Rent Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel for PS3
view large frontback

Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.4

1009 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Run of the mill shooter offers nothing new

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Mar 28, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

NOTE: This review is of the solo campaign only, as the co-op requires an online pass.
"Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel" is the third game in this series. This time out the main characters of the two previous entries, Salem and Rios, are replaced by the more generically named Alpha and Bravo. The game centers around the fight against a powerful drug cartel in Mexico, but it's not a story you're likely to care about, as it's one we've seen many times before. The dialogue isn't the greatest, though there are some okay attempts at humor. It's a shame better lines weren't written, because the voice acting is actually quite decent. The shooting is your standard fare, with moving forward behind cover taking out waves of enemies (which at times seem to be unending). Shooting and aiming work fine (though no auto aim) but the cover system can be a bit clumsy to use, often placing you on the wrong side of a barrier, if it allows you to get into cover at all. Glitches abound, with characters running in place, game freezes, and your partner just standing there when you're wounded instead of helping. The AI is mostly competent, but it can fail at the worst times. This and glitches often lead to some cheap deaths or mission failures without any clue as to why the mission failed. The enemy types aren't all that varied, as you'll see the same ones over and over, and respawn until you move forward to a certain point. The graphics aren't bad, but you've seen better in other shooters. Invisible walls in the environment are problematic as well, blocking your progress or forcing you to wait until lagging characters catch up. The Overkill meter is a nice touch- once unleashed it grants brief invincibility and your guns do extra damage. The scenery is fun to blow apart, but it's nothing we haven't seen before. In fact, the whole game just has that sort of "been there, done that" vibe. If you're a big fan of the series, you may enjoy this. For everyone else this is a rental at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by azmo (COOKEVILLE, TN) Apr 19, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have plaied all of the army of two and the third one was the best by far. The overkill mode is better then the back to back and a good co-op game. my only problem with the game is that it is short but wroth the play throught.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ignore bad reviews

posted by DeepWoods (FRESNO, CA) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a fun solid co op game. i fully recommend it! its cover system is flawed, and has a few visual issues, but its so much fun youll overlook its minor flaws. i really enjoyed this game. thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Co-Op

posted by KellyLew00 (BREMERTON, WA) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My Brother and I played this game from beginning to end together and had a blast! It might not be a good single player game but if you have a friend to play it with than it rocks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Army of two game yet

posted by ToySoldier (BROKEN BOW, OK) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

love everything about this game haven't got all the way through it but the story mode is nice the fact after you get done with you training in the game you get to customize your mask up to 7 or 8 layers that is awesome you customize your guns you can buy different types of clothes and tattoos it is A 2 player online with your friend of 2 player split screen offline only thing I don't like about the game is the fact it don't have A multiplayer free 4 all or team death match like the last to but it's worth buying if your A fan of the last two and if you like 3rd person shooter best army game shooter next to black ops 2 lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good...but still has room for improvement

posted by cgt_taken (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was great from the start (gameplay-wise),the graphics are okay but there are some texture pop-ins that get a little annoying. Also, the story isn't original but that is a common problem with shooters, also you don't feel a real connection with the main characters or the side characters either! so it was hard to feel bad when people died (trust me...a lot of people die).However with all of these problems there is one very great part about this game...the gameplay. I don't think I've had more fun in any AO2 game ever! All of the weapons to choose from and the outfits, you can even create your own mask! also it was SO much fun blowing off the heads or cartel members with a shotgun. Overkill also presents a nice original ability to the game. Overall this game is a lot of fun to play but still has room for improvement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Army of Two The Devil's Cartel - A Gamers Review

posted by cheeko2222 (MIFFLINTOWN, PA) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Army of Two is about two rookies who were trained by the infamous Rios and Salem and they take on the Cartel in Mexico.

Presentation - The story of The Devil's Cartel is pretty simple; take down the members of the cartel. At least for the story mode I can tell you to be prepared for lots of firefights.

Gameplay - The gameplay is great with the exception of the idiotic enemy AI. Fire fights are everywhere in this game if you love fire fights.

The Verdict - With a great but simple story and dumb enemy AI The Devil's Cartel deserves nothing more and nothing less from me but an 8.5/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Army of Two best game fun I've had this year.

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Mar 30, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This installment of Army of Two, I feel will go down as one of the best 3rd person shooter games of 2013. The better features are:

-Controls are simple
-Aiming is straight forward and pretty much on target
-AI Partner doesn't get you killed
-Fire fights are plentliful
- Game can be played as a TAC Shooter or you can go insane Operator and mow down everything in site.
-Ammo is everywhere

not so great parts:
-Story line was cool, twist was easy to foretell
- game stalls, much like when you are playing an add on
-no prox mines or claymores
-too many save points.
-No real bosses makes the fights seem the same
-SPOILER ALERT: How could they make Salem a bad guy that shoots Rios?
I felt that betrayal like it happen to me

I play the game on medium, took about 4 days to clear it. I plan to buy the game 6 months from now when it's on the clearance rack. Not a bad game, good have been better in a few areas. Both for the rental it was GREAT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by Morales1949 (LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL) May 2, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

perfect shooter game.weapons are super

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Army of Two: The Devils Cartel

posted by Ishkur (TITUSVILLE, FL) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Was a different play style then the other army of two games, still a good game tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lots of GLITCHES!

posted by Mochi1965 (HONOLULU, HI) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i think the game would be the best TWO but there are so many glitches it makes game play unsatisfying. i can't even finish the game because of a major glitch at the armor car chase. the character is supposed to plant a C4 charge but when you press the square button he does nothing until he dies and you have to start all over again. it's agonizing! what a waste of a potentially great game! to think i loved the previous TWO games and waited forever for this one to come out. serious let down!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Purist co op out there.

posted by Surt (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You will be very hard pressed to find a more pure co op experience then A.O.T. In matter of fact not just now but in the past few years. Their is a competitive element to the coop, but it never over exceeds that you need your partner alive and kicking. Outside of that it also is one of the few games that brings up the drug cartels that have ravaged Mexico. A.O.T. is not just a good game. It's a great one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bad AZZ to the bone

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Apr 21, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

How could anyone not like this game. There are a few bugs like every game but its nothing but shooting cartel and blowing up stuff.
The graphics are great and i like the TPS of course. he gameplay is smooth and the storyline is prety good so far as well. I have logged in about 3 hours of playing time so far and i can't wait to play more.
This a great rent and a possible buy once the price goes down. If you liked the other Army of two games, you will definetly love this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by Headklass01 (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 7, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a great game. Great game play, Game story line, bad ending but still good.. It's better then their second game. so everyone get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best army of two so far

posted by janiel69 (BRONX, NY) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the best army of two so far love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game of 2013

posted by verbal (BLACK MOUNTAIN, NC) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Were do I start,

The movement is slugish and counter intuitive

The cover system is just broken, I don't think I managed to dodge a single nade.

The plot is stupid and the voice acting is mediocre at best.

All in all I wouldn't buy this game for 1$ and I played 40th day like 3 times from start to finish.

This game never should left beta! It is Garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very Redundant. got boring half way through

posted by hethunder (CLIO, MI) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I liked the 1st 2 games. this one started out good, but started to get redundant and fast. You are pretty much in one area fighting your way through killing the same thugs over and over again. The levels are boring, like no effort was put in to make them different or a little challenging. The weapons and armor upgrade system in stupid, you dont make enough money to get everything plus you ahve to rank up to unlock stuff, unlike the other games you just needed to save your cash for the cool stuff. I got bored with it on my second day of playing it. Glad i didnt buy it. Graphics are ok but you can predict what the story is after the 1st 15 mins. its a dead giveaway. unless your bored, sont waste too much time on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

mediocre in every way

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 31, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Overview
==============
There is a reason the development studio was let go by EA after this game was complete. It wasn't just lack of work, but frankly a pretty bad effort.

Everything about the game is mediocre at best. There isn't a single aspect of the game that stands out including the co-op which this series is known for.

Simply put it is a waste of time even for a rent.

Pros
============
1) overkill mode where you get to blow stuff up

Cons
============
1) graphics are not up to frostbite 2 engine standards
2) cover system is poorly implemented
3) story and voice acting is poor
4) you pick a scope and you can't look through it.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay

posted by meb730 (HENDERSON, CO) Aug 19, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

This game grew on me like any game you play for awhile. It was repetitive, but became fun towards the end when the story became more interesting. Definitively better shooters out there but a good enough game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No, no, no

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) Apr 14, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

I want to first point out that this is maybe my 6th bad review in the same month. Thief being my first. Hoping that getting a coop game with my friends would stem the onslaught of trash I've been cursed with would make things better. Oh how I wish that were the case. Strap in. Here we go.
Graphics: Pretty good. Nothing to complain about there. Character models, environments, gun designs. Yes, yes, nice, nice, good, good.
Sound fx: Voice talent is obvy from the get go. Enemies communicating, the duo are comical to listen to, and all round good stuff happening here.
Gameplay: Awful, awful, awful. There is suppose to be a stealth tactic, I didn't see one. Enemies know where you are before you even do. Boss fights are dumb and they are overpowered. Don't me wrong, I love a challenge but its just suck. Here is where the game is killed and the flaw is spread wide open. It just kills everything that is positive about the game. Just duck behind a corner and shoot, move to another corner, and shoot plz repeat. Oh if you want to issue command go ahead it still doesnt add anything to the gameplay which, as I said before is poo.
The story is straight forward. I do like having to choose whether to kill or not to kill everyone you meet in the game. Funny really.
Overall: Play Dynasty Warriors 8 for the coop. Leave this to the birds. As always, thanks for your time and game on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Enjoyed

posted by simdeer (EAST ELLIJAY, GA) Mar 26, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

I've played the first two army of two and this one is by far the best!! The gameplay is smooth and fun to play!! Didn't take me long to beat it was very easy for me to get to the end! Good Story!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cartal shoot up!

posted by Colombian603 (OVIEDO, FL) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Coming back with a new entry to the story from the first two games. The devils cartel is the best of the series. The point competitive system at the end of each mission makes you want to cap as many enemies before your friend does. The story is an improvement but is also laughable when it comes to dialog which make's different from the serious ton of the first two and makes it fun to enjoy. The Customization makes a triumph it return with a deeper load out in guns and an added bonus of customizing your character. I personally liked exploding doors and putting the fear on my foes with my Isaac mask on! If you hate the cartel and love shoot em up games, this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A lot of fun

posted by sontwisted (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 27, 2014

Member since May 2012

this is a great installment in the series great gun play mechanics lots of action and plot twists

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A solid game

posted by Chase616 (COLONIAL HEIGHTS, VA) Jan 20, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Fun, fast, and satisfying to play. Slight changes in cover mechanics make things a little goofy at times but otherwise it's the shooting game you want to play. Especially fun to play with a friend!

Good: Great guns, awesome level design, simple fun shooting game

Bad: Aggro system from previous games is completely overlooked, Overkill makes you a little too powerful, could use more gun mods/gun selection

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great games

posted by durango95 (DECATUR, AL) Dec 28, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

if you love to just go all out running and gunning ..online or split screen play these games you will love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse