Rent Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:PS3, Wii U, Xbox One, PS4
GF Rating
8.6

2357 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Major Improvement from AC3

posted by ManOfWar2 (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Nov 3, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Ubisoft really out did themselves with this one. AC3 was a disappointment but AC4 fixed all the problems.

Pros:
-Gameplay is awesome
-Sailing the open sea with your crew is awesome. Shanties give the game that pirate-feeling
-Having multiple pistols and dual-wielding swords allows you to take out enemies fast
-Hunting system vastly improved
-Big open-world and has many naval battles

Cons:
-Some graphic flaws but doesnt affect game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Assassins Creed: Black Flag - Great game

posted by businessocks (FRANKLIN, OH) Nov 12, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was quite possibly the best pirate game I've ever played. I could've spent weeks just sailing around plundering ships and generally being a pirate.

You can upgrade cannons, hull, etc. You can take a harpooning boat out to try your hand at whaling or hunting a great white shark. You can purchase a diving bell to search wreckages. Or you can just look for treasure and destroy naval ships.

The only downside to the game was the sneaking aspects. The controls made tailing someone difficult to say the least. During fights, you have to deal with context sensitive buttons that are constantly changing. For being a game that is normally centered around sneaking and stealth, it's merely passable in this regard.

That being said, the story line is solid. The pirating part of the game is outstanding, and I think that makes up for the frustrating stealth quests you're forced to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best AC I've seen

posted by DeadRage (BREMERTON, WA) Nov 11, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked this one more than the others. Graphics were great and the story line was fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by TmoKid (LIVINGSTON, NY) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was my first experience in this title line honestly due to the other assassins creeds not catching my eye, after playing through on this game it has me wanted to go back and start on the first one and actually give them all a fair shake , AWSOME game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVED THIS GAME

posted by eviltweeker (CHULA VISTA, CA) Nov 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

In my opinion, the best assassin's creed game. I loved being able to sail the seas when ever i want. The navel battles are fun and you carry multiple pistols and two swords which make the the combat a lot more fun. The story is also very interesting and the developers did a good job making the present day story without Desmond

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun but

posted by dex1911 (SPOKANE, WA) May 21, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game was alot of fun very good story after i sent it back i found myself wanting to still play it.the game does get repetitive and the eavesdropping and follow missions got kinda annoying i felt like most of the development went into the ship and story witch was fine but missions could have been better.any ways get this game if you haven't its a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Above average. Captures the pirate vibe decently.

posted by StyleGamer (FOUNTAIN, CO) Nov 16, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Admittedly this is my first Assassins Creed. From what I played the game has gorgeous environments, detailed characters and robust character interactions.

Unfortunately I felt like the missions although fun, seemed repetitive and not much variety. Its always sneak here, assassinate person X, or sink person Z's ship. The story and visuals really pick up this games slack and mask a lot of its faults. Another thing that irked me was the repetitive nature of the side activities on the islands. Its always collect X amount of animus fragments, loot X number of chests, etc.

Another complaint is the character movement. I expected the character movement to be very precise with almost zero glitches given assassins creed reputation. Boy was I wrong. The sprinting feature feels clunky and a lot of times I found Edward grappling onto edges I didn't intend.

I didn't play too much of the multiplayer but it seemed average. The hunter/hunted mode was fun but not nearly enough to keep me engaged. I didn't even bother with the clan feature as not enough people I know bought the game and there didn't seem to be a lot of folks online.

Overall fun pirate theme, good graphics, commanding a ship is fun but average gameplay, repetitive missions and side missions and lackluster multiplayer.

7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great installment to the series

posted by Malsidius (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Most fans would disagree because it does not fit the AC status quo; however, this game breaks away from that but primarily by making assassinations more of a side mission rather than the main focus. In 'Black Flag' they have taken more of an adventurous route and made side missions more interesting. The story line does not disappoint, but it does lack in content.

The controls have not improved much at all, if any; in my opinion, I feel as though the controls have degraded some. Also, it's difficult to counter or avoid enemies that are off the screen. Fighting combinations are repetitive, and guns only seem to stun your target.

Overall, this is a really good game to add to your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game Freeze

posted by ssdavis70 (PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL) Jan 2, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Game was awesome until it got to Sequence 13 and it freezes up, so you can not go any further on the main missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun but frustrating

posted by Jervon (CHANDLER, AZ) Dec 12, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I would not recommend this game because it wouldn't let me continue on to another mission. It showed no mission marker. And alot of people had the same problem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good but lame sections

posted by splibby (WINDHAM, NH) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I would have given this game a 9 or 10 if not for the shark portions....seriously?!?? You can dive in the water but cant carry a knife with you? It is unbelievably impossible to avoid the sharks at all times and swimming is hard enough. Remove the sharks and this game is great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Assassin's creed- assin.

posted by Noobcake55 (SOMERSWORTH, NH) Jan 9, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Honest the only thing to say is 3 was better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fantastic pirate game

posted by Xeon360 (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 15, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

If you like the idea of being a badass pirate blowing up ships and taking the loot then you'll love this game. The multiplayer is a fine mix of tense stealth and exhilarating action. The only think that hurts game is the constant eavesdropping and stuff from the older games. Otherwise that it's fantastic and I absolutely suggest looking into it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by Mattcarnes123 (PATCHOGUE, NY) Oct 31, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

The game feels very polished

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Took me 20 minutes to realize it's terrible

posted by multigame7 (CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA) Oct 23, 2014

Member since Mar 2008

This my first venture into the world of Assassin's Creed, and I will say that I have absolutely no clue what the big deal has been about. This game is painstakingly repetitive, the graphics and physics engine is disappointingly unrealistic, and is overall just nothing like I was expecting. If you have played tomb raider before, then you've played every single Assassin's Creed game ever. If they plugged Lara Croft into this game, then the gameplay and all the physics would feel right at home.

Overall, this is not something that I'd recommend. I may perhaps try an older entry into the Assassin's Creed series and see if perhaps the older, original ones are better.

I don't recommend wasting your time - spend it on something else!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by bronze69 (BANGOR, PA) Oct 20, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

love it!! soooo much fun. gr8t quest. challenging but loads of excitement! I recommended this game gonna buy it used from here for just $15

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best ac game ever one of my favorites

posted by coolguy2 (HUBERT, NC) Oct 1, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

I really like ac 4 because it has a good story and good graphics ac4 ac brotherhood 3 are my favorites but im still trying to beat ac4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Assassin's Creed

posted by sethnewman39 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 30, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

If you like the Assassin's Creed games youll love this one. Lots of running around trying to foil the timplars plains of ruling the world. Ther are plenty of side missions to do also. Its not an overly difficult game to play. The only down part for me was at times the view was stuck in one direction and it made navigating the gam difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by bonedeth55 (BISHOP, CA) Sep 29, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This was one of the hardest games to put down... The missions lead to locations that lead to secrets that lead to locations that lead to treasure that lead to upgrades that lead to missions. You follow? Great graphics and awesome game all around. A MUST RENT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game love the story

posted by elnez1 (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 27, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Only problem Is I need to be online to get my game to 100% other that that awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

immersive, exciting

posted by jonfosho (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 25, 2014

Member since May 2014

i LOVED this game. The visual detail, animations, storyline, and mechanics weere all superb. Some of the missions were a little repetitive, but did not detract from overall xperience. I found myself just wandering the open oceans, looting frigates, and exploring islands.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It could be better -.-

posted by alexnderthgreat (TWIN FALLS, ID) Sep 20, 2014

Member since May 2014

I'm online gamer if you want to play this game online it cost 10 bucks but i didn't care so I got an online pass started playing online But I can't play it but i can but its hard; why there there are so many experts players that are so good that they drive me crazy but other then its a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sailing the 7 seas

posted by micdanchris Sep 17, 2014

Assassins Creed started bad but then got revived by Assassins Creed II. Assassins Creed III was another med mediocre title but IV has come around and revived it like II did. Graphics: Amazing Gameplay: Good Characters: Great Story: Meh A great game in general

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

well could be better

posted by bowhunting1989 (IRON RIVER, WI) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

It was good overall game but ran into alot of issues with him wanting to Randomly jump off things when ur running also likes to jump from enemy to enemy while attacking overall ok game but prefer the others

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game EVER

posted by blackninja11 (ROCHESTER HILLS, MI) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Now guys if your into open world games or assassins creed games then get this game I think they did a very excellent job I suggest that you should buy it used cause it cost quite a bit of money but its worth your money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse