Rent Army of Two: The 40th Day for PS3
view large frontback

Army of Two: The 40th Day

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

5967 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game...

posted by a_gamers_dream (SPRINGFIELD, MA) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is definitely better than the 1st one. I love how they implented new things like the 'mock surrender' & being able to tag your targets. You're able to customize your weapons anytime without having to wait for a screen to come up that allows you to as in the 1st one. I also really like how sometimes you have to make a decision that has consequences & they actually go into comic book mode to show you how your decision played out. I'm about halfway thru so far & LOVING it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

army of two the 40th day

posted by av8er50 (MESA, AZ) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game was one of those games where its starts off fun, but ends up getting boring quick. So if you want one of those games where you pretty much do the same thing over and over again, this is your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, but too short

posted by danny22 (TOMBALL, TX) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The game was a lot of fun, especially playing with a friend. If you're used to playing Co-Op in Halo then you'll probably struggle with this game. Instead of just re-spawning, this game forces you to work together and save each other. Overall a great co-op game with a lot of customization options, but the campaign mode is too short (we beat it in about 7 hours). We replayed the whole thing in a harder setting, and still enjoyed it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not too bad!!

posted by black_hawk (ELIZABETH, NJ) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game is quite enjoyable if you enjoy just shooting people with an array of weapons and attachments. the moral decision is cool but pretty basic. it only comes up about 4 times in the game. I love the way heads explode when hit with a head shot with a sniper rifle. I like how they make you use the cover system. While you or your partner lay down cover fire they other guy can advance. rinse, use, and repeat and you will find this game pretty easy. Over all a good game to play, but glad I did not spend 60 bucks on it in stores. Thanks game fly!! lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by Meka775 (RENO, NV) May 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

The first game I actually played and beat twice one as one character the second time as the other. Good story action and can customize weapons on the go to your style. Would of bought it but wasn't given option to keep. So will have to try a game store worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Army of Two: The 40th Day

posted by deeparker703 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) May 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is a fast pace,action game that keeps you on the edge of you seat. A must play game. Two play co ops are the greatest. By far one of the best 1st play or co op game ever....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I good game but

posted by qball386 (OCALA, FL) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Over all this was a great game only complaint i really have is the game was really easy to beat on the hardest setting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better then I expected.

posted by NitroMidgets (CIBOLO, TX) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

If you want a single player game where your team mate is actually helpful then this would be the game for you. In split screen single player the campaign is a nice length with plenty of shooting unlike many of the other shooters out there like Killzone 3 or Medal of Honor who had the 5hr campaign length. You can customize your armor as well as your weapons but the weapon customization is much more in depth. I never played the first game but the story was easy enough to follow that it flowed well. The online play was addicting as you had competitive play and the cooperative play against what was essentially swarms of enemy. The cooperative was interesting as you needed all four people to cooperate otherwise you ran the risk of failing. I used to own this game but it was enough fun to put it on gamefly to rent so that I could play it again with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Shining Oppurtunities fall short

posted by Obrusnine (TONAWANDA, NY) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Now, this game had oppurtunity. The plan for this game was solid, but the implmentation was flawed. Why you may ask? Well, for a couple of things.

Incomprehensible Story: The story is completely over the top and crazy. Not to mention that you can never really tell what the HECK is going on.

Shotty Controls: The controls are absolutely terrible and unresponsive. The HUD is also poorly designed. You cannot expect any current generation third-person shooter to control like this. It's very hard to do anything.

No Subtitles: Really? No subtitles? This really seems like a small complaint, but it isn't. When the people on the game are talking, the talk like they are whispering, and at most times, they are completely drowned out by explosions and other sound effects. Anyways, what title these day's doesn't have subtitles? Why don't you people consider the deaf!?

Poor Multiplayer: The Multiplayer modes themselves are a good idea, but other players are like frigen juggernauts. You have WAYYYY to much health and it is very hard to actually take somebody down. Not to mention that the voice chat is glitchy as heck and the servers suck.

Boring Characters: The characters are boring, and actually are sometimes REALLY annoying. These people you play as don't actually seem like people. They are completely over the top and stupid. Look... I can't even find a word to describe it.

Overall, this game had great oppurtunities. The Co-Op Ideas are are great, but poorly implemented. If this game had the things it was missing, it would be a pretty decent game. Overall, this is one of the worst games EA has ever published, and could've been a lot better if the developers weren't half asleep while making it. Hopefully, they fix the mistakes in the next entry. But until then, this game is hardly worth a rent. If you want to play a real shooter with solid Co-Op, try Uncharted 2 or something, because this just isn't worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yuckk :(

posted by Jswaqq (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Didnt Like The Game, Was Sent To The Mailbox The Same Day It Got To Me. This Is A Third Person Shooter! I HATE Third Person Shooter Games! I Like First Person BETTER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

plain and simple

posted by Bleaker (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

The new ARMY of TWO has great new concepts but is rather dull.
i played it becuase the first one was awesome!
this game is a last choice rental minimum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

army of two

posted by adam1998 (PARKERSBURG, WV) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

there are lots of new guns and all BUT thisgame is very short it only has one area.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just not my thing.

posted by McPhaddie (OMAHA, NE) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

It's an O.K. 3rd person shooter. Kind of annoying at times and pretty much brainless. Graphics are decent, but the over the shoulder view can get a little flawed when shooting behind cover or running. It's really just not my thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Army of Two: The 40th Day

posted by xcookie69x (CINCINNATI, OH) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Tha games story was ok till the last chapter then it when crazy, the storyline was bad, I give this game a 3!
The online was alright but there or to meany people that are gliching, so that was not every fun!
I did like the gun set up, also the maskes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fairly weak

posted by samwoo (ANDERSON, IN) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

The game could have good. Salem and Rios are honestly cool enough guys. However, 7 chapters isn't hardly enough to be called a game. This probably could have been a downloadable expansion to the first army of 2 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

the end of an army SPOILER ALERT

posted by ninjamon (PLEASANTON, CA) Oct 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

when army of two first came out i was not inspired to play it but i did and thouroly enjoyed it it had a great story line and good game play so i was exited to play the sequel the 40th day after beating the game i was thourly dissapionted first their were no subtitles wich waS inconvinent second the fact that their is morality choces really threw me off and the ending if you chose the posotive choice was sad and pathetic fact of the matter is it was a complete letdown plus almost all the characters from the first game were killed of and all the character voices were changed all in all i was very dissapointed and let down but comming from EA i an some how not suprised this game had a lot of potential but failed the only redeming factor is that the gameplay is fonaminal and the game did have some inprovements to the first still like the title suggests EA killed this game franchise and if they come out with a third army of two i will be suprised, goodbye army of two well miss you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

40TH DAY

posted by JONJON3890 (GRENADA, MS) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

THE GAME WAS TO SHORT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mediocrity

posted by respawn (CHESTER, VA) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Campaign Mode:
First off, I'm not a huge fan of the third person shooter style, I'm more into first person because it feels more real to me, but not all games are created equal(Uncharted 2=amazing).OK so I beat the story mode in like 3 days, and it was OK, but nothing really stood out to me. There was maybe two or three decent cut scenes where stuff blew up, and the levels just seemed very repetitive. Hide behind cover and fight off a hundred people, and maybe a boss or two. Nothing special. It was kinda cool though how you could save up money and pimp out your guns, literally. You could get a design called "Pimp" that makes your gun gold. You also get to change everything from the barrel to the stock on the guns, and every part effects the guns accuracy, damage, ect.. Very nice. Also you can connect online and play co-op with a friend if he/she has the game to.

Online Mode:
Multiplayer had some potential, but because this game isn't very popular, at least as of right now, it was weak. The most players that were ever on at one time in the world was 160. And another minus is, you can't vote to kick players, so every other game, you get your butt kicked because someone isn't playing on your team and your outnumbered. You rank up apparently, but you don't actually have a rank insignia to show for it, and you don't get any new gear when you do, so it's pointless.

Over all, I'd say this game would be pretty fun if you had a partner to co-op with, but without one, it's just mediocre and can be a bore. I hardly ever turn off games midway through playing them, and I turned this one off a lot. 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

bla

posted by ToadOfCaos (MORAGA, CA) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

k seriously this game does not live up to the first one at all (oh look mommy that building is falling into pieces, kinda like when i broke the chandelier) and then you have to run around and complete the SAME DARNED TASKS OVER AND OVER AGAIN. a neat new add would be that they give you cchoices that lead to interesting little cartoon fliks, but beside that, samo samo. good play... one time around.

Question:
- the guy says the nuke will go off, but i killed the sucker and no nuke went off... uhhhh what?

go rent something like fable. at least you'll enjoy getting some down time in a village, or kicking chickens in frustration at how your gf sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Satisfying and Fun, but ultimately Disappointing

posted by CrisPBacon (CARSON CITY, NV) Sep 17, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Graphics 8, Controls 8, Sound 7, Story 4, Overall Gameplay 6.5

I played through this game twice, first on normal and then contractor difficulty. Each time took me about 8 hours or longer. If I see this game for around $15 I'll buy it and get the Platinum Trophy. Although I didn't play the DLC, it appears to add extra mission/objectives to the ingame chapters. Online play and two player co-op is the biggest plus for this game.

My initial impression of the game is positive, the first 4 chapters are well designed, the graphics are great, and the Army of Two partnership drives the story. But it stops at the end of chapter 4 as control flaws, latency issues, and general bugs become obvious. The most obvious errors fall under the story, things seem to happen magically, without me or my partner interacting with the environment. For example, in Ch 5 when the bulldozer breaks into the mall, and thereafter during back-to-back where I had latency issues on Contractor mode. One serious problem was with my partner AI; give him the 'stop' order, then he magically appears in front of me, or he gets stuck in 'stop' mode. Even after beating the game twice I'm still unsure exactly what happened in the story and how my earlier moral choices effected the ending.

Overall I liked the game, but the general production seemed low, incomplete and inconsistent. Early chapters in the game seemed more difficult than later chapters. Although upgrading weapons was very cool, it was also nonsensical. I found little to no difference in primary and secondary weapons choices, when upgraded they were all about the same. The special weapon was the only real variety.

I gave this game a low score, for poor production, this game had all the ingredients of an 8 star game or higher, but extensive story flaws crushed that hope. On a final note, the game is far to short, it's not easy on Contractor mode, but still way to short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad

posted by RossMo (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Sep 17, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

It was a decent game. The worst part is playing co op on the same tv screen. The view being side by side rather than top and bottom make it very hard to play as your field of view blows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

co-op wouldn't work!

posted by kirkwood60 (CLAREMONT, CA) Aug 28, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

The thing I looked forward to the most was playing the game with my bro and we could never get in the game together. I could play with strangers but not invite my bro and he could not invite me. I went online and this was not just a problem for me. Everyone who tried the game has this complaint.... The makers of the game know about it and have failed to fix it.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Army of Two...

posted by cuesta (TUCSON, AZ) Aug 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I thought it was a good game but I am unsure if it was that easy or I'm that good but I ran through this game on normal and now I am playing it on the hardest level and have already went through half the game in a day. Dont get me wrong, Like I said I like the game but I just dont know if the levels are that short or if its just that easy but it sure is a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mediocrity and Invisible T-Shirts

posted by Derp2derp (PALM HARBOR, FL) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Army of Two : 40th Day is probably the worst game that i've played in years. I enjoyed the first one, but this game is just awful. There's not a single redeeming thing about it. The graphics are muddy, the characters look and act like imbeciles, the weapons are all the same, the customization is ridiculous, the animations are some of the worst i've seen (especially the melee ones), and the level layouts are awful and boring. I am so incredibly disappointed by this game.

I believe that there is fun to be had in this game, detailed in the list below :

- If you've ever wondered what an AK-47 would look like with a G36 Stock and an M4 barrel, you can amuse yourself for 30 seconds with this game.
- Play as Salem and press the melee button while moving forward. His "One - Two Punch" looks like he's trying to put an invisible shirt on. I actually burst out laughing.
- This game has Bayonets. The animations look choppy and awful, but, hey, the game has bayonets. There's never a downside to sticking a knife on the end of your gun.

That's it.

I played this game the same day I received it in the mail and it was back in the mailbox before sundown.

I hate you, EA Montreal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

45 Minutes of my life...gone

posted by mongoslade (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

I just didn't like anything about this game. The controls are ridiculous. The GPS didn't stay on for more than 10 seconds, so you have to keep hitting that to keep it onscreen. It doesn't even look that good. I'd have to assume the 2-player version is better, because this stinks as a one player game. I got it last night and it was in the mail this morning. I'm usually alot more patient, but I didn't see any reason to continue playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse