Rent Army of Two for PS3
view large frontback

Army of Two

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.1

8326 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Hard Language...Hard Game...Nice

posted by ImYrHclbry (BRIGHTON, CO) Dec 11, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Good game! My brother and I loved the 2 player. However, we wished it was side by side instead of top and bottom view.

It also would be nice if you could turn the language off. Like you can turn the blood down in others.

All in all...Great Game. Pimpin!!! How Funny!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Almost a Nine

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Mar 14, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

21 out of 26 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

I rated this an eight because it is a very well thought out game. I just wish the controls were tighter and not so clunky. I often times found my gun wandering. The graphics are good, and there is a lot of profanity. But, if you are a true gamer you should check this game out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good But Overrated

posted by REVJR1 (ROANOKE, VA) Mar 10, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

37 out of 47 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I can see how AO2 might easily reach its full potential in co-op or online. The single player experience, however, leaves a bit to be desired. While action-packed and entertaining, it's hard to imagine anyone returning to it over and over in stunned admiration. First of all, it's absurdly short. You get the feeling of having played about half of a game, maybe two-thirds. I must also be missing something with the graphics--they were decent, but far from breathtaking. The best effects in my view were the ocean swells in the Aircraft Carrier level. The character animations were strong, with melee being particularly vivid. The upgrade system was frustrating: you'd think that the more expensive the weapon, the more effective it would be, which turned out to be far from true. Spending $10,000 on a mask didn't make much sense, either, since it's not as if you sit there and admire it throughout the level. There were too many cut scenes that interrupted the pace of the game. It seemed like whenever you walked through a door, whammo, another cut scene. In the end, the features that should have been compelling didn't add much value to it - co-op sniping and parachuting, a "new" GPS system, even the way that your character could slug his partner or chew him out wasn't a whole lot of fun after the first couple times. The voiceovers were pretty erratic. You could be talking to your partner in a conversational tone while you're getting shot to pieces, or you could listen to your partner say over and over, "We have to flank this guy." Really, the tactical element didn't enhance it too much. You might as well just leave your partner in Advance mode for all the good that it does. Also annoying was the way that your partner would take forever to drag you somewhere for healing, while it never seemed to take you but a couple seconds to drag him off when he was wounded.

Sounds kind of harsh, but it's worth playing, and not a waste of time. It's just not a game you'll be obsessed with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by Xman4166 (LAUREL, MD) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game from EA is by far one of the best games they've put out yet. The gameplay is fantastic, the controls very easy to use and the graphics are phenomenal. It is a pleasure to play a true co-op game where you rely so heavily on your partner. This game will truly become part of my permanent library. Kudos EA! Great job!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

New twist on duel squad action

posted by AlexVeng (NIXA, MO) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Army of two is a fun duel person squad game that is fun and relatively easy to pick up. Graphics are nice and the AI is well done. Also, the upgrades for purchase add an incentive to do well on missions and get the available bonuses. This game is similar to ghost recon but with more humor and is more managable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great fun and intense action

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Apr 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love action heavy games like this. Army of Two incorporates some interesting gameplay mechanics that mostly work well in this third person shooter.
You play as a secret soldier and along with your partner, go out on deadly missions to stop the terrorists. You work as a team and use such maneuvers as flanking, cover fire, blind fire, etc. Overall, the controls work well and are easy to adapt to. The interface is easy to access and switching weapons does not hinder gameplay at all. A cool feature is being able to buy new and upgrade current weapons and armor. The graphics are great and there is nice detail in some of the environments and for the most part the level design matches the area you would see in real life; lots of dessert terrain and military style strongholds. One key component is how you and your partner function as a team. You have what is called an aggro meter which can swing both ways. The one with the most aggro gets all the attention from the bad guys. You can command your partner to take the most aggro so you can flank enemies. This also works if you need to recover health for a time. You must pay attention to this meter because your partner will need the same help as well from time to time. This adds a bit of strategy to the game which is good. Some of the issues I had with the game were how aggressive the enemies can be sometimes and it felt like they could take more hits than they should be able to. But these issues were minor and after about 20 minutes into the game become almost unnoticeable. I did find the single player mode pretty short, but there are enough multiplayer options to keep the game fresh for a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Army Of Two one of the best co-op games for Ps3

posted by Locs13 (MONTEBELLO, CA) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Army Of Two is one of the best co-op games for the Ps3 today (in my opinion) the game can get a little frustrating at times when you wont your partner to do something but you get over it real quick. The game has a little story line about a conspiracy and is kind of short but the fact that you can buy and upgrade your weapons is what makes this game different and the online game play is always a good thing. I would recommend this game for any one who as a friend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mildly entertaining

posted by Barkus (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I gave this game an 8 for it's potential rather than my personal opinion. It has a great story line and the setup of each new mission / level works well to keep the experience fluid throughout the game's course.

Although the graphics are great and the overall control and gameplay are easy even for the first time third person shooter gamer, I was very disappointed in the AI that the player is forced to deal with as a partner. I found myself yelling at my AI counterpart many a times (I know he can't hear me!!) to get out of my way or stop dragging me out in the open to heal when I got downed. Thus, I thought I'd try my hand at online play.

Better voice comm capabilities with online play would have been a nice touch. I found it hard to understand my partner while playing online and that really hindered what we were trying to accomplish as a team. There were some router adjustments I had to make to get this popping but even after that I still experienced poor voice.

If it's any consolation, I have played this game on Xbox 360 and all the gripes I mentioned above are not present. Microsoft's Xbox Live has surpassed all the things that people complain about with PSN gaming in most games I've played and written about. None the less, if you own a PS3 and only a PS3 you're stuck with what they throw your way. As I own both systems, I'll definitely be renting this one on Xbox 360 later to play it all the way through for a true "one-for-one" comparison.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Army of uncomfortable

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Mar 27, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game plays well, it looks decent, and... that's it. The controls for this game have been done better than 95% of any other FPS I have played. The game looks better than 70% of any new gen game. However, everything else falters in one way or another. Enemies take too long to take down. The awkward teamwork functionality is gimmicky and makes one wish for an Army of One. The plot is just plan bad. And to top it off, there is way too much backtracking. It also doesn't help that the game's two protagonist have this uncanny bond to each other during game play that you don't see during the cut scenes. Play it and you'll know what I'm talking about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely THE BEST SHOOTER EVER!

posted by firemanlt (SAWYER, MI) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

In my opinion this game is the best one of it's type I've ever played. The A.I. is great. The weapons and upgrades are some of the best I've seen. I could play this game alone or with others all day and never get tired of it. THe Co-op sniper feature is great too. I highly reccomend it to anyone who like these types of games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

props to e.a. you did a very good multi platform maybe because you deveopled it on the ps3 first but the videos the game play is freaking sick and everyone needs to play it you will laugh your self crazy what the guys say to eachother at times when you kill guys when you give props to eachother then when your guy screws up you head buttt him lol keep it up e.a.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Barely worth a rental.

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) May 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I gave this game an even lower rating because of the short length. At 6-7 hours this is a new low bar for fps game length.

The 1st thing I noticed was that I cannot read the small text on the screen. I am playing on a 42” HD plasma that has a perfect picture. Text is just too small to read. Just like it was in Dead Rising which is from like 2005. Next, the load time is long, especially in the shopping section. Oh, yeah, I really do not need the game interrupted for a mid mission shopping spree. The shopping screen takes too long to load and there are no descriptions for each weapon so I do not know why it would be beneficial to upgrade. The weapons do not operate very realistically. THe game plays kind of like Crackdown meets Conflict:Denied ops. Both of which were more fun than this.

The AI co-op is unique. Its kind of funny to have your AI buddy drag you through a storm of enemy fire to safety before healing you. However, he is constantly parking in front of you blocking your shots.

The graphics were just alright and could have been better. The back story was pretty good, what little there was of it. Overall, the game could have been alot better had the developer not rushed it into production.

In fairness, I did not try the online mode but i'm not interested in playing online anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

7.5? What a joke!

posted by sithjedi13 (TUCSON, AZ) May 3, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The training session alone on this game is enough to anger any player. At times it tells you to push a specific controller button and it's the wrong one. At one point I spent about 15 minutes trying to get it to do as the instruction said, just to find out it was telling me TOTALLY wrong. When you're trying to do these VERY stupid "advanced" things like trade weapons with your partner, all the characters want to do is act like they're playing air guitar and making stupid air guitar sounds. I have just started playing this game, but can see that it will be a fast return to gamefly! Why do game makers feel they have to add unnecessary "advanced" moves to games? Does anyone test these before they give final approval? Apparently not!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Single Player

posted by Krenny (HUDSON, FL) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wanted to be blown out with this game but I wasn't. I could see the great potential with the online coop but the single player game and other parts were just sub par to me. The controls were slow, which made aiming, turning etc. just very cumbersome. Not only that but the first campaign map I played on froze up my system completely and later on another map the same thing happened when I started the game back up in single player. If you enjoy CoD4 solo single and multiplayer then stick with that for now. If you have buddies that will coop play this with you and you aren't that concerned with what I said above give then you may enjoy this game. Overall a decent game with potential but nothing really exciting or ground breaking imho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is a Cruel joke from EA

posted by MrYates (MANSFIELD, TX) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game would have been GOOD, 2 years ago, considering the release of the Shooters today, such as Resistance, Rainbow Six, and of coarse COD 4. EA is behind schedule with this tiltle and it is pretty evident once playing this game. AI, Mechanics all are things of the past.They should have payed more attention to the AI and Mechanics then to cutscenes and curse words. Because the game has plenty of the latter and little of the former. . AI: You have a partner with you throughout the entire game but one who is at times hard to control and has the tendcy to heal you while being fired upon, therefore leading to both of your deaths. The enemis let you walk right up on top of them before doing anything and basically this has the feel of a "old" playstation 2 game in that respect. Why they went to sleep on the AI in this game, that is based around "Coop" play is beyond me. But a let down to say the least. The weapon upgrades are "okay" but always fun to tinker with, although a ski mask may run you 10k and to "PIMP",(turn gold) is just a feature that is laughable. But that might say something about the development team and the target audience. Although the game is not a complete let down the Mechanics and online are both frustrating in there own respect. Not to mention the short lived Campaign. Mechanics: You like aiming, well if so you will hate this game. Aiming can be a hair pulling task, but credit to them for adding the "Blind shot" feature, you'll need it. There is no run feature, you can jump over certain object and you feel like your playing a Robot throughout the game. Considering they made it rather linear, you cannot roam at freely at all. The game has plenty of "F-Bombs" and very little playing value, I like the coop idea and the Mercenary back drop dealing with 9/11 is pretty good, but why they had to throw in all the language and the "PIMP YOUR GUN" feature is a bit MTVish to me that does nothing for the game itself.Thus Army of Two is a rental!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I <3 this game!

posted by KewlHwhip9 (SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI) Mar 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Probably the closest thing we are going to see to competition to Gears Of War
Co-op. Actually, it's better than that. The feeling of relying on another guy with your life. The cinematics are great, movement is crisp and on that nice 1080p TV I have, it looks even better. A must buy and a must to keep forever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

One-Time Play

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Jun 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Personally, this game is great when you first play it. But after playing it, dont play it again. It's just so boring unless your with another person. The online is the worst online I have ever played. The add-on isnt that great either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Not Blown Away

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Jun 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After playing Call Of Duty 4, it's gonna be really hard to have a game compete with it's solid gameplay, smooth graphics, and awesome sound. Army of 2 is just dissapointing in general. The developers tried to make it complicated, but, I think they tried too hard and over-complicated what should be a simple game.
The game is not worth renting, and def. not buying in my opinion.
Game-off!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Good Game !

posted by sbrumbaugh (FREMONT, OH) May 12, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Gameplay of this game is excellent ! I suggest this game to anyone that loves shooter games. Not only is your A.I. Partner seem intelligent but you can actually tell him to be agressive or defensive. Your partner can actually draw the fire away from you So you can sneak in for the kill. Another Awesome feature of the game is getting money for missions and secondary objectives throughout the mission, such as picking up hidden intel items. You then use the money to buy and upgrade your weapons throughout the game. Upgrading the barrel for more damage, adding a grip for more accuracy, better stocks for better accuracy, upgrading your weapons magazine for more ammo, and on and on. Overall one of the best shooter games i have played for the PS3 Yet ! only relating to Call of Duty 4 and Advanced warfighter 2. This game is definately on my list of top 5 shooter games of all time ! Check it out for yourself ! You won't regret it !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Big block of cheese.

posted by sniggity (HUNTINGTOWN, MD) May 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty cheesy. Graphics weren't up to snuff, the game has no auto aim or aiming system that helps you to target the bad guy, well, it had none that I could find. Not that I like cheating or anything, but when you get in a rut and there are three or four bad guys hiding and running around just unloading on you eating up your health, it would be nice to have something that helps you aim or zoom in on them.

Overall, the game had a decent storyline and I liked the two person team, but it just didn't deliver. There were a few glitches in the game, especially when I went to save where I was and shut the game down. It froze up on me. I know it's not my system, because this was the only game that did it. Don't bother renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Army of Two (PS3)

posted by BadgerBack (DALLAS, TX) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All I can say is this game was a huge letdown. Graphically the game was lacking, reaction was terrible to the controller, and online played was brutal. Figured this would tide me over until Haze came out and I was way off. One of the worst shooter games I have ever played. I don't want to high five my buddy - I want to put rounds down range into his brain housing group. Terrible idea and an even worse game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BIG disappointment

posted by ripleister (LEXINGTON, MA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was really excited for this game when it was first announced way back when the PS3 first came out. Now that I have played it however, that excitement has been replaced by disappointment. The aiming system for the game is absolutely awful. It can sometimes even be difficult to see where you're aiming at all. Also, the idea of AGGRO which is supposed to be "revolutionary" really makes no sense if you actually think about it. The idea of it is that you or your partner can get more of the enemies attention by shooting more or having a bigger gun. Sounds cool right?? no. If your partner has all the AGGRO you can literally walk right in front of an enemy completely without cover and he will continue to shoot at your partner who still remains behind cover. In my opinion it is just an excuse for bad AI and really doesn't enrich the game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Co-Op Game

posted by nkmille (ALEDO, TX) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If your looking for a game where two of you get to work as a team then this is the game for you.
I am always looking for a game with co-op mode but this game does not have a co-op mode it is a co op game. the graphics are great a soldier of fortune niche is good one. The only part i thought was pure cheese is the back to back fighting it is like a bad 70's action movie but the rest is very fun and the weapons are cool but if i had to make a change it would give the ability to find or purchase ammunition. Overall a very action packed co-op game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

don't play single player mode

posted by sinceatari (RANDLEMAN, NC) Apr 5, 2008

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is garbage by yourself! Please, do not try to play by yourself! Online and co-op are pretty fun, BUT the single player is aweful hard to control and aweful to have to play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not so good..

posted by zizu091 (ADDISON, TX) Mar 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a nice 3rd person shooter... good graphics, but story too short, I beat it in about 4 hours.... Online gameplay is bad.. Too laggy mics don't work half of the time, and confusing game modes.

Wouldn't recomment anybody to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse