Rent Assassin's Creed 2: Discovery for DS
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed 2: Discovery

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
6.2

273 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worthwhile rental, not much more

posted by NavyGamer (PAYSON, AZ) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Assassin’s Creed II: Discovery is a handheld spinoff of the highly successful Assassin’s Creed II console game. Ezio Auditore, the hero of ACII and a high-flying assassin, returns as the hero. The game’s story takes place in the late fifteenth-century, just before the end of the console game. Ezio is recruited by his Thieves’ Guild ally Antonio to settle some scores with the megalomaniacal Rodrigo Borgia and his Templars in Spain, who are masquerading as the Inquisition and oppressing Assassin clans there. It’s up to Ezio to do what he can to put a dent in the Templars’ plans and protect his distant kin.

The game is pretty short. It won’t take you more than 8-10 hours to beat this game the first time around, but it’s also very difficult to play it for more than half an hour at a time. It’s fun in short bursts, but the novelty of the game soon fades into monotony (especially during stealth sequences) and there isn’t much to hold your interest. The story and mission objectives are pretty cut and dry most of the time, with none of the atmospheric quality that made Assassin’s Creed a smash hit three years ago. There’s a little bit of replay value to be had with the “Animus Hacks” that upgrade Ezio and make him faster and more resistant to damage. These are bought with “sync points” claimed by tearing down wanted posters and finishing missions as quickly and healthily as possible.

Assassin’s Creed II: Discovery is definitely good for a rental or a gift to a diehard fan of the console series. Jennifer and I had a quick bit of fun with the game. It was the frustrating stealth missions that clash with the game’s overall design that drove her crazy. For me, it was that the game suffered from “eggnog effect”. It’s good for a while, but it’s not immersive or innovative. After about twenty minutes of formulaic “run here, do this, come back” gameplay it got really stale, much like the taste of eggnog after it’s been sitting in your fridge for the entire holiday season.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A solid game.

posted by NeoNugget (MARICOPA, AZ) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Discovery is much better than the last DS game. It's now a fast paced. side scroller of sorts.

Good
-Very fast paced. Reminds me of sonic games.
-Has elements of AC2 for the consoles. i.e pulling guards from buildings, the style of climbing up buildings, chase sequences.
-game play and combat flow nicely and enjoyable.

Bad
-difficulty can get irritating, but I'm sure it gets easier with practice.

It's well worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More than I expected from a DS game

posted by ColinStein (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I couldn't pay attention to the story or really think that it's part of the AC trilogy...but the gameplay was pretty cool. It's a mix between Sonic and Mirror's Edge. Mirror's Edge because they are CONSTANTLY shooting arrows at you in some parts and you can't stop. It's really hard to see what's going on in the game because of how not widescreen the DS is. IT's a really quick and short game. The graphics and quality of the game was really impressive. It felt just like you were controlling Ezio on the real games. You could assassinate the same way and fighting was basically the same as well. The environment was completely 3D and was really impressive. Good game for a rent but to buy? Not at chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interesting

posted by SordidAffaire (SULPHUR SPRINGS, TX) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Better than I expected. Much more fluid than Bloodlines. Moving around, I was strongly reminded of Sonic and Mario, only I was killing guards instead of robots and koopas. Any lag is not noticable, and for a DS game the detail is pretty good. I haven't looked, but I think there is different voice acting in this game than in the main console games, and that did bother me. But overall, a very good addition to the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good and bad

posted by lka11123 (WILKES BARRE, PA) Nov 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

this game was fun but not as good as the xbox 360 and ps3 version its kind of like mario the only thing bad is that its really hard it would be better if it was like the xbox 360 and ps3 version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!!!

posted by coolio2525 (WYLIE, TX) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Cool game it's super fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Low game quality

posted by Beccaboo2 (EVERETT, WA) Feb 4, 2014

Member since Aug 2013

It wasn't what I was expecting. I played some of these on my friends PS3 and this on the DS did not have the interface I was expecting. It did not have the gaming I wanted it to have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME!

posted by HILEALY (COCONUT CREEK, FL) Aug 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

BUY IT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by rascal664 (BOISE, ID) Jul 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This was a great game and it is a great choice to rent. However it was incredibly short but the difficulty and intriguing story made this game worthwhile.

My only problem with this game would be that a friend of mine bought it but it was so short that he was done with the game in a matter of a week.

Worthwhile game to rent not to buy.

also the graphics for the Nintendo ds were surprisingly good. I loved this game and am glad that i rented it and didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay, But Needs Some Fine-Tuning

posted by Rsk8able (NAPA, CA) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Like most DS spinoffs of popular 360 games, this game was rushed. Still there's no better feeling than jumping on an enemy, then stabbing him repeatably.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no...

posted by Gog535 (AKRON, OH) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

i haven't played this game but i have played the 360 version. Now i can see that may not even bother to read this because i haven't played the game but ihave played many other great games that were transvered over to the ds and they were all disaters. Sure mabye this one will be the only exception but i highly doubt it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Like getting kicked in the familyjewels repeatedly

posted by ooitzoo (FRESH MEADOWS, NY) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Playing this game is like getting kicked in the junk repeatedly by an angry kangaroo. The controls are such that you have to guess what the character will do and, for stealth missions, this extremely aggravating.

Engaging story is the only saving grace but otherwise not worth the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ASSASIN'S CREED II

posted by MARK1UABID (MANITOWOC, WI) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

GREAT GAME.
GREAT GAMEPLAY.
NO STYLUS ACTION.
GIVE IT A SHOT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Assassin's Creed 2: Discovery

posted by dustinator (OXNARD, CA) Nov 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

a fun game with better graphics than a normal ds game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »