Rent Army of Two: The 40th Day for PS3
view large frontback

Army of Two: The 40th Day

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

5975 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Coop's back!

posted by Criggz (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

52 out of 55 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

And you don't even need friends to experience it! How awesome it that?! . . . .

Right. So, anyway. I've only played through some of the campaign in Solo mode, but that's good enough at the moment. I can tell you already that this game is far more polished than its predecessor, with less "on-rails" movement, more dependability on your partner, better graphics, more coop actions and, of course, awesome customizations of a HUGE arsenal of weaponry.

You can do more than slap on one or two accessories and a ridiculous shield. The shield returns, but also MANY different barrels, silencers (soda can silencer, lol), muzzles, enhancers, scopes, cartridges, bayonets, shotgun/grenade launcher add-ons, and much much more. They added new skins for weapons, from arctic all the way to the favorable "pimped". You can even make your grenades gold and diamond encrusted! It's tons of fun.

Aside from that the gameplay is solid. Feels more realistic (aside from some occasional clipping, it's forgivable). Firefights are much more exciting. Pretty much everything from the first game was improved on.

A definite must have for Coop fanatics and third person/shooter lovers in general. Grab a friend and have some fun. A definite buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Showing some love.

posted by Lathru (NEWBERG, OR) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played this game with a friend of mine a few times through. We gold plate our guns for laughs and run around to watch the basque in the firelight.

I will say that the coop you find in this game is rather awesome...especially considering that it seem coop is dying off. (RIP) :(

This game threw me for a loop when it introduced 2 characters that use a basis of coop play with or without a second player. This provides alot of enjoyment and control over the battlefield. I was also really happy to see that if you do something stupid (like hug a guy with a grenade launcher) you don't immediately die giving your partner a chance to save you. There were alot of great features in this game in my opinion, but there is one thing that made me a bit sad... it wasn't long enough. I felt the urge to rush out and rent the first game and liked that one almost as much.

I am throwing out a plea to the creators...make another one with a longer game span! And please remember to keep the car door as a shield!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What a difference!!

posted by Gamecreep (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just finished this game and all I have to say is that it was a major improvement over the original. Where the original lacked (and it lacked alot) the 40th day made up for in a big way. The aiming was near perfect, the weapon upgrade system was revamped and we were even given choices to make moral/immoral decisions which gave you a little more control over the decisions you made as a team. All in all EA really seemed to listen to their audience and made a real gem here. Let's hope that if there is a 3rd game, which the ending seems to hint at a sequel than the 3rd time will be the charm and be even better. I highly reccommend this one. Nice job EA!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever!!!

posted by giovanni (DECATUR, AR) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome! its amazing how you have so many different items to choose from, mainly guns. but i like guns.. co op games are my new kinda favorite game.. this easily rates a 9 or 10.. you can do just about everything in it. you can pick up every gun that your enemy has. i recommend this to anyone that loves shooter games. this is the best shooter game ive played in a while...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Army of two tfd

posted by jimyjamjoe (BELLEVILLE, IL) Feb 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like an action packed game with suprises around every corner, than this is the game for you. Civilan situations,good or bad choices,and a bunch of guns to choose from and coustomise. Although the story line didn't have much to it unlike the first one. The multiplayer is pretty bad also. But i'd still recomend getting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great for co-op, not so much for 1-player

posted by shuda424 (EVANSTON, IL) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played it in single player mode, was not very good. I can see how this game would be great in 2-player mode, especially if playing with a buddy right next to you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Enjoyable Game

posted by neilc621 (TORRANCE, CA) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While playing Ao2: 40th Day I was happy to continue the storyline and fun 3rd person shooter, Ao2. And though the game had some problems (glitches, occasional lagging), I found me and my brother loving the gameplay. The multiplayer has a very creative, fun theme, focusing on co-op as Ao2 always has. What surprises me is that the game is fun even after finishing, due to the morality choices ingame. Here are my opinions:

Multiplayer: 9/10

Graphics: 8/10

Smoothness: 8/10

Replay: 10/10

Leaving me with an average of about 9/10. This game is definitely a game worth your rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Army of Two: The 40th Day

posted by holyshot24 (WINTER HAVEN, FL) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think it was a great game loved graphics, gameplay, and story. There is one thing i found bad the stages seemed to go on and on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wonderful Game

posted by WickedJ (GALVESTON, TX) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game. I played both solo and with my father, the co-op is probly the best out there, in the fact that you almost have to work together to get things done. most co-op shooters can have 1 good player cary the other. this you both have to know how to play to get things done.
When playing solo the partner AI is just as good if not better than the player so ur not having to drag around a useless partner the whole time.
The fact you can be good or evil is pretty aweome though i felt it wasnt as deep as they could have gone.
the wep upgrades were great in the fact that you buy 1 part it fits every gun. But the pimped skin lacked greatly. in the first one each gun had a different feel that made you just want to but it in 40th day they were all gold n silver.

i overall loved the game played it over and over with friends and would recommened it to any gamer who playes a shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!!!!!!!!!!

posted by ilovebmx (WINTER HAVEN, FL) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game Is Way Better Than The First One, The Graphics Are Way Better, And So Are The Gun's.
{THIS GAME IS THE BEST!]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

10

posted by james1966 (CLEVELAND, TN) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

a grate game to paly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great 2 Player game

posted by Margyb (ELLSWORTH AFB, SD) Sep 17, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love it Me and my husband love playing war games together and this a great one The option you have to change weapons and customize them is great also you have time to save your partner befor he dies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Army of Two my first`

posted by zargot (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well not having played the first game I went kinda blind into this game. It was pretty fun paying the storyline, kinda generic weapons and missions but then my friend came over an picked up a controller. The game was instantly transformed into a great piece of work! despite the split screen we managed to paly through the game 2 times we enjoyed it so much. It was such a blast to play with a friend through the campaign mode on this game. Smooth and seamless we were able to work together to progress through the levels and some of the harder bosses. The story was pretty bad but offered a few chuckles. Control worked pretty good and it was fun ebing able to design your own clothing and mask. On the flip side the online multiplayer wasnt so good, didnt spend more than a few hours with nit before I called it quits. All in all if you are looking for a great co-op game for you and a buddy this is the GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Above average shooter

posted by Metoo999 (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros: Lively environments and excellent graphics - there's usually debris flying around or some building falling, good gunplay, co-op is a lot of fun to play when you can find someone, voice acting is decent. Morality choices have interesting "flash-forward" outcomes depending on what you choose.

Cons: The graphics in building explosions can look cheap and blocky. Story is a bit abysmal, not very exciting, aiming is difficult - I can't pin down why even after adjusting options, maybe framerate? Speaking of framerate, it can get bad and interfere a lot; sound design is not very good and you can't adjust voices, background music, etc. Sometimes the game will glitch and the gunfire and other effects will go soft until you reload the next level.

Due to the game being out for half a year, the online for the main campaign is disappointingly empty. You have to seek out players on the Web. The campaign difficulty spikes in the last chapter. The last two areas of the game are especially cheap. Constant pouring out of enemies. Thankfully, there's no trophy for beating it on Normal, so I set it to Casual and let my blood pressure go back to normal. Too many enemies in general. It's like they knew their levels were small and linear, so they put in twice as many enemies as they needed, like the first Uncharted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by estoyhi (BLADENSBURG, MD) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game. Of course its meant for co-op and thats exactly how I played it along with my next door neighbor who is a good friend of mine. I got to say the enemies did have good AI and it was a fun game that my friend and I enjoyed. I would recommend this to others for rent but for me its not really a buyer.(just my thought) it does have couple extras but I didn't really bother I just stuck with the mission.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

playing with a friend hasnt been this fun

posted by StoryJudge (FLORENCE, TX) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

if you are looking for a good split screen game, here one is. if you are anykind of gun nut, here is a game for you. this game iis about two friends that are mercinaries. this game's story is the classic "wrong place, wrong time". the team work is solid. you can fiegn death, mock surrender, and get aggro. the shooting elements are all there. the gun custamizing is the cherry on the frosting. it makes it easy to costamize, if you know what you are doing. at first you may get lost in all the berrals, scopes, grips, shock absorbers and more. but once youve got it, you can make a pimped (literally, you can get the color as pimp where its solid gold and silver) out machine gun with a riot shield and a mini shotgun attached to the end. the story isnt all there. and the game is relitivly short. but worth it.
FR: all in all, it is worth it. unless you are a gun nut and like to get every gun and get all custamizations for them, rent it for sure. but if you are a gun nut, buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tatal Fist bump awesomeness

posted by Alteron (OTTUMWA, IA) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved the original army of two game, but this one was even better. Sure, there are areas where they could have done better; but I love the idea of two guys taking on entire armies by themselves. This Game is definetly worth a try, especially if you loved the original like I did

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by tonyasone (DETROIT, MI) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game has a lot of action and a great story line. This is a great game for those who love Coop games, as well. I truly love the graphics and have not been able to stop playing since I got it! This one is a keeper for sure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EXCELLENT

posted by db1980 (DAMASCUS, MD) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Army of two never lets you down. I played solo and I just couldn't stop playing it. I played co-op and had a blast. I will probably rent this game again.

The characters are excellent and look great. Your opponents are exactly what they should be (killers). The best part of the game are the real killers with there big guns and blow torchs. Play the game and you'll have no regrets.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!

posted by misterdk2 (KYLE, TX) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this is the first game i rented when i got my PS3 and i must say i made a great choice! love the way you can customize weapons and upgrade your ammo, as well as the silencers. i've played solo and online and haven't been disappointed yet. it is kinda short though, and you can't skip through the cut scenes, but overall a great game! i would definitely recommend it....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is sick!

posted by ksboutbiz (BRONX, NY) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dont play many shooter games. This one had me captivated from the beginning. Sick sick sick. lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty cool

posted by DWIZZY79 (WESTLAND, MI) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I read some reviews that made me wanna take this game off my list, but I gave it a chance. The action was interesting and fun, but the story wasn't really gripping the co-op was cool. Good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I am impressed!

posted by NateIsCool (RUMFORD, RI) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like the morale put into this one, makes me wonder which way someone of my likes should go. I like the money drops as it should have been in the first game. What disapoints me is those big guys with a grenade launcher/minigun/flamethrower. Really, I wasted my RPG rockets on them and they weren't even hurt. Good game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

worth playing

posted by sanfermin (ALPHARETTA, GA) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this is a pretty good game. definately worth playing. the weapons are goodand the gameplay is fine. i do like the way the heads come off with a headshot. thats always nice. the missions are interesting, and i had a goood time playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

History repeats itself

posted by banekrayt (WACO, TX) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

ok this game is good. ill go ahead and get that out of the way. its almost exactly like the first one. i was under the impression that this game was going to far exceed the previous one but i was wrong. they added some small innovations like sprinting and weapon customization whenever you want but overall its almost the same as the first one. its a good rent and youll have tons of fun for a couple of weeks but i suggest that you keep it that way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse