Rent Army of Two: The 40th Day for PS3
view large frontback

Army of Two: The 40th Day

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

5972 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Yuckk :(

posted by Jswaqq (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Didnt Like The Game, Was Sent To The Mailbox The Same Day It Got To Me. This Is A Third Person Shooter! I HATE Third Person Shooter Games! I Like First Person BETTER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mediocrity and Invisible T-Shirts

posted by Derp2derp (PALM HARBOR, FL) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Army of Two : 40th Day is probably the worst game that i've played in years. I enjoyed the first one, but this game is just awful. There's not a single redeeming thing about it. The graphics are muddy, the characters look and act like imbeciles, the weapons are all the same, the customization is ridiculous, the animations are some of the worst i've seen (especially the melee ones), and the level layouts are awful and boring. I am so incredibly disappointed by this game.

I believe that there is fun to be had in this game, detailed in the list below :

- If you've ever wondered what an AK-47 would look like with a G36 Stock and an M4 barrel, you can amuse yourself for 30 seconds with this game.
- Play as Salem and press the melee button while moving forward. His "One - Two Punch" looks like he's trying to put an invisible shirt on. I actually burst out laughing.
- This game has Bayonets. The animations look choppy and awful, but, hey, the game has bayonets. There's never a downside to sticking a knife on the end of your gun.

That's it.

I played this game the same day I received it in the mail and it was back in the mailbox before sundown.

I hate you, EA Montreal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

army of two 40th day

posted by AirCooled (SPOKANE, WA) Apr 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

controls for this game sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

army of two sucks now!

posted by sgrdady122 (BELTON, MO) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

The first army of two was awesome! The 40th day is horrible! you have to click to switch what side the camera's view is on while your getting shot to bits(lack of a word that isn't "problematic) by a bunch of guys. to much camera angle switching and not enough straight up killing! you guys destroyed a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

army of two

posted by eazyE123 (REDDING, CA) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

it is boring, it is too easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

its a bad game

posted by nokester (ROANOKE, VA) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 20 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

it not evern worth playing the story is stupid and very easy and the online is wack but the graphics is good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

old

posted by btownjoe (BRADFORD, RI) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

this game has a ps2 kinda feel to it the game play is stale and old..the camera angles suck and you running around half the time not knowing what you are suppose to be doing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

So much worse than the first one.

posted by tommysalami (DOYLESTOWN, PA) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Like the title says, the 40th day is worse than the first one. They ruined so many things in this game. It shouldn't be so difficult if I am on the easiest difficulty. It should take me 20 shots in the head for me to die if I am on the easiest difficulty. But it seems like I die in a few hits and that's it. Slow loading times as well (counting for every time I die). Poor game. Doesn't even come close to the first one. Didn't even finish this horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

45 Minutes of my life...gone

posted by mongoslade (CHICAGO, IL) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

I just didn't like anything about this game. The controls are ridiculous. The GPS didn't stay on for more than 10 seconds, so you have to keep hitting that to keep it onscreen. It doesn't even look that good. I'd have to assume the 2-player version is better, because this stinks as a one player game. I got it last night and it was in the mail this morning. I'm usually alot more patient, but I didn't see any reason to continue playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

two thumbs down

posted by notgreat1 (ARLINGTON, VA) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I was expecting something much better than this. If you like games where you are basically doing the same thing over and over again against AIs that are horrible, then this is the game for you. Unfortunately it was a big let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

al least a step up from original

posted by sockit2me (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jan 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2009

I like the new mechanics and all but the story still not as good. I'm not drawn to this game, its lucky I gave it a 2 I would givt it something much lower , horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Army of Two: The 40th Day

posted by xcookie69x (CINCINNATI, OH) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Tha games story was ok till the last chapter then it when crazy, the storyline was bad, I give this game a 3!
The online was alright but there or to meany people that are gliching, so that was not every fun!
I did like the gun set up, also the maskes!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

bla

posted by ToadOfCaos (MORAGA, CA) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

k seriously this game does not live up to the first one at all (oh look mommy that building is falling into pieces, kinda like when i broke the chandelier) and then you have to run around and complete the SAME DARNED TASKS OVER AND OVER AGAIN. a neat new add would be that they give you cchoices that lead to interesting little cartoon fliks, but beside that, samo samo. good play... one time around.

Question:
- the guy says the nuke will go off, but i killed the sucker and no nuke went off... uhhhh what?

go rent something like fable. at least you'll enjoy getting some down time in a village, or kicking chickens in frustration at how your gf sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Frustrating experience

posted by farlander (SADDLE BROOK, NJ) Feb 3, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

This is yet another example of a game ruined by stupid decisions. The most frustrating part of the game is not even that you will die many times every time you encounter a boss, it's how the game will reload a checkpoint after that. Every boss battle us preceded by a completely pointless cut scene that carries absolutely no meaning and is simply showing the boss from various angles for almost a minute. This cut scene is unskippable. Add to that the fact that tha latest checkpoint was a couple of minutes ago - and you have a game that you'll probably stop playing after a few repeated attempts to beat the first boss.

I'm really glad I didn't waste $60 on it and rented it instead.

From a technical standpoint the game looks fairly good. Performance of the ps3 version is surprisingly smooth.

The game features some sort of a morality gauge, but what's the point of it, if there is a point, is unknown to me, since I stopped playing after having spent about 1 hour reloading, getting to the boss point and watching the stupid video sequence, and then dying. Lather, rinse, repeat.

I don't know why so many developers are making their games so annoying :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worse than the first

posted by aniketic (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Cameras are awkward, frequently obstructive

Controls are jittery, layout on paddle non-sensible

Unbalanced game play, difficulty spikes and crests inexplicably

In-game cut scenes cannot be skipped

Customization options often border absurdist or poor in quality

Sound is grating

Reviving your partner often involves an obligatory "grab, drag, pause and turn" before actually beginning the healing process.

Ludicrous AI spawns

Best played with the dumb-as-a-brick AI partner; a real one is a sure fire way to get into a fistfight that night.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Shining Oppurtunities fall short

posted by Obrusnine (TONAWANDA, NY) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Now, this game had oppurtunity. The plan for this game was solid, but the implmentation was flawed. Why you may ask? Well, for a couple of things.

Incomprehensible Story: The story is completely over the top and crazy. Not to mention that you can never really tell what the HECK is going on.

Shotty Controls: The controls are absolutely terrible and unresponsive. The HUD is also poorly designed. You cannot expect any current generation third-person shooter to control like this. It's very hard to do anything.

No Subtitles: Really? No subtitles? This really seems like a small complaint, but it isn't. When the people on the game are talking, the talk like they are whispering, and at most times, they are completely drowned out by explosions and other sound effects. Anyways, what title these day's doesn't have subtitles? Why don't you people consider the deaf!?

Poor Multiplayer: The Multiplayer modes themselves are a good idea, but other players are like frigen juggernauts. You have WAYYYY to much health and it is very hard to actually take somebody down. Not to mention that the voice chat is glitchy as heck and the servers suck.

Boring Characters: The characters are boring, and actually are sometimes REALLY annoying. These people you play as don't actually seem like people. They are completely over the top and stupid. Look... I can't even find a word to describe it.

Overall, this game had great oppurtunities. The Co-Op Ideas are are great, but poorly implemented. If this game had the things it was missing, it would be a pretty decent game. Overall, this is one of the worst games EA has ever published, and could've been a lot better if the developers weren't half asleep while making it. Hopefully, they fix the mistakes in the next entry. But until then, this game is hardly worth a rent. If you want to play a real shooter with solid Co-Op, try Uncharted 2 or something, because this just isn't worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

the end of an army SPOILER ALERT

posted by ninjamon (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

when army of two first came out i was not inspired to play it but i did and thouroly enjoyed it it had a great story line and good game play so i was exited to play the sequel the 40th day after beating the game i was thourly dissapionted first their were no subtitles wich waS inconvinent second the fact that their is morality choces really threw me off and the ending if you chose the posotive choice was sad and pathetic fact of the matter is it was a complete letdown plus almost all the characters from the first game were killed of and all the character voices were changed all in all i was very dissapointed and let down but comming from EA i an some how not suprised this game had a lot of potential but failed the only redeming factor is that the gameplay is fonaminal and the game did have some inprovements to the first still like the title suggests EA killed this game franchise and if they come out with a third army of two i will be suprised, goodbye army of two well miss you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Co-op

posted by DarthFox (ARLINGTON, TX) May 9, 2010

Member since May 2010

Just to let people know if you plan on playing this game co-op on the same screen, the only option for split-screen is vertical, unlike the first game which was horizontal.
My friend and I literally stopped playing the game because of this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Impressed

posted by scarfaic (NORRISTOWN, PA) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I couldnt get into this game. The first one was alright, but looking back, I cant even remember the story of it so it must not have been that fantastic. Games like Metal Gear Solid will always be in your head because how deep the story is, but this series? Forgettable.

I'm going to be honest. I havent even played the game for more than an hour, but thus far? I am really un-impressed by it. Lackluster combat system, last-gen graphics, some bad voice acting all make this game a horror story for me.

In my book, this is the exact kind of game I like staying away from. Maybe some people think this kind of game is acceptable these days but I dont. These days, video games can offer a lot more than just mindless shooting and stabbing with some crazy random jubmled story. Just look at games like Heavy Rain or Drakes Fortune. Both prime examples of great story and gameplay.

So as I see it? This game isn't even worth the slot it uses up when you rent it. You could definitly have something better in it. I would reccommend this to nobody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Army of two40th day

posted by hititalday (TRENTON, NJ) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Too short!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as good as expected!

posted by Cobra7 (EL PASO, TX) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game is pretty good as far as graphics and all the gun customization is concerned but it needs a lot of work. I played the game in single player and it was pretty frustrating. The AI is just stupid to be honest. Your buddy will walk right out into a firefight in some cases and get himself killed. If you are going to get this game make sure you have a buddy who can play with you because you are just going to upset yourself if you play it by yourself with the AI. I didn't even finish the campaign with how frustrated I got.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak attempt to enhance Ao2

posted by CipherHax (RALEIGH, NC) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It appears the creators decided to drastically alter the playability of this new sequel.

- Camera angles are over the shoulder now, instead of having a 360 degree vantage point. Easy to get camera stuck into a wall when evading enemy fire. Easy for enemy to kill you, even if you can't see them.

- Gave blind fire a more realistic mechanic, no longer can get cross hairs and also the shots are more sweeping.

- Allow weapon modification whenever not in combat - Good. Locking many upgrades, even with sufficient funds and buying lower upgrades - BAD!!!!

- They did install some new group decision mechanics which alters money and which route the players take. (assassinating contacts, etc.) This is an ok attempt to change things up.

This gets a weak rating, as I would much rather go back to normal Ao2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very short, nothing new.

posted by Csears20 (COCOA, FL) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

First off, I rented this game because a friend and I had a lot of fun playing the first Army of Two. From the start, I felt like I was waiting for it to get better but there was only a couple of minor exciting points. The story line is 2nd rate and if you did play the first one...there is nothing new. The only upside to this game is that the gun customization is still fun. On the downside, the game is too short for you to really get the enjoyment of purchasing your guns. Don't get me wrong, it still is a fun rental. But, keyword "rental"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not SO great.

posted by rem870wing (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

shouldve been better. MORE developement time. poor controls and movement. thank god i rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Its OK

posted by KarimZ (DORAL, FL) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

SOOOOOOOO MANY GLITCHES!!!

me and my friend played the whole game on hard to get the trophy and when we beat it we didnt even get the one for beating it on any difficulty, later we replayed the game on easy to get sum trophies dun and it the hard trophy popped up at the end of ch 3????!!!!

Guns are wierd too

AK with a m4 barrel and a sniper scope with a soda can silencer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse