Rent Assassin's Creed III for Wii U
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed III

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.7

270 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Solid Port

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Don't take Ubisoft's word for it, get it and see why it is the best version of the game. This would be a 10 review if not for the fact that it freezes after long periods of playing (upwards of three hours).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disk is unreadable

posted by cyymvp (MARIETTA, GA) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I only played about 2% and stuck in the loading time. Returned for another game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Three is a Good Number for the Creed

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

It time for a history lesson – sort of. In Assasin’s Creed III, you play as a guy who uses some sort of strange device to go back in time and assume several roles of characters during the Civil War. The purpose of the visits is to get information regarding some high-tech wall whose secrets are there to be uncovered.
Most of the game you will be in the Civil War era, and you are given several tasks – like free some slaves, battle certain armies (or companies), perform assassinations of important leaders, play hide and seek with kids (what?), and so on.
This game is one of the better looking games for the WiiU so far. I really liked the way the graphics are laid out no matter which era I’m in.
As for the controls, they take some use getting to, but it’s no hard. You just have to remember that guns in the Civil War era take some time to reload after every shot. But this game does not use the touch screen of the WiiU Game Pad – which makes it almost identical to the PS3 or the Xbox 360 version. If you’ve played either of those versions, there isn’t much incentive to play this version.
And as with some of these sandbox type games, the choices you have can get so large that it can get overwhelming. Later on in the game, I was wondering where I am supposed to go in order to advance the story line.
This may force players to buy the strategy guide – or sift through many YouTube videos.
But this is one game that fans of action adventure ought to try – if they haven’t played the other versions of this game. Assasin’s Creed III is a definite rent, and a possible buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awesome.

posted by bigjerm666 (WINTER HAVEN, FL) Dec 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

3D is great. Gameplay is great. If my girlfriend wants to watch tv i can play on my gamepad. GREAT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A lot of talking!

posted by babybee (REDWOOD FALLS, MN) Jan 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I had never played an Assassin's Creed game before, so I didn't know what to expect. I found I really enjoy it! There is A LOT of conversation and that gets boring and annoying, but ove all a lot of fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game port but with bugs!

posted by readypembroke (LA MONTE, MO) Jul 25, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

This game is the exact game that is on the PC, PS3 and 360 but however with bugs. One time I was following a person and I tried to hide with 2 people against a wall, so I did and the game glitched out and put me in the middle of the street and I couldn't move so I had to redo a part! Another glitch that happened to me was that people were flashing like beacons of something like that and the sky also had some odd thing that would cover up some of the view sometimes. I even have the latest patch. Online matchmaking is junk. I would search for matches and there would be 11 available, so the game looks at all the matches. Then the game starts a NEW lobby and one time one person joined my game through MM and got out. If you want to play online, hook up with people through Miiverse (which is AWESOME!). Pro controller with this game is GREAT!!! On the GamePad's screen is a map which works good. I found myself using the Pro Controller more than gamepad mostly because I am used to the Xbox 360 controller. Off TV play works good with zero problems. The reviews that say the game freezes once in a while but with the latest update, it doesn't anymore. Never had a single freeze up in the game but had one when the game started. The good part about this game compared to the 360 one is that there isn't any disc swapping which I don't really care about. Great port but needs some patching. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I think it not a good game

posted by sweetlew (CEDAR CITY, UT) May 28, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I think it a weak it a kind not a good game for any buddy to play I would not recommend this game to any one because it to graphic of a game to blood to violent for any one to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If you have played assassins creed 2 stop there

posted by Csantana (BRONX, NY) Apr 19, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

I'll keep this short I rented the game and got about 25% into the game and lost interest, personally I think this game needs something new other then boats to make it feel fresh again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Assassin's Crapp

posted by JSilver (STUARTS DRAFT, VA) Apr 17, 2013

Member since May 2007

I never played any of the previous Assassin's Creed titles and thought I'd give this one a try. Not far into the game I found myself getting very frustrated with not only the controls but with the missions. I was also very confused as to what was going on with the story. The game starts out in what seems to be present day with a handful of people driving in a van into the woods where they then exit the van and enter a cave. You control the main guy and you take some weird glowing ball and put it into a wall in the cave opening a secret door. Then in that room a device is activated and I was in a computer-like world running around while some female spoke to me. All of a sudden I am a guy in colonial times at an Opera??? The game starts out weird and slow. Upon my arrival in Boston I was suddenly thrust into a few missions that asked me to avoid being seen by soldiers. How am I supposed to do that when they are all over the place and can see me from a block away? And as soon as they saw me (which was immediately), they then start running after me. So I climb up onto the rooftops to get away only to find out that the enemies can also climb up there to chase after me. Apparently everyone in this game is Jackie Chan. While trying to fight them I had no real understanding of the controls and to which buttons were attack, I found myself just mashing buttons frantically like an idiot. With enemy soldiers chasing at me from every direction, there is no way to outrun them. No "Alert" time that goes away while hiding on a rooftop or behind a wall, the enemies always knew where I was. The only way that I found I could get away from them was by jumping from a really high point into a stack of hay to hide in. Another thing that confused me was the "Synchronization DNA Tracker". I have no idea what that meant for the game and what it did. This Wii U version takes NO advantage of the Wii U gamepad. I thought the game was cool up to 5%, but by 9% I hated it. Swing and a miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must have for Wii U.

posted by JPlayEy (HANOVER PARK, IL) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

So much fun online just as fun. One of the games a must have for your Nintendo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good

posted by sesshomaruswagg (ROSSVILLE, GA) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

it wasn't how i thought it was but it goods launch game for the wii u

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

waste of time

posted by lemonjuice999 (BREMERTON, WA) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

this game sucks, get to the title screen and error message pops up saying the disc can't be read, even though it is mirror clean. From the internet it looks like it is a quite common problem with this game, don't waste your time(game play to this point was ok)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Well Done Game

posted by ZombieShock (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

This will be as simple as I can possibly make it, this game is fun, lots of fun. You enter the shoes of Connor, an Assassin trying to overcome the Templar influence that has over come the Americas. Throughout the game you will encounter many iconic figures (and some funny moments with them all) and will be pulled in by some of the dramatic plot twists within the story. Multiplayer is fairly entertaining and can keep one entertained for a while. On top of the superb story that Ubisoft has created, included with endless side missions to keep you entertained, and a fair multiplayer experience, they also include DLC. The DLC is incredible and I anticipate great things to come and great times to enjoy.

I absolutely recommend that you try this game, you've no idea what you are missing out on. Regardless that the Gamepads integration isn't "Groundbreaking" it is still worth it to try the game out on the Wii U.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Great Game

posted by tito2x (RICHFIELD, OH) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This game is awesome. I have played many games in my day, but this game has a little bit of everything for everybody (except sports aspect). The story is fantastic and playing on the Wii U is also helpful and awesome. Nothing like laying in bed (or other activities) playing ACIII in the dark with headphones on the GamePad!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing at best

posted by se7enbrc (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

with such a unique new console I find the controller was underused like it was an afterthought, this game has been hyped for so long, the whole series has, i just found myself struggling to stay awake and play, the game is just dry and not visually stimulating even in 3d. ubisoft did better with rabbids land

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best AC game ever

posted by dom2drapes (JENISON, MI) Nov 18, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

Its great that assassins creed made a game based on the revolutionary war. The greatest part is killing the brits

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »