Rent Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.4

1814 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty decent

posted by dom2drapes (JENISON, MI) Jun 2, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its a good story. I haven't finished it yet so this isn't my final rating it depends on how long the story is and its replay value. I like how some guns have scoped and others don't. The blind fire is a nice feature and its fun to play witha friend as well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's different...

posted by Tayot84 (MOUNTAIN HOME, ID) Mar 27, 2013

Member since May 2011

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The game feels like it has been downsized, and not in a good way. The game has a good combination of teamwork and senseless shooting in large areas battlefields and narrow areas. Customization of masks and guns lets you leave your mark. Gun customization has made an in between of the first game's simple upgrade system and the second's super customization. The new aggro system doesn't use on screen indicators, and instead relies on players intuition to tell who is being the biggest threat. Money is now earned on how well you do a mission and increases for special flanking moves. Add on a cover destruction system coupled with a new overkill boost that litterely lets you overkill and you get a summary of the pros of this game.

The cons... well they are something I thought I would never see in an Army of Two game.
First, the story is while entertaining with new players, it's rather messed up for fans of the prior games. What you should know is that anything you have done in the prior games wont effect this one. The story ends with a lot loose ends, but not in a good way. The game disregards everything that happens in the earlier games and seems to create these new themes that never existed.
Salem was never as heartless as the game makes him to be, and I don't ever recall a thing between him and Alice.

The game is also short, even though the campaign is technically long, and that crazy system is due to the game having only the campaign to play. No multiplayer, no bonus modes, no exploration, just replays and a shooting spree mission. I don't know if EA plans to add more to the game later on, but right now lasting appeal is not a strong point for this game.

Lastly, all stealth is gone. Remember how you could clear half or a whole room of enemies before grabbing a human sheild and wasting away baddies with a minigun. Well now you can't do any of those I just mentioned, along with makeshift sheilds.

I reccomend renting for now, but keep an eye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nice!!!

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 29, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is nice one of my favorite this year. I feel that if you like 2 player game have a buddy over and go at it well this is the game. Reminds me of when people invited there friends over to play games and not just online. Almost forgot due the the world of internet, how much fun it was to have your friend right next to you. I say this get a friend, girlfriend whatever and just kill some cartel.Graphics are nice, Gameply is nice reminds me of why i started playing games in the first place. Get this one its good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Army of Two

posted by Karmicnature (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Jun 12, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Was a fun game to play through on co-op. Didn't try any of the online features since I didn't feel like paying extra for an online pass though.

All in all, this game has a good story, fun guns/masks, entertaining FPS elements, but it is a bit depressing but I won't throw any spoilers in here.

I would definitely recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The cover system is awkward. When switching cover it's pretty random which wall you'll end up behind. A lot of the time when you try to get out of cover there will be a delay in the time between you hitting the button and your character actually coming out of cover. Technical problems aren't this game's main problem though, and besides the cover system, everything works alright. The problem is that there are 100 other TPS out there that do it way better than this. Uncharted, Gears of War, Spec Ops: The Line, etc. The game is way to repetitive. There were a few times the sense of deja vu was so strong that for a minute I thought the game glitched out and reverted me to an earlier part of the game. Two identical segments of the character's pushing a truck to use as cover from a turret comes to mind. In the Day of the Dead segment of the game I was told by some woman NPC over a two-way radio to go to the end of two identical-looking corridors and breach two identical doors after taking out two identical waves of enemies. It's decent if this type of game sounds fun to you. I got bored at around Chapter 16 and quit playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

hate the controls

posted by creaper_j (TACOMA, WA) May 19, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

haven't even played for more than a few checkpoints, and i can tell i won't like it. no problem with graphics or story. its the controls i have problems with. very confusing, shotty, and an overall feeling of frustrations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bring a can of raid.

posted by pheyespy (ALTUS, OK) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

lots of bugs, I mean lots of bugs. some bugs will stop you from completing a level, other bugs will stop you from completing the game. Seriously I cannot complete the game, because after what I assume is the ending movie and both the characters are about to walk off into the sunset. The game notifies me that "Bravo" has died and I have to restart from checkpoint. I have completed the ending boss about 4 times now under different conditions same glitch.

So thanks EA for another steaming pile, and thank you Gamefly for helping to prevent a bad purchase.

Also the really cool aggro swapping mechanic from the 1st and 2nd game is gone. Aggro is now a stat on the guns (modable) that affects aggro generation in-game. Aggro can be spent in one way, on brief periods of invincibility/increased damage/no reloads. no more feign death or fake surrender. The AI seems vaguely aware of aggro in-game, with battles just a series of waist high walls. With the aggro swapping tactic gone, so are the cool visuals.

Alternatives to renting this game:
1. Rent Gears of War 2 and pretend all the mutant are Mexicans.
2. Rent Army of Two 1 and/or 2, maybe invite a friend over for pizza and video games.
3. Rent Red Dead Redemption, pretend that all the Mexicans are mutants.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best in the series

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) May 16, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Devil's Cartel is by far the best Army of Two game there is. It's improved in almost every way from the previous two games, and I have to say that I had a ton of fun playing the co-op campaign with a friend. It's a polished experience with lots of customization and explosions.

The campaign features over 40 missions, some longer than others, and you mostly play with a either live or NPC co-op partner. Sometimes it's Army of Four when the other dudes join in to spice up the variety. It was like a non-stop Michael Bay film, like Bad Boys but with way cooler than Will Smith protagonists. The variety is decent too, whether it's gunz blazin (95% of the time), or a chopper scene, or a getaway car chase manning a machine gun turret as you escape.

AI programming has improved, meaning it's much easier to command your NPC if you're playing solo. They are much smarter than before also. You can tag stuff, tell him to shoot or come near you, and use his Overkill mode when the meter is full. If you both decide to press the Overkill button, it's chaos with the most crazy exploding fire insta kill bullets. That's the coolest part of the gameplay.

Otherwise, it's still a bit strategic if you want it to be, offering more points for backstabs, flanks, co-op tag team kills, etc. So it's best to work as a team with 1 person guns blazing and the other to flank with silencers and killer assassination close encounter finishers.

Expect lots of action, hilarious one liners from over-the-top cliché tatted up military types. I actually thought the dialogue was pretty good and made me laugh at times like the guy saying "shoot the red barrels man!! Don't you know red barrels always explode in video games?" I also loved the huge variety of gear to wear, masks (which you can also custom design like CoD's emblem), guns, and tattoos. I would absolutely check this game out if you can get a friend to play it with, it's worth the time.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ruined the series

posted by killer2497 (MINT HILL, NC) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of the original then don't get your hopes up because it takes a turn for the worst i knew it would be bad i soon as i saw you don't even play as Rios and Salem complete fail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

turn of events

posted by cbush01 (PRESCOTT VALLEY, AZ) Sep 6, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I found the continuation of this game line an interesting turn of events. I like the fact things changed and has a good plot twist to make the transition to new characters and story take form. It is still the army of two style shooter. it is fast fun and quick to enjoy. The development of the story and seeing they are adding more depth to the storyline makes the player want to continue with the next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is GREAT!!!

posted by GIL26 (RENO, NV) May 26, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Let me start with the Good The gameplay is awesome the story line is well built lots to do lots to collect the campaign is fun co-op gaming is awesome. The bad once your done with all the fun stuff after beating the game there is nothing to do no online stuff the only way to continue with the game is to purchase the DLC if you play co-op online an the other player quits you will have to re start the whole check point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Army of Two: The Devil Cartel

posted by crazydriver (MCKENZIE BRIDGE, OR) May 17, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game rates 3.The first two games were better setup. This was to easy to play. I would never buy this game. I am thinking they do not know how to keep thing go. THEY COULD DO BETTER.................

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be better.

posted by Tiny_Tom_79 (LAS CRUCES, NM) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

After being a fan of the Army of Two Series I am somewhat disappointed here. Devils Cartel could've been a lot better than it was. Why did they turn Salem into a Bad Guy when he hated people that dealt in Narcotics and Human Traficking......?? This game was a big let down for the series. Let's just hope that they continue it at least so that there can be some sort of closure and actually kill of Salem as well as Rios and then kill off the entire series and move along. All I can say is that I majorly disappointed with this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just an extension of the previous

posted by sixteenthnwood (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 18, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

The game was entertaining for an FPS. Plenty of intense action and gruesome murder. That being said, the game was just an extension of the previous. Levels were very confined, weapon selection was pretty standard, and the game relatively quick. The cut scenes and character/storyline were severely lacking, but that's a norm for Army of Two. Overall, it gave me about 7 hours of decent entertainment. Once you beat, you'll never want to touch it again. And that's why I enjoy Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Army of two the devil's cartel

posted by njrooks (NORTH JUDSON, IN) Feb 10, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

definitely not as good as two

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What happened to what I used to play as a kid

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Jan 18, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

6 years ago or however long it was I'd sit down and play my favorite game army of two I loved it then 40th day came out even better this came out I was stoked I played it and EEEEEEEEWWWWWWW bad replay value bad story twist ending and pathetic allies worst one please do better next time if there's a next time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Army of New!

posted by Se7enth_Pr0ph3t (PHOENIX, AZ) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

I actually enjoyed this title very much. I have always been a fan of the AOT series and was excited to hear about this new installment. As usual EA has my attention with the weapon customization along with the gameplay and destruction physics. The controls are pretty smooth once you get the COD habits out of your system and the story keeps you going with its fast paced and well rounded action scenes. The characters offer players an opportunity to live the life a merc, through the eyes of the TWO operatives "Alpha" and "Bravo" as you run and gun through multiple levels filled with life like fire fights and edge of your seat plot twists. The replay value is pretty high whether you wanna blast through cartel compounds solo or you can link up with a friend and try to rack up kills in Overkill Mode. The multiplayer leaves much to be desired as you can only play through the storyline. Although this franchise, despite what the title would lead you to believe, has never had a strong multiplayer presence, I hope to see a quality attempt at bringing this gameplay to the multiplayer stage in future installments. If you are looking for a different kind of game and wanna break from the mainstream shooters, Army of TWO: TDC is a good pick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its a good game

posted by TimeElite12 (DEFIANCE, OH) Oct 23, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

me and my brother sat down one afternoon and beat this game its a really fun and awesome game i really enjoyed it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great coop game

posted by transam0506 (QUINCY, IL) Sep 10, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

The controls felt good and it seems to have a great story line too. Think it would have been better if I was playing as co-op with a buddy or online. Just couldn't get into the game as a single player

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NOT BAD

posted by xXCRAMOSXx (COMPTON, CA) Sep 8, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

Well not a bad game found couple bugs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good For Splitscreen

posted by beato21 (WEST DEPTFORD, NJ) Sep 4, 2013

Member since May 2013

Like my title says, If you're looking for "couch coop", this is a good choice. Not the best choice, but its fun for some achievements and weapon modding with a good friend of yours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun!

posted by GenDeftinwolf (BELLEVILLE, IL) Aug 31, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Its not often that a game surprises me these days...I either already know it will suck or know it will rock. I picked up this game on a whim to see if it would be tolerable.

The game is awesome in many ways... tons of customization (down to weapon skins and tattoos), a solid campaign that isnt overly hard but challenging, and a pretty solid dialogue, with the exclusion of some dumb jokes here and there. Overall, I give it an A+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

just bad

posted by jrpinsgu (SAINT GEORGE, UT) Aug 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

this game just sucks story is not horrible but could be better all i have to say is 2 steps forward on army of 2 fortieth and 5 steps back on this one. id say this is worse then the first one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

didnt finish

posted by FlabbyMoocher (GLENDORA, CA) Aug 11, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

only making the masks was any fun the rest was bland

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bored me

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Aug 6, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

Seems to be missing humor from the original or maybe the original was enough. Nothing new. Nothing of interest. Silly dialogue. Weak plot. Boring game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse