Rent Assassin's Creed III: Liberation for PS Vita
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed III: Liberation

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.2

520 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

AssassinzzZZzzz Creed III: Liberation

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Nov 17, 2012

Member since May 2011

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

=/

Okay, let's be clear. This game IS good. Especially if Handheld gaming is your primary gaming experience.
This game has TONS of content to keep you busy. Decent (but not great) graphics. Good gameplay, etc.
You really can't go wrong with the fact that it's a legit Assassin's Creed experience, in the palms of your hand, on the go.

But... if you're only able to play in small chunks, or would rather be hooked up to your TV and console, this game isn't going to hold too much of your attention. At least not for long.

It's a long game, so, it can feel like a chore at times, especially being a handheld.

It has some cool ideas, letting you choose between different personas... but whoever thought the "lady persona" was a good idea should be fired. Yeah, disguise is nice, but it goes COMPLETELY against the Assassin's Creed experience. You can't free run, you can't fight well. It makes traveling feel sluggish and boring. None of those experiences are enjoyable. Stealth is always a big aspect of the series, but that was not the way to do it.

If you've got the time, and Portable gaming is your Main thing, this is a great game for you. But it's a bit of niche group. For the Vita, this is a must buy. However, should you also own a console, chances are you're time will be taken up with ACIII and other Heavy Holiday Hitters to spend any time on this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good When You're an Assassin

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Nov 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game introduces a disguise system. You only play as an Assassin like a third of the time. The other 2/3 you play as a "slave" or a "lady." It's the same character just in different costumes, yet as a lady persona your character is completely unable to climb buildings or really fight at all. The slave persona handled a bit better, but it doesn't make sense that Aveline becomes limited physically after putting on a dress rather than her typical assassin uniform. That would normally be a minor complaint not worthy of knocking off points for, however playing the lady persona is a complete bore. The game is amazing when it's playing like it's console counterparts (when you're a slave or assassin persona) but the lady persona really drags it down for me.

The story is also kind of boring. The dialogue is so basic and uninteresting and the characters are nothing special. Where does this even fit into the canon? It's never answered in the game.

It's definitely worth playing because it delivers a decent Assassin's Creed on the go, just don't expect it to be anywhere near the quality of Assassin's Creed ll or lll

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

some glitches, but still awesome

posted by traviscfm (KODIAK, AK) Dec 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

there have been a handful of little glitches, including issues with the "face the camera to the light" feature, and a few others. also issues with random markers on the map that i have had to turn to google to figure out. Also the "counter" option while fighting is terrible, fighting has always been a blast on all Assassins C games, especially AC3 for console, but this one is no fun, you have to tap the button at exacly the right time or you are screwed, and it is seriously like a split second. Also i love the different personas, but i hate having to take down the noteriety on all of them seperately, you almost have to make one of your other personas notorious in order to remove the noteriety from the others. I gave it a 10 though cause it is the best game i have ever played on Vita or PSP, and the storyline and other gameplay is just awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

game is good not great

posted by saleyva23 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game is very interesting and a sure buy on the vita unfortunatly this game is bugged like crazy from changing ur weapons at random or costumes not changing feels really funky when you go into a big battle because you dont get the indicators you are familiar with.

persona changing is pretty cool does change the feel but as for each having its own wanted meter.... it dont help u rip down one sign and it affects a different persona.

give it a try i say

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't look at me

posted by Bonnie420 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 23, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

I did't really play the game that much started off not good so from there I was just like freak it. Better way to say that is the game got glitchy for a couple of days then, I was stuck on a roof ,then I was in the middle of town so I just quit never played agin .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

to easy

posted by ktl (CANON CITY, CO) Nov 19, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

This game only took me two days to beat it was almost as easy as dontais inferno for Xbox 360 which took me 6 hours to beat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

1 Word terrible

posted by Hesham99 (NASHVILLE, TN) Jul 12, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

when you play it its not fun and it really it feels more like your playing chess than a video game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good

posted by gfsubscriber1 (SOUTH PASADENA, CA) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ACIII: Liberation User Review

posted by HaloT1tan (AURORA, CO) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Nov 2007

This game looks and feels great on a handheld device and it truly shows off the capabilities of of the PlayStation Vita. It's a miniature version of a console standard Assassin's Creed packed full of gameplay and story.

The story itself is mediocre. Aveline is the first female lead in the franchise and her story felt weak. Often the game forces the player to wear a certain persona (lady, assassin, slave) rather than letting the player choose how to go about a mission. The side missions in the games are rather dull as well. More than half of them have Aveline racing around the city to etch out business competition.

One particular side mission helps show off hour frustrating the control scheme is. The right bumper is used to sprinting and climbing. This mission is a race and through the duration of it, the gamer will find that sprinting next to something they can climb (even when they don't want to climb) will become a frustrating en devour.

Liberation also forces the gamer to utilize the Vita functionality as a game play mechanism. This is displayed in quirky little puzzles that require the rear view camera to be pointed at a bright light to unveil a secret message. More often than not, this function did not work, even when it was pointed at the brightest light.

Another frustrating puzzle occurred during the ball maze that forced the gamer to tilt the Vita in a manner that would move the ball to the center of the maze. The controls felt clunky and the ball rarely moved the direction it was suppose to. Upon setting the Vita on a flat surface, the ball continued to move by itself.

Liberation is also plagued with glitches ranging from getting struck by enemies that are outside of melee range, swimming in mid air, and hitting an enemy continuously without them eventually going down. The game also suffers from a glitch that refuses to load the player's saved game. I was forced to restart twice.

Overall experience was fun, but it was overshadowed by t

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not like the others.

posted by MalFalurion (ARDEN, NC) Feb 12, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

The game overall is okay, but little replay value. Visually, looks about as good as ac1. The controls are smooth and simple. Online play is not as fun as expected and easy to obtain max level. It is worth playing to see the story line but not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good effort

posted by Schnippshly (SIERRA VISTA, AZ) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

The only thing holding this game back is the arbitrary 3 GB size limitation that Sony enforces on all of the Vita's games. It obviously holds back the system's potential, forces game developers to cut content (and corners), and compress the heck out of audio, as is evident in any Vita game of a large size.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not a good game

posted by farrow53 (CLEVELAND, OH) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

When gamefly sent me this game it said that the game was assassin's creed but when i started playing the game it was not assassins creed it was little big planet and i did not want little big planet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Frustrating but fun at times.

posted by sneedo (INDEPENDENCE, MO) Jan 12, 2013

Member since Feb 2011

This is a game I really wanted to like, that's something you'll probably read at the beginning of a lot of PS Vita reviews, this is no exception.

This game is downright frustrating, glitches both graphical and technical are all over this game. When you add a poorly programmed game with the seemingly obligatory forced Vita minigames, bright light on the camera, front and rear touch you have a bad game.

Unless you're a fan of the series or this game gets patched soon I'd recommend avoiding it at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not that great

posted by Zinsko (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

i just didnt seem to have fun playing this at all it took like an hour and a half just to get through the intial training and even i had no ideal whats going on and the missions are almost all the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but....

posted by Brnhornet (ROSEVILLE, CA) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

Graphics are 10/10 for a handheld game

Only 8 sequences felt like it should have been 13-14...the start of the story is great then it falls off and it felt very rushed at the end...the Connor level is pointless, you climb a hill, fight, run, fight level over...you reading that is longer then the level lasted!

Weapons are ok...the whip is way overpowered and unblockable and the AI ignores you when you use it

Climbing ...the camera can get in the way and you can lose your path while running through trees but overall its cool you can climb trees

I gave this game a 7 for the hurried up ending, the rowing levels, dumb AI, the whip, and the poor effort that went into adding vita touchpad controls... it is what it is and this game doesnt deserve a 10 just because its a handheld they should have made the last half of the story be thought out like the 1st half....If this game came out in Jan 2013 it would most likely be longer more complex but it shows that they rushed it just so it came out the same day as Assassin's Creed 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Frustration in the palm of your hands

posted by Bloodfire401 (EAST PROVIDENCE, RI) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

First let me say the game is actually decent.. The graphics are ok the open world is actually well done and its an assassins creed game. I had high hopes for this title and wanted it to be a vita seller but.. ITS NOT! I want break vita! I is mad when play game!! Ok hulk moments do happen when playing this game. I hate the stupid tailing missions, I hate the persona idea, and OMG there is this stupid tilt maze mini game in a mission that will have you seconds from complete rage meltdown. Glitches are expected in open world games and this one certainly doesn't differ from others infact throws in some extra glitches for fans of ungodly glitches making some in mission challenges so infuriating giving your vita a rest is the best option rather then rage snapping it.. I really enjoyed New Orleans open world the bayou not so much but it doesn't effect how cool the open world is on the vita and that's the games strong point, exploration and that's why the game is rentable... I strongly suggest a rent before you buy and have lowered expectations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dubbed Down Version of AC3

posted by RizenFromDeath (DEARBORN, MI) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Game has its glitches for sure. 9 cause I am an AC Fan. 40-50 Hrs to Plat

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but flawed

posted by johnmiles2 (EVERETT, WA) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2006

I had a lot of fun with this game until i got the game ending glitch about 50% through. Basically you cannot load the game past the "Animus" loading screen. I tried many different things but had no such luck ( i even tried a different cartridge so its a programming thing not a specific cartridge). Was a lot of fun before that happened though and I am sure they will release a patch for it i just didnt want to wait around for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME

posted by psv123 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

From the graphics to the plot line Liberation is a fantastic game while you may lose some things from the old games you gain new ones that make the game that much better and considering the minor ammounts of good games for the vita this one truely allows a vita owner to be proud of his/her magnificent portable system

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointed

posted by jake1998 (HURST, TX) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

game looks horrible, glitches alot, bad story, just a bad vita game again. I love my vita but they need to make good game's or it will go down like psp and psp go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Assassin on the go

posted by xrgamer (INDIO, CA) Nov 1, 2012

Member since May 2012

the game starts off marvelous guiding you through new orleans you journey through the life of aveline. aveline is as much of an assassin as any of the other assassins. unfortanately due to the nature of assassin's creed games it is very difficult not to say something great about the game without giving spoilers. aveline is a socialite and is gifted with knowledeg due to alll the
lets start off with the cons and end with the good like this game
cons:
you may sometimes be troubled by the controls, for example in a mission where you had to carry a box to fit your slave persona the character kept on interacting with crowd blender option (this can be avoided by walking around such objects), another button problem was when moving through the landscape although not as frequent ; rather rare; still became a bother cause the auto jump would miss a branch. another con which i assumed was added there to make the game more difficult was that it would limit the persona you could use. a negative which is more bothersome than anyhing is that the lady persona can not climb although aroun the city it doesnt matter if you happen to fall in water or an ocean youll have to find a slope.also if you aiming for the full sync and end up restarting at the checkpoint you cant skip dialoge or at least i didnt figure out how to do it
Pros:
the games has a ton of great features, countering is really smooth and once you get a hand on the timing youl be able to wipe out the grunts now the "bosses" can be countered as well yet being hit by them may mean your death. for noriety there is different things for removing it if the lady recieves noriety you can kill witneses. for a slave you remove wanted posters preferbally as a lady. now the business mode is inresting and is reminiscent of the sid myers trade being downsized.
misc.
multiplayer is alright its sorta of a takeover mode. the game also utilizes all the vita controls quite acurately there is more modes than i can postdue to limit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »