Rent Assassin's Creed III for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed III

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii U
GF Rating
8.1

7348 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another great AC game

posted by outsider161 (MUNDELEIN, IL) Jan 11, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Combining the Revolutionary War and being an assassin was brilliant. The story is great and the game play is really fun. There are enough side quests available to make this game last for quite a while. The only down side, like other AC games, is some of the side quests can be tedious and repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Series Lifted To New Heights

posted by LakinisAssassin (CLEARFIELD, UT) Jan 10, 2014

Member since May 2013

Assassin's Creed III makes one thing clear from the beginning: It's ambitious. The world feels more open and alive than any of the previous entries. Thankfully the fun gameplay mechanics are still existent in their truest of forms. With some added improvements.

I loved having more offensive opportunities in my arsenal created by the many different types of weapons, as well as the selection within each type. Each type feels different and adds a breath of fresh air to the combat.

The frontier provides many opportunities to explore and I found myself spending an hour or two there before realizing I was not starting the mission I was setting out for. The hunting is fun, and provides a nice side activity. The feather hunt was a bit underwhelming, and the reward was meager for the work needed.

The homestead mini-game is quite fun as well. Recruiting new people to provide crafting and services ended up being one of my favorite activities in the game. I loved sending out the trade convoys for easy cash. And selling hard earned pelts from hunting gave an added sense of accomplishment. That being said, the trade/craft UI was a pain. I felt like I was slogging through it most of the time. A little more attention here and this could have been extremely addicting. As it stands, it actually ended up feeling like a chore near the end of the game.

The story shines and hits closer to home as it is finally based in America. The historical events the developers tapped into were excellent choices, and I got a huge kick out of providing an "alternate" story to said events. The voice acting is excellent as well.

Your main targets feel more human than any of the previous entries villains. There is a shade of grey that the development team nailed.

Bugs still exist in the game, but you can look past them.

SCALE:
Graphics 8.75/10
Sound 9.25/10
Playability 8.5/10
Entertainment 10/10
Re-playability 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great

posted by koolboy65 (DURHAM, NC) Dec 19, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

it is a cool game but it is really hard. is this the hardened edition. Oh yeah I was playing on easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse