Rent Army of Two: The 40th Day for PS3
view large frontback

Army of Two: The 40th Day

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

5975 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but uneven- bring a friend

posted by Gamer_Guy (MURFREESBORO, TN) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

While this is an entertaining game with solid mechanics and great sound design, random difficulty spikes and muddy textures hold the game back. A live co-op partner can be useful with the aforementioned difficulty spikes, so bring a friend. The story is nonsensical, but I was having so much fun I didn't care most of the time. This is still the weakest installment in the series, however. Worth a rent, probably not a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok…but mechanics are out dated

posted by tpain07 (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

The game is ok. But, to new comers to this franchise may be off put by the control layout and clunky character transitions.

Story: A little bit cliché. But, action lovers may find this appealing. Tons of strategic gunplay battles but leaves you wanting more but never lives up to the standards you set ahead of time.

Gameplay: Clunky transitions, Weird A.I movement.

If you’re feeling a action shooter game. This maybe something that will hold you over until the next big shooter comes along then go for it. As for a peek into new innovation and shooting gameplay I would say pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun fun fun

posted by Le22az (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this was a fun game just goofing off kicking people butts making your own gun and mask

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

being a juggernaut+your beautifuly crafted wepons

posted by Kratos_man (SEFFNER, FL) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

the game Bigist + is crafting ur personal wepon i was useing a granda loncher the 6 toob chamber kined with a shot gun under neath if ther medim rang boom and if close bame kick a ss

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Jimmytang34's Review (AO2: Fortyth Day)

posted by jimmytang34 (KENOSHA, WI) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

I rated the game an 8. My reason for rating it an 8, is because to me, I liked the game. This is what I liked about the game; it had great action, Co-op desisions and consequences were added, a good amount of realism was added, Humor came into play from time to time, weapon customization, and the options to disrespect, and respect your co-partner. There were some specifics about the game I didn't like. The Weapon Customization was great, It's just I didn't like the way that most of the attachments didn't really matter. The Action was great, but from time to time. I felt like I was doing the same thing over and over again. I began to lose interest in the game after I reached a certain point. But Overall, I like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tasty if it's your cup of tea

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jan 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

Enjoyable coop. Graphically interesting in regard to its storyline. Solo AI a bit dumb. Repetitive enemies. If you want military-based coop, outstanding. If you prefer a sandbox, no. Nothing surprising. Nothing too disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

old

posted by btownjoe (BRADFORD, RI) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

this game has a ps2 kinda feel to it the game play is stale and old..the camera angles suck and you running around half the time not knowing what you are suppose to be doing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as the original but still great game

posted by SilentHillSF (JANESVILLE, WI) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The game a suprisingly dull story with no real twist and nothing to really keep me going....but this is all one great, extremely addictive co-op game....the combat is enough to keep you going...but don't look here for a good story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Army of Two Review...

posted by Gamefreak91 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I downloaded a demo of this game thought the demo was pretty rad. Put it on my Que, I was in for a surprise the originiality of gameplay. Customizing real time weaponry. Taking screw drivers and soda cans for silencers and bayonets. Scraps of junk for a gun stock. Millons of Dollars to Loot and unlock cool Weapons. and customizables. Game play i say is about a 8 out of 10 Im playing this for the first time on contractor. I have spent countless hours trying to get past levels where The big MOFO with the MINIGUN And FULL ARMOR come out in shanghai streets. I tried ordering rios to make a distraction with a mounted gun while i try to flank. but he hopps off the gun to catch up to me automatically and gets ripped a new one and i have from there 15 20 seconds to save him before I must restart. Every time. Hours of time spent. Im deffinently putting this game back on my Que I love the Challenge the story is pretty long and there are alot of unlockables just in single player. IM going to have to check out the multiplayer side of this game online.... see you gamers on the stixx

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Army of Two Forty Days

posted by zfirenite (LOVELAND, CO) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is quite fun in my opinion. Campaign is wide scale. The mult player is hard and you need skills to stick close to partner and help them out. It is a challenging game at the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

So much worse than the first one.

posted by tommysalami (DOYLESTOWN, PA) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Like the title says, the 40th day is worse than the first one. They ruined so many things in this game. It shouldn't be so difficult if I am on the easiest difficulty. It should take me 20 shots in the head for me to die if I am on the easiest difficulty. But it seems like I die in a few hits and that's it. Slow loading times as well (counting for every time I die). Poor game. Doesn't even come close to the first one. Didn't even finish this horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Army of Two 40 Day

posted by lebrontaylor (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Good story line. Great co op game.
Bad: Short game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just what I thought it would be.

posted by jeremypacot (ANAHEIM, CA) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This is an FPS. its fun to play but it has nothing super special about it. It is just a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not a big fan

posted by epracine (RUTLAND, VT) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

over all a great game. i dont care for the game play and i dislike the camera angle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game...

posted by a_gamers_dream (SPRINGFIELD, MA) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is definitely better than the 1st one. I love how they implented new things like the 'mock surrender' & being able to tag your targets. You're able to customize your weapons anytime without having to wait for a screen to come up that allows you to as in the 1st one. I also really like how sometimes you have to make a decision that has consequences & they actually go into comic book mode to show you how your decision played out. I'm about halfway thru so far & LOVING it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

army of two the 40th day

posted by av8er50 (MESA, AZ) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game was one of those games where its starts off fun, but ends up getting boring quick. So if you want one of those games where you pretty much do the same thing over and over again, this is your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, but too short

posted by danny22 (TOMBALL, TX) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The game was a lot of fun, especially playing with a friend. If you're used to playing Co-Op in Halo then you'll probably struggle with this game. Instead of just re-spawning, this game forces you to work together and save each other. Overall a great co-op game with a lot of customization options, but the campaign mode is too short (we beat it in about 7 hours). We replayed the whole thing in a harder setting, and still enjoyed it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not too bad!!

posted by black_hawk (ELIZABETH, NJ) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game is quite enjoyable if you enjoy just shooting people with an array of weapons and attachments. the moral decision is cool but pretty basic. it only comes up about 4 times in the game. I love the way heads explode when hit with a head shot with a sniper rifle. I like how they make you use the cover system. While you or your partner lay down cover fire they other guy can advance. rinse, use, and repeat and you will find this game pretty easy. Over all a good game to play, but glad I did not spend 60 bucks on it in stores. Thanks game fly!! lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by Meka775 (RENO, NV) May 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

The first game I actually played and beat twice one as one character the second time as the other. Good story action and can customize weapons on the go to your style. Would of bought it but wasn't given option to keep. So will have to try a game store worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Army of Two: The 40th Day

posted by deeparker703 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) May 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is a fast pace,action game that keeps you on the edge of you seat. A must play game. Two play co ops are the greatest. By far one of the best 1st play or co op game ever....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I good game but

posted by qball386 (OCALA, FL) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Over all this was a great game only complaint i really have is the game was really easy to beat on the hardest setting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better then I expected.

posted by NitroMidgets (CIBOLO, TX) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

If you want a single player game where your team mate is actually helpful then this would be the game for you. In split screen single player the campaign is a nice length with plenty of shooting unlike many of the other shooters out there like Killzone 3 or Medal of Honor who had the 5hr campaign length. You can customize your armor as well as your weapons but the weapon customization is much more in depth. I never played the first game but the story was easy enough to follow that it flowed well. The online play was addicting as you had competitive play and the cooperative play against what was essentially swarms of enemy. The cooperative was interesting as you needed all four people to cooperate otherwise you ran the risk of failing. I used to own this game but it was enough fun to put it on gamefly to rent so that I could play it again with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty cool

posted by DWIZZY79 (WESTLAND, MI) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I read some reviews that made me wanna take this game off my list, but I gave it a chance. The action was interesting and fun, but the story wasn't really gripping the co-op was cool. Good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Shining Oppurtunities fall short

posted by Obrusnine (TONAWANDA, NY) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Now, this game had oppurtunity. The plan for this game was solid, but the implmentation was flawed. Why you may ask? Well, for a couple of things.

Incomprehensible Story: The story is completely over the top and crazy. Not to mention that you can never really tell what the HECK is going on.

Shotty Controls: The controls are absolutely terrible and unresponsive. The HUD is also poorly designed. You cannot expect any current generation third-person shooter to control like this. It's very hard to do anything.

No Subtitles: Really? No subtitles? This really seems like a small complaint, but it isn't. When the people on the game are talking, the talk like they are whispering, and at most times, they are completely drowned out by explosions and other sound effects. Anyways, what title these day's doesn't have subtitles? Why don't you people consider the deaf!?

Poor Multiplayer: The Multiplayer modes themselves are a good idea, but other players are like frigen juggernauts. You have WAYYYY to much health and it is very hard to actually take somebody down. Not to mention that the voice chat is glitchy as heck and the servers suck.

Boring Characters: The characters are boring, and actually are sometimes REALLY annoying. These people you play as don't actually seem like people. They are completely over the top and stupid. Look... I can't even find a word to describe it.

Overall, this game had great oppurtunities. The Co-Op Ideas are are great, but poorly implemented. If this game had the things it was missing, it would be a pretty decent game. Overall, this is one of the worst games EA has ever published, and could've been a lot better if the developers weren't half asleep while making it. Hopefully, they fix the mistakes in the next entry. But until then, this game is hardly worth a rent. If you want to play a real shooter with solid Co-Op, try Uncharted 2 or something, because this just isn't worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yuckk :(

posted by Jswaqq (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Didnt Like The Game, Was Sent To The Mailbox The Same Day It Got To Me. This Is A Third Person Shooter! I HATE Third Person Shooter Games! I Like First Person BETTER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse