Rent Army of Two: The 40th Day for PS3
view large frontback

Army of Two: The 40th Day

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

5972 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average shooter

posted by armyof48 (BETHLEHEM, PA) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The campaign is dreadfully short, took me a few hours to complete. Playing with a computer partner is not very exciting, I'm sure if you were playing co-op with someone it would have more appeal. Playing solo, it's just an average title. Worth a rent if you can't get anything else in your game-Q that you really want to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointing

posted by bigmac1201 (CAPE GIRARDEAU, MO) Jun 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game was very fun at first but quickly grew stale. The AI is very off. You can be standing right in front of a soldier and they don't see you. The bad guys are very monotonous and there is no variations except for the new heavies that are encountered throughout the game. The single player is short. The multiplayer server kept lagging and dropping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

OK could be longer

posted by Mythology (BETHEL, CT) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I beat this game in a couple of hours its nothing special but a great game to kill time and enjoy. Thank god for gamefly cause if i didnt i would of wasted money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ok

posted by gilbert1 (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I only gave this game a 7 because of all the upgrades u can do on the wepons the online was poo. The campaine was way to short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Co-op 3rd person shooter

posted by JayRidge (BROOKLYN, NY) May 31, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

This isn't a bad game but it isn't a good game, either. There are other co-op games like Resident Evil 5 that does a far better job in that department while being more fun. The levels in this game have very little replay value unless collecting intel logs are fun to you. The bad guys have perfect aim as usual and buy/upgrading weapons isn't as critical as other games. Can play online co-op as well but not many people online and after trying to host one and no one joining, I gave up.

The online part is laggy and there are better games for online multiplayer than this. There weren't many people playing online either. This is a rental at best and a bargain bin type of purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No story in sight

posted by sdgates (PEEKSKILL, NY) May 29, 2010

Member since May 2010

The game play is your average run of the mill shooter but I have never played a game so completely devoid of any trace of a story. Enemies are hyper generic to the saddest boss fights I can remember.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EA did good!

posted by Bworthy (PAWTUCKET, RI) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

Loved the first AOT but little did I know it was going to get bigger, better and more intense. Definitely worth every cent. Very high replaying ability. Online is sick!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Co-op

posted by DarthFox (ARLINGTON, TX) May 9, 2010

Member since May 2010

Just to let people know if you plan on playing this game co-op on the same screen, the only option for split-screen is vertical, unlike the first game which was horizontal.
My friend and I literally stopped playing the game because of this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wonderful game!!

posted by jayjayswif (SAVANNAH, GA) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

This game is awesome. Rather you are playing alone, online or with a partner, this game is awesome. The visual effects are great and it's a challenge. Everything makes sense and it's just easier than most games to maneuver and the 3rd person view is awesome. I would definitely recommend this game if you are a person who likes shooter games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

army of two 40th day

posted by AirCooled (SPOKANE, WA) Apr 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

controls for this game sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Quite good.

posted by gamer64626 (GIBSON CITY, IL) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

This game is pretty entertaining but a little too short. I don't care much for headshots that only manage to knock the helmet off of an enemy. The AI is good but it's way too easy to work the aggro system and destroy everybody. I don't see the point of having a sniper rifle when you are in close quarters combat more than ninety percent of the time. The shotgun is pretty much worthless. The silencer is completely useless, the sound on your television is different but the enemies can still hear the shots just the same. The gun and mask customization is pretty sweet, the graphics are good, and the story, although too short, is quite good and will make you want to finish the game. Definitely rent this game but it's not worth full purchase price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Replay Rating

posted by Zeckard (CENTENNIAL, CO) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Good game overall. I liked the shooting and the ability to upgrade your weapons. Story line not horrible, but what I liked was your partner complimenting your shooting through the game. Not that it was perfectly timed, but it felt like someone was appreciating my abilities other than my 2 dogs as they watched me play. The game isn't too long, which sucked a bit, but I replayed it and it was just as fun. Graphics ok even with HDMI they weren't impressive, but decent.

I would recommend renting and even owning it if you are into shooter games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just a little too short

posted by siscokid (OGDEN, KS) Apr 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I really enjoyed this game. I got into the characters, love the action and gameplay. However I do think it is a little too short which is why I can't give it a higher rating. Overall though this is a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

nice follow up

posted by 311brodel (LINCOLN, NE) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Love the game the customizing is pretty sweet. Only complaint I have with the game is that you can't adjust audio settings. I like being able to just hear game play and not music blaring in the background, but that's just me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is sick

posted by ofirek (PORTSMOUTH, RI) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game is sick the graphics are really clean and lots of cool explosions and death occrus. The Co-op mode is fun to play with your friends and the campaign solo is fun i thought it was more exciting then the MW2 caimpaign. Not to mention the weapons you can get in the game are insane and there is tons of upgrades for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by beebe9 (GERMANTOWN, TN) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Fun game would play it over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great coop game

posted by ODBosiris (FORT WAINWRIGHT, AK) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game is pretty good, doesnt have any lasting game play, once you beat it you dont need it, The online death match is boring, I loved the online co'op, if you liked the first one you will like this one too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Army of Two:40th Day

posted by jefferd15 (OTEGO, NY) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

The game is an awesome game, but it was to short. I beat it in less than a week and i only played like an hour a night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Army of Two: 40th Day

posted by seanc480 (BAY VILLAGE, OH) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Good game to play with a friend. Really short with no real story line....nothing like the first one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

two thumbs down

posted by notgreat1 (ARLINGTON, VA) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I was expecting something much better than this. If you like games where you are basically doing the same thing over and over again against AIs that are horrible, then this is the game for you. Unfortunately it was a big let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

worth playing

posted by fightclub1 (SHEFFIELD LAKE, OH) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

not a bad game.hated mowing thru wave after wave of enemies and then dying on the last guy and having to fight wave after wave of the same enemies.didnt finish game,got bored after awhile.worth renting but not buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Army of two40th day

posted by hititalday (TRENTON, NJ) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Too short!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Much better this time around but still not a hit!

posted by Force07 (OLIVE BRANCH, MS) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

The game is good. It has some great gun fights and has some pretty good level design too, but it is just still missing something. All installments of Halo, Gears of War, Resistence, Call of Duty and Killzone pull you into the world of the game and almost make you want to play them constantly. This game just doesn't have that effect. It needs more substance, other than two tuff guys handling some business with guns. That's about as deep as the world or characters go. It is a good title that any shooter fan can have fun with, but gamers like myself need a little more substance. Worth a weekend, but no real longibity here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I liked the first one better

posted by smclarke (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

Not bad but very short. Played it on Contractor and was way too easy.

It seemed to lack the "pop" of the original and I seem to recall enjoying that one much more.

Stoy left it wide open for a follow-up so we'll se what they do with that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid game but not amazing.

posted by KratosKill (LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

The overall story line is very garden variety. The gameplay is fun and can be quite immersive at times but the inability to skip the cutscenes is frustrating almost to the point of tears, especially when you've watched it a thousand times because you've died. The co-op is done very well and you rely on your partner a lot which I enjoy. It's especially great when you have good communication with your partner, but if they die and you have to heal them a problem arises. You either start running instead of healing because the game didn't give you the heal option quick enough, or you start dragging your partner into the direction of gunfire due to lack of direction control. The movement is only hindered when either healing or in need of healing and are crawling, other than that it's very much gears of war type movement. But every successful heal is a small victory and gets your heart racing to make sure you and your partner stay in the fight. No real boss battles but there are the tougher enemies with heavy armor and either mini-guns or flamethrowers. The gun customization is a definite saving grace. Between bayonets, scopes, silencers, different barrels and clip sizes, to shotgun and grenade launcher add-ons. Also a plethora of different guns. You also get to make morale decisions in the game which is a nice addition to gameplay. Graphics and sound are pretty great. Not the best in their field but full HD does look great. Overall the gameplay is fun and exciting with the feeling of accomplishment after executing a successful civilian save but not the same feeling after finishing the short lived game. While your playing though you will enjoy yourself and nice replayabilty if not to beat it on hard than just to unlock all of the many guns. A definite rent especially if you have someone to play with but I wouldn't recommend buying only for these few faults.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse