Rent Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag for Wii U
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.0

96 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

posted by SergeantBaldwin (LINCOLN, NE) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Enjoyable game. I think Black Flag was better than Assassin's Creed III, and the hideout is more fitting thematically (than in Assassin's Creed III, sorry Connor). However, the story seems to progress strangely. I can't quite pin down what I think is/was strange about it, but it progressed strangely. For whatever that thought is worth to anyone reading this review.

If I owned it, would I pick it up and play from time to time now that I've finished the game? Definitely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Assasins Creed Black Flag

posted by kaminski89 (CYNTHIANA, KY) Jul 16, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Loved the game, only issue is that it was really long...I don't typically have a lot of time to play games, my husband is the gamer. I love the graphics, and everything else about the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

gameplay ruined

posted by Smashingb64 (BEAUMONT, CA) Jun 28, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

The disk was very clean. but the game would not work. My brand new Wii U, that reads any game I put in it, would not read this one and when it did, it would stop working every 15 minutes, even after the update. Now the game play, it looks better than any other assassin's creed, but feels the same. With this in mind, the game seemed very repetitive and with what I was able to play I put the game back in its case and sent it right back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

has a problem

posted by amin4044 (WILLOW SPRING, NC) Jun 24, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

the disc is default

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Smooth Sailing

posted by thenumbers1234 (LIMESTONE, TN) Feb 22, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Assassin's Creed 4: Black Flag is a very enjoyable game. The strength of this game is the open world itself. There are plenty of fun side activities to do and collectibles to find. It is easily my favorite open world in the Assassin's Creed series so far. As far as the storyline goes, I found it a nice change of pace from the norm of the series. This storyline involves a tale of pirating getting mixed up with the conflict between the Assassins and the Templars. It has many lighthearted moments as well as many more serious moments, too. There are a few issues I had with the campaign, though. First, although there are many enjoyable missions, there were more of the tedious tailing missions than I would have liked. Second, since the time period of the game involved many issues of colonial exploitation, racism, etc., I though there were many missed opportunities to address these social issues. Nevertheless, the game as it is turns out to be a very fun experience. As far as the Wii-U version goes, the off-television play works very well. The map on the Gamepad is very practical, too. It even allows you to zoom the map in and out with touch screen controls. Unfortunately, I don't think the touch screen map has any way for you to set waypoints. It seems as if you still have to bring up the map on the television screen in order to do that. Overall, I would recommend playing the Wii-U version if you already own the console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The cons outway the pros

posted by Grumpy_Gourmand (GULF SHORES, AL) Nov 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

First of all, let me say, I am a huge fan of this series playing almost every game that has been put out. Having said that, the Abstergo (Templars) vs Assassins story line is starting to get a little tiresome, and this one is no different.

I have not played it on other systems, so the issues that I have with this game and the gamepad seem like so many other flawed functionality issues that I have seen in other games for this system that have been poorly ported over. The character steering with the L control stick is a hassle especially when you are climbing because it constantly turns of the Eagle Eye feature. This is just one of the many gamepad issues that I had that could fill up a whole review on their own.

The other issue that I have is with the missions. How many following missions can a developer put in one game, at least two in every major sequence, whether on foot or in the ship. It gets really old, really fast. And Ubisoft said they would correct the issues from ACIII that stated if you got too close, or some other issue with following it, the player would not have to start all over aren't true.

While the funnest part of the game is upgrading the ship and shipping around the West Indies taking down ships and plundering island along the way is great stress relief, it does not make up for a poor storyline. Very little character development, dodgy history (Capt. Cook and Mary Reid for example, the way Blackbeard and Black Bart are portrayed). Its just a frustrating experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »