Rent Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag for PS3
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Rent

Keep for: $34.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $59.99

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.7

978 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brilliant game!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 1, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game mechanics adaptive-Climbing around fit the pirate scheme nicely, but multiplayer still doesn't make any sense... Still being its uncoordinated guessing game. Being why I gave it a nine, the multiplayer is sense-less... A co-op mode would be a lot funner.

Ubisoft puts you in the shoes of Edward Kenway...

Edward Kenway is a big dreamer... Setting his sights on a life style that has gold pouring out of his pockets and with all the fame in the world. The privateer Kenway, however, was at the bottom of the barrel in life, but luck finds its way to him... May it been being at the right place, at the right time... Edward now was given a chance to take what he wanted in life and be a captain of a ship that pirates the Caribbean.

The game is awesome. The story is ok, but in numerous instances it has a shifty climax giving a often "Whats going on in the story" feeling, but it has well written dialouge. It starts off slow. Ubisoft seemed to find a hurdle: explaining game functionality, but keeping to a story script. You wont fully see what the game has to offer until the first two islands... But even after that, you still haven't seen how to upgrade your boat and coordinate the fleet.

There is A LOT to do in the game. The stealth mechanics and side missions are flawless in giving that non-stop cinematic experience. I just don't understand how a game that has so much functionality in single player--would give the multiplayer a guessing game scenario: Everyone looks like the AI and you have to kill the right one. Why not a cat and mouse game, where someone is a king ordering guards to location while the assassins try to sneak in and take out the player who is the king?? Why does multiplayer has to be so senseless.

The map is huge... The graphics have its pristine moments where you can just see the grit and roughness of the wood or stone columns.

The game is no doubt the Best Assassins Creed... You will wanna keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9/10

posted by Robert513 (CINCINNATI, OH) Oct 31, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

truly the best in the series...a lot more to do outside the main story....extremely entertaining

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST ASSASSIN CREED MADE

posted by Mike3083 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Nov 2, 2013

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I got to say assassin creed 4 has way more stuff to do after you beaten it then gta v ever had ubisoft did an great job all the way until you get to mutiplayer whice to me is boring hated it just wish they leave it out along with codes, I barely got to enjoy single player cause of an freaking code that gives u extra stuff to do if you buy the game wow renters want to enjoy single player fully too but still fun without codes best assassin creed ever made graphics are good too can't wait to play it on ps4.=)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best AC game thus far

posted by robbyam (CORAL GABLES, FL) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As the title implies, it's definitely the best. Most of the game will be spent on your ship, especially so if you want to complete all the side missions and ship upgrades. The ship controls very smoothly, and isn't plagued by he terrible controls that the AC series is known for when on land.

Plenty to do when you're bored of assassinating. Smuggler's dens, underwater ship wrecks, naval missions and more are all available to complete.

There are only a few downsides to the game. One of them being the story moves at a snail pace and takes a long time to actually get to anything interesting. The characters are all likeable but it spends too much time on menial details. That said, this is perhaps to add some depth to Edward since Ubisoft will more than likely continue Edward's story with a sequel or two. Speaking of Edward, I found him to be the most likeable Assassin yet! Has as much personality as Ezio, if not more, without the brattiness.

Overall, the game does just about everything right with minimal complaints. Only real downside is the do-everything-with-one-button which leads to you doing things you didn't want to do various times.

Side note: Ps3 version runs surprisingly well with some frame drops in some parts of the cities. 1080i too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

assassins creed

posted by tyler2010 (LAKEVIEW, OR) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

loved the game will buy it please make more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it.

posted by successful (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2009

Thank you for Fredom Cry. It broke my heart when I couldn't free all of my brothers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best One Yet!!!

posted by chargerbrett (PIQUA, OH) Mar 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

This is by the best made game so far. Tons of side missions keeps you busy even after beating the storyline. The only reason I give it a 9 is because of the online play. With a game like this there is no need for online play or if you want to have it that bad do it so that it resembles Call of Duty Spec Ops. That would make it much more fun. Overall great game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So many flaws, still worth it

posted by Eldavo (RANCHO CORDOVA, CA) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

If you're wondering if something got fixed in this installment, let me run this down for you:
The "go faster than walking" button is still the "climb up and around everything you see" button.
The menus remain slow and tedious
The rewards for collecting remain trivial
Targeting problems are abundant and they ruin missions
Lots of tedious, unskippable repeat animations for common tasks
Combat animations take forever
There is literally no benefit to having the best weapon in the game, over going unarmed.
The puzzles aren't even puzzles anymore. "Rotate until this fits" is not a puzzle.

New problems:
Combat is buggy as heck when you're not on even ground, meaning every every fight on every ship, all the time.
Getting off your boat (which you do all the time) is a headache. You have to carefully avoid hitting the large and in-the-way ledge that will send you to the top of your mast, where there is nothing for you at any point in the game.
Missions are often foiled by things you can't know are coming until you've failed the mission because of it.
They stop you in the game from time to time to make you play Frogger. I wish I were joking.
Pathing is ridiculous. Your character will get caught up stumbling over a knee-high wall and be killed because of it, and will sometimes refuse to jump down off a random ledge no matter what buttons you're pressing.

...but darn it all, it's still fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Combat Makes or Breaks All

posted by Koolaidman421 (HEMET, CA) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I gave this game a six/ten. All six are solely from the scenery, smoothness, the size of the world, the sailing, everything the game has to offer, except the combat. The combat is so terrible in this game, that it lost out on four points from me.

The combat begins as an enjoyable experience. You attack and the enemy usually parries your attacks and sometimes becomes hit, but it quickly becomes unfulfilling, ridiculously easy, and boring. There are a few combat options: Attack, throw off balance, and counter. You can simply attack any unaware enemies and kill them in an instant, or if they see you coming and parry, wait for them to counter, but you realize how easy the combat is upon using this counter. Hit "O" (or whatever symbol it is for you) followed by the attack, and your character immediately kills the enemy. This is where the flaw comes in. I never feel like there's a true need to run away and hide. I understand that this is a large part of the gameplay, and I would thoroughly enjoy that if I actually felt a need to run.

I pick pocket a quest based person and a large number of guards quickly come in. You have smoke bombs to help get away, but honestly, why? Let the guards come in and they will dumbly one by one attack you followed by the obvious counter symbol above their heads. Counter and kill, counter and kill. That is the extent of the combat in this current/next gen action adventure game. When there is a larger enemy you can not counter, there is another option: Throw them off balance, but this becomes your counter. Throw off balance and kill, throw off balance and kill. It's simple and boring.

The fact that the weapons have a damage value feels absolutely pointless, as you can simply kill enemies in an instant with your beginning weapons by countering and/or throwing off balance.

What has so much potential to be a great game, falters under the weight of its terrible combat system.

6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Return to Greatness

posted by endlessfight85 (WALLS, MS) Feb 11, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

After a few dull entries in the AC series, Black Flag definitely pulled me in and left me wanting more, even after about twenty five hours or so of playing. I was skeptical about the pirate theme, but it ended up being my favorite aspect of it. I have yet to play Black Flag on a next gen console, but this game is beautiful on PS3. This was definitely a step up for the franchise, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love open world

posted by DirtTrash (LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Had no idea this was an open world style game. Some of my favorite games are. I've been waiting for a console game where I can be a Pirate and float around causing devastation and collecting booty in an open world, do what I want, instance. Only reason for 9 and not 10. Graphics are better on my PC with insane FPS than that of my console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Black Flag (on a downhill slope)

posted by MacShammo (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 17, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Assasins creed one had a good thing going for it. The game mechanics and storyline were exceptionL for its time which was not too long ago....but with all good things, they die hard. Black Flag's mechanics are so simple a child could play it all you do is hold R1 (ps3) and square to attack with the every now and then press O or X... it is extremely simple. The open world graphics are phenomenal but the world map itself is far too big with not very much actual playable space to explore... it is almost as if you have a set path for you too follow with the illusion of choice.....The online mode was not to great either where one either spends the match hiding or finding the hidden (which is very simple too) There are parts in the story where you wake up from the ANIMUS in your office at Abstergo, only to find that the only way to communicate with anyone is through an iPad...ridiculous.....The graphics are insane, but the game play is slow are horrendous. AND GLITCHY ( so many frustrating moments of trying to climp a simple tree in this game) The "real life" aspect with the iPad angers me... I play video games to get away from real life not to dive deeper into it....everyday I see people with their faces buried in there tablets or iPads...and then I get it in the game???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassins Creed: "Black flaG" review

posted by bignbeefy12 (FORT FAIRFIELD, ME) Jan 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

This is a game that really has more than enough going for it, this title is something that I am thinking about buying after I rented it. If you buy this game for 35$ you will get your moneys worth in the first HOUR! of playing this game, its so flowing and the assassination system is like pixelated GOLD. BUY THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay they could have done better

posted by Jesse5321 (PARAMOUNT, CA) Dec 25, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

I don't like how long it takes to get to each mission personally I did not like the ship missions on assassins creed 3 and just to find out that assassins creed 4 was a pirate I was like oh god that means lots of ship missions I hate the fact that it is almost always mandatory to sail some where other then that I love the way Edward fights the new ways to kill and hide but I still think ubisoft is holding out on us I give this game a 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by litchfieldtodd (MESA, AZ) Dec 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

im stuck on a mission, that kinda sucks. but its a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by drmpro8 (CLEVELAND, TN) Dec 7, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

I've been a huge fan of the AC games since day 1, but this one blew me away! The mechanics are more or less the same as AC3, but the story is what did me in. Captaining a ship in a sandbox atmosphere was their newest addition in this game, and it did not disappoint! If you're a gamer that loves a good plot (and ending!!) then this is for you. Granted some prior knowledge of the franchise may be required to enjoy it to its fullest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A real pirate game

posted by Chronozone (PISGAH FOREST, NC) Dec 4, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

In the other AC games the wall climbing ,darting was good but at times slow that’s not the case here your not scaling 50ft tall building your in the Caribbean you’ll be climbing much smaller structures and the scaling its self is the most fluid out of the AC games.
This game is absolutely gorgeous there’s nothing quite like hitting the open sails and having the wind pull your ship out into the great blue and seeing a ship of in the distance and charging them at full speed to ram them, unleash a barrage of cannon fire and boarding them.
The combat is as fluid as it ever has ben you’ll still hit dodge and counter as you always have the only real difference is the countering has been made easer tho don’t let that put you off because when you have about twelve angry sailors around you its nice to know when that attack is going to come.
The only negative thing that I could say about this game is that the story missions can be a bit of a aggravation and uninteresting at time but do not let this stop you from playing because spending about 30 mins trying to get past a roaming squad of guards that you cant kill to complete a part of the story that could have almost be left out is a small inconvenience to the 9 hours you’ll spend out on the open ocean plundering ship to upgrade you cannons or collecting money to buy new shops for the pirate cove you’ll get.
If you have ever played an AC game and diffident like it then have no worries here because this is a pirate game with some assassins creed game play thrown in. So if you like assassinating people, if you've ever wanted to be a pirate then this is the game for you.
9.0 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

wow might be best one yet

posted by prettiegrl (BEACON, NY) Dec 4, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

let me start off by saying im not a big fan of this series or of open world games in general. This is awsome i can not put it down i also got ghost and battlefield on gamefly but they have sat a lot of the time. great graphics, awsome gameplay great story but what i like the most is the side missions dont feel like side missions. GTA 5 the side missions felt dull no excitement. In AC BF thats not the case i find myself wanting to go fishing or hunting or even just sail around in a storm or listening to my crew sing really a great expience. deffinetly a keep it will take you a while to beat ever thing'

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Black Flag!!!

posted by michaeldus (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Dec 2008

I love this game there is so much to do and the pirate ship side missions are great, i'm buying this game thank you very much have a nice day!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Creed Yet

posted by PLAYERJLC (CINCINNATI, OH) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

Loved everything about it. Must play on any system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

First Assassin's Creed game I like! Great Game

posted by Tirade (GLENDALE, CA) Nov 23, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

Black Flag overcomes BOTH my complete indifference to Assassin's Creed games AND the clunky horror that has been previous pirate sailing games. Bravo Ubisoft!

I'm half way through this and I can't get enough of pirating and plundering. Great fun.

The story is exciting and interesting enough that they don't even need that silly ANIMUS device anymore. They should have cut the lame future story out completely.

My only other nitpicks. The controls are bit overwhelming at first, but they do a pretty solid job tutorializing. The city missions can get a little bit tedious and unrelated. Walking and running around the deck of a ship can be a bit frustrating, your guy is always jumping up on things or climbing the masts when you didn't want him to.

Solid game that I will definitely finish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Visuals on ps3 aside.

posted by NoSauce (LAYTON, UT) Nov 21, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

This is a game that would look better if it was a ps3 only title but gameplay wise it does'nt fail it packs a 8 of 10 with some punch for me. Its jolly good entertainment but my only gripe I have is its so big and long that I found myself plateauing about half way through and couldn't muster up the gumption to keep playing to the finish in other words, as entertaining as being an assassin is it just runs out of offerings before the end. If your gunna pack that many hours of gameplay into a game it should also have more overall challenges that keep getting bigger all the way to the end. I think they kind of could have stretched it out more with more mythological story's like a krakin to fight off would have been cool since they went with pirates they should have taken more chances to extend the game further in that regard. Still lots of world to explore and some real heroic feeling moments but stretches on a bit to long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AC or Battleship

posted by Primer55 (EULESS, TX) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

Not sure what they were thinking with this one but the forced constant naval gameplay really anchors this game to the bottom of the ocean you constantly find yourself in. I find the game otherwise to be the best in the series although it clearly has the occassional hickup here and there particularly during battle. Not nearly as much as AC3 so thats great. Still can't get over the tedious and torterous naval missions. Absolutely dreadful, just like the forced tower defense in the last chapter to Ezio's story. Way to put that fire out. Rope darts are clearly shown in your menu as an achievable item but you wont get it until reaching the end of the main story which makes zero sense. But hey its Ubisoft. It seems like they have a team for the AC franchise with a sole purpose to just ruin all the fun of every installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by trock78 (PORT ROYAL, SC) Nov 19, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

this is one of the best AC yet. a must buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!

posted by BrentAnderson (WEST PADUCAH, KY) Nov 17, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

This game is incredible, lots of action, lots of stuff to do. The storyline is incredible picking up where the last left off, and while I won't give away any spoilers, I can't wait for the next one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse