Rent Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag for PS3
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

GF Rating
8.5

1762 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brilliant game!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 1, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game mechanics adaptive-Climbing around fit the pirate scheme nicely, but multiplayer still doesn't make any sense... Still being its uncoordinated guessing game. Being why I gave it a nine, the multiplayer is sense-less... A co-op mode would be a lot funner.

Ubisoft puts you in the shoes of Edward Kenway...

Edward Kenway is a big dreamer... Setting his sights on a life style that has gold pouring out of his pockets and with all the fame in the world. The privateer Kenway, however, was at the bottom of the barrel in life, but luck finds its way to him... May it been being at the right place, at the right time... Edward now was given a chance to take what he wanted in life and be a captain of a ship that pirates the Caribbean.

The game is awesome. The story is ok, but in numerous instances it has a shifty climax giving a often "Whats going on in the story" feeling, but it has well written dialouge. It starts off slow. Ubisoft seemed to find a hurdle: explaining game functionality, but keeping to a story script. You wont fully see what the game has to offer until the first two islands... But even after that, you still haven't seen how to upgrade your boat and coordinate the fleet.

There is A LOT to do in the game. The stealth mechanics and side missions are flawless in giving that non-stop cinematic experience. I just don't understand how a game that has so much functionality in single player--would give the multiplayer a guessing game scenario: Everyone looks like the AI and you have to kill the right one. Why not a cat and mouse game, where someone is a king ordering guards to location while the assassins try to sneak in and take out the player who is the king?? Why does multiplayer has to be so senseless.

The map is huge... The graphics have its pristine moments where you can just see the grit and roughness of the wood or stone columns.

The game is no doubt the Best Assassins Creed... You will wanna keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9/10

posted by Robert513 (CINCINNATI, OH) Oct 31, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

truly the best in the series...a lot more to do outside the main story....extremely entertaining

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST ASSASSIN CREED MADE

posted by Mike3083 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Nov 2, 2013

Member since Sep 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got to say assassin creed 4 has way more stuff to do after you beaten it then gta v ever had ubisoft did an great job all the way until you get to mutiplayer whice to me is boring hated it just wish they leave it out along with codes, I barely got to enjoy single player cause of an freaking code that gives u extra stuff to do if you buy the game wow renters want to enjoy single player fully too but still fun without codes best assassin creed ever made graphics are good too can't wait to play it on ps4.=)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A tired franchise gets boats.

posted by nuffsaid (PAHOA, HI) May 27, 2014

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

AC Black Flag looks nice but after the novelty of piloting your ship wears off there is nothing very interesting in this game.
Removing the x button to initiate climbing ruins running around as you always climb a wall or jump onto a pillar that you don't want to. The characters and story are forgettable and the rest is go here kill someone or open a chest.
The old AC gameplay just feels tired and boring and putting in ships only masks the underlying problem that this franchise needs to go down to Davey Jones' Locker

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best AC game thus far

posted by robbyam (MIAMI, FL) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As the title implies, it's definitely the best. Most of the game will be spent on your ship, especially so if you want to complete all the side missions and ship upgrades. The ship controls very smoothly, and isn't plagued by he terrible controls that the AC series is known for when on land.

Plenty to do when you're bored of assassinating. Smuggler's dens, underwater ship wrecks, naval missions and more are all available to complete.

There are only a few downsides to the game. One of them being the story moves at a snail pace and takes a long time to actually get to anything interesting. The characters are all likeable but it spends too much time on menial details. That said, this is perhaps to add some depth to Edward since Ubisoft will more than likely continue Edward's story with a sequel or two. Speaking of Edward, I found him to be the most likeable Assassin yet! Has as much personality as Ezio, if not more, without the brattiness.

Overall, the game does just about everything right with minimal complaints. Only real downside is the do-everything-with-one-button which leads to you doing things you didn't want to do various times.

Side note: Ps3 version runs surprisingly well with some frame drops in some parts of the cities. 1080i too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved it

posted by NuttyCracker (CAMARILLO, CA) Dec 17, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

It doesn't get much better than this game. 100 percent awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its an amazing game

posted by Joseph21tolife (BROCKTON, MA) Nov 29, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

The graphics are beautiful in my opinion it the is set in its theme. I like the game a lot and say you should play if your thinking about it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boring

posted by stonedRaider (TOPPENISH, WA) Nov 29, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

I just couldn't get into this game, I felt bored playing it I guess I'm just not into pirate and old historical type games I didn't even play half of it and I sent it back, just wasn't for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

loved it

posted by kjwgamers (BAY SAINT LOUIS, MS) Nov 24, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Being a fan of the Assassin's Creed line, we felt this lives up to its name. Love the details, plot, and character designs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game.

posted by Reaprz7 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 23, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Game was great other than typical AC bugs it was awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome game, worth your time

posted by terrahawk15 (LONGVILLE, LA) Nov 19, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

this game is just plain awesome. theres no other way to say it. in my opinion, there will never be a main character as cool as ezio auditore, but this guy comes close. to those familiar with these games, obviously there are many similarities. but it's the storyline you're after. not to mention, which guy has NEVER wanted to be a pirate before?! trick question, NO GUY! my only complaint was about upgrading the ship. it was so stinkin expensive! it wouldve taken forever to fully upgrade it. the only players who did were the guys who did NOTHING else but play this game. they played every part imaginable to save up the cash. other than that, this game is awesome and definitely worth your time. have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what I think

posted by anthonydesideri (SIERRA VISTA, AZ) Oct 8, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

I think that the assasins creed black flag was weak. Its hard to swim under water and makes you not want to play after that. The kills are soft and weak and not nearly bloody enough. The sounds of people are repetitive and sound fake and corny. The shanty catching is silly and there are too many different aspects of the game. Keep it simple and electric. The whole abstergo sign in and out thing is a waste of space that could be used toward a better inplay active story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

specialized niche

posted by piatro (KILLEEN, TX) Oct 5, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

It seems assassins creeds game are getting away from assassin focus. Not really about stealth mechanics. You kill people with boats now. Which is fun...not gonna be for everyone. But new dimensions to games are good right now. Game does eveything well. The antagonist will never be as great as Ezio was. He was boss. But a really good game. Just wish more innovation was focused on being an assassin and combat tgan just making it bigger and having more pirate stuff

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Another fail...

posted by bobcat918 (MERCER ISLAND, WA) Jul 29, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

I was almost done with a series I have loved after the horror that was AC3. I tried again but this feels too much like AC3 but with more ship battles. Boring, tedious, and uninteresting characters made the game a total snore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by hos85 (RENTON, WA) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

as a fan of the assassins creed series i was very disappointed with ac 3, but black flag made up for it. the only reason i gave it a 8 is because Edward Kenway cant compete with Ezio Auditore. highly recommend with plenty things to do, whether its running around on land or taking to the high seas. great story line that has brought back glory to ac.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrendously buggy

posted by Dan1117 (Teaneck, NJ) Jun 7, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

I could not play this game for more than 20 minutes without the game freezing up. Does Ubisoft do ANY kind of debugging or Beta testing??? Thank goodness I rented this game. I ended up returning it the same day I received it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved it.

posted by ItsKevin (NANUET, NY) May 31, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

You'll really love this game, you will not regret buying it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Assassin's Creed So Far

posted by Beast383 (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

First off, I bought the game.

This game was totally awesome.

1. It had awesome graphics
2. It had good combat
3. The game area is huge, unlike AC3 which had 3 large areas, This game had 30 different areas with its own different habitats and characteristics.
4. If you liked the navel battles in AC3 then you will love this game a whole lot more.
A couple of little spoiler alerts: you will not have the tomahawk from AC3 and you will acquire old and a couple of new weapons.
I honestly loved this game so much that I played the whole game over again just to experience it again.

Overall there is just so much to do just in the campaign and the multiplayer is constantly wanting you to play longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ac-bf by tyler

posted by Tyizhi_209 (JACKSON, CA) Apr 24, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

PROS
The game was large which is nice.
Upgrades: your able to upgrade your ship, your guns and swords, and craft an assortment of gadgets and clothes; some clothes even give special effects (which is awesome).Early in the game you obtain an island which is upgrade-able.
The online multiplayer is fun, and different from norm, taking a stealth approach, with multiple game modes. Even a 'build your own game mode', where you can decipher game mode, map, rules, restrictions, and play it with other players.
The treasure maps were a cool idea.
Plus the fact your a flippin pirate, that can sail a fairly large sea.. That was a new and cool to experience.

CONS
There where chests throughout the game along with another thing called 'Animus Fragment'. These things in specific got more annoying to collect and felt more like a chore later in the game.
Towards the end it felt pretty null game play, i'd felt like I had done everything i wanted to even though my percent was still at 86%, so I didn't feel it had much replay-ability.

OVERALL
The game was well rounded.
That being said if you love games its worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

assassins creed

posted by tyler2010 (LAKEVIEW, OR) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

loved the game will buy it please make more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it.

posted by successful (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2009

Thank you for Fredom Cry. It broke my heart when I couldn't free all of my brothers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best One Yet!!!

posted by chargerbrett (DAYTON, OH) Mar 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

This is by the best made game so far. Tons of side missions keeps you busy even after beating the storyline. The only reason I give it a 9 is because of the online play. With a game like this there is no need for online play or if you want to have it that bad do it so that it resembles Call of Duty Spec Ops. That would make it much more fun. Overall great game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

So many flaws, still worth it

posted by Eldavo (RANCHO CORDOVA, CA) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

If you're wondering if something got fixed in this installment, let me run this down for you:
The "go faster than walking" button is still the "climb up and around everything you see" button.
The menus remain slow and tedious
The rewards for collecting remain trivial
Targeting problems are abundant and they ruin missions
Lots of tedious, unskippable repeat animations for common tasks
Combat animations take forever
There is literally no benefit to having the best weapon in the game, over going unarmed.
The puzzles aren't even puzzles anymore. "Rotate until this fits" is not a puzzle.

New problems:
Combat is buggy as heck when you're not on even ground, meaning every every fight on every ship, all the time.
Getting off your boat (which you do all the time) is a headache. You have to carefully avoid hitting the large and in-the-way ledge that will send you to the top of your mast, where there is nothing for you at any point in the game.
Missions are often foiled by things you can't know are coming until you've failed the mission because of it.
They stop you in the game from time to time to make you play Frogger. I wish I were joking.
Pathing is ridiculous. Your character will get caught up stumbling over a knee-high wall and be killed because of it, and will sometimes refuse to jump down off a random ledge no matter what buttons you're pressing.

...but darn it all, it's still fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Combat Makes or Breaks All

posted by Koolaidman421 (HEMET, CA) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I gave this game a six/ten. All six are solely from the scenery, smoothness, the size of the world, the sailing, everything the game has to offer, except the combat. The combat is so terrible in this game, that it lost out on four points from me.

The combat begins as an enjoyable experience. You attack and the enemy usually parries your attacks and sometimes becomes hit, but it quickly becomes unfulfilling, ridiculously easy, and boring. There are a few combat options: Attack, throw off balance, and counter. You can simply attack any unaware enemies and kill them in an instant, or if they see you coming and parry, wait for them to counter, but you realize how easy the combat is upon using this counter. Hit "O" (or whatever symbol it is for you) followed by the attack, and your character immediately kills the enemy. This is where the flaw comes in. I never feel like there's a true need to run away and hide. I understand that this is a large part of the gameplay, and I would thoroughly enjoy that if I actually felt a need to run.

I pick pocket a quest based person and a large number of guards quickly come in. You have smoke bombs to help get away, but honestly, why? Let the guards come in and they will dumbly one by one attack you followed by the obvious counter symbol above their heads. Counter and kill, counter and kill. That is the extent of the combat in this current/next gen action adventure game. When there is a larger enemy you can not counter, there is another option: Throw them off balance, but this becomes your counter. Throw off balance and kill, throw off balance and kill. It's simple and boring.

The fact that the weapons have a damage value feels absolutely pointless, as you can simply kill enemies in an instant with your beginning weapons by countering and/or throwing off balance.

What has so much potential to be a great game, falters under the weight of its terrible combat system.

6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Return to Greatness

posted by endlessfight85 (WALLS, MS) Feb 11, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

After a few dull entries in the AC series, Black Flag definitely pulled me in and left me wanting more, even after about twenty five hours or so of playing. I was skeptical about the pirate theme, but it ended up being my favorite aspect of it. I have yet to play Black Flag on a next gen console, but this game is beautiful on PS3. This was definitely a step up for the franchise, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse