Rent Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag for PS4
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $49.99

GF Rating
8.2

2187 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game I've played in a while

posted by uttles (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. The AC story was pretty good, as usual, but what put it over the top was the ability to sail the open seas and just go around being a pirate and doing whatever the heck you wanted to do. My only complaint with this game is that there wasn't and endless amount of stuff to do on the ocean. If they could somehow turn the pirate aspect of this game into a stand-alone game (maybe even with multiplayer like Need for Speed) then it would be amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Action packed adventure!

posted by xDarkHuntress (PASCO, WA) Aug 30, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game! the graphics are amazing, and so is the story line. Having real characters in the game is an amazing idea, i feel like I know all these pirates! Blackbeard, Mary Read, Anne Bonny and so on. The game isn't super hard or easy it's perfect. You can also go out an adventure the map if you wanted to, collect loot and discover new locations. There's not a part in the game where i get bored, so please get this game. You wont regret it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Was reluctant to start, then couldn't stop playing

posted by DINGLExBERRY (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

With how repetitive AC titles have been, I was reluctant to start the game, but I picked it up because I had nothing else to play. I played all AC games except ACIII, so I knew what I was getting into (or so I thought), so when I started I literally just wanted to speed pass the game and move on. It didn't take long for me to fall in love with the game and instead spend so long playing it that I nearly got a 100% sync.

Sure, it's not much of an AC game, nor does it further the AC story, but the addition of pirates gave it a breath of fresh air. I really was not excited about naval warfare but it ended up being one of my favorite parts - nothing more exhilarating than beating on a ship, boarding it, then air assassinating the captain from a rope swing and commencing an epic ship/pirate battle.

If you were tired of other AC games, this one will still retain the same fight and parkour mechanics, but it will add the thrill of being a pirate (which doesn't seem like a huge difference, but trust me, it is, it got my attention).

Definitely a great decision to play this game. Would recommend it to others.

Only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is because there are other games more deserving of that rating and unless this game is on par with them (God of War series, Tomb Raider, Last of Us, etc.) then it will receive the next best thing - a 9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pirates Ahoy!

posted by BallElf (SPANAWAY, WA) Sep 1, 2014

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

An exciting adventure into stealth and direct action combat. My first engagement with the series and I must say I was impressed. The graphics look wonderful on the TV. The gameplay is easy enough to get used to and the story and characters are well thought out. For the con's going through and trying to collect most of the items does get tedious. Sometimes your character will try to climb when you just want him to run. With Unity & Rouge coming soon and developers claiming to have worked on developing al the things that were good to "great". I think this is a great starting off point. I will not go back and play the previous titles as I'm afraid they will not be as good. I did't try to engage with the online stuff so that might make the game even better. Overall a great rental, possible buy if you want to explore online option.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great great game

posted by Ericktorrez96 (HUMBLE, TX) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Loved the graphics and game is just incredible. Game seems endless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Creed

posted by Digi1435 (BEDFORD, VA) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was the best out of the series thus far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

assassins creed 4

posted by mistermike (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 12, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ill make this simple and to the point. If you're a fan, then you'll enjoy this game. It's basically the same kind of gameplay. The ship battles are a lot of fun at first; so is upgrading the ship. But after you finish doing all that, you will want to just finish the game. The main character, Kenway, is cool. My favorite assassin yet. I just wondered where he learned to kick so much booty from the beginning of the game when he wasn't even an assassin. Either way, there's not much else out on PS4. Rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ac4 at its prime!

posted by NFAMOUS806 (AMARILLO, TX) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Graphics 9.3
Storyline 9.0
Gameplay 9.0

Best nextgen launch game available besides BF4!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KILLER INSTINCT

posted by Fearzum101 (CONROE, TX) Nov 22, 2013

Member since May 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I love this game. The ability to roam where I want to. Go where I want to. Do whatever I want to. The sea battles are great. The graphics are killer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A masterpiece!

posted by Salz1978 (LEXINGTON, KY) Nov 19, 2013

Member since May 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have put about 15-20 hours into the Playstation 4 version of Black Flag, and the game is amazing. The graphics are beautiful and frame rate is nice.

There are simply a ton of things to in this game. Lots of upgrades to buy and craft for your Edward as well as your ship. A lot of islands and underwater locations to explore, as well as side activities like hunting, whaling, gambling and more.

Naval combat is a blast. There's nothing like taking on a powerful Royal Convoy and earning a nice fat reward when you come out on top.

Great game! Can't recommend it enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

graphics

posted by AELL (ROCHESTER, NY) Oct 1, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rented this soley for the graphics. Ive played most of the assassins before this one and loved them all. Since most of he reviews say the graphics are amazing i got it to find out they werent any better than ps3. I think its worse because the people are just horrible. Idk i didnt get too far into to judge its gameplay but i was really disapointed with this one. Im sure AC: unity will fill in these gaps

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just okay

posted by Warpath21SHG (LANCASTER, CA) Feb 22, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is fun but it looks like a PS3 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Excellent game, if you can tolerate the glitches!

posted by jpwolf (PLANO, TX) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is great game, and I have spent probably 50 hours playing it. I love the sea battles, even though the controls are a bit wonky. It is hard to see where your shots will go, especially once you get in close, especially your very important mortar shots.

On foot, the controls also need help, as he seems to do stuff randomly. Very beautiful game.

Now, for the many, many issues: The U-play passport/server problem is huge! The UBI servers haven't worked properly since launch, so about every 90 seconds you will receive an on-screen notice telling you that you can not connect, which always creates a brief freeze, and sometimes causes a long freeze, even causing you to reload once in a while. This is literally every 2 minutes! Aside from the freezing, you will see a lot of texture pop-ins, get stuck on a rock or twig and be unable to move. The worst glitches by far happen during combat.
The camera is a total nuisance, changing itself to a view where you can't see your enemies, which is important, especially when you are being attacked. Several times I have died during boarding because the game glitched out and I was attacked by enemies not even near me, or they stab me through a building or other permanent object. My all-time favorite was when I was attempting to use the pulley to kill the scouts, and was attacked and knocked off the mast before I even arrived.
The worst example was using the pulley and I flew over the ship up into the air and then fell about 50 meters to my death.
Yes, I am playing this on my brand-new PS4. I even replaced the game thinking that would help. UBI should really be ashamed about the wonky camera, controls, server issues and glitches.
As I said, great game, if you can tolerate the glitches!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old stuff ....

posted by Lvs_U_Stunned (TAMPA, FL) Dec 22, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Not sure why the 2nd, 3rd and 4th revisions of this game get high marks. It's the same dumb tasks every time. This game is 90% repetition, and 10% story line. If I wanted to spend 40 hours doing the same menial tasks over and over and over I would get a Wii .....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same old repetitive game

posted by tke144red (EAST PETERSBURG, PA) Dec 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game is silly. Graphically its nice, but as a game it is lacking. You just go around collecting items, and jumping on stuff for updates. Follow a main story line along the way. If you like doing the same thing 40 times in different cities, this is the game for you. I can't believe its so popular among some folks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Suck!

posted by 30yo (STOCKTON, CA) May 11, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Hard to control, can't skip the movies, on the board all the time.
They make this game on board to increase the gameplay time, everything is too slow, easy to die (stupid ideas).
Board battle really suck, boring and headache.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

New to the Series and loved this entry

posted by SDouse2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Dec 16, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

I want to start off by saying I was interested in this game because of the pirate journey. It was my first in the Assassin's Creed series and I was not dissapointed. I played the others after this and I enjoyed this the most. The open world aspect was great! Being able to travel to locations, search for chests, hunt the animals, and battle with your ship made this game worth it. The story was also excellent and made me willing to run through and complete the story 100%. Outside of the main game you have a multiplayer, 'cat and mouse' type games. I did not care for these too much, but cannot lower my perception for the game. If you are more into a campaign/open world game this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

so awesome, I bought it.

posted by teddyruggxpin (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 10, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I don't like to keep games long. I want to play them, flip them back to GF so I can get another. this game broke all my rules. I kept it on rent for over a month THEN bought it. I'm still playing it in between other games. the graphics are amazing, and game mechanics are decent. it's definitely not as solid as I would expect... I noticed my share of "graphic holes" in textures and characters, and sometimes the free-run was so anxious to grab on to a wall or building that it overrode what I was actually trying to get the game to do. also, sometimes it wouldn't engage in physical combat... I'd be taking damage and couldn't hit back. so, there's definitely a learning curve, but didn't detract enough from game play to keep me from having a great time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Open world awesomeness

posted by SykMaster Dec 10, 2014

This game could possibly be the best open world game ever made Story:9.5/10 Gameplay: 10/10 Open world: 10/10 Content: 10/10 Total: 9.8/10 Worth a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

AC IV

posted by SammyBoyMunson (GALVESTON, IN) Dec 8, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

After being disappointed with AC III I kinda lost belief that the Assassin's Creed games were gonna shape up, and I have to admit, the sailing and the naval combat was fun in III and IV, but that was it, I believe that there was less freedom to do random stuff that you wouldn't expect as in the Skate or the Just Cause franchises. I like the parkour and naval ideas but the rest I just found dull and boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The ship fight is so dum

posted by ruthlessstar (SYRACUSE, NY) Nov 22, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

The game is OK, but I hate the ship part. I dont like the ship fight, it's like using a buket to kill a rat, it's slow and boring. And it takes soooooo much time and effort to collect material to upgrade ur ship(which u have to because u cant go on without some naval battle, and enemy's ship is far more strong than yours).
When I finish the game, it's a relief, not too much joy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by Easy_E_123 (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Nov 20, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

If you ever wanted to be a captain of a ship and take over the west indies, this is exactly that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Black flags

posted by Nomadw12345 (LACEY, WA) Nov 17, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

ship battling is extremely interesting
But it takes a very long time to upgrade the ships

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by StarUndead (JBER, AK) Nov 17, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

This one was the best Assassins Creed ever!!! I was so motived about every time I played it. Thank you so much
The Johnson's Family

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Needed improvment

posted by Jaydee626 (LA PUENTE, CA) Nov 2, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

Storyline was lackluster, gameplay was great, graphics were even greater. But the storyline would not suck you in to play more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse