Rent Army of Two: The 40th Day for PS3
view large frontback

Army of Two: The 40th Day

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

5975 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not So Great

posted by rayakachi (CARPENTERSVILLE, IL) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game is in my opinion a 3/5 just because detail and controlls.
Controlls are hard to get used to it's annoying when you have to take a scope on or off. I did not play online so i have no clue about that. as for story mode i wish the dam people made a tutorial of HOW TO PLAY!!! so annoying that i cant save the civillians cause i have no idea what im doing. As for Detail It lacks greatly but the gun customs make up for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Review

posted by WetBear (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Army of Two: The 40th Day is a third-person shooter in which your objective is simple: get out of Dodge. Or more accurately, Shanghai, a city that is being torn apart by missiles for no discernable reason. Why is this happening? Who is behind it? Who cares! You can paint skulls on your shotgun and then shove it through your enemy's brain! The 40th Day is light on plot and heavy on action, a balance that suits the game well. It's great fun to team up with a buddy and blast your way through hordes of enemies using your lovingly customized weapons. The gunplay and movement mechanics are solid and satisfying, despite some awkwardness, and the game encourages you to use teamwork with light, yet engaging, tactical elements. There is some strange mucking about with morality during the short campaign, but this is largely overshadowed by the brash, brutal action. And though the lively online multiplayer is hampered by lag, Army of Two: The 40th Day offers enough entertainment to make a strong case for your time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

army of two sucks now!

posted by sgrdady122 (BELTON, MO) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The first army of two was awesome! The 40th day is horrible! you have to click to switch what side the camera's view is on while your getting shot to bits(lack of a word that isn't "problematic) by a bunch of guys. to much camera angle switching and not enough straight up killing! you guys destroyed a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as good as expected!

posted by Cobra7 (EL PASO, TX) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game is pretty good as far as graphics and all the gun customization is concerned but it needs a lot of work. I played the game in single player and it was pretty frustrating. The AI is just stupid to be honest. Your buddy will walk right out into a firefight in some cases and get himself killed. If you are going to get this game make sure you have a buddy who can play with you because you are just going to upset yourself if you play it by yourself with the AI. I didn't even finish the campaign with how frustrated I got.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty good

posted by evanjersey (MANCHESTER, NJ) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

game play was awsome. choice of weapons seemed pointless. game kinda lacks story line and is pretty repetative. fighting the same guys over and over again still wonderingwho they are till the very end. and pretty much never really know why there are so many random guys all over the place. im givin it a 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

GAME IS TO REPETITIVE

posted by RICOCHEF99 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

THE SAME ENEMIES AND WELL IF CAN LOAD KINDA SLOW AS WELL UR BETTER OFF PLAYING KILLZONE OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT. BETTER YET PLAY DANCE DANCE REVOLUTION THEN UR TIME WILL BE WELL SPENT SIKE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Load times

posted by Daygo619 (DALLAS, TX) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Longer than usual load times for the PS3, especially when trying to access menu for weapons configuration. Fun game. Bland storyline. Clunky camera views in two-player split-screen. Would have been nice if characters were transparent when the camera is situated directly behind the player, however this dilemma is easily overcome by using a scope attachment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great coop

posted by zomglazor (NASHVILLE, GA) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I disagree with some of the reviews I read about the poor controls in this game. I am a pc gamer who only recently bought a ps3 and I have been frustrated with the majority of shooters that I have played on the ps3 because I am not as proficient with a console controller. But this game had great controls to me. Everything seemed intuitive and the aim and movement rates were spot on. Being able to find/earn upgrades and customize your weapons gives something extra to work towards besides just running through the game. Overall I thought it was well executed. It could have been improved by fleshing out the story a bit and adding some sort of effect for your morality choices other than a different cutscene.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Co op ok -online weak

posted by GEEHAWK3 (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The Game is ok for two players. The issue I had is the (x) button kinda dumb to run jump and heal with that button every time I try to Heal my partner I take off speeding away. Also the grenades on this game can be right next to the guy and wont kill him kinda dumb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Let Down

posted by DropADime (TAHLEQUAH, OK) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

I was a huge fan of the first army of two, but this one...just seems more flash then real substance. The storyline is only so/so and some of the game controls are so frustrating that you and your partner will often find yourselves screaming at the TV. For instance the classic dragging your partner while they blast away at enemies is almost impossible for the simple fact it so insanely hard to aim while being dragged now, and the bad guys seem to be able to blow you away so fast that you partner will end up dieing before he/she drags you to saftey. The only real good thing about this game is the graphics....and even those will let you down from time to time. I would say only rent this game if you are bored and have nothing else to rent...don't buy it...not even in the 19.99 bargin bin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

army of two

posted by tweeze16 (QUEENS VILLAGE, NY) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

its a good coop game i think its better by ur self because da computer is a better partner wen u playin wit sum1 dey make a lot of mistakes A LOT of mistakes and u die a lot so play by urself unless u hav a good partner because i didnt but overall its a very good game action packed i would get army of two 3 when eva it comes out i wouldnt buy it tho

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Grab a buddy and blow everything to he11

posted by gametime66 (GRASS VALLEY, CA) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

Working my way through the campaign right now with my buddy. The first game we ever played together co-op was the first Army of Two and we absolutely loved it although it got way to hard at the end.
First few hours into it there were quite a few pretty sweet OMG moments. The flanking aggro and distraction aspect of the game works much better and the AI is scary smart at times, however stupid at others. Theres nothing cooler then laying out a gameplan with your friend and have it work out to perfection.

The morality aspect of it is fun as well, including the relationship between the characters. Playing rock paper scissors with the characters to see who takes the lead, or acts as bait is hilarious. You can smack ur friend if his aim sucks, or he keeps dying resulting in a "rift" with the characters that affects the ending, or give him a high five and pat on the back for a job well done boosting their friendship. We have chosen to be absolutely evil however theres so many ways to go about it. "Do we save the hostages and get some cash... or do we beat them down shoot them in the head to increase or "evil" meter." Or how bout a little of both, instead of killing a bad guy ill just tie him up to recieve mercy points, and THEEEEEN shoot in in the head for evil points. lol it is sadistically fun.

Only complaints I have so far include, the inability to skip cut scenes which really get irritating after 3-4 times trying the same area, and you WILL repeat areas ad infinatum at times. This game is HARD, and camera can get in the way causing unwanted deaths, and a few times my buddy was unable to save me because I was glitch stuck on an object after getting shot down. HOWEVER the good outweighs the bad. If you have a friend to play this with DO IT. Especially if you never experienced the first game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

army of two

posted by eazyE123 (REDDING, CA) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

it is boring, it is too easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Frustrating experience

posted by farlander (SADDLE BROOK, NJ) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

This is yet another example of a game ruined by stupid decisions. The most frustrating part of the game is not even that you will die many times every time you encounter a boss, it's how the game will reload a checkpoint after that. Every boss battle us preceded by a completely pointless cut scene that carries absolutely no meaning and is simply showing the boss from various angles for almost a minute. This cut scene is unskippable. Add to that the fact that tha latest checkpoint was a couple of minutes ago - and you have a game that you'll probably stop playing after a few repeated attempts to beat the first boss.

I'm really glad I didn't waste $60 on it and rented it instead.

From a technical standpoint the game looks fairly good. Performance of the ps3 version is surprisingly smooth.

The game features some sort of a morality gauge, but what's the point of it, if there is a point, is unknown to me, since I stopped playing after having spent about 1 hour reloading, getting to the boss point and watching the stupid video sequence, and then dying. Lather, rinse, repeat.

I don't know why so many developers are making their games so annoying :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What a disappointment?!

posted by Kingslim (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

While this game is better than the original, it still has alot of catching-up to do in order to be considered with the top of the FPS genre. Unfortunately for all FPS games C.O.D. MW is now the "Gold Standard" for everything. Giving Army of 2 a fair shake: If you never played the C.O.D. series (especially the latest MW versions) run and get this game before your perception is ruined. You have to constantly switch btwn left and right positioning when you play split screen. There is no "traditional" stance (like having your gun or body dead-center) you HAVE TO pick left or right, havent got a good review about that from anybody I know! The controls are sluggish at times and there is no "gun weight" - most FPS are sensitive enough that if you switch guns from heavy to light, your character moves quicker and easier.... not thos game! This might be a good game for kids or preteens, but once you've become well versed in the FPS genre... it quickly starts getting on your nerves. Honestly, I never even finished the 3rd stage! Cant wait to replace this and get another one. Simply put, games like C.O.D., Mass Effect and HALO are simulator-like (especially C.O.D.) games like Army of Two are STRICTLY ARCADE! You'll have fun.... for a while, then it gets old quick. I have been playing FPS since James Bond "Goldeneye" on N64. Even THAT is a better and "more fun" game than this. If you're a serious gamer, dont waste your time. Get this for the kids....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Army of Two is fun but

posted by Chessfu (PORTAGE, IN) Feb 1, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2005

First it's hard to find a good 3rd person shooter. Mostly cause there are so little on the market.
Army of Two is a good 3rd person shooter. But it has a few problems, late in the game it has a tendency to freeze up just before the save point.
If you mod a weapon and die, you mod doesn't save. So you're doing it all over again. If you kill a boss and take their weapon, survive the round, you still don't get access to boss weapon.

RPGs and G launcher do no real damage to the bad guys, but will flat your character in a heart beat.

Over all it's a good game to play, the next one should include manual save points. And b-proof armor is needed. Bad guys get it, good guys don't. That doesn't make sense

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very short, nothing new.

posted by Csears20 (COCOA, FL) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

First off, I rented this game because a friend and I had a lot of fun playing the first Army of Two. From the start, I felt like I was waiting for it to get better but there was only a couple of minor exciting points. The story line is 2nd rate and if you did play the first one...there is nothing new. The only upside to this game is that the gun customization is still fun. On the downside, the game is too short for you to really get the enjoyment of purchasing your guns. Don't get me wrong, it still is a fun rental. But, keyword "rental"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Gameplay, Poor Graphics

posted by Cshreader (AUSTIN, TX) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game is basically exactly like the first game, different story, SAME graphics. The next installment will need much improvement if the series is to stay alive. Well worth renting and sending back within 3 days haha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for Co-op fans

posted by ninetoes (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The 40th day is not the future of gaming, but it is a solid co-op 3PS. It is fun with lots of USEFUL weapon customization. If you are expecting anything more than a polished version of the first game then you are sure to be disappointed. That being said, if you enjoyed the first one for what it was, then you will LOVE the sequal. They have made moderate improvements, but the improvements they made are the right ones. If you love co-op with friends, this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

best game

posted by atylerw (BLACKWELL, TX) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

the best game i have played in a long time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Little Boring.......

posted by BPoints (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Not as good as the first game.....this one was too easy, not very engaging, and thus a little boring to play. So much so that I did not play the game to completion. The weapons interaction screen was a huge downgrade from the first game in terms of accessability. I was hyped for this game because I liked the first one so much, but I was disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

onlne gameplay kills it!!!

posted by jtodd321 (SAN DIMAS, CA) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The campaign is a 7 solo and and 8 co-op but its the online play that makes this game amazing. I have been unable to find a co-op game that enables split screen at home with one PS3. Every other multiplayer game requires multiple systems. Finally Army of Two gets it right. If you have a friend who is good at shooters like yourself rent this and dominate online together!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by jwink1985 (CHERRYVALE, KS) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game does have alot of action and a good story line like said before and its hard to stop playing this game its extremely addicting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good but not great

posted by BeowulfEMT (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

First off, I loved the first game but this just feels like a shell of the original. The basic components are there and even some cool additions (in depth weapon customization including mixing and matching weapon parts) but the actual gameplay just feels off. Most of the time you're not even sure what you're doing. Other than following a dim green line and killing anyone you find along the way.

Occasionally you'll come across civilians that need saving which can lead to some cool game mechanics (choosing to subdue the enemy or blow them away) and when you successfully save one you get money and/or weapons.

Now for my biggest pet peeve of the game. Checkpoints. Especially on the harder difficulties these checkpoints can be extremely frustrating. Obviously being a coop game you can't have as many checkpoints as a game like Call of Duty but it does get kind of ridiculous. Any weapons you buy or upgrade are not saved unless you get to the next checkpoint which is just annoying. I don't want to buy the same weapon setup 3 or more times for because one teammate goes down.

Possibly the worst part of the checkpoint system is YOU HAVE TO WATCH THE CUT SCENES EVERY TIME. There is no skipping the 2003 quality graphics at anypoint. It's an easy fix the developers could patch in that would make the game much less frustrating.

Aiming can also give you a bit of a headache, especially blind firing. It is much easier to do when you're not playing split screen since you can really see what's going on. I have a 52" but it still feels cramped with vertical split screen. Often times you'll be forced to take on multiple heavies that almost require headshots which can get frustrating but not more than other war games.

Over all there is fun to be had with Army of Two:40th Day but it's all the little things that really take away from the final game. At least give it a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Thanks for the Port on PS3 EA

posted by surfnshan (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

I am an Army of Two fan and I was very excited to see this game come out. However, I hate the new one.

1. Why wouldn't they fix the mic issues?

2. Why does it not save your gun changes until after you hit a check point that is so darn far away? Save it every fricken time please.

3. Split screen is like playing with an eye patch. Your guy is never in the center of the screen. Can only see one side or the other.

4. Keeps crashing online.

5. No Back to Back??

6. Where's the funny lines?

7. Who the heck are we fighting? No storyline?

8. You guys copped out on the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse