Rent Armored Core V for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Armored Core V

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.0

966 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

One step forward-Two steps back.

posted by classiccoke250 (LACEY, WA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I really liked AC:FA which is why this game is a huge let down, it's nothing like it. Armored Core 5 feels like a step back and here's why:

Pros:Better Customization that AC:FA
Better Online Modes Than AC:FA

Cons: Story is short and hard to follow.
Any sort of advanced movement system (like in AC:4 and AC:FA) Has been all but completely removed, which is the biggest con for me. Everything feels sluggish in comparison.

All in all I feel that AC:V is a step backwards for the series although it is not a complete loss it is far from a worthy successor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Armored Core + Chromehounds = not bad

posted by Sigment (GARLAND, TX) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Before anything, I must agree that without access to XBL, PSN, etc., you will not enjoy this nearly as much. However, the gameplay is under-appreciated by most people.

The game involves an online territory war between "teams" of players, groups that resemble the squad system from Chromehounds. However, unlike Chromehounds, squads do not claim loyalty to any in-game organizations or nations. Territory is claimed by the squads themselves. Players who want extra money can be employed as mercenaries by squads that are low on manpower. There is a campaign that can be played solo, or with the assistance of a second player.

Gameplay has changed quite a bit. Back Weapons have become Bay Units that carry a second pair of Arm Weapons. Most of what used to be Back Weapons have been moved to the Shoulder Units. Weapons and Armor categorized into three types: Kinetic Energy, Chemical Energy, and Thermal Energy. AC combat has also changed. High-flying aerial combat is difficult and not recommended, due to the fact that AC's are incapable of becoming aerial other than regular jumps or wall jumping, also known as Boost Drive. However ground combat is much more hectic, on account of a new ability called Boost Drive, where the AC boosts forward and rams an opponent with its body.

The gameplay is good for AC fans (well, some anyway). But unlike most games coming out these days, it does NOT require an Online Pass. The gameplay attempts to combine AC combat with Chromehounds tactics, and honestly they did not do too bad a job. Overall, I would say this game could be at least worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not bad at all!

posted by criticman (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2005

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game, mostly because I play it mostly with a friend, which always makes things more fun. The only bad parts I can think of are that some of the visuals leave something to be desired, namely the buildings and some finer details and the other thing being the menu system took me and my friend a good hour to completely understand what was going on! Overall a very good romp when you just wanna go fast, create your own things, and blow stuff up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not for everyone

posted by Frazzleberry (FREEVILLE, NY) Mar 29, 2012

Member since May 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Going into this game I had no expectations aside from playing a game where I play as a mech and blow up other mechs.

That being said it was an extremely average experience that I wouldn't recommend to anyone who isn't already an Armored Core fan or a hardcore Robot enthusiast.

Story: Almost non existent and the bit that is there is below average and almost unnecessary. You pretty much have two types of missions, Story and Orders. Story missions have cutscenes and follow a rebel group that's trying to oppose "Father". The order missions are basically one or two objectives that would have been in the story missions, a mini mission if you will.

Gameplay: Pretty standard. You build a robot out of hundreds of parts that effect dozens of different things such as movement speed, turning speed, boost power, boost duration, attack power, reload speed, attack range, rader, lock-on, ETC.

The one thing that does shine however is the attempt at bridging Single-Player and Multi-Player. In the beginning you create a clan or join another clan, from there you work with other players to make your clan rank go up allowing you to gain access to new parts and take over player controlled areas!

Sound: Both music, sound effects and Voice Acting were all extremely average if not below, none if it will be remembered.

Like I said in the beginning, you will only like this game if you are already a Mech fan or series fan. If you are curious about trying out the Mech genre I'd suggest trying out the
Dynasty Warriors: Gundam games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Armored Core V

posted by Coochie (BLACK CANYON CITY, AZ) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have played every Armored Core that has come out hoping that they would improve in each new game. Sadly though, this one is the same as the rest, boring and not up to par with other games in the graphics department. It has and still feels like a cheap arcade game experience. I used to play MechWarrior 2, 3, & 4 for PC back in the day and thats how I got into Mech games in the first place. So I was hoping to have something similar with Armored Core, but it's not even close.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

come ONLINE or not at all

posted by cyberhero (ONTARIO, CA) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

I'm not too big on the armored core series the only one I've really played was armored core for answer and honestly I enjoyed it and V just feels small in comparison, apparently this time you play with some support characters that I had a hard time remembering who is who since everyone kinda sounds the same, in "For Answer" after every mission your told how much you earned for the mission then taking to a shop menu where oyu can buy anything you need helmets, guns, armor, paint, chips, fries but in AC V you don't have any of that your basically stuff with your mech the way it is, another issue I have is the weapons after about two mech a fights you'll use up about all of your ammo and it will switch to a shooting some kind of blue paint cloud thats a substitute which is about as much use as using a meat mallet to chop down a tree. The story gets hard to follow right from the get-go one mission you chase down this mech that was leader of a resistance then the guy you chased gets killled by someone else then they leave next the story jumps ahead a year later and your part of the resistance Idk if I'm even playing at the same guy?. so I think the real exp, I want in the online play which I don't have it seems online play has become the new stock market for game companys everything that made a game good is getting taken out for DLC making the game less fun then it could have been. but no people get hyped up fora game buy it and pay more for an exp. that already should be included but no they keep feeding into this madness and thats why games are like they are today its all a money thing now. Listen I know you guys need money but you can't get rich off the poor. but you can get rich off the stupid I suppose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a good game...

posted by bscluber (MADISON, WI) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

1 First off the graphics are a major step backwards you can tell far more time was spent on the cinematic then the game

2 This game is like chromehounds which was average at best would have much rather had the same armored core from before

3 The controls got changed to a far more irritating layout

4 Gone is the great mech battles with quick boost and thrusters and flight- that's right NO flight only jumping

5 Should be called Chromehounds 2: we suck again or Armored Core V destruction of a franchise

6 There is one good point as it has a multiplayer system so you can all play on xbl together

Seems like everything Namco Bandai touches turns to feces these days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

completely hate it

posted by bweiser1 (ROSELLE, IL) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

if you wounder why they made it because they want your money think about it about 8/10 of these people would have 6 and lower and most were the last armor core game so don't buy it people its 40 bucks over millions people buys this game when i went to game stop they offered me to buy armor core v i said why because they have a lot of them used ONE TIME and now its 30 bucks now and 25 used

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why?

posted by bigblack561 (LAKE WORTH, FL) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

They took all the good stuff froom the old amored core away i feel like going to the makers and sticking my foot up their butt for messing up the amor core series like this ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

would have been good on ps1

posted by doublej26 (MIAMI, FL) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you can't see you can't play

posted by MyTZuS (WOODSTOCK, GA) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I played 700 hours of Chromehounds. These guys made Chromehounds and the game is alot like it (which is good) when you can see. And thats my gripe. I cannot see most of this game. Graphics and color combine to make it impossible for me to see in the distance. Even the bay where you build is muddy if not blurry. I have a new Samsung 240Mhz refresh rate flat panel and a new Xbox and I can't see down the street or down a valley or the street next to me for that matter. If I can't see, I can't play, this is why it has a one rating from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ARMORED B O R E !!!

posted by bigjim (ORANGE, CA) Mar 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

OK TO WASTE AN AFTERNOON ON A RENTAL, BUT THATS ALL I GIVE THIS ONE !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by xTHETRAINx (SCHERTZ, TX) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Amazing game if you enjoy the armored core series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointed...

posted by Swentz18 (BELGRADE, MT) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I like the super nintendo version of this game so I thought id give it a shot. Graphics were really bad and the gameplay wasnt smooth at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed !!!

posted by Lost2apathy (NEWARK, DE) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Words cant describe my disappointment for this game !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

do not get this

posted by Ghosty808 (WILLCOX, AZ) May 6, 2014

Member since May 2014

the game is now offline no coop and no new parts shop and with no new parts you will stuck a point and be killed in one shot and its very ez to die in this game very bad voice acting. plays bad crashes a lot its very hard to get away from things ai are way to good and all the weapons and gear you get suck and the hit boxes are bad boss fights are way too hard and the pay on that game is very bad and I hate this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AWESOME

posted by doomsdayeara (port angeles, WA) Apr 7, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

It's not bad at all, i mean who doesn't like fighting robot and customizing robots to your liking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Megh

posted by LordObsidian01 (DUNLAP, IL) Mar 15, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This is a serious deviation from the AC series. I was personally greatly disappointed in it, as it was not what I was expecting. I do not like that it is based around the multiplier aspect of the game at the cost of the single player game play. The story is extremely weak and somewhat confusing..... disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

4 AC's are better than 1

posted by WraithBlaidd (BANGOR, ME) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Alright, I've been an AC fan since I first played AC3. The series has always been a fast-paced hard-hitting mech brawl. AC5 is a bit of a curve-ball in the series. Instead of the typical single-player focus the Armored Core games have always had, Armored Core 5 focuses mainly on teaming up and slugging things out as a team. The pace of the fighting has slowed in this game as well, forcing a more tactical use of the Cores since you can't relie on raw speed as much. While it's a big step away from what everyone is used to from an AC game, I've been loving this game for the last year, and you can't find a better mech game anywhere else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Where did this come from?

posted by SyKoBoZo (GLENDALE, AZ) Nov 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I have played and owned all of the armored core series. Where does this one fit with the storyline? Where does it fit in the armored core timeline? It seemed to be more like a prequel to the entire series than another sequel. The gameplay itself was much slower than AC 2, 3 or 4. The story was okay and the graphics could have been better, but as it is, its still a rock solid addition to the franchise. Its a good start for light or casual gamers who enjoy a good explosion or two, but its not for the Die hard hard core giant robot armored core fanatics out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great concepts - Average Execution

posted by SirKoenig (HOBOKEN, NJ) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

Armored Core had the potential to be really interesting and cool. Who doesn't love giant robots killing each other? It's pretty fun to customize your mech, fly around the levels, destroy basically everything in sight, mech vs mech battles as awesome, and the co-op mode is great (if you can find someone else who is actually playing). Unfortunately, poor graphics, a horrible campaign story, and few actual online players (which are necessary to actually participate in the territory conquest modes) keep this game from being more an average title. If you're in the mood for a great robot on robot action game, check out the Transformer titles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth renting

posted by AbramsA1 (CIBOLO, TX) Sep 28, 2012

Member since May 2011

Poorly made, Bad graphics and stupid story made me turn this in after playing it for an hour

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay enough game, but has its problems

posted by KibaMoonheart (GLENWOOD, AR) Sep 27, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I found Armored Core 5 to be a good game... In theory. The storyline is well thought-out and the voice-acting and cinematic scenes are very well done. The problems come in, at least for me, with the controls. Perhaps it was different in Armored Core 4, but in 4 Answer, the control scheme was simple and easy to manage, and very efficient. Those controls are mostly thrown out in Armored Core 5, and while I do like that I can now fire weapons with the triggers as opposed to the bumpers, the setup wastes the boost finesse that is found in 4 Answer. By putting the boost control in a trigger, 4 Answer allowed the player to ascend, hover, or descend as needed. Armored Core 5 takes that ability away by putting the boost control into a single button, disallowing boost height management and creating small but needless headaches. While it is understandable that AC design hadn't progressed anywhere near where it was in the previous title, there are several points in cinematic scenes for the campaign when the boost was used as in 4 Answer, but there was no way to emulate the feats in actual gameplay.

Due to the swap-up of controls, playing AC5 for the first time can become frustrating, especially when coming straight from playing 4 Answer. Another flaw, in my opinion, is the way the developers managed AC customization in the new title. While the previous game had a fairly simple and straightforward approach to creating an AC, this title seems to have wanted to break away from the norm and do its own thing, and the results are those that I personally think ruin that particular aspect. The overall feel of the Customization menu simply feels clunky, like it was added in as an afterthought instead of being a more important piece of the game, as I believe it should be.

Overall, while the storyline and movies for the game stand with powerhouses such as Halo in terms of emotional reactions, the controls bring it down hard, and the rating suffers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great change from previous AC gameplay

posted by xbuster15 (FREDERICKTOWN, PA) Sep 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Definately a good change with movement and aiming the larger weapons. Great story with tons of side missions. The core dynamics I thought were very complex and impressive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty good

posted by Bappy56 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Sep 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

WARNING LONG REVIEW:so first ill go over the charictars. so the main charictar is Rosary for the first, and second mision(depending your choice)you're her but dont worry you barley even notice guys. And next is Fran you squadron leader and flys you're transport(but both are awsome). Next is carroll shes on second storie mission as the commander. Three more people first RD I have no clue who he is hes a big part in the storie though. last but not least the bad guys first chief overall and no other leader and his assistant who I forgot the name of. now the guns and armor of ARMORED CORE V. so much diffrent and guns marked by the word cannons that zoom and you cant move but they make up for it in stregnth.now bosses are bigger badder and stronger with BACK UP MAN so be extremly carful especaily of snipers that deal extreme damage to youre AC (Armored Core) so careful to stay out of line of fire. And the advanced physics the gun arch more and flight is hard you have to leap off buildings to get higher but I like it it depends on how you like it so try before you buy. And last the storie line is so far great, and now I'm done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse