Rent Army of Two: The 40th Day for PS3
view large frontback

Army of Two: The 40th Day

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

5966 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

army of two is grat

posted by bernard (BENSENVILLE, IL) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game was very fun becse of the gameplay and the replay value like the choise like to kill a friend or not I give tkis game a 8.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Co-Op is Back!!!

posted by Travis007 (CARTHAGE, TX) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The game is great playing solo, but the Co-Op is better than ever. I am glad to see a game that final put two player Co-Op back on the map.
I played the solo on regular(normal) and it was awesome. It took awhile to get the hang of controlling your partner, but after that the fight was on.
Wish there were more guns to customize but as far as the game play, it was awesome. This game is a must own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not so good

posted by ghost31382 (BRONX, NY) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

i tried this game thinking that it would be a great online play but its the worst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Short and sweet

posted by RONINLEE (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Army of Two sophomore year seems less exciting then the first and the multiplayer is far more cumbersome.

Co-op is great but controls are not as fluid, much more enjoyable in the original Ao2.

Multiplayer, dropped the ball here - should have been 2v2v2 at most, and man why is it so dark in these maps? Again the original felt much more fluid and more intense.

This game is 7 at best, its definitely not a solid 3rd person shooter, alot of changes and improvements need to be made before they even think of a third Ao2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's the Salem and Rios show

posted by Perrin07 (PUEBLO, CO) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

EA did a great job with this. Yes, it's different than the first, but isn't that the point. The expanded weapons customization feature is very cool, and accessable at any time while not in battle, which is very convenient. The graphics look terrific, the high action game play is really nice and challenging enough to still be fun without becoming fustrating. Vertical split screen takes a little getting used to but is actually kinda nice once you get used to it. I do miss the overkill mode, but the aggro is basically still the same. The online play is a lot of fun despite the occasional lag time that you may or may not have depending on the strength of your network. Lots of different game types on there and cutomizing your own mask is super cool. It may take some getting used to, but if you're playing with the same person you played the first game with and you work as a team, you will be successful. Overall a really great game and I couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but short

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Jan 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

This would have been a great game if it were longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

an alright coop game like the first one

posted by tyfyv24552 (LAND O LAKES, FL) Jan 21, 2010

Member since May 2009

this game has some fun with a buddy and the weapon upgrade system is deep but the story mode is only about 6 hours long but the game has pretty good replay value like you might to go back and get more money to upgrade your stuff more and there are some parts of the game where you to choose a good or bad thing the multiplayer is pretty fun but is kinda laggy overall you might have a good time with this game even tho its far from prefect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent shooter improved over the original

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jan 20, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

Just what's going on in Shanghai? Planes are crashing, bombs are going off, buildings are toppling into each other, and squads of soldiers are roaming the streets shooting everyone in sight. Such is the predicament that Salem and Rios find themselves in EA's new shooter "Army of Two:40th Day". This is a much improved sequel over the original game, tightening up the shooting mechanics and upping the intelligence of the AI (both your partner's, if you're a solo player, and that of your enemies). Graphics have also been given an overhaul, with some nice particle effects. There are still some problems, however. Even though the enemies will behave smarter at times than their counterparts in the previous game, they still lapse into stupidity, sometimes not shooting until you shoot them first. There is the occassional slowdown, and the controls slip here and there (sprinting, while helpful, can be clumsy). Sound is good, and the voice acting is decent. The story's thin, but this is a game you play to shoot things, not get an Oscar winning screenplay. There are even some moral choices to be made at points in the game, and they provide a nice touch. The overall campaign for single player (or splitscreen co-op, if you choose) is very short- its seven chapters clock in at 5-7 hours. While there is some replayability with the co-op, multiplayer, and even making the alternate moral choices, there's just not enough here to warrant the full purchase price. Still, it's a decent shooter, a fair amount of fun, and worth playing. It's just better as a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its OK

posted by KarimZ (DORAL, FL) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

SOOOOOOOO MANY GLITCHES!!!

me and my friend played the whole game on hard to get the trophy and when we beat it we didnt even get the one for beating it on any difficulty, later we replayed the game on easy to get sum trophies dun and it the hard trophy popped up at the end of ch 3????!!!!

Guns are wierd too

AK with a m4 barrel and a sniper scope with a soda can silencer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by aceboogie (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game was good in action and detail but the story line could have been better and the game was to short

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

al least a step up from original

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jan 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2009

I like the new mechanics and all but the story still not as good. I'm not drawn to this game, its lucky I gave it a 2 I would givt it something much lower , horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

army of two 40th day

posted by jason81jsn (BARDSTOWN, KY) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The game is not as good as the first one. But way way to short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse