Rent Assassin's Creed: Altair's Chronicles for DS
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed: Altair's Chronicles

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

671 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Altair busts on the DS with mixed results.

posted by GSRJedi (CHANDLER, AZ) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Altair's Chronicles is a prequel to the console version of the game.

The biggest problem is the controls. The 3D world is hard to navigate because the camera is fixed on a 2D plane. Many times you can't tell where you need to jump and grab a rope or avoid obstacles. The platforming is very inconsistent. It's very easy to be sneaking on a beam and have to make a jump, but jump to far and die. Then when you reload and try again, you don't jump far enough.

I found the combat wasn't too bad in small doses. Once you learn a couple of combos, you find that's all you use. When fighting one or two guys that's alright, but when facing 4 or 5 enemies it becomes very repetitive.

The DS exclusive touch-screen mini-games really don't add anything to the game. The interrogation is an Elite Beat Agents rip-off that isn't fun without the beat. Pickpocketing usually involves moving a key out of a bag without touching the other items in the bag. They both come across as annoying filler.

The graphics aren't too bad for a DS game. The cities all look similar and there's not many character models.

The game has an annoying habit of not remembering things. Everytime you turn it on it asks you to select a language. Then there is a screen that says "touch screen to continue" for no apparent reason. Everytime you do a pickpocket, it asks if you're left handed. Just little annoying things. Unfortunately, the game doesn't save at checkpoints which means you have to beat a level before turning your DS off. I like my handheld games to save frequently, since I may need to turn it off at any moment.

Overall, Assassin's Creed: Altair's Chronicles isn't a bad game. It has it's moments, running on rooftops is kinda fun, but with many levels plagued by poor control and design the game becomes more of a chore than entertainment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

the DS let me down

posted by xboxdude74 (CONWAY, AR) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had heard about assassins creed from some friends, so I tried it on DS. it didnt have my interest at all. despite attempts at great scenery and stunning graphics, it caused too many negative glitches. for example, you jump off a building to another, you fall through the building and to your death. some of the traps didnt make sense, and you feel that the way you beat it wasnt the right way, even when it was the only way. this game is a huge let-down from what I heard of the rest of the series, hopefull, I will get a chance to try the others, but probably not. really, it would be better to just play psychonauts for the x-box. if you must play this though, try to make the best of the endless hours of boring gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Assassin's Creed

posted by fiveboys (MORGAN HILL, CA) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The commercials were great, but the game was only okay. I must say parts were very good, but for the most part hunting and searching were boring and straightforward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Watch Altair dance!

posted by Vignirsson (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2005

20 out of 23 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Or at least watch him apply rhythm to the human body in an attempt to get information out of them!

The game takes place before the events of Assassin's Creed, at about the time when that game starts. The premise is amusing if anything because this game shouldn't technically exist in the story itself.

Gameplay is rather basic, run along the 2D style level with a few #D moves thrown in, button mash to jump, button mash to fight, press the right shoulder button to walk slowly, so on and so forth. If you have played Assassin's Creed, then you know the drill.

However, to pickpocket, you must scrub the lower screen of black and try to move the item out of the bag with surgeon style accuracy. To get information from someone, you must follow rhythm styled movements like Elite Beat Agents. These things feel really tacked on and somewhat annoying, but they want to give you something more than just push buttons, I can get that.

Graphics are pretty amazing for what they pulled off. It certainly isn't matched up against Assassin's Creed, but it does give PSOne quality graphics and that is a good thing for this system.

Quality of the game is just... lacking. Granted, I am not a huge fan of the original Assassin's Creed, I can get the gist and the vibe from the game itself and the story it is trying to tell. This is just a vain attempt to try and cash in on a prequel.

If you NEED to get your Altair on or your head will explode, I would say go ahead and knock yourself out. However, this isn't going to do anything for those people who might not enjoy the parent game and it certainly will not attract new users. For hardcore fans only!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pretty Bad

posted by rbdoherty (CRANFORD, NJ) Mar 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rented this game with quasi high hopes but was met with choppy graphics and very repetitive game play. First and foremost the game utilizes the stylus very poorly so you have to switch often between the touch screen and the controller, very annoying. There is only an option for one saved game at a time and there is no way to save left or right handed functionality so you have to answer whether you are a lefty or not every time you pick a pocket. The story line seems forced and underdeveloped. It seems like with a bit more development this game could have had potential but instead it just kind of looks like something that was slapped together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

i think its pretty cool

posted by turkey08 (OCALA, FL) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the game is actual pretty fun in fact i thought the game would suck but after playing it was actual good. The only problem i had was when u went to the next level like from easy to normal you couldn't get more blue orbs. I also didn't like that you couldn't go back to old levels. But besides that it is a pretty fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Verry verry verry bad.

posted by gamedude11 (HOLLYWOOD, FL) May 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was the worst game I have ever played. The graphics horible. I did'nt get the controls at all. The story line verry bad.
Don't waste your time playing this game and dont waste your space on your game Q for this game. DON'T PLAY THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth my time.

posted by hillbicks (LAFAYETTE, IN) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

After playing Assassins Creed for 360, this game was a total disappointment. There is little to no free roam (you have to follow blue orbs around); and the controls are unwieldy. I wouldn't suggest this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

like sliding own a beautiful rinbow slide

posted by rascal664 (BOISE, ID) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

personally i think this game was better than air well not really because i dont wanna die but you know not half bad

ps. way better on the 360 but i still loved every minute of it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More about obstacles than anything else

posted by PinkDyno (HOBOKEN, NJ) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The game is on the DS, so obviously you shouldn't expect the quality that you get from the Assassin's Creed 1 and 2 on the big consoles. For one, the graphics are decent considering it is on DS, but once again don't expect fantastic. The story isn't fabulous, but it is interesting.

The game is mostly about jumping and avoiding obstacles and not falling off of things or else you will die. There is a little bit of fighting here and there, but it's about 80-90% obstacles. If you're ok with that go for the game. It's entertaining and will keep you busy (and frustrated) for a while. The only thing that bothers me is that sometimes you can't quite tell what you're jumping on to and where, and the depth perception makes it a bit difficult.

What is fun about it is that there are several different weapon options to use, such as sword, daggers, bombs, crossbow, etc. Each are appropriate in different scenarios. Also the mini-games to get people to talk or to pickpocket were interesting.

I beat the game within a few days. If you're not a seasoned game player or if it's for a younger crowd it might take them longer. The whole game concept is a bit violent, but it's not nearly as graphically violent as the big console Assassin's Creed versions. I actually would say this would be OK for younger people. I would suggest over 12, but I'm a bit conservative.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Short and Sweet

posted by Miirissa (MOLALLA, OR) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game was very nice with graphic quality, but I didn't have a high liking for the loading screens and the EXTREMELY abrupt ending along with how short it was- it seemed a bit rushed and sloppy and they focused more on the graphics than much else. The plot was mediocre and you died WAY too easily in the game, the games menu showing the characters' weapons was really pointless and the map was INCREDIBLY cheesy, i know its only a DS game and I shouldn't expect much, but I was hoping for a higher grading of this game, especially for Assasin's Creed, as the plot doesn't speed up until the last thirty minutes of gameplay, and the music was poorly looped, it felt more like a beta game than alpha, honestly.
Overall, I expected something more than this, I say it's more of a rental idea than a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very Creative Imagination is Required to Play!

posted by RACfangirl (CASPER, WY) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

I actually really liked this game! I think it was mainly because I have a sick sense of humor and love to make fun of things that look perverted. There were many glitches in the game that made it very enjoyable and humorous for someone with my sense of humor.

Most of the gameplay was okay. It was very frustrating most of the time because of the terrible graphics. Boss fights were WAY too easy. Sometimes the jumps were a little awkward. I actually somewhat enjoyed blowing into the microphone to blow the sand off. Again, it's mainly because of my sick mind.

My friends and I had a fun time playing it together. We would take turns after every death we had and we'd blow into the microphone together and point out the glitches and voice over all the characters to make it even funnier! So we proved that you could make your own multiplayer with a friend.

So in the end, it's a fun game! You should rent it before you buy though because if you aren't easily entertained by perverted glitches or hate bad graphics or lose your patients extremely quickly you will hate this game with a passion no matter how big of an Assassin's Creed fan you may be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Somewhat better then the 360/PS3; but worse?

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

This has excellent graphics and tight controls. However it is too linear and the pick pocketing is fun but getting the info out is hard becuse pressing the buttons when theu say it does not alway register. The DS version is definitly worth checking out and you will easily get several hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not enough to believe in

posted by Rentalot (MORTON, IL) Jul 15, 2008

Member since May 2008

Unlike the console Assassin's Creed, this game is an action-platformer similar to Prince of Persia. The main issues are sloppy controls, a frustrating fighting system, and extremely short length.

The platforming sequences are actually a lot of fun. You have to time jumps, slide past traps, swing from ropes, climb walls, etc. This is marred by the loose controls: Occasionally a missed jump will make you spill into an the destination area, missing some of the platforming track and taking a lot of damage. Imprecise movements make dodging instant-death spikes frustrating. Fortunately there are frequent save checkpoints.

The fighting system is entirely disposable. You can block and counter to get an instant kill, but many guards are immune to this attack and vulnerable only to a specific three-hit combo that knocks them over. Your extra weapons have to be selected with the touch screen and are too unwieldy to use in the heat of battle. I HIGHLY recommend playing this game on Easy difficulty to lessen the frustration.

There are also a couple touchscreen minigames when you pickpocket or "interrogate" a guard, but they are nothing special. Why do I have to carefully pickpocket a guard when I'm allowed to just kill him afterward? Couldn't I do that in the first place? This, combined with stealth aspects that rarely work correctly, make the game seem rushed and ill-designed.

The game is not very long, lasting maybe three or four hours of actual game time, give or take a few cheap deaths. Prince of Persia platforming fans could do worse, but this title is only worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring Altair

posted by lazy1uno (COVINGTON, WA) May 27, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

Slow game play, boring story. Not much better than the one before it. I never got into Assassin's Creed really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its good

posted by reaper7624 (PICAYUNE, MS) May 7, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

its good but it doesn't have that good of graphics but i like the idea of the game i give it a five out of ten

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »