Rent Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag for PS4
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

Used: $24.99

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.2

1848 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game I've played in a while

posted by uttles (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. The AC story was pretty good, as usual, but what put it over the top was the ability to sail the open seas and just go around being a pirate and doing whatever the heck you wanted to do. My only complaint with this game is that there wasn't and endless amount of stuff to do on the ocean. If they could somehow turn the pirate aspect of this game into a stand-alone game (maybe even with multiplayer like Need for Speed) then it would be amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pirates Ahoy!

posted by BallElf (SPANAWAY, WA) Sep 1, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

An exciting adventure into stealth and direct action combat. My first engagement with the series and I must say I was impressed. The graphics look wonderful on the TV. The gameplay is easy enough to get used to and the story and characters are well thought out. For the con's going through and trying to collect most of the items does get tedious. Sometimes your character will try to climb when you just want him to run. With Unity & Rouge coming soon and developers claiming to have worked on developing al the things that were good to "great". I think this is a great starting off point. I will not go back and play the previous titles as I'm afraid they will not be as good. I did't try to engage with the online stuff so that might make the game even better. Overall a great rental, possible buy if you want to explore online option.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Action packed adventure!

posted by xDarkHuntress (PASCO, WA) Aug 30, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game! the graphics are amazing, and so is the story line. Having real characters in the game is an amazing idea, i feel like I know all these pirates! Blackbeard, Mary Read, Anne Bonny and so on. The game isn't super hard or easy it's perfect. You can also go out an adventure the map if you wanted to, collect loot and discover new locations. There's not a part in the game where i get bored, so please get this game. You wont regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great great game

posted by Ericktorrez96 (HUMBLE, TX) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Loved the graphics and game is just incredible. Game seems endless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Creed

posted by Digi1435 (BEDFORD, VA) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the best out of the series thus far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

assassins creed 4

posted by mistermike (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 12, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ill make this simple and to the point. If you're a fan, then you'll enjoy this game. It's basically the same kind of gameplay. The ship battles are a lot of fun at first; so is upgrading the ship. But after you finish doing all that, you will want to just finish the game. The main character, Kenway, is cool. My favorite assassin yet. I just wondered where he learned to kick so much booty from the beginning of the game when he wasn't even an assassin. Either way, there's not much else out on PS4. Rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ac4 at its prime!

posted by NFAMOUS806 (AMARILLO, TX) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Graphics 9.3
Storyline 9.0
Gameplay 9.0

Best nextgen launch game available besides BF4!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KILLER INSTINCT

posted by Fearzum101 (CONROE, TX) Nov 22, 2013

Member since May 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I love this game. The ability to roam where I want to. Go where I want to. Do whatever I want to. The sea battles are great. The graphics are killer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A masterpiece!

posted by Salz1978 (LEXINGTON, KY) Nov 19, 2013

Member since May 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have put about 15-20 hours into the Playstation 4 version of Black Flag, and the game is amazing. The graphics are beautiful and frame rate is nice.

There are simply a ton of things to in this game. Lots of upgrades to buy and craft for your Edward as well as your ship. A lot of islands and underwater locations to explore, as well as side activities like hunting, whaling, gambling and more.

Naval combat is a blast. There's nothing like taking on a powerful Royal Convoy and earning a nice fat reward when you come out on top.

Great game! Can't recommend it enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just okay

posted by Warpath21SHG (LANCASTER, CA) Feb 22, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is fun but it looks like a PS3 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Excellent game, if you can tolerate the glitches!

posted by jpwolf (PLANO, TX) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is great game, and I have spent probably 50 hours playing it. I love the sea battles, even though the controls are a bit wonky. It is hard to see where your shots will go, especially once you get in close, especially your very important mortar shots.

On foot, the controls also need help, as he seems to do stuff randomly. Very beautiful game.

Now, for the many, many issues: The U-play passport/server problem is huge! The UBI servers haven't worked properly since launch, so about every 90 seconds you will receive an on-screen notice telling you that you can not connect, which always creates a brief freeze, and sometimes causes a long freeze, even causing you to reload once in a while. This is literally every 2 minutes! Aside from the freezing, you will see a lot of texture pop-ins, get stuck on a rock or twig and be unable to move. The worst glitches by far happen during combat.
The camera is a total nuisance, changing itself to a view where you can't see your enemies, which is important, especially when you are being attacked. Several times I have died during boarding because the game glitched out and I was attacked by enemies not even near me, or they stab me through a building or other permanent object. My all-time favorite was when I was attempting to use the pulley to kill the scouts, and was attacked and knocked off the mast before I even arrived.
The worst example was using the pulley and I flew over the ship up into the air and then fell about 50 meters to my death.
Yes, I am playing this on my brand-new PS4. I even replaced the game thinking that would help. UBI should really be ashamed about the wonky camera, controls, server issues and glitches.
As I said, great game, if you can tolerate the glitches!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old stuff ....

posted by Lvs_U_Stunned (TAMPA, FL) Dec 22, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Not sure why the 2nd, 3rd and 4th revisions of this game get high marks. It's the same dumb tasks every time. This game is 90% repetition, and 10% story line. If I wanted to spend 40 hours doing the same menial tasks over and over and over I would get a Wii .....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same old repetitive game

posted by tke144red (EAST PETERSBURG, PA) Dec 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is silly. Graphically its nice, but as a game it is lacking. You just go around collecting items, and jumping on stuff for updates. Follow a main story line along the way. If you like doing the same thing 40 times in different cities, this is the game for you. I can't believe its so popular among some folks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Suck!

posted by 30yo (STOCKTON, CA) May 11, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Hard to control, can't skip the movies, on the board all the time.
They make this game on board to increase the gameplay time, everything is too slow, easy to die (stupid ideas).
Board battle really suck, boring and headache.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassin's Creed

posted by babyboi1331 (HONOLULU, HI) Sep 18, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Best game I have played in quite some time. Can't wait for unity to come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Game

posted by kts_24 (PONCHATOULA, LA) Sep 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

Never played assassins creed before this is the first time and i love it wish i would have been playing these games sooner. Took me a while to catch on and figure it out but overall good game i rate 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by loveshack73 (WELEETKA, OK) Sep 12, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Great game. Just wish they would focus more on the brotherhood of assassins like the game's origins

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Game

posted by Saint_Shamroks (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) Sep 10, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This game is amazing. It is a must own. If you haven't played it yet then your missing out. seriously pirates and ships.? assassins and Templars? What are you waiting for?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AC4....much more fun the AC3

posted by jets28cm (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 9, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This game is just fun. You play as a pirate indisguise for an Assassin to get the treasure for his own greed. You live the life of a pirate with the open world and lots of side missions to play. The main character is alot more exciting and diverse then the straight edge Conner. and the cast you play with reflects the same way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its an okay game

posted by dylan_8247 (TWIN FALLS, ID) Sep 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

its an ok game it seems like the graphics are almost identical to the ps3 version so if you are getting it expecting amazing graphics prepare to be disappointed i say just get it for ps3 its cheaper and the same in everyway

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good

posted by HollywoodH88ter (ROYALTON, MN) Sep 2, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Awesome title

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just ok (possible spoiler).

posted by Jwright84 (EVERETT, WA) Aug 19, 2014

Member since Jun 2009

I've been a fan of the Assassin's Creed series since the beginning so playing Black Flag was going to happen for me at some point. I gave this game a 6. It was a decent game but that is about all it was, decent. The storyline is just ok. The absence of Desmond makes it (in my opinion) less interesting. There still are some awesome moments and naturally the game expands on the Assassin's Creed universe.

The size of the game world is a bit overwhelming at first but I imagine, just like me, most people will get past that. The naval battles are initially engaging but the appeal wears off pretty quickly (unless you are a HUGE fan of pirates and sea battles of course). The controls can be frustrating at times with the game assuming you meant to climb a wall instead of continuing your foot pursuit of a target.

The multiplayer however is (again this is my opinion) utter garbage. I really wanted to like it but I just could not. The controls really become infuriating here at times, the game seems to want me to assassinate civilians (which you are penalized for) rather than the person I am targeting and locked on to. The multiplayer becomes tedious and repetitive and eventually degrades into a grind to reach the max level. I also frown on the decision to add micro-transactions.

It took me nearly 80 hours to attain 100% in single player and I stopped playing multiplayer after around 20 hours (just long enough to attain all the multiplayer trophies). All in all this game is fair but it is certainly not Assassin's Creed II (which I feel is the best in the series).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply the Best Assassin game out!

posted by SiMplyNoMeRcY (NEW HAVEN, CT) Aug 7, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

I played this game and enjoyed every bit of the stealthy kills, running, climbing, and most of all air assassinations! The one bad thing that ticked me the most was trying to climb onto enemies Sail Boat but they kept knocking me down even when im IN the water. But overall it was a fun and long game! cannot wait for the next installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Assassin not pirate

posted by otie798 (RODEO, CA) Aug 4, 2014

Member since Nov 2008

I couldn't get a handle on the sailing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THis game is BOMB!!!!!!!!

posted by alonzorencher (GILBERT, AZ) Jul 31, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I just hope i get the last game i got wasnt the right game so thumbs crossed GF will send me the right copy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse