Rent Assassin's Creed III for PS3
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed III

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii U

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.1

4677 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Ruined the series for me

posted by dharmaint (BREWSTER, NY) Sep 14, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First. Connor is an a hole. I understand fighting for his people but he gets unlikable. They showed so much tree climbing stuff but I could never find the endless branches to climb. The fort in the e3 demo I don't think was in this. I liked how you play as a Templar for the first 1-4(I think) missions. The ending is mildly confusing. Since 4 is a prequel to 3 I guess it won't be answered? I didn't like the naval combat, too difficult. And there was no real assassin contracts in the main story, just a few people to get revenge on or to get to Charles lee. I own every assassins console game but after this ill rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Does Assassin's Creed 3 live up to its name?

posted by blackpikachu911 (CHERRY HILL, NJ) Nov 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Yes, assassins creed is back. But, is it still the loveable series we all come to love? The answer to that question is yes, but not without a few mistakes along with it. To start things off I will explain the pros of Assassins Creed 3, such as the beautiful art design and the amount of task (or missions/side quests) to do in the game is incredible. You could be jumping to rooftop to rooftop, or doing something as simple as hunting, there is a ton to do in Assassins Creed 3 it is insane. Wile I am still at the topic, the hunting feels fresh and amazing (it also beings something new to the Assassins Creed 3 series.)

I also must say, the story missions can feel the same most of the time ( running or stalking someone, witch sometimes get boring.) But no need to fear, the amount of features in Assassins Creed 3 makes up for the story quest. Now to the actual story it self. You play as a man named Connor, a Native American Assassin. You start the story as young Connor and grow though out the game (You are mostly the adult Connor.) I don't want to spoil much about the game so i will leave it at that.

There is loveable characters, (although Connor is no where near as loveable as Ezio is but he will have to do) Great story, lots of stuff to do, Why not a perfect score you ask? Well that is because of so issues that I had with the game. First off, there is some annoying bugs in this game. Also you will run into some extremely annoying load times, and there is a awful ending that i do not wanna spoil. the only thing i didn't really go over is the multilayer, it hasn't really changed since the last Assassins Creed, but its still a solid multilayer experience.

Over all, Assassins Creed 3 is a Amazing game with good set pieces, and loveable characters. there is a ton to do with solid multilayer. On the other hand, the little problems like, load times and annoying bugs stop Assassins Creed 3 from being a perfect game.

Over all: 9.5 By the way the real score is a 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Controls are frustrating

posted by dmt317 (HUTTO, TX) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

14 out of 22 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Just finished this game and thought I'd give it a review. The story is entertaining and original. It is a breath of fresh air to play a story that takes place in the revolutionary war. However, the ending of the game (in my personal opinion) was disappointing. Extremely disappointing.

As original as the story was, it isn't strong enough to compensate for the irratic game controls. I cannot count how many times I was running to catch someone in Boston or NYC (or was running away from a group of angry redcoats), only to have the character unexpectedly cling on to a ledge or climb. The button used to run is also the button one uses to climb buildings and such. This is most frustrating when trying to complete a mission that is either timed or relies on the chase of a character. This happened so many times that I nearly grew tired of the game and sent it back. Alas, I hung in there to finish it, again to an subpar ending.

The game is a breath of fresh air, but the game controls are extremely frustrating. Add to the fact that the ending was awkward, and it equates to a disappointing game that didn't measure up to its potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Totally forgettable

posted by F4stOne (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Amazing visuals and fighting animations but..this is easily the slowest of the AC storylines. So much so that I couldn't make it past Sequence 4. Too many cut scenes, too much loading time and too many redundant mission quests. AC2 is still the clear champion of the series. They should have stopped there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Redundancy in the 18th Century

posted by janxonomics (PARKVILLE, MD) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

14 out of 24 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

When the game loads, the sounds and sights of the 18th century bring you into a world of excellence. Attempting to address the American Revolution, UbiSoft does a fantastic job of bringing it to life. But, when you actually play as your assassin, UbiSoft falls back onto the AC1 standards, and leave you bored and longing to replay "Red Dead Redemption" when you want to hunt animals.

Everything except the actual gameplay of Conner is amazing in this game. But, when you play, you get bored very fast. In fact, you'll get so frustrated by its repetitive "fetch quests" that you'll wish you just played another game.

Meanwhile, Conner and the other "Character" you play as are as boring as they come, completely failing in the narrative portion of AC3. Ezio would be ashamed.

Overall, if you like AC, then I would rent this. But, if you are just checking out the hype -don't. Go play AC2, and YouTube AC3. It will save you time and stress.

4 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Final Chapter Finally Got Most Right

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I've been a fairweather fan since the beginning. I loved AC1 when it first came out. I played it top to bottom 3 times. Having loved the first one so much I was thuroughly disappointed that the next few installments never really roped me in like the 1st one. I never finished #2 & I never touched the next 2. I'm not finished with the 3rd one yet but its finally roped me the way the 1st one did. I love the time in history. I love the open world layout. I even enjoy the combat system. I've read about everyone raving about the graphics but I don't find them all that much improved. Don't get me wrong, the game is B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L! I just don't see a huge improvement like all the reviews are saying. This is BY FAR the best installment of the series. If you couldn't get into AC before but wanted to, then this is definitely the game for you. I've even already ordered all the others in the series to just watch this story unfold from beginning to end, purely because of this one.

PROS:
Great time in history for the setting.
Great story, keeps you hooked in.
Improved combat & motion
Graphics are good.

CONS:
UPlay Passport (Code Needed For Online Multiplayer, $9.99)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not all that

posted by BigEdward (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I wanted to like AC III and at first, I did. I loved the new controls, it seemed to give new life to what used to be fairly boring fights but it really hasn't improved all that much. The biggest problem I have is the extra, non-story stuff, it's very flat and seems, for the most part, mostly useless. In the AC II games, you basically rebuilt the city a piece at a time and you could see it and interact with it but here, there doesn't seem to be any point. Also, the setting pales in comparison, colonial America just doesn't hold up to Rome or the Holy Land. I'm sorry but this one just doesn't cut the mustard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Want A Real, Truthful interview?

posted by whatup5656 (DOVER, DE) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

13 out of 24 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Unlike, the children that have been writing reviews to this game, mine will be truthful and not fanboyish at all.

First of all....The story and fights are great. Both have kept me very entertained. Unfortunately, the gameplay not so much. It is very obvious that this game was rushed because you will encounter a handful of bugs in the first hour in the game. I've had people disappear, my character launch into the air by just standing there, getting stuck between things and my ship did a full front flip in the middle of battle. Simple things that should never happen. While the game is still good...I do not think it is worth the current 59.99. At tops this game is worth 39.99. The main character is arrogant and rude at times he shouldn't be. Some of the Founding Fathers have been turned into a joke. The villains are a been there seen that in the last game. Nothing new has been brought to this game. Multiplayer has been revamped to make it easier in finding games. Other than that, it is still extremely atrocious when editing things. If Ubisoft would have let the game what it was when the 2nd one came out, this game would have a chance for game of the year. All it is now, is a way to waste time, while waiting for something else. It was a great series but now it is just in the middle. That is my personal opinion but everyone should take time to read it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Most overrated of 2012

posted by boredatwrk (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Assassin’s Creed 2 was fun. Brotherhood improved on it. You were given a likable hero, an engaging system to ‘level up’ your character, useful interaction with npcs (could I pay you all to start a riot..? ok!) and a city that just begged to be explored. You weren’t treated like an idiot. Here, you are given a stripped-down, soulless experience and a hero that has the personality of an automated recording.

There is a 6 hour tutorial. I experienced it and even I can’t believe it. Gone are the almost puzzleish Templar temples (which were excellent..) equippable gear.. a fast paced, enjoyable npc recruitment system. Oh and fun. That’s gone too. I poured out a 40 oz several times.

The other reviewers were spot on about how this ‘isn’t a true AC game’. They couldn’t be more right. Yes it’s also true that ‘5min have passed.. cutscene time.. facial animations may or may not work’ is true as well. I don’t have a problem with people’s mouths not moving in frequent cutscenes if I’m immersed in a game. This game had me checking out my backlog.

It’s as if the AC franchise merged with some new WRPG. It has a much heavier emphasis on ‘adventure’ and less stealth assassinating. It’s as disappointing as it sounds. It just straight up feels dumbed down in every way. It lacks anything that had that addictive factor making you want to come back. It’s just all uninteresting filler. I put in 12 hours before I couldn’t take it anymore.

If you had ever thought to yourself while playing AC that it needed more horse riding.. this may be the game for you. Yeehaw.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by XTheViperX (ANN ARBOR, MI) Oct 30, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

12 out of 24 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The first 20 minutes are amazing, the gameplay is really fluid and the historical battles are gorgeous and amazing. Hope you enjoy this game while you can get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bugs, bugs and more bugs.

posted by AltimitEin (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is solid and the story line is superb, don't get me wrong, but this game is loaded with bugs.

Getting stuck is still a constant problem, quests randomly wont finish due to AI problems and you have to reload from last to fix it. Quests with companions are still loaded with terrible AI and the horse riding (which seems to be a bigger focus in this game) is still non-responsive and clunky.

Play it for the story, don't get your hopes up. The same problems that plagued the last games are still there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

While Impressive - a Missed Opportunity.

posted by ptrac (HICKSVILLE, NY) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played every AC game since its inception and loved everyone. The amount of historic detail and production value are among the best games out there. The depth and plethora of things to do are well worth the financial investment every time. AC3 is no different. the story is deep (Maybe too deep), the combat fun and the landscape, amazing.

Where AC3 fails is in its misuse of the setting and reinterpretation of American history as well as its incessant need to push a cinematic narrative on the player. One would think the American Revolution would be a cornucopia of historical fruit to draw upon. In the case of AC3 they fail here and they fail greatly. While great events like the Boston Tea Party and the great battles of the Revolution are delved into, they lack any deep fluidity and almost feel forced into the narrative. George WAshington is portrayed as a impotent war general and Ben Franklin a overrated slave-owner. Why have these legendary figures in the game if only to portray them as bit parts or to portray them inaccurately?

That said Connor maybe the best AC character yet and his existence saves this game from its lackluster spots. The combination of a half-British, half Native-American who fights on the side of Freedom and Liberty is a great storyline and is endearing and deep. And the progression of this concept is the strength of AC3 and makes the game worth your time if not anything else. Connors' embrace of the founding fathers is oddly believable.

Unfortunately after 5 games you would think AC's long plagued issues would be dealt with. But, they are all still here. Wonky camera issues plague combat, brutal frame rate issues are abound when you are in heavy populace or take to horseback, and the upgrading of weapons and items are absolutely pointless. I got through the entire game without having to upgrade a single weapon or spending a single dime on anything at all. Much like in the past, side missions are also filler, if not pointless. 7/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not what its made out to be

posted by millerlite2224 (FAIRMONT, NC) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

assassins creed 3 was not what i expected it to be. the story mode of it was ok at first but the way it ended made no sense at all. and im not gonna spoil it for no one so dont think i am. the graphics were off on it for a new game. it seemed rushed through, the whole game had major glitches in it like passing through people and dogs and other animals freezing or skipping. over all it was ok but the commercials do it more justice than it really is u dnt even get to fight i a battle like they do u dont even get to kill king george. it was portrayed as u could but u cant. as for the glitches when u go to ur view point his feet are floating in mid air the kills are off like u will be stabbing and the guy will b on the ground like theres a real bad delay in it. and i belive the most aggervaiting part for me other than the bad story was the talking they would be talking and there mouths wouldnt even move at all or it would b delayed. i belive the biggest let down was if u changed ur suit during the story if there was a scene u would have on the regular suit i mean correct me if im wrong but that wasnt a problem in the last titles i believe. ur suit staied the same through out the whole story in scences and game play i just feel like alot of corners were cut in this game. and it could of been alot better. i would give ti a 5 out of 10 and i love the assassins creed games i have them all in a collection but im embarrassed to say this one is in it cause it was that much of a let down overall though the game was fun didnt like that u had to travel so far but thats part of all these games. if u can look past the all glitches though its not to bad just a let down on the story. i think they could of took it a whole lot further than they did

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

disappointing (RENT, DO NOT BUY)

posted by WVUGambler5676 (ASHFORD, WV) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

no where near as good as the all the other Assassin Creed games. Sure there are a few more features but at the cost of a buggy game. i would have been impressed with the combat system if it wasnt so buggy either. there were times that i had to wait to be hit or shot before i could move and other times i could move but not attack. i would expect these bugs and glitches if it was a game with as much data as Fallout New Vegas or Skyrim but that is not the case. even a few of the cut scenes messed up where the characters mouth wouldnt move, there weapon would be in there hand when it shouldnt be (i know it wasnt suppose to be there cause it was going through the pillar in the middle of the room), the character(s) would completely disappear, and other unacceptable bugs for a game like this. In the past i have bought ALL the Assassin Creed games, beat them, finished all the extra content, and was happy i owned them instead of rented them so i could play them again. THIS IS NOT THE CASE WITH THIS ONE. RENT THIS ONE THROUGH GAMEFLY, DO NOT BUY! at least, in my option anyways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not so much this time

posted by akira2501 (ROUND LAKE BEACH, IL) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I loved the previous games, not so much this time.

The combat system can be awkward to control at times. The new forest environments can be incredibly frustrating (especially by horse); filled with dead ends and unclear interactivity.
Connor also the main character, is as annoying as an arrogant child.
I quit in sequence 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I wish it didn't fail!!!

posted by radiofloyd26 (VANCOUVER, WA) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game was a huge disappointment, I'm not a fan of this series but I have played them all. This game looked so amazing until I played it.

First of all I was very frustrated playing as Nathan Kenway for the first few hours of game play. I felt that Nathan was a boring and ridiculous character, I kept waiting for my turn to play as Connor Kenway. Plus I don't need the first part of any game to be forced as a tutorial on how to play. Finally after getting to play as Connor Kenway the game became a little better, but you start out as a child of the main protagonist. The story got a little better but not by much.

After putting in hours of game play I never got to play as the assassin of Connor Kenway, the game was to forced I felt and grew old fast. The graphics where just ok, and there were a number of glitches such as characters talking without lips moving or backgrounds noises of being in a bar when you where at the manor. The game was very detailed which was the best part but overall I gave up and returned the game before I'm sure it would have gotten better but I just couldn't seat through this anymore. BUMMER! Was really looking forward to it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AC3

posted by nightmarez (KINGSTON, PA) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Now let me start off by saying my actual game rating is a 9.7 which on here rounds up to 10 no game is perfect people!!! lol so here is AC3 long awaited and long anticipated. now if you've never played AC before theres a good chance you wont understand the desmond side of it so play the others first people, as well now here we go. I rate this game a 9.7 because the story is amazing great graphics fighting gameplay and plot personallly i dont care for desmonds side of it but may i say this is one great game and lives up to most expectations.

PROS
1.GREAT GAMEPLAY
2.GREAT GRAPHICS
3.GREAT STORY
CONS
1. YES A BIT GLITHY
2.WISH THERE WAS A LITTLE BIT MORE TO DESMONDS STORY
3.ALSO WISH YOU WERE A LITTLE MORE INVOLVED IN THE WAR
OVERALL A GREAT GAME AND A MUST RENT FOR AC FANS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game !!!!!!

posted by boobiethegreat (PEABODY, MA) Nov 1, 2012

Member since May 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Ok first to all the people saying that its not good and the same as the rest well if you did not like any of the other games what makes you think this is going to be any different. Me and a ton of other people love the game so don't give it a bad review just cuz you can't injoy it. To say it has a bad story is crazy if you have been following the game from the beginning to what the story led to now is great. I love the fighting in the game the kills in the game are the best part. Some times the controls can be a little off running on building sometime he will jump the total wrong way but for the most part there not bad at all. All said and done i think it's a great game and love where they went with it. if u could not tell from other reviews the graphics are great all the detail that goes into the city's and everything else is just great and if you don't like the game then you must have never liked any AC so leave the reviews to the AC fans. Any way I give the game a ten because I love it and always have and I hope they give us more to play after this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

controls!!!

posted by cjmh08 (DALEVILLE, AL) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I look foward to ac every year because i enjoy the story but every game i am very dissapointed in the controls!! It is nearly impossible to control your character they tend to have a mind of there own. The A.I is terrible it seems as if brits keep respawning out of know where. In my mind dishonered blows assassins creed out of the water when it comes to stealth games!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Asssassins Creed 3 : What could have been.

posted by TapxJames (AZUSA, CA) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

For returning fans of the series, myself included this was what we have been waiting for since we first got up and out of Abstergo. The series has strung us along for over 4 games with promise of satisfying conclusion. Unfortunately not only does it fail to deliver on that conclusion, it forgets about most of the established story on the way there.

Assassin's Creed 3 is part of a disturbing trend of laziness and cashing in on franchises that has begun to plague this industry. The gameplay is buggy with unfinished or thoughtless game design with clunky controls and menu systems. The graphics shine in some areas, but you're only reminded of how rushed this title is when in other areas the characters lips stop moving, or their models look unfinished, terrible pathing and half hearted animations.

This I can say without a shadow of a doubt is the worst installation of the series. Rent it, beat it, rush it back to gamefly and try to forget this ever happened and you wasted your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply amazing!

posted by naruto123 (GREENACRES, FL) Oct 31, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I cant find one signle flaw in this game, the graphics are stunning, the fighting( as always) is great. Overall this is a game you should definitely buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The game is ok but its not as fun as past AC game.

posted by Hypnonyc (LURAY, VA) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played all of the past AC game and really love all of them. I finish most of all of those game and all the side quest keep me going.

However, this AC game " AC3" is great but without what we love in the past ac game.

The story is fine, and it looks great but with all the side mission you do for your home and ect . become pointless.

Past AC game , getting all the side mission done make you feel stronger and you can see the city get better. You home have more stuff. This time around I don't see anything like that. This don't keep you playing after a while.

Also the main characters seems a little off ( too much of a child ) . You don't really feel like you are a Big bad assassins or building your own team and fight. After a while you just want to stop caring and get the game over with.

This is a good looking game but I wish there was a point or something greater with the side mission.

The fighting don't seem as smooth as past game. Sometime you don't do what you should, and he just get kill by some no body.

Rent and not buy for this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Assassin's Creed 3

posted by vashx (KIRKLAND, WA) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Buggy! Lots of graph gliches. To the point I had to wait for patches to be able to play. And after playing all of the other assassin creed titles this is definally my least favorite. The final ending of the series also proved wanting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super Ninja

posted by brandone (JESSIEVILLE, AR) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Not many games can attain the level of complexity that games like Assassin's Creed have achieved. I wont say that I didn't find any glitches, but I will say that every glitch was visual, and often hilarious. I played the game nonstop for 20 hours and fell into a deep coma, in which I was also playing the game. If you enjoy a deep plot and massive amounts of bodies left in your wake as you ninja through the world then you will thoroughly enjoy AC3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliant reinstallment!

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I held my breathe for about 10 minutes after starting this title... After passing out from lack of air I came to find this game is 10x better than the Assassins Creed II games that I just thought was a downward spiral of the series.
Assassins Creed plays as a third person, free roam, and traversing title--allowing you to climb on everything--that will have you seeing segments of History, but with little twists of the story into the conception of the world of Assassins.

The continuing Desmond Miles is still the avatar of his past descendants... Unveiling the hidden meanings of the artifacts left by the civilization before humanity. "Eden" tools are what will put Desmond and his team ahead of the syndicate Abstergo.

I was very pleased with this title. Game mechanics, graphics, game environment... Have greatly been updated. The game world now has environment weather. The sky dome looks 10x better, than last title. The motion of the character is nice and fluent. Ubisoft refined the fighting mechanic, which now just makes the characters you play as fight with very assertive-wicked, AWESOMENESS. Color pallete is now not just shades of gray... Very diverse vivid color...
The game simply just feels cool to play... Very renewed. However, back in the late 1700-1800s the bricks(clay bricks) were larger in size, from the modern bricks we have today, they didn't really catch on to that, but that doesn't even matter.

The game is absolutely amazing... From Architecture detail to character appearance you will see in game... Assassin Creed III puts you in a time of history many forget.
They did a brilliant job... They put multiplayer in it, but I didn't play it -- The single player shines in the title wonderfully.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse