Rent Army of Two: The 40th Day for PS3
view large frontback

Army of Two: The 40th Day

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

5972 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Army of Two: The 40th Day

posted by deeparker703 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) May 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is a fast pace,action game that keeps you on the edge of you seat. A must play game. Two play co ops are the greatest. By far one of the best 1st play or co op game ever....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I am impressed!

posted by NateIsCool (RUMFORD, RI) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like the morale put into this one, makes me wonder which way someone of my likes should go. I like the money drops as it should have been in the first game. What disapoints me is those big guys with a grenade launcher/minigun/flamethrower. Really, I wasted my RPG rockets on them and they weren't even hurt. Good game though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heard of the miz:AWSOME

posted by rexy8971 (LEWISVILLE, TX) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS VERY COOL I CANT BELIVE WHEN YOU LOSE AT ROCK PAPER SCISSORS HE DOES THE MIDDLE FINGER LOL. I CANT BELIVE WITH THE SINPER SOME PISTOLS AND SOME MACHINE GUNS IT TAKES OFF THERE HEAD BUT BEWERE THIS NOT FOR LITTLE KIDS IT HAS SO MUCH BLOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever!!!

posted by giovanni (DECATUR, AR) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome! its amazing how you have so many different items to choose from, mainly guns. but i like guns.. co op games are my new kinda favorite game.. this easily rates a 9 or 10.. you can do just about everything in it. you can pick up every gun that your enemy has. i recommend this to anyone that loves shooter games. this is the best shooter game ive played in a while...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome!!!!!!!!!!

posted by ilovebmx (WINTER HAVEN, FL) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game Is Way Better Than The First One, The Graphics Are Way Better, And So Are The Gun's.
{THIS GAME IS THE BEST!]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great 2 Player game

posted by Margyb (ELLSWORTH AFB, SD) Sep 17, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love it Me and my husband love playing war games together and this a great one The option you have to change weapons and customize them is great also you have time to save your partner befor he dies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fhfkfyyuygygg6190744646475556465678876433335566754

posted by 202531 (PUEBLO, CO) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

you forgot my new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tatal Fist bump awesomeness

posted by Alteron (OTTUMWA, IA) Jun 4, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved the original army of two game, but this one was even better. Sure, there are areas where they could have done better; but I love the idea of two guys taking on entire armies by themselves. This Game is definetly worth a try, especially if you loved the original like I did

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is sick

posted by ofirek (PORTSMOUTH, RI) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game is sick the graphics are really clean and lots of cool explosions and death occrus. The Co-op mode is fun to play with your friends and the campaign solo is fun i thought it was more exciting then the MW2 caimpaign. Not to mention the weapons you can get in the game are insane and there is tons of upgrades for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by beebe9 (GERMANTOWN, TN) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Fun game would play it over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GREAT GAME!

posted by misterdk2 (KYLE, TX) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this is the first game i rented when i got my PS3 and i must say i made a great choice! love the way you can customize weapons and upgrade your ammo, as well as the silencers. i've played solo and online and haven't been disappointed yet. it is kinda short though, and you can't skip through the cut scenes, but overall a great game! i would definitely recommend it....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EXCELLENT

posted by db1980 (DAMASCUS, MD) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Army of two never lets you down. I played solo and I just couldn't stop playing it. I played co-op and had a blast. I will probably rent this game again.

The characters are excellent and look great. Your opponents are exactly what they should be (killers). The best part of the game are the real killers with there big guns and blow torchs. Play the game and you'll have no regrets.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

onlne gameplay kills it!!!

posted by jtodd321 (SAN DIMAS, CA) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

The campaign is a 7 solo and and 8 co-op but its the online play that makes this game amazing. I have been unable to find a co-op game that enables split screen at home with one PS3. Every other multiplayer game requires multiple systems. Finally Army of Two gets it right. If you have a friend who is good at shooters like yourself rent this and dominate online together!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by tonyasone (DETROIT, MI) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

20 out of 24 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game has a lot of action and a great story line. This is a great game for those who love Coop games, as well. I truly love the graphics and have not been able to stop playing since I got it! This one is a keeper for sure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Army of Two Review...

posted by Gamefreak91 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I downloaded a demo of this game thought the demo was pretty rad. Put it on my Que, I was in for a surprise the originiality of gameplay. Customizing real time weaponry. Taking screw drivers and soda cans for silencers and bayonets. Scraps of junk for a gun stock. Millons of Dollars to Loot and unlock cool Weapons. and customizables. Game play i say is about a 8 out of 10 Im playing this for the first time on contractor. I have spent countless hours trying to get past levels where The big MOFO with the MINIGUN And FULL ARMOR come out in shanghai streets. I tried ordering rios to make a distraction with a mounted gun while i try to flank. but he hopps off the gun to catch up to me automatically and gets ripped a new one and i have from there 15 20 seconds to save him before I must restart. Every time. Hours of time spent. Im deffinently putting this game back on my Que I love the Challenge the story is pretty long and there are alot of unlockables just in single player. IM going to have to check out the multiplayer side of this game online.... see you gamers on the stixx

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by Meka775 (RENO, NV) May 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

The first game I actually played and beat twice one as one character the second time as the other. Good story action and can customize weapons on the go to your style. Would of bought it but wasn't given option to keep. So will have to try a game store worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better then I expected.

posted by NitroMidgets (CIBOLO, TX) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

If you want a single player game where your team mate is actually helpful then this would be the game for you. In split screen single player the campaign is a nice length with plenty of shooting unlike many of the other shooters out there like Killzone 3 or Medal of Honor who had the 5hr campaign length. You can customize your armor as well as your weapons but the weapon customization is much more in depth. I never played the first game but the story was easy enough to follow that it flowed well. The online play was addicting as you had competitive play and the cooperative play against what was essentially swarms of enemy. The cooperative was interesting as you needed all four people to cooperate otherwise you ran the risk of failing. I used to own this game but it was enough fun to put it on gamefly to rent so that I could play it again with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Enjoyable Game

posted by neilc621 (TORRANCE, CA) Dec 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While playing Ao2: 40th Day I was happy to continue the storyline and fun 3rd person shooter, Ao2. And though the game had some problems (glitches, occasional lagging), I found me and my brother loving the gameplay. The multiplayer has a very creative, fun theme, focusing on co-op as Ao2 always has. What surprises me is that the game is fun even after finishing, due to the morality choices ingame. Here are my opinions:

Multiplayer: 9/10

Graphics: 8/10

Smoothness: 8/10

Replay: 10/10

Leaving me with an average of about 9/10. This game is definitely a game worth your rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What a difference!!

posted by Gamecreep (ELMWOOD PARK, IL) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I just finished this game and all I have to say is that it was a major improvement over the original. Where the original lacked (and it lacked alot) the 40th day made up for in a big way. The aiming was near perfect, the weapon upgrade system was revamped and we were even given choices to make moral/immoral decisions which gave you a little more control over the decisions you made as a team. All in all EA really seemed to listen to their audience and made a real gem here. Let's hope that if there is a 3rd game, which the ending seems to hint at a sequel than the 3rd time will be the charm and be even better. I highly reccommend this one. Nice job EA!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

10

posted by james1966 (CLEVELAND, TN) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

a grate game to paly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EA did good!

posted by Bworthy (PAWTUCKET, RI) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

Loved the first AOT but little did I know it was going to get bigger, better and more intense. Definitely worth every cent. Very high replaying ability. Online is sick!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wonderful game!!

posted by jayjayswif (SAVANNAH, GA) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

This game is awesome. Rather you are playing alone, online or with a partner, this game is awesome. The visual effects are great and it's a challenge. Everything makes sense and it's just easier than most games to maneuver and the 3rd person view is awesome. I would definitely recommend this game if you are a person who likes shooter games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

nice follow up

posted by 311brodel (LINCOLN, NE) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Love the game the customizing is pretty sweet. Only complaint I have with the game is that you can't adjust audio settings. I like being able to just hear game play and not music blaring in the background, but that's just me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Showing some love.

posted by Lathru (NEWBERG, OR) Mar 30, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played this game with a friend of mine a few times through. We gold plate our guns for laughs and run around to watch the basque in the firelight.

I will say that the coop you find in this game is rather awesome...especially considering that it seem coop is dying off. (RIP) :(

This game threw me for a loop when it introduced 2 characters that use a basis of coop play with or without a second player. This provides alot of enjoyment and control over the battlefield. I was also really happy to see that if you do something stupid (like hug a guy with a grenade launcher) you don't immediately die giving your partner a chance to save you. There were alot of great features in this game in my opinion, but there is one thing that made me a bit sad... it wasn't long enough. I felt the urge to rush out and rent the first game and liked that one almost as much.

I am throwing out a plea to the creators...make another one with a longer game span! And please remember to keep the car door as a shield!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by jwink1985 (CHERRYVALE, KS) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game does have alot of action and a good story line like said before and its hard to stop playing this game its extremely addicting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse