Rent Army of Two: The 40th Day for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Army of Two: The 40th Day

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PSP Games
GF Rating
7.1

11149 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Get a friend and give it a shot -Good Rent-

posted by UberBoob (CLARKSTON, MI) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

78 out of 84 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Co-op is actually a lot of fun with this one. Like the first, you play as Rios and Salem, two bromancing mercs that wear ballistic masks and play rock,paper,scissors in the middle of a fire fight.

If you played and liked the first one, you'll probably rent and dig this one, get your 8 - 10 hrs of fun, then send it back. The single player, like the first AoT game, takes second stage to the co-op play. Not to say it's not worth playing, just know that this game was design for 2 players. The game uses the 'AGGRO' system, which is a meter that gauges who is causing more of a ruckus. The enemies will go for the guy with more AGGRO while the other player can sneak around the flank.

The story is better this time around, the voice acting is good, there is more customization for your weapons and armor, the enemies are a tiny bit smarter, and there is something blowing up every 10 seconds. Also, i gave the multiplayer a go. It's no MW2 or Halo community, but its kinda fun.

+ Great co-op moments
+ The Aggro system is back and still works
+ The customization is a nice touch
+ Summer action movie feel

- AI is still kinda dumb
- Glitches and clipping from enemies
- Texture pop-in

-Bottom Line: Rent this one. Invite one of your friends. And have some fun pwning fools. You may end up keeping it depending on how much you like the co-op.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good weekend for you and a friend

posted by tarkus31 (SUSSEX, WI) Jun 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is an ok sequel to a pretty good game. Most of the stuff from the first remains, like the team work and weapon customization, which you can now perform at any time, as long as you are not in combat and also has a TON of new parts/options for customization.

However, thats really the only fun part. The shooting customization. The game gets repetative, but its what you'd expect.

Also, if there was a story to this game, my friend and I werent aware of it. You basically fight your way though Shanghai for some reason that is barely explained even in the final cut scene.

The game is also pretty easy, as a friend and I beat it in a weekend on normal mode.

So if you and a buddy have a weekend to kill, this isnt a bad game to do it with, but dont expect a thrilling/time consuming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good overall game

posted by bms284 (SEDALIA, MO) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

53 out of 62 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

I own Army of Two and was sceptical to say the least about the claims that Army of Two 40th Day was going to blow the original out of the water. I must say that the graphics are slightly better than the frist game, the control scheme is a thousand times better, the weapons customization is outstanding, and the gameplay is a lot more interesting. That being said, this game does not offer much in the way of new and exciting gameplay, same old run through a pretty much pre-designated path through a level killing other "mercs". There are many little hiding spots that are inaccessible, meaning that there are doorways that would provied excelent cover from enemy fire that you can not get into (unlike COD MW 2) leaving you hopelessly exposed to a "heavy guard" or standard troop. However, what the game lacks in level diversity, it makes up for in weapons and weapon customization, and to make things just that much better, once youve bought something (I.E. a camo pattern) you can apply it to any firearm in your arsenal. The camera angles take a little getting use to for those AoT veterans, but once mastered allows you a greater vantage point to take out enemy targets. The GPS has been upgraded, and you get a chance to either be a "good merc" or a "bad merc". Both of which have their perks in this game (not gonna spoil which brings which kind of pros or cons). All in all this is a very good game overall, however, it is lacking in some areas.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overall Great Game

posted by LOWZ48 (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I own Army of Two, and my wife and I loved this game. 40th day, started out as good as AoT, but when the game ended, my wife and I were suprised how short the game actually was. It reminded me of the ODST game, very short and wishing the creaters would have held out for a longer game. Another thing we noticed was the casual, normal, and contractor levels, were not that much different, you would expect the levels to be alot harder as you advance from casual to contractor. I think EA should really put more effort into sequel games, if ther going to advertise how great the new game is going to be, if the game is going to be this short, at least price the game at a lower cost, which will make the gamer satisfied he or she at least got what they paid for. i would hesitate on recommending this game for purchase, but for renting through gamefly," GO FOR IT".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game...8/10

posted by beantown85 (BROCKTON, MA) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

An overall entertaining game to play, especially if you're into shooters.

There's some small things that stick out in the game to me, such as the fact that the game seems short, the lack of a sound/audio control option (seems like the voiceovers are too quiet and the music is loud).

Overall though the ability to customize guns is fun, definitely worth a try/rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just like the first...but more annoying

posted by ruland (RENSSELAER, NY) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Assuming that you played the first AOT you know exactly what to expect. It's more of the same from the first just more over the top and for whatever reason more annoying as well.

I liked the first one quite a bit. This time around however I found the difficulty was ramped up. This became troublesome as I was playing it with my wife local split screen and bleeding out on casual got old quick. Some of that of course was due to the congested areas used for cover being harder to see on split screen but still and all...As reported in many gamer mags there is basically no story past the fact that you are in a city being blown to heck and trying to get out.

It was really frustrating to spend 10 minutes setting up your guns and buying new equipment to walk 50 paces and be gunnned down just to have to restart with none of that cool gear saved

Over all the game looks great, custamization of weapons is cool, and co-op is definitely a bonus.

However the lack of storyline, repetitive move in shoot move out mechanics, and the fact that the agro system is broken and you have to shoot from a distance with special weapons that always run out of ammo may turn some away.

If you're looking for a fairly entertaining rental to blow through in a couple of days pick it up and give it a try. Unless of course you're worrying about gamer points. Dont bother I got less than 300 on one playthrough on casual and it isn't worth your frustration if your a booster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's worth the rent...

posted by Renegadex (NEPTUNE, NJ) Jan 17, 2010

Member since May 2009

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Army of Two 40th Day is a decent game only if you have a co-op partner to play with. The graphics of the environment are bland, boring, and pretty much all the same. The character graphics are also bland and boring and pretty much all the same...when it comes to the bad guys. Salem and Rios on the other hand are the best graphics in the game hands down. The controls are OK but they should have made a little bit more variety instead of using the A button for everything..this made it hard to heal your partner when instead your character would RUN or take cover instead of healing.

When it comes down to it the game is worth the rent but definitely not worth the buy. EA has failed to make the sequel better than the first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Do yourself a favor

posted by Gutch_McButt (SOUTH LYON, MI) May 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game sucked because:
A - horrible controls, very choppy, hard to get in and out of cover consistently etc etc etc.
B - horrible cut scenes, which you cannot skip and you watch over and over and over on any mode above normal (if you die)
C - horrible check points. You die, you lose 10-15 min of game play / cut scenes. EVERY..SINGLE..TIME
D - if a game is going to suck, at least reward me with some easy achievements. Multiple playthroughs to get some of these..not happening.

This game didn't suck because:
A - I rented it from gamefly rather than spending 64 dollars buying it.
B - Weapon upgrade system is pretty cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's really a great game.

posted by ingame14 (HILLSBORO, OH) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

There's been alot of bullcrap going around that this game really isn't that good. Well it is, it's not memorable at all; but if you like gears of war or uncharted give this a try. The first one was great and so is this one. If you liked the first one then more than likely you will like this one. They have improved alot of things since the first one buying and upgrading weapons, A.I, graphics, voice acting, they made it all better. Though something new to the 2nd one is the moral choices. Over the course of the game you will have moral choices. You will have 2 choices and depending on which one you choose it will either raise or lower your moral status. They have some hard choices to, and some of the outcomes will be surprising. Overall Elliot Salem and Tyson Rios the two protaginists in the game are much more likeable and have much more personality. If you were a fan of the first one or a fan of the gears of war series or uncharted series this is worth a look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dissapointing

posted by evanschris (FOREST, VA) Jan 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I was looking foward to this game. the trailers looked good. The graphics looked good. Then i got to actually play it. It leaves much to desire. I was very dissapointed by the controls. It is also very easy to get "stuck" on various small objects. the online play is decent. it offers both co-op campain and co-op death match.
thank you game fly you saved me sixty dollars i would have been sad if i had bought this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mixed feeling......

posted by McKnife (BOSSIER CITY, LA) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

In comparison to the first Army of Two, it does have better graphics, but really was a let down in story and dialog.

I absolutely loved the first Army of Two, this one is good enough to play through, but nothing more. I thought the first one really brought something new and original to the table. It was a solid 3rd person shooter and I loved the sarcastic dialog and simple but strong story and characters. The missions were also better in the first one, each mission gave you a good diverse feeling and fun.

I thought I would love the sequel, but not so much. The storyline now is less entertaining and more desperately trying to be dramatic. It is kind of a bore. The great characters of Rios (Brooding big brother) and Salem (Hilarious immature hotshot) are now replaced with two overly professional and stale personalities that are nothing like how they used to be (AKA Fun)

The graphics are upgraded, but yikes, they took a severe budget cut in sound design. There is no imersion with sound, it is generic and plain, the guns seem vanilla and far off, it all seems pretty phoned in.

Missions are not nearly as diverse and fun as the first Army of Two. All missions seem the same with a few scenery changes and more unimpressive bosses making a big deal about walking in.

So to wrap up, I was let down. This was a game I was really looking forward too. I liked the first Army of Two because it might not have had a lot of frills, but was a solid shooter with a story and dialog that I could listen too over and over again laughing. It had an original feel. Now I am left with a sequel that is just trying to hard to be like everyone else and failing.

"Worst nurse ever!" "F--Ko? Who says that?"
I will miss you first Army of Two.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A huge let down

posted by Maverick23 (ROME, NY) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

When i first saw a new Army of Two coming out i was excited, I loved the first game, but EA ruined it like they always do. Now the controls are almost exactly the same which is good but it doesn't feel as crisp and fluid as the first. The customization of the weapons was cool but a bit confusing when trying to decided what piece is better for your guns. The story was horrible, i had no idea what was going on until the end and even that wasn't very helpful. The Level design was cool at first but after playing this game for about 20 mins everything got very repeative and boring...OH NO! there's another building to go into that's collapsing. The mini bosses were frustrating shooting them 3-4 times with a rpg does nothing, and your partners AI is just awful...he'll drag you into incoming fire to save you dying in the process. There are a few good things they added to the series such as a targeting feature in your gps and the ability to save civilians. The wide arrange of weapons you can find and unlock was really cool. Probably the best part of the game being able to use a ton of guns. If you liked the first army of two as much as i did you'll be disappointed in this installment. Thanks EA for ruining something that could have been better. 2 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you love explosions you need to rent this game

posted by Josh2010 (PALMDALE, CA) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

What i like about the game

+ awesome weapon customization
+ love mock surrender
+ co-op choices are cool
+ creating your own mask is fun

Things i did not like or could of done without

- the multiplayer still sucks, what makes it different and makes me want to keep playing it. The lag is so bad, maybe you should fix your stupid servers like vavle did.

- why didn't you carry the weapon customization over from campaign to online. and make the rank system mean something. Unlocking masks is no fun when you can create your own.

- extraction mode, why do we have to wait a month, its not like that going to get people to buy it or rent it twice to play it.

- the story is bland throughtout and then at the end it is just boom bizarre ending and so random. it seemed like this had a lower budget and is can see it.

I said alot of about this game that i didn't like, most of it is for the multiplayer, but if you just want play the campaign just rent it and have some fun for a few days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Army Of Two - 6 out of 10

posted by JohnDINO (WESTVILLE, NJ) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The controls aren't very solid so this leads to frustration right from the beginning. The other thing which was disappointing was the lack of ability to cancel a cut-scene after you die. So you and your partner are left watching it again and again and again. Time consuming and annoying.

I also found the need to have both players enter the weapons customization screen at the same time was a bit of another time waste. If you want to access your weapons, your buddy has to come along to the menu and if you want to exit, you have to again wait for your buddy to exit. I think the whole "comrade" thing is taken a bit to far with the main characters needing to help each other way to often.

The game seemed promising to me but I think poor controls, repetitive missions, and small annoyances along the way really brought the game down. The button mapping was not thought out to well either. I run with 'A' button but it also initiates a kick, so running up to a enemy to tie him down could result in kicking him and ticking off the rest of the enemies who otherwise were about to surrender.

And one more thing, there seems to be no clear story! Your there, everything is blowing up and just 2 guys are mowing their way through Shanghai ? Without a story I started to wonder what the point was of even continuing...I sent the game back without finding out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

loved game but they need to make storyline longer.

posted by awesomeale (HUGO, OK) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i loved the game i just wished they had made the storyline longer.
if they make another army of two im im geting it
great co-op-great gameplay-great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Kinkos with a little Photoshop

posted by IVIONKEY (HAMPTON, VA) Mar 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I entitle my review as such for the simple fact that in honestly seems as if the creators took the first installment of this game, made a copy and then just added some pretty colors. Don't get me wrong I highly enjoyed the first one (despite the fact that the average gamer could beat it in one sitting) but when I pick up a sequel I'm expecting mind blowing upgrades.

Now to make sure everyone is aware I did not complete this game. Out of the total 6 or 7 chapters I played the first four and boredom struck me like someone was trying to make their own Frankenstein. I did think that the online play had some great ideas especially with the gametypes. My favorite was Warzone which had a mix of a few different games in one such as a VIP style game and a CTF style game, along with a couple of others.

All in all if you LOVED the first one and I mean LOVED it as in you would like to be buried with it in your cold dead hands then I suggest you pick this up because it will entice you just as much as the loving title that is so tightly in your grasp six feet deep. However you are expecting this game to be everything the first Army of Two was and then some I'm afraid you may be sadly mistaken.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Co-Op

posted by Scooter90 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Good Co-Op. This games allows you to customize your guns to great detail, much more than games like Call of Duty, etc. Didnt play online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is the bomb!

posted by 1236457 (LEXINGTON, KY) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2006

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Ok iv'e bet you heard a lot of review and negitve comments. but all i have to say is get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Blood pumping awesomeness!!!!

posted by BradS123 (DEER PARK, TX) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I find this game to be a lot of fun. I love the fact that you can customize your weapons I think that just adds to the degree of fun and violence. The missions are fun and the trash talk between the two is funny. I have never played the first one and I just rented this because I saw the trailer and it looked amazingly awesome. The missions are faced paced and exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More like 40 minutes

posted by Elusive (DELAVAN, WI) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

About half way through the game on contractor difficulty, and it is not very challenging. Bosses are not that difficult. You basically fight the same guys over and over again. If you have no one to play with do not bother getting the game because I have so far only played with computer, and he does his own thing and gets killed all the time. Not sure why computer Rios runs down the street at boss when I tell him to stay by me. Game is really repetitive, but it is decent. Customizing weapons is by far the best thing in the game. Only have played for about 2 hours and the game is half over. I dont see a point in getting add on when missions dont take long at all. If you have a buddy to play with then I would say get it from here, but it is definitely not a purchase game. Could be hit or miss, but that would depend on the person. I felt like the first game was much better. Graphics are not great, explosions look generic. Have not tried online, but I am betting it is pretty weak.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ending is very weird

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jan 18, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Im not going to tell you the ending, but i will tell you that youll want to beat the game to see it. Its very weird and alters the next Army of Two by your decision. The second Army of Two is nice. It has the campaign and versus, which was in the first one. But this one also has a mode called Extraction. And i couldnt play it because you have to have a code to use it. I dont know if that code is in the game case or not, but i heard that mode was good. So if youve played Army of Two (Number 1), then you know whats coming. Its kind of the same stuff, but its add some new stuff and keeps it fresh. There are cut scenes in this game where you can chose to do the nice option or the evil option. And the decisions you make will effect the overall game. The controls are good in this game. The graphics are good. And the online is just as good as it was. The entire campaign can be play Coop online or split screen. Overall this game is really good, and you need to try it out, especially if you liked the first one. And you need to get to the end of this game, its a big decision.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great co-op

posted by Axllove (MARTINSVILLE, IN) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

best co-op ever good shooter one player is ok but just ok if can get a friend and play this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not the best number "2" game

posted by optik619 (LA MESA, CA) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you were a big fan of the first one like myself, i think you may be slightly disappointed with this second installment. I don't think i can go into all the specifics in this review, but it just kind of feels like it was rushed a bit. There were a couple bugs i discovered in the campaign game play, a somewhat annoying "buy" bug that cost me quite a bit of earned money and there wasn't really any new or exciting features introduced. Even the storyline was kind of short & scattered.

After reading that, you may be asking "why a 7 rating?" and most simply put the three areas that kept this above a "5" were the extensive weapons customization with all the fun skins to unlocks, the online & offline multi-player co-op, and the cool artwork stories during the cutscenes.

Maybe my overall expectations were set too high because i thoroughly enjoyed the first one, i wouldn't recommend going out and buying it, but if you liked the first one, its worth dropping in your Q for a quick go at it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Army of the 1000th day

posted by b37501 (SAINT SIMONS ISLAND, GA) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Army of 2 the fourtith day is a good game ,but was jus the same to me as the original Army of two as far as gameplay. The weapon customization and mask maker are by far the parts of the game after the first 1 hour of playing. You would have to hate yourself to play the game through again. In a nutshell the game has a good concept, but lacks the pizazz to be as good as the call of duty seriesand assasin's creed 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Less original then the first

posted by Enygma (TUCSON, AZ) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I started out very excited to play this game as i was a fan of the first one. When i got it it looked great. the graphics are a nice improvement over the first one as well as the sound. How ever the deeper i got into the game the less impressed it was. There are still a few glitches as i got stuck a couple if times on top of chairs which is annoying but it didn't happen often enough to completely ruin the game for me. The weapon selection was disappointing as well. As all the weapons are realativly similar (Other then the 300 thousand one) But the M4 has less stopping power then a SMG. Also the weapons upgrade system was weird in that you figure if u spend loads of money on add ons you should be able to create an uber weapon but this isn't so. You can only slightly improve your current weapon. Not that you really need it as the game its self is almost too easy. Granted played my first time through on normal difficulty. I only died once and that was just to see if i could. I did get knocked down a decent amount of times but the Ai is really good about finding you and helping you up. Over all the game has good graphics good sound the Team mate AI is pretty good as well as the controls but the game is lacking in weapon selection and variety some map glitches and an extremely short Single player campaign which bothered me more then anything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse