Rent Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag for PS3
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.5

1575 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brilliant game!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 1, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game mechanics adaptive-Climbing around fit the pirate scheme nicely, but multiplayer still doesn't make any sense... Still being its uncoordinated guessing game. Being why I gave it a nine, the multiplayer is sense-less... A co-op mode would be a lot funner.

Ubisoft puts you in the shoes of Edward Kenway...

Edward Kenway is a big dreamer... Setting his sights on a life style that has gold pouring out of his pockets and with all the fame in the world. The privateer Kenway, however, was at the bottom of the barrel in life, but luck finds its way to him... May it been being at the right place, at the right time... Edward now was given a chance to take what he wanted in life and be a captain of a ship that pirates the Caribbean.

The game is awesome. The story is ok, but in numerous instances it has a shifty climax giving a often "Whats going on in the story" feeling, but it has well written dialouge. It starts off slow. Ubisoft seemed to find a hurdle: explaining game functionality, but keeping to a story script. You wont fully see what the game has to offer until the first two islands... But even after that, you still haven't seen how to upgrade your boat and coordinate the fleet.

There is A LOT to do in the game. The stealth mechanics and side missions are flawless in giving that non-stop cinematic experience. I just don't understand how a game that has so much functionality in single player--would give the multiplayer a guessing game scenario: Everyone looks like the AI and you have to kill the right one. Why not a cat and mouse game, where someone is a king ordering guards to location while the assassins try to sneak in and take out the player who is the king?? Why does multiplayer has to be so senseless.

The map is huge... The graphics have its pristine moments where you can just see the grit and roughness of the wood or stone columns.

The game is no doubt the Best Assassins Creed... You will wanna keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9/10

posted by Robert513 (CINCINNATI, OH) Oct 31, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

truly the best in the series...a lot more to do outside the main story....extremely entertaining

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST ASSASSIN CREED MADE

posted by Mike3083 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Nov 2, 2013

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got to say assassin creed 4 has way more stuff to do after you beaten it then gta v ever had ubisoft did an great job all the way until you get to mutiplayer whice to me is boring hated it just wish they leave it out along with codes, I barely got to enjoy single player cause of an freaking code that gives u extra stuff to do if you buy the game wow renters want to enjoy single player fully too but still fun without codes best assassin creed ever made graphics are good too can't wait to play it on ps4.=)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best AC game thus far

posted by robbyam (MIAMI, FL) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As the title implies, it's definitely the best. Most of the game will be spent on your ship, especially so if you want to complete all the side missions and ship upgrades. The ship controls very smoothly, and isn't plagued by he terrible controls that the AC series is known for when on land.

Plenty to do when you're bored of assassinating. Smuggler's dens, underwater ship wrecks, naval missions and more are all available to complete.

There are only a few downsides to the game. One of them being the story moves at a snail pace and takes a long time to actually get to anything interesting. The characters are all likeable but it spends too much time on menial details. That said, this is perhaps to add some depth to Edward since Ubisoft will more than likely continue Edward's story with a sequel or two. Speaking of Edward, I found him to be the most likeable Assassin yet! Has as much personality as Ezio, if not more, without the brattiness.

Overall, the game does just about everything right with minimal complaints. Only real downside is the do-everything-with-one-button which leads to you doing things you didn't want to do various times.

Side note: Ps3 version runs surprisingly well with some frame drops in some parts of the cities. 1080i too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Another fail...

posted by bobcat918 (MERCER ISLAND, WA) Jul 29, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

I was almost done with a series I have loved after the horror that was AC3. I tried again but this feels too much like AC3 but with more ship battles. Boring, tedious, and uninteresting characters made the game a total snore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by hos85 (RENTON, WA) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

as a fan of the assassins creed series i was very disappointed with ac 3, but black flag made up for it. the only reason i gave it a 8 is because Edward Kenway cant compete with Ezio Auditore. highly recommend with plenty things to do, whether its running around on land or taking to the high seas. great story line that has brought back glory to ac.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrendously buggy

posted by Dan1117 (Teaneck, NJ) Jun 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

I could not play this game for more than 20 minutes without the game freezing up. Does Ubisoft do ANY kind of debugging or Beta testing??? Thank goodness I rented this game. I ended up returning it the same day I received it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved it.

posted by ItsKevin (NANUET, NY) May 31, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

You'll really love this game, you will not regret buying it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A tired franchise gets boats.

posted by nuffsaid (PAHOA, HI) May 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2008

AC Black Flag looks nice but after the novelty of piloting your ship wears off there is nothing very interesting in this game.
Removing the x button to initiate climbing ruins running around as you always climb a wall or jump onto a pillar that you don't want to. The characters and story are forgettable and the rest is go here kill someone or open a chest.
The old AC gameplay just feels tired and boring and putting in ships only masks the underlying problem that this franchise needs to go down to Davey Jones' Locker

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Assassin's Creed So Far

posted by Beast383 (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

First off, I bought the game.

This game was totally awesome.

1. It had awesome graphics
2. It had good combat
3. The game area is huge, unlike AC3 which had 3 large areas, This game had 30 different areas with its own different habitats and characteristics.
4. If you liked the navel battles in AC3 then you will love this game a whole lot more.
A couple of little spoiler alerts: you will not have the tomahawk from AC3 and you will acquire old and a couple of new weapons.
I honestly loved this game so much that I played the whole game over again just to experience it again.

Overall there is just so much to do just in the campaign and the multiplayer is constantly wanting you to play longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ac-bf by tyler

posted by Tyizhi_209 (JACKSON, CA) Apr 24, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

PROS
The game was large which is nice.
Upgrades: your able to upgrade your ship, your guns and swords, and craft an assortment of gadgets and clothes; some clothes even give special effects (which is awesome).Early in the game you obtain an island which is upgrade-able.
The online multiplayer is fun, and different from norm, taking a stealth approach, with multiple game modes. Even a 'build your own game mode', where you can decipher game mode, map, rules, restrictions, and play it with other players.
The treasure maps were a cool idea.
Plus the fact your a flippin pirate, that can sail a fairly large sea.. That was a new and cool to experience.

CONS
There where chests throughout the game along with another thing called 'Animus Fragment'. These things in specific got more annoying to collect and felt more like a chore later in the game.
Towards the end it felt pretty null game play, i'd felt like I had done everything i wanted to even though my percent was still at 86%, so I didn't feel it had much replay-ability.

OVERALL
The game was well rounded.
That being said if you love games its worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

assassins creed

posted by tyler2010 (LAKEVIEW, OR) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

loved the game will buy it please make more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it.

posted by successful (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2009

Thank you for Fredom Cry. It broke my heart when I couldn't free all of my brothers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best One Yet!!!

posted by chargerbrett (DAYTON, OH) Mar 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

This is by the best made game so far. Tons of side missions keeps you busy even after beating the storyline. The only reason I give it a 9 is because of the online play. With a game like this there is no need for online play or if you want to have it that bad do it so that it resembles Call of Duty Spec Ops. That would make it much more fun. Overall great game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So many flaws, still worth it

posted by Eldavo (RANCHO CORDOVA, CA) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

If you're wondering if something got fixed in this installment, let me run this down for you:
The "go faster than walking" button is still the "climb up and around everything you see" button.
The menus remain slow and tedious
The rewards for collecting remain trivial
Targeting problems are abundant and they ruin missions
Lots of tedious, unskippable repeat animations for common tasks
Combat animations take forever
There is literally no benefit to having the best weapon in the game, over going unarmed.
The puzzles aren't even puzzles anymore. "Rotate until this fits" is not a puzzle.

New problems:
Combat is buggy as heck when you're not on even ground, meaning every every fight on every ship, all the time.
Getting off your boat (which you do all the time) is a headache. You have to carefully avoid hitting the large and in-the-way ledge that will send you to the top of your mast, where there is nothing for you at any point in the game.
Missions are often foiled by things you can't know are coming until you've failed the mission because of it.
They stop you in the game from time to time to make you play Frogger. I wish I were joking.
Pathing is ridiculous. Your character will get caught up stumbling over a knee-high wall and be killed because of it, and will sometimes refuse to jump down off a random ledge no matter what buttons you're pressing.

...but darn it all, it's still fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Combat Makes or Breaks All

posted by Koolaidman421 (HEMET, CA) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I gave this game a six/ten. All six are solely from the scenery, smoothness, the size of the world, the sailing, everything the game has to offer, except the combat. The combat is so terrible in this game, that it lost out on four points from me.

The combat begins as an enjoyable experience. You attack and the enemy usually parries your attacks and sometimes becomes hit, but it quickly becomes unfulfilling, ridiculously easy, and boring. There are a few combat options: Attack, throw off balance, and counter. You can simply attack any unaware enemies and kill them in an instant, or if they see you coming and parry, wait for them to counter, but you realize how easy the combat is upon using this counter. Hit "O" (or whatever symbol it is for you) followed by the attack, and your character immediately kills the enemy. This is where the flaw comes in. I never feel like there's a true need to run away and hide. I understand that this is a large part of the gameplay, and I would thoroughly enjoy that if I actually felt a need to run.

I pick pocket a quest based person and a large number of guards quickly come in. You have smoke bombs to help get away, but honestly, why? Let the guards come in and they will dumbly one by one attack you followed by the obvious counter symbol above their heads. Counter and kill, counter and kill. That is the extent of the combat in this current/next gen action adventure game. When there is a larger enemy you can not counter, there is another option: Throw them off balance, but this becomes your counter. Throw off balance and kill, throw off balance and kill. It's simple and boring.

The fact that the weapons have a damage value feels absolutely pointless, as you can simply kill enemies in an instant with your beginning weapons by countering and/or throwing off balance.

What has so much potential to be a great game, falters under the weight of its terrible combat system.

6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Return to Greatness

posted by endlessfight85 (WALLS, MS) Feb 11, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

After a few dull entries in the AC series, Black Flag definitely pulled me in and left me wanting more, even after about twenty five hours or so of playing. I was skeptical about the pirate theme, but it ended up being my favorite aspect of it. I have yet to play Black Flag on a next gen console, but this game is beautiful on PS3. This was definitely a step up for the franchise, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love open world

posted by DirtTrash (LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Had no idea this was an open world style game. Some of my favorite games are. I've been waiting for a console game where I can be a Pirate and float around causing devastation and collecting booty in an open world, do what I want, instance. Only reason for 9 and not 10. Graphics are better on my PC with insane FPS than that of my console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Black Flag (on a downhill slope)

posted by MacShammo (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 17, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Assasins creed one had a good thing going for it. The game mechanics and storyline were exceptionL for its time which was not too long ago....but with all good things, they die hard. Black Flag's mechanics are so simple a child could play it all you do is hold R1 (ps3) and square to attack with the every now and then press O or X... it is extremely simple. The open world graphics are phenomenal but the world map itself is far too big with not very much actual playable space to explore... it is almost as if you have a set path for you too follow with the illusion of choice.....The online mode was not to great either where one either spends the match hiding or finding the hidden (which is very simple too) There are parts in the story where you wake up from the ANIMUS in your office at Abstergo, only to find that the only way to communicate with anyone is through an iPad...ridiculous.....The graphics are insane, but the game play is slow are horrendous. AND GLITCHY ( so many frustrating moments of trying to climp a simple tree in this game) The "real life" aspect with the iPad angers me... I play video games to get away from real life not to dive deeper into it....everyday I see people with their faces buried in there tablets or iPads...and then I get it in the game???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassins Creed: "Black flaG" review

posted by bignbeefy12 (FORT FAIRFIELD, ME) Jan 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

This is a game that really has more than enough going for it, this title is something that I am thinking about buying after I rented it. If you buy this game for 35$ you will get your moneys worth in the first HOUR! of playing this game, its so flowing and the assassination system is like pixelated GOLD. BUY THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay they could have done better

posted by Jesse5321 (PARAMOUNT, CA) Dec 25, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

I don't like how long it takes to get to each mission personally I did not like the ship missions on assassins creed 3 and just to find out that assassins creed 4 was a pirate I was like oh god that means lots of ship missions I hate the fact that it is almost always mandatory to sail some where other then that I love the way Edward fights the new ways to kill and hide but I still think ubisoft is holding out on us I give this game a 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by litchfieldtodd (MESA, AZ) Dec 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

im stuck on a mission, that kinda sucks. but its a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by drmpro8 (CLEVELAND, TN) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

I've been a huge fan of the AC games since day 1, but this one blew me away! The mechanics are more or less the same as AC3, but the story is what did me in. Captaining a ship in a sandbox atmosphere was their newest addition in this game, and it did not disappoint! If you're a gamer that loves a good plot (and ending!!) then this is for you. Granted some prior knowledge of the franchise may be required to enjoy it to its fullest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A real pirate game

posted by Chronozone (PISGAH FOREST, NC) Dec 4, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

In the other AC games the wall climbing ,darting was good but at times slow that’s not the case here your not scaling 50ft tall building your in the Caribbean you’ll be climbing much smaller structures and the scaling its self is the most fluid out of the AC games.
This game is absolutely gorgeous there’s nothing quite like hitting the open sails and having the wind pull your ship out into the great blue and seeing a ship of in the distance and charging them at full speed to ram them, unleash a barrage of cannon fire and boarding them.
The combat is as fluid as it ever has ben you’ll still hit dodge and counter as you always have the only real difference is the countering has been made easer tho don’t let that put you off because when you have about twelve angry sailors around you its nice to know when that attack is going to come.
The only negative thing that I could say about this game is that the story missions can be a bit of a aggravation and uninteresting at time but do not let this stop you from playing because spending about 30 mins trying to get past a roaming squad of guards that you cant kill to complete a part of the story that could have almost be left out is a small inconvenience to the 9 hours you’ll spend out on the open ocean plundering ship to upgrade you cannons or collecting money to buy new shops for the pirate cove you’ll get.
If you have ever played an AC game and diffident like it then have no worries here because this is a pirate game with some assassins creed game play thrown in. So if you like assassinating people, if you've ever wanted to be a pirate then this is the game for you.
9.0 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

wow might be best one yet

posted by prettiegrl (BEACON, NY) Dec 4, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

let me start off by saying im not a big fan of this series or of open world games in general. This is awsome i can not put it down i also got ghost and battlefield on gamefly but they have sat a lot of the time. great graphics, awsome gameplay great story but what i like the most is the side missions dont feel like side missions. GTA 5 the side missions felt dull no excitement. In AC BF thats not the case i find myself wanting to go fishing or hunting or even just sail around in a storm or listening to my crew sing really a great expience. deffinetly a keep it will take you a while to beat ever thing'

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse