Rent Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

Also on:PS4, Xbox One, PS3, Wii U

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.6

2171 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun but

posted by dex1911 (SPOKANE, WA) May 21, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game was alot of fun very good story after i sent it back i found myself wanting to still play it.the game does get repetitive and the eavesdropping and follow missions got kinda annoying i felt like most of the development went into the ship and story witch was fine but missions could have been better.any ways get this game if you haven't its a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Major Improvement from AC3

posted by ManOfWar2 (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Nov 3, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Ubisoft really out did themselves with this one. AC3 was a disappointment but AC4 fixed all the problems.

Pros:
-Gameplay is awesome
-Sailing the open sea with your crew is awesome. Shanties give the game that pirate-feeling
-Having multiple pistols and dual-wielding swords allows you to take out enemies fast
-Hunting system vastly improved
-Big open-world and has many naval battles

Cons:
-Some graphic flaws but doesnt affect game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by TmoKid (LIVINGSTON, NY) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was my first experience in this title line honestly due to the other assassins creeds not catching my eye, after playing through on this game it has me wanted to go back and start on the first one and actually give them all a fair shake , AWSOME game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVED THIS GAME

posted by eviltweeker (CHULA VISTA, CA) Nov 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

In my opinion, the best assassin's creed game. I loved being able to sail the seas when ever i want. The navel battles are fun and you carry multiple pistols and two swords which make the the combat a lot more fun. The story is also very interesting and the developers did a good job making the present day story without Desmond

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Above average. Captures the pirate vibe decently.

posted by StyleGamer (FOUNTAIN, CO) Nov 16, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Admittedly this is my first Assassins Creed. From what I played the game has gorgeous environments, detailed characters and robust character interactions.

Unfortunately I felt like the missions although fun, seemed repetitive and not much variety. Its always sneak here, assassinate person X, or sink person Z's ship. The story and visuals really pick up this games slack and mask a lot of its faults. Another thing that irked me was the repetitive nature of the side activities on the islands. Its always collect X amount of animus fragments, loot X number of chests, etc.

Another complaint is the character movement. I expected the character movement to be very precise with almost zero glitches given assassins creed reputation. Boy was I wrong. The sprinting feature feels clunky and a lot of times I found Edward grappling onto edges I didn't intend.

I didn't play too much of the multiplayer but it seemed average. The hunter/hunted mode was fun but not nearly enough to keep me engaged. I didn't even bother with the clan feature as not enough people I know bought the game and there didn't seem to be a lot of folks online.

Overall fun pirate theme, good graphics, commanding a ship is fun but average gameplay, repetitive missions and side missions and lackluster multiplayer.

7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great installment to the series

posted by Malsidius (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Most fans would disagree because it does not fit the AC status quo; however, this game breaks away from that but primarily by making assassinations more of a side mission rather than the main focus. In 'Black Flag' they have taken more of an adventurous route and made side missions more interesting. The story line does not disappoint, but it does lack in content.

The controls have not improved much at all, if any; in my opinion, I feel as though the controls have degraded some. Also, it's difficult to counter or avoid enemies that are off the screen. Fighting combinations are repetitive, and guns only seem to stun your target.

Overall, this is a really good game to add to your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game Freeze

posted by ssdavis70 (PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL) Jan 2, 2014

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Game was awesome until it got to Sequence 13 and it freezes up, so you can not go any further on the main missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

fun but frustrating

posted by Jervon (CHANDLER, AZ) Dec 12, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I would not recommend this game because it wouldn't let me continue on to another mission. It showed no mission marker. And alot of people had the same problem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good but lame sections

posted by splibby (WINDHAM, NH) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I would have given this game a 9 or 10 if not for the shark portions....seriously?!?? You can dive in the water but cant carry a knife with you? It is unbelievably impossible to avoid the sharks at all times and swimming is hard enough. Remove the sharks and this game is great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Assassin's creed- assin.

posted by Noobcake55 (SOMERSWORTH, NH) Jan 9, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Honest the only thing to say is 3 was better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by bonedeth55 (BISHOP, CA) Sep 29, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This was one of the hardest games to put down... The missions lead to locations that lead to secrets that lead to locations that lead to treasure that lead to upgrades that lead to missions. You follow? Great graphics and awesome game all around. A MUST RENT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game love the story

posted by elnez1 (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 27, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Only problem Is I need to be online to get my game to 100% other that that awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

immersive, exciting

posted by jonfosho (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 25, 2014

Member since May 2014

i LOVED this game. The visual detail, animations, storyline, and mechanics weere all superb. Some of the missions were a little repetitive, but did not detract from overall xperience. I found myself just wandering the open oceans, looting frigates, and exploring islands.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It could be better -.-

posted by alexnderthgreat (TWIN FALLS, ID) Sep 20, 2014

Member since May 2014

I'm online gamer if you want to play this game online it cost 10 bucks but i didn't care so I got an online pass started playing online But I can't play it but i can but its hard; why there there are so many experts players that are so good that they drive me crazy but other then its a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sailing the 7 seas

posted by micdanchris Sep 17, 2014

Assassins Creed started bad but then got revived by Assassins Creed II. Assassins Creed III was another med mediocre title but IV has come around and revived it like II did. Graphics: Amazing Gameplay: Good Characters: Great Story: Meh A great game in general

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

well could be better

posted by bowhunting1989 (IRON RIVER, WI) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

It was good overall game but ran into alot of issues with him wanting to Randomly jump off things when ur running also likes to jump from enemy to enemy while attacking overall ok game but prefer the others

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game EVER

posted by blackninja11 (ROCHESTER HILLS, MI) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Now guys if your into open world games or assassins creed games then get this game I think they did a very excellent job I suggest that you should buy it used cause it cost quite a bit of money but its worth your money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the best

posted by triplepf (DUPONT, WA) Sep 12, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

one of my favorite games built on ac3 shop system for much better naval battles beautiful on the one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I would really give this a 7.5

posted by Daygrays13 (DAYTON, OH) Sep 9, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I got this game with really high hopes that it would be my favorite Assassins creed game yet, well it wasn't. Before you say this review wasn't helpful or whatever let me explain. Pro's 1 The game is way more polished then AC3 regarding glitches and bugs. 2 The fact that you can carry 2 swords is a really cool addition to the game. 3 The gun system is fantastic, Like how you can hunt and craft more straps for up to 4 guns and then chain all four gun shots into one big maelstrom of led is really cool. Cons 1 Story is pretty lame and didn't really keep me interested for very long. 2 The majority of the game is sailing, if you played AC3 and hated the sailing missions then you will hate this game because most of the game is sailing to one mission then shoot down this one ship or something like that. 3 The stealth missions, I actually like some of the stealth missions on this game but they were really tough, I'm hoping in the next assassins creed game they put in a crouch while moving system cause it would make the game a whole lot easier. In conclusion if you liked the sailing missions in AC3 then you should most definitely buy this game. Though it can be glitchy at times it is still a very fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just not my thing I guess but rated as if it was

posted by G5Xeon (WOODLAND, CA) Aug 7, 2014

Member since Oct 2004

I have tried to like this series and while the graphics and the game itself are fine I guess I am just not a fan of having to be so stealthy to get past scenarios in the game.

I don't mind occasional stealth but you really need to love restarting when you fail some basic situation. I guess it's just not for me but I know others that really love the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassins Creed IV

posted by silentdark22 (HOLLAND PATENT, NY) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

One word can easily sum this game up "Wow". This game is amazing all around. From the story line to the game play. Controls are easy to get used to. I love the fact that they allow the player to explore as they see fit. I like being able to expand a crew, go fishing sink any ship or capture it add it to my fleet and upgrade both my ship and my gear. Very cool concepts. The hacking of the computers in abstergo remind me of frogger I enjoyed them. I would highly recommend this game to anyone. Especially those who have played the other assassins creed titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An amazing adventure that goes to sea

posted by FiniteGamer (GLENDALE, AZ) Jul 16, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I absolutely love this game. Every nook and cranny of this assassin game is worth a look. The game looks indeed beautiful, both on current gen and next gen consoles. Edward Kenway delivers a fun story for the player. The story is good enough for you to care about the cast of characters within the game. I would recommend this to anyone who loves the pirate lore, or the Assassin's Creed series 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

New kind of game

posted by JMuscle64 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jul 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

This game offers a wide range of game play, from the campain to side missions. You are able to sail the ocean when the opportunity to fully upgrade your ship. Traveling across the water you will find a lot of different things to do, such as deep sea diving. Hunting is also another attraction found in this game... you can hunt on both land and sea. Anything from monkeys to great white sharks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best!

posted by Sk0urge (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Jul 8, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

AC:Black Flag is the best AC title to date, in my opinion. The game world experience is not to be missed & contains something for almost any taste. Not as bogged down by historical data as other AC titles, but this makes for a lighter, play oriented game. The smaller island maps keep the game moving as you clear one and move on to the next.
The story is probably the weakest component. It seemed clunky and a little uninspired. This does not detract from the gameplay which could stand on its own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but too repetitive.

posted by acemasterx38 (CULVER CITY, CA) Jul 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag. What an amazing game, until you get into the repetitivie eavesdroping, tailing and sailing. Yes, this game is a major step up for the series but it was lacking something. The naval combat is fun and I've always wanted to be a pirate. For some reasons the game does tend to be too repetitive in the story missions. It had little action scenes where you actually have to fight or die, mostly it was about just about tailing people and eavesdropping. The naval combat is a real step up from ACIII's but it really all depends on your upgrades which require you to board or sink ships or loot crates out in the open sea this aswell gets boring too soon. Its a fun game with a lot of things to do, from finding shanties so your crew can sing them while sailing to exploring underwater worlds everything seems fun and has a purpose. Or you could just do the pirate thing, drink rum at a pub and go out to sea to terrorize the 7 seas and find treasure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse