fabric on your sails when a strong wind sweeps across the sea. The current-generation versions of Black Flag still look terrific, but all those little details in the PlayStation 4 version draw you into the world that much more.
Black Flag presents a world full of adventure and opportunity, where treasures scavenged in a remote jungle can be used to turn the tide in a massive naval battle against mighty Spanish warships. It's a game where you can sail the seas for hours at a time, either hunting great white sharks or simply listening to your crew sing one infectious sea shanty after the next. There's an incredible scope to what you can do in Black Flag, with a level of harmony between its component parts that encourages you to try it all, and a story that keeps you invested throughout the whole thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game I've played in a while

posted by uttles (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

I loved this game. The AC story was pretty good, as usual, but what put it over the top was the ability to sail the open seas and just go around being a pirate and doing whatever the heck you wanted to do. My only complaint with this game is that there wasn't and endless amount of stuff to do on the ocean. If they could somehow turn the pirate aspect of this game into a stand-alone game (maybe even with multiplayer like Need for Speed) then it would be amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best game i played so far as i owned PS4 1 month!

posted by doublejj84 (TAMPA, FL) Mar 30, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

This is by far the best game I have played so far since owning the PS4 this month and I have only beat COD GHST and this game is beautifully made and very expansive.

PROS: replay value + plenty to do and discover/massive gameplay
Naval battles are beautifully done/harpooning and underwater is cool.
A sense of achievement in knowing that all your doing will lead to great reward.
Overall great experience in open world gaming/blueprint for other developers to take notice of what to approach a game like.

CONS: Harpooning and underwater navigation controls could have been done a little better/more smoother control of Kenway underwater.

Without upgrading your charter or upgrading Kenway you will not have success in taking navel convoys or fleets or navel castles. Use your in game currency wisely so you can have a strong vessel.

That's pretty much it, im about 50% done with the main missions but not even a quarter way done with the side missions and overall 100% sync as there is so much to do. Thinking about keeping it but not sure as I get overwhelmed with trying to complete everything I grow tired fast. Thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old Song and Dance + Boats....

posted by BlackburnD81 (TIPP CITY, OH) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Visually this game is amazing. Unfortunately looks can be deceiving. It is literally the exact same as all of the past Assassins Creed titles, which ran it's course after about the second game. Still has the same issues as all the old games as well. Got bred pretty quickly, and annoyed even faster... How after all these years can you not fix the free run system? Just a little bit of tweaking could maybe fix my character jumping to the ledge I desire, and jumping slightly to the side and falling to his death for no reason. The combat is the still the same boring formula, and the side mission are the same repetitive lameness. I was hoping for an overhaul, but certainly didn't get it. I guess this is the end for me as an assassin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

unbelievable

posted by Johnnysthoughts (DELTONA, FL) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game is on top of all games. Great storyline, unbelievable graphics. Cant wait for the next one. I heard its french times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible Game

posted by Anathema706 (LEXINGTON, KY) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

The side quests were more fun than the main storyline. Awful game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great great game

posted by Ericktorrez96 (HUMBLE, TX) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Loved the graphics and game is just incredible. Game seems endless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Creed

posted by Digi1435 (BEDFORD, VA) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

This was the best out of the series thus far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

assassins creed 4

posted by mistermike (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 12, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Ill make this simple and to the point. If you're a fan, then you'll enjoy this game. It's basically the same kind of gameplay. The ship battles are a lot of fun at first; so is upgrading the ship. But after you finish doing all that, you will want to just finish the game. The main character, Kenway, is cool. My favorite assassin yet. I just wondered where he learned to kick so much booty from the beginning of the game when he wasn't even an assassin. Either way, there's not much else out on PS4. Rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

1st assassin creed ever played

posted by christopherba19 (NEW BRITAIN, CT) Mar 6, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

For being the first one. I really enjoyed the story line. a lot of emotion in the character. Recommend renting or even purchasing it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game!

posted by victorx38 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

i really like this game. the world is awesome and you feel like your can go and do whatever you like. visually the environment will not disappoint and the story is a nice addition to the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Assassins Creed IV Black Flag

posted by superdifficult (LESLIE, MI) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

While an entertaining game, the story lacks any motivation, and the game play is repetitive (as is the case with Assassins creed.), however, they give you enough different things you can do, so there are many game play hours available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This franchise irritates me more than any other.

posted by krayfish (SPRING HILL, FL) Feb 22, 2014

Member since Dec 2007

It seems like AC in general is chock full of really great ideas and concepts. In many ways it is ahead of other franchises for creativity and imagination but never seems to get any of them right. There is NO difficulty setting which forces you to never upgrade a thing to ever hope to have anything resembling a challenge. So you have to miss out on the experience of crafting and buying completely and even then the game offers no real challenges.

The fighting is so easy you can literally close your eyes once an enemy turns red over their head indicating they are going to attack u. Simply hold O followed by square..boring. There should be difficulty settings for those of us who have all five fingers and two working eyes. I should be able to turn off seeing enemies on my display screen so I can immerse in the experience instead of relying on my display. Especially since you have to fight 50 guys at once to have any challenge what so ever.

The game encourages use of stealth at times but gives you no crouch button...EPIC fails. So many great ideas and concepts just wasted. Every new AC is just more of the same ol' same ol. Are they even trying? Seriously? Do they not play these games themselves before releasing them? They don't even try to change the scenery or environment, its getting ridiculously old. You know the AC series is still a decent franchise but at some point you should be able to tell you are playing the latest AC and not the first AC all over again. I would fire the entire staff like they did at Irrational games.

Red Barrels Games is going to be the next big thing because they are creative and dare to push the envelope with games like Outlast. Time for a personnel change and some fresh blood to save this franchise from its rapid descent into gaming boredom. Come on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just okay

posted by Warpath21SHG (LANCASTER, CA) Feb 22, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

The game is fun but it looks like a PS3 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost perfect....

posted by Adamj253 (LAKEWOOD, WA) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

This is almost a perfect game. Almost . The little things are extremely annoying though. Like in the middle of combat hitting the attack button sometimes will just make your character flail his swords up and down instead of attacking. Or when your in the middle of ship combat and being blinded by cannon smoke for an extremely long time even under strong winds. But they did do alot of things right. The graphics for one on the PS4 are gorgeous. All in all worth playing through at least once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse