Rent Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $27.99

Also on:PS3, Xbox One, Wii U, PS4

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.7

1379 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Major Improvement from AC3

posted by ManOfWar2 (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Nov 3, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Ubisoft really out did themselves with this one. AC3 was a disappointment but AC4 fixed all the problems.

Pros:
-Gameplay is awesome
-Sailing the open sea with your crew is awesome. Shanties give the game that pirate-feeling
-Having multiple pistols and dual-wielding swords allows you to take out enemies fast
-Hunting system vastly improved
-Big open-world and has many naval battles

Cons:
-Some graphic flaws but doesnt affect game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVED THIS GAME

posted by eviltweeker (CHULA VISTA, CA) Nov 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

In my opinion, the best assassin's creed game. I loved being able to sail the seas when ever i want. The navel battles are fun and you carry multiple pistols and two swords which make the the combat a lot more fun. The story is also very interesting and the developers did a good job making the present day story without Desmond

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by TmoKid (LIVINGSTON, NY) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was my first experience in this title line honestly due to the other assassins creeds not catching my eye, after playing through on this game it has me wanted to go back and start on the first one and actually give them all a fair shake , AWSOME game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game Freeze

posted by ssdavis70 (PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL) Jan 2, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game was awesome until it got to Sequence 13 and it freezes up, so you can not go any further on the main missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun but frustrating

posted by Jervon (CHANDLER, AZ) Dec 12, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I would not recommend this game because it wouldn't let me continue on to another mission. It showed no mission marker. And alot of people had the same problem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Above average. Captures the pirate vibe decently.

posted by StyleGamer (FOUNTAIN, CO) Nov 16, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Admittedly this is my first Assassins Creed. From what I played the game has gorgeous environments, detailed characters and robust character interactions.

Unfortunately I felt like the missions although fun, seemed repetitive and not much variety. Its always sneak here, assassinate person X, or sink person Z's ship. The story and visuals really pick up this games slack and mask a lot of its faults. Another thing that irked me was the repetitive nature of the side activities on the islands. Its always collect X amount of animus fragments, loot X number of chests, etc.

Another complaint is the character movement. I expected the character movement to be very precise with almost zero glitches given assassins creed reputation. Boy was I wrong. The sprinting feature feels clunky and a lot of times I found Edward grappling onto edges I didn't intend.

I didn't play too much of the multiplayer but it seemed average. The hunter/hunted mode was fun but not nearly enough to keep me engaged. I didn't even bother with the clan feature as not enough people I know bought the game and there didn't seem to be a lot of folks online.

Overall fun pirate theme, good graphics, commanding a ship is fun but average gameplay, repetitive missions and side missions and lackluster multiplayer.

7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great installment to the series

posted by Malsidius (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Most fans would disagree because it does not fit the AC status quo; however, this game breaks away from that but primarily by making assassinations more of a side mission rather than the main focus. In 'Black Flag' they have taken more of an adventurous route and made side missions more interesting. The story line does not disappoint, but it does lack in content.

The controls have not improved much at all, if any; in my opinion, I feel as though the controls have degraded some. Also, it's difficult to counter or avoid enemies that are off the screen. Fighting combinations are repetitive, and guns only seem to stun your target.

Overall, this is a really good game to add to your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Assassin's creed- assin.

posted by Noobcake55 (SOMERSWORTH, NH) Jan 9, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Honest the only thing to say is 3 was better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good but lame sections

posted by splibby (WINDHAM, NH) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I would have given this game a 9 or 10 if not for the shark portions....seriously?!?? You can dive in the water but cant carry a knife with you? It is unbelievably impossible to avoid the sharks at all times and swimming is hard enough. Remove the sharks and this game is great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game...

posted by SirStrongbad (ARLINGTON, TX) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

Excellent addition to the series. Great game play and amazing storyline...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good but almost tooo open

posted by MRconstantine (CHICAGO, IL) Apr 6, 2014

Member since May 2013

So i have played all of the AC games and i really like the direction they went with this one where your not really an assasin you just stole an assasins gear and asignment. The look and feel to this game are fantastic, the weather elements while out at sea are great. I love how in bad weather you have to look out for rogue waves or even tornadoes and lighting! being able to capture giant forts and hunt sharks all while pilaging your way across the map.

The only downside i found this game to have (might of been only me) is the open world element of it was sooo tempting that once i got a ship and a crew i took off for the open sea and started my pirate rampage. However after doing this for awhile it was really hard for me to start back with the story. After going around destroying forts and battling legondary ships tailing someone to listen to their conversation seemed like a chore.

However there are alot of upgrades available to your ship, equipment, outfit, and your secret base. People say not to spend money on anything but your ship but i found that aquiring money was no issue what so ever so i say go for it.

All in all great game, I think i ruined it a little for myself by immediantly venturing out and not doing the story but still had fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A MOST GET GAME!!!!

posted by Dala (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Assasins Creed 3 was the worst game of them all. Black Flag was the best way to pick up rating. The graphics are amazing and the story line was good. The whole fact that you are pirate and get to sail in the see with your own ship and crew made this game the Best one of them all. If you like Assasin Creed this one will make you fall in love with it. Its a most get game and it made me change my career to becoming a PIRATE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by mikestoner (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

A real pleasure to play. the detail and story are just beautiful. worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome.

posted by JamieLynn95 (LAKE WALES, FL) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

This is an amazing game. The graphics are great and I am sure they would be better next-gen. The game is easy to catch on if you are not familiar with the Assassin's Creed games prior to playing this (such as myself). The reason I did not give this game a 10 is because the controls can be a little difficult sometimes, I felt that they could have been made slightly better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disapointing

posted by Chucklehead89 (ARLINGTON, VA) Mar 19, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

terrible story ac3 by far better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tomb Raider as a dude.

posted by jffrywad (CLIFTON, NJ) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Sep 2011

Great Game Great game play. But... After playing Tomb Raider I found this to be Tomb Raider but with a dude. I just couldn't play another find stuff on map and play game... game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same as the others

posted by TX_Bounty (GILMER, TX) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

Added a new element with the ships which was nice but I hated leaving the Animus and doing the stupid side missions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Chiefgamer117 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Mar 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Great game, open-world experience is the best out. It's laterally taking you back into the era. Ubisoft did a very great job with AC 4 black flag. The 18th century Caribbean naval war and exploration feeling is well put, while still connecting to its Assassins/stealth style of play. A few glitches and control errors but overall it is a great game. Hope to see Ubisoft continue this trend, while programmers and developers fix errors like this from recurring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Assassins Creed Black Flag

posted by bdstewart2020 (NEW CASTLE, DE) Mar 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Assassins creed Black Flag is ok still needs more improvements like scaling walls alot faster like a spider monkey, jumping alot higher like basketball player, Running super fast like a track star, Far as melee and defense counter attacks needs extreme improvements. Put a little mixed martial arts into the game, some special forces attacks. When getting away from templar soldiers should do like parkour moves running off roofs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BLACK FLAG IS FANTASTIC!

posted by MrNutJob (VENICE, CA) Mar 16, 2014

Member since May 2013

I’ve never been a big fan of the Assassin’s Creed games. Although the games are expansive and use a historical setting, I found the long journeys of the franchise much more than I was wanting to take.

I played the first Assassin’s Creed game long ago and remember finding it interesting but not anything that excited me much. So when this 4th Edition of the Franchise arrived I wasn’t expecting much, and was ready to not like it. Even though the game received an 8.8 on Gamefly.

But now I’ve been playing this 4th game with much passion.

Black Flag is one of the best Video Games I’ve seen in a long long time. Pirates. Need I say more, and the wonderful Flag of Mockery, the skull and crossbones. In this 4th game of Assassin’s Creed, you finally get something, The Jackdaw, a SHIP that your character Edward Kenway, pilots on the Sea Going World.

The game is Ballistic!

I’ve never really played a game like this, where so much is upon the ocean.

I’m really rather into it and am about 50% of the way through… there is no hurry or that feeling of ‘Gotta Finish’ this game!

James Kidd

Here’s a character that is obviously G-y. In fact I never even entertained the fact that James Kidd was an actual Woman!

__

"I actually didn’t notice it until “James” tells Edward, but did anyone else notice that everytime Kidd is actually referred to as Mary, suddenly she is wearing lipstick and looks more feminine? I just thought it was odd."

From GameFaqs

__

Turns out that James Kidd or Mary Read was an actual person, but that really doesn’t matter, because most people won’t know that, and boy it was really rather a LETDOWN when it was revealed, especially if you are g-y.

In other words, it would have been much more interesting to have gone Fictional with the Kidd character, who was very attractive as a g-y person. Especially in the Era of the game, where of course, there was much g-y activity going on, on Pirate ships at Sea.

First reviewed on Kind

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly good!

posted by ADRIAN25685 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 15, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I had my doubts that I could finish the game when the majority of the game you're on your ship trying to sink other enemies and what not, but it turned all to be really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome game

posted by gunznbutta (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Mar 3, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

this is one of the best games this year assissins creed jus keeps getting better so fun!the only thing is if u rent it you cant play multiplayer unless u buy it other than that great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Assassin's Creed Ever Made!

posted by dbaker7452 (SARATOGA SPRINGS, NY) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Jul 2012

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag is the best assassin's creed title I have ever played! There are so many pros to this game. I might get some heat for this, but I have played AC Brotherhood, Revelations, and AC3. I could not finish any of those games because I would just lose interest. But this one really nails it. I haven't finished it yet, but I have been playing it now for 4 straight days after coming home from school. Now that it is February break I am constantly playing it about 4-6 hours a day. Anyways let's get to the pros and cons
PROS
-The battle on the seas is incredible, and my favorite part of the game. From firing off mortars at different ships, to upgrading your own ship, to sending off ships you captured to do trades, it is just incredible
-The Blowpipe is really cool and makes me laugh every time one of the enemies goes berserk against his own allies.
-So much exploration. The map is huge and will take you DAYS maybe even weeks to explore all of the map.
-The combat system is always good, but they stepped it up even more in this game, maybe it's just because I like seeing my character using a sword to defeat enemies on another ship, but it is still pretty epic
-I can get lost in the storyline it is so good. Surprising events every mission
-The missions themselves are awesome as one will be all stealth and the next will be all about action
CONS
-there really aren't too many cons, but the game did take about an hour before I started to really get lost in it
-even though ship battles are awesome, sometimes when there aren't any ships to fight and you are only sailing to a mission far away, it can get a little boring
THIS GAME IS AMAZING, I give it a 10/10
I can only think of how great it would be on the Xbox One

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wow...

posted by INSAN3J3D1 (HIALEAH, FL) Feb 19, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

I'm really surprised at how much I dislike this game. This doesn't feel like Assassin's Creed at all. It should be called Pirates At Sea THE WHOLE TIME! Most of the game is spent out at sea tailing ships, chasing ships, attacking ships, protecting ships and boarding ships. It becomes extremely repetitive and beyond boring. When you are on land there are some cool missions, but there are over 20 islands in the game. You sail forever, unless you've been nearby your destination to fast travel, you do one or two missions on that island and you're back at sea. Even the missions on the land are completely repetitive. Most of them are tailing missions. When you're lucky enough to finally get a mission where you get to do your own stealthy way to assassinate a main target, it's fun. Sadly, those missions are rare. If you rent this and loved the previous AC titles, you're gonna be really bored of this one. Not to mention, the story blows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Come Back

posted by Zydan777 (WILDOMAR, CA) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I was really skeptical about getting this game because the one before it was kind of a let down. That is not the case with this game at all. Black Flag has brought the games series back to life for me. I can not wait till another one comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse