Rent Army of Two: The 40th Day for PS3
view large frontback

Army of Two: The 40th Day

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

5975 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heard of the miz:AWSOME

posted by rexy8971 (LEWISVILLE, TX) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS VERY COOL I CANT BELIVE WHEN YOU LOSE AT ROCK PAPER SCISSORS HE DOES THE MIDDLE FINGER LOL. I CANT BELIVE WITH THE SINPER SOME PISTOLS AND SOME MACHINE GUNS IT TAKES OFF THERE HEAD BUT BEWERE THIS NOT FOR LITTLE KIDS IT HAS SO MUCH BLOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good co-op game, a little repetitive and bland

posted by zombieorc (GRASS VALLEY, CA) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In Army of Two: The 40th Day, you take control of Rios and Salem on a journey to escape Shanghai. On your journey you will have to make several moral decisions to advance through the levels. The outcome of each decision is played out through a short motion comic.
The controls are tight and responsive and the graphics are up to par with current generation titles though nothing really spectacular.
After shooting enemies, the death cinematic are a little anticlimactic compared to other third person shooter’s.
The co-op segments feel forced and some feel really unnecessary. There are several places where the co-op segment could be removed with the addition of a jump button. And why do you need both characters to open a door that one could pass through faster.
The level design is a bit better than the first game. However the levels are still really linear but they feel a little more open than the first game.
In single player, your partner’s AI has been improved from the first game and he will no longer drag you into the middle of a fire fight to heal you.
The first game was a mess of glitches that at times resulted in your character begin trapped inside of objects and the like. The second AOT has a much higher level of polish and game breaking glitches seem to be nonexistent.
Overall, Army of Two: The 40th Day is a solid third person shooter and a good co-op game if not a little repetitive and bland.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worse than the first

posted by aniketic (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Cameras are awkward, frequently obstructive

Controls are jittery, layout on paddle non-sensible

Unbalanced game play, difficulty spikes and crests inexplicably

In-game cut scenes cannot be skipped

Customization options often border absurdist or poor in quality

Sound is grating

Reviving your partner often involves an obligatory "grab, drag, pause and turn" before actually beginning the healing process.

Ludicrous AI spawns

Best played with the dumb-as-a-brick AI partner; a real one is a sure fire way to get into a fistfight that night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

what happend here??? tsk tsk

posted by deathgamer (OSAWATOMIE, KS) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

OK let me tell you this first of dont buy this game it was fun but not fun enough to keep I personally did not like it at all compared to the first game this one... lets just say I wish they hadnt have made it the cameras are screwed AI sucks healing was making me mad so i decided to stop playing before i broke the game and had to pay for it but others may like it rent at own risk and you kow the games bad if you want to take it out and play the first one again instead of it
I'm sorry but its only getting a 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, but not excellent.

posted by imarc3g (El Paso, TX) Jan 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

The action pace is good, the amount of weapons and upgrading is fun. But weapons do not feel real when shooting, a la MW2. Enemy AI, is dumb, you can stand next to them, and they would not see or notice you. thats dumb. Every weapon feels the same when shooting. I was hoping that online was good, but it ain't. graphics, get bad and ugly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak attempt to enhance Ao2

posted by CipherHax (RALEIGH, NC) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It appears the creators decided to drastically alter the playability of this new sequel.

- Camera angles are over the shoulder now, instead of having a 360 degree vantage point. Easy to get camera stuck into a wall when evading enemy fire. Easy for enemy to kill you, even if you can't see them.

- Gave blind fire a more realistic mechanic, no longer can get cross hairs and also the shots are more sweeping.

- Allow weapon modification whenever not in combat - Good. Locking many upgrades, even with sufficient funds and buying lower upgrades - BAD!!!!

- They did install some new group decision mechanics which alters money and which route the players take. (assassinating contacts, etc.) This is an ok attempt to change things up.

This gets a weak rating, as I would much rather go back to normal Ao2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fhfkfyyuygygg6190744646475556465678876433335566754

posted by 202531 (PUEBLO, CO) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

you forgot my new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Impressed

posted by scarfaic (NORRISTOWN, PA) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I couldnt get into this game. The first one was alright, but looking back, I cant even remember the story of it so it must not have been that fantastic. Games like Metal Gear Solid will always be in your head because how deep the story is, but this series? Forgettable.

I'm going to be honest. I havent even played the game for more than an hour, but thus far? I am really un-impressed by it. Lackluster combat system, last-gen graphics, some bad voice acting all make this game a horror story for me.

In my book, this is the exact kind of game I like staying away from. Maybe some people think this kind of game is acceptable these days but I dont. These days, video games can offer a lot more than just mindless shooting and stabbing with some crazy random jubmled story. Just look at games like Heavy Rain or Drakes Fortune. Both prime examples of great story and gameplay.

So as I see it? This game isn't even worth the slot it uses up when you rent it. You could definitly have something better in it. I would reccommend this to nobody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it could be better

posted by JokerJon00 (MOKENA, IL) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game is good but not the best.i have this game and the first but when i got this one i almost beat it in 2 hours!it has a very short story line but interesting.Online is like eating a ice cream cone compared to MW2.Online is 2 on 2 on 2 on 2 on 2.[maybe a little more].So i say one of the best things about this game is you can create a mask for the game.So over all, i would say you should rent this game before buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not SO great.

posted by rem870wing (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

shouldve been better. MORE developement time. poor controls and movement. thank god i rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

its a bad game

posted by nokester (ROANOKE, VA) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 20 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

it not evern worth playing the story is stupid and very easy and the online is wack but the graphics is good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun but uneven- bring a friend

posted by Gamer_Guy (MURFREESBORO, TN) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

While this is an entertaining game with solid mechanics and great sound design, random difficulty spikes and muddy textures hold the game back. A live co-op partner can be useful with the aforementioned difficulty spikes, so bring a friend. The story is nonsensical, but I was having so much fun I didn't care most of the time. This is still the weakest installment in the series, however. Worth a rent, probably not a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok…but mechanics are out dated

posted by tpain07 (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

The game is ok. But, to new comers to this franchise may be off put by the control layout and clunky character transitions.

Story: A little bit cliché. But, action lovers may find this appealing. Tons of strategic gunplay battles but leaves you wanting more but never lives up to the standards you set ahead of time.

Gameplay: Clunky transitions, Weird A.I movement.

If you’re feeling a action shooter game. This maybe something that will hold you over until the next big shooter comes along then go for it. As for a peek into new innovation and shooting gameplay I would say pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun fun fun

posted by Le22az (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this was a fun game just goofing off kicking people butts making your own gun and mask

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

being a juggernaut+your beautifuly crafted wepons

posted by Kratos_man (SEFFNER, FL) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

the game Bigist + is crafting ur personal wepon i was useing a granda loncher the 6 toob chamber kined with a shot gun under neath if ther medim rang boom and if close bame kick a ss

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Jimmytang34's Review (AO2: Fortyth Day)

posted by jimmytang34 (KENOSHA, WI) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

I rated the game an 8. My reason for rating it an 8, is because to me, I liked the game. This is what I liked about the game; it had great action, Co-op desisions and consequences were added, a good amount of realism was added, Humor came into play from time to time, weapon customization, and the options to disrespect, and respect your co-partner. There were some specifics about the game I didn't like. The Weapon Customization was great, It's just I didn't like the way that most of the attachments didn't really matter. The Action was great, but from time to time. I felt like I was doing the same thing over and over again. I began to lose interest in the game after I reached a certain point. But Overall, I like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tasty if it's your cup of tea

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jan 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

Enjoyable coop. Graphically interesting in regard to its storyline. Solo AI a bit dumb. Repetitive enemies. If you want military-based coop, outstanding. If you prefer a sandbox, no. Nothing surprising. Nothing too disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

old

posted by btownjoe (BRADFORD, RI) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

this game has a ps2 kinda feel to it the game play is stale and old..the camera angles suck and you running around half the time not knowing what you are suppose to be doing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as the original but still great game

posted by SilentHillSF (JANESVILLE, WI) Jul 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The game a suprisingly dull story with no real twist and nothing to really keep me going....but this is all one great, extremely addictive co-op game....the combat is enough to keep you going...but don't look here for a good story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Army of Two Review...

posted by Gamefreak91 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I downloaded a demo of this game thought the demo was pretty rad. Put it on my Que, I was in for a surprise the originiality of gameplay. Customizing real time weaponry. Taking screw drivers and soda cans for silencers and bayonets. Scraps of junk for a gun stock. Millons of Dollars to Loot and unlock cool Weapons. and customizables. Game play i say is about a 8 out of 10 Im playing this for the first time on contractor. I have spent countless hours trying to get past levels where The big MOFO with the MINIGUN And FULL ARMOR come out in shanghai streets. I tried ordering rios to make a distraction with a mounted gun while i try to flank. but he hopps off the gun to catch up to me automatically and gets ripped a new one and i have from there 15 20 seconds to save him before I must restart. Every time. Hours of time spent. Im deffinently putting this game back on my Que I love the Challenge the story is pretty long and there are alot of unlockables just in single player. IM going to have to check out the multiplayer side of this game online.... see you gamers on the stixx

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Army of Two Forty Days

posted by zfirenite (LOVELAND, CO) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is quite fun in my opinion. Campaign is wide scale. The mult player is hard and you need skills to stick close to partner and help them out. It is a challenging game at the end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

So much worse than the first one.

posted by tommysalami (DOYLESTOWN, PA) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Like the title says, the 40th day is worse than the first one. They ruined so many things in this game. It shouldn't be so difficult if I am on the easiest difficulty. It should take me 20 shots in the head for me to die if I am on the easiest difficulty. But it seems like I die in a few hits and that's it. Slow loading times as well (counting for every time I die). Poor game. Doesn't even come close to the first one. Didn't even finish this horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Army of Two 40 Day

posted by lebrontaylor (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Oct 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Good story line. Great co op game.
Bad: Short game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just what I thought it would be.

posted by jeremypacot (ANAHEIM, CA) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This is an FPS. its fun to play but it has nothing super special about it. It is just a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not a big fan

posted by epracine (RUTLAND, VT) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

over all a great game. i dont care for the game play and i dislike the camera angle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse