Rent Armored Core: For Answer for PS3
view large frontback

Armored Core: For Answer

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.7

1031 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great addition to the AC series

posted by Alancal90 (KEWANEE, IL) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played nearly every AC since the PS1 days including the PS2 and PSP games also. Although Armored Core 4 was one I never played, I found this game to have all of the customization, fast-paced battle, and some really good missions that I've come to expect. Some missions are really short which makes action feel choppy sometimes, but others are so action packed I had to replay them. The graphics are beautiful in general. Water splashes nicely, your leave trails in the sand, missiles look good whizzing through the air. Overall, it's a good game for action fans. I think you can enjoy the game thoroughly without being a mech-nerd when it comes to fine-tuning your parts. That kind of thing is more for the hardcore fans and not needed to enjoy the game, especially for a rental. In the end, this is the same old Armored Core most people love or hate, nothing too innovative or new to mention for your average gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must try for any gamer

posted by BlkViper (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After smashing effortlessly through the game on my first run I was just kinda left wondering... then I played through again choosing alternate missions and started to see some real results with customizing the "NEXT" (mech anyone?) Then I found free play and the Hard difficulty. This game is SO MUCH FUN on hard difficulty. and you get 5-6 tuning points per level on hard. Any true gamer will love this one. the Terms are a bit confusing and honestly I'm still not sure what it means by armor "rectification".... but the fights are intense and the game is super super fast paced. do yourself a favor and give this one a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply amazing

posted by Thermidor (FREEPORT, PA) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This game has lived up to the potential that i have always hoped for this series to have. This installment has over 40 missions on two different difficulty levels.(Not to mention over 60 1v1 ranked matches) There is complete customization of your mech anything you want on it you can use, This installment has multiple endings and you must play through more than once to get them so DO NOt think once you get the first one that this game is done with. The online play can go up to as high as 8v8 with either teams or battle royale.There are many different types of weapons ranging from missiles to laser blades to enormous cannons to gatling guns and more conventional weapons such as pistols. the graphics are breath taking, and the fast pace combat leaves alot to get used to, once you get used to the controls everything is easy from there so don't fret. PLEASE give this game a chance. I would hate to see a fellow mech fan pass up this great game. I almost made that mistake but luckily i didn't. It is much more fast paced and overall better game play and graphically. I cannot urge you enough, PLAY ARMORED CORE FOR ANSWER!!! But remember no one is forcing you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Like legos for adults.

posted by InspecterJ (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This is not a game that I would go around recommending to everybody. There are a lot of things to hate and loathe about it, but, there are a lot of things to love as well. The campaign is reasonably short but has different paths each letting you play new missions and unlocking more parts. It took me three tries to get through all the missions. The campaign isn't the focus of the game though, the majority of your time isn't spent fighting or doing missions, its spent tuning and working on your mech. Let me tell you ahead of time, the learning curve is steep, VERY steep (there's an insane amount of weapons/parts to use). If you're someone who likes to be able to just pick up a game and "kick butt" then this isn't for you. The first few times you fight fellow NEXTs (mechs equal to your own) you are going to get your butt handed to you and it will take a lot of tinkering and playing around before you manage to beat one. With time however, you will start to grasp some idea of what you are doing. I came into this game an Armored Core virgin and came out truly enjoying the game. I went through plenty of frustrating "throw the controller at the wall" moments, but it makes all the better when you succeed. This game simply isn't for everyone, if you aren't the type to spend countless hours tinkering and tuning your machine over and over just to get the right configuration to be able to beat one mission or fellow next, then don't even bother you wont like this game. It might sound like this entire game is just a chore, but its a labor of love. There are countless ways to play this game and you can have the mech type of your dreams. Just don't expect it to be able to beat everyone, adaptability isn't recommended its necessary. This one is worth the time investment it requires, not many games have that going for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you can get used to the controls...

posted by Gaignun (LA QUINTA, CA) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Its absolutely brilliant if you can get used to using more than two shoulder buttons at once.

The controls are hard to use at first, but since when is piloting giant robots supposed to be easy? They're big, they're bulky, and they're awesome! Make your own Giant Robot to suit your style of play, tune it to further complement you, and pick weapons that you like (I suggest machine guns, they have a lot of ammo and do plenty of damage), and practice until you can use your AC at full efficiency.

You can customize everything about your AC. Absolutely every piece is one you can change, and if you don't like a part then you can sell it for exactly how much you paid. Make your own paint job to look exactly like you want to. Make your own symbol. Want a Tyrannosaurus Rex with a revolver, a samurai sword and fire breath painted on your AC? You can do that. Its easy to do if you learn how. This game is exactly as fun as you are willing to make it, and no less.

Heres some quick things to know, to get you started.

Get a good generator. You need energy to fly, and flying is a good way to dodge things.

You can turn quickly by "Boosting" while turning. Be careful not to overshoot your target!

Start off with simple, then graduate to control style B. Simple automatically boosts on the ground, but strafing is harder. Control Style B strafes easily, but you need to boost manually and be able to use all four shoulder buttons at once.

Think of the different levels in the emblem creation as Photoshop layers. That way it will be easier to understand.

Machine guns spew out a steady stream of damage with decent accuracy and have a large amount of ammo for their damage. Chase down your enemy while shooting two and they'll be done if they're bad against bullets. For tougher enemies have a grenade launcher on your back. Experiment with other weapons, machine guns are practical but maybe you like blades more! Pay attention to how your foes fight and change equipment to own them!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Armored Core

posted by Kotor189 (BURNSVILLE, MN) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'm giving this game a 9 because the game holds a good mix of everything if you love mech kinda stuff and love video games and love to build then folks RENT THIS GAME! you start offchoosing sides from multiple corporations and they give you a stock mech from there you as always do missions to unlock stuff to buy and add-on to your mech and make him stronger and better at missions and with all the kinds of parts and weapons including tons more news part and weapons that they've added on, you have literally hundreds even thousands of combinations from which to build your AC. Your AC and its awesomness is only limited by your imigination the graphics are very crisp and robust and not choppy like past idirations in the franchise and the missions althoe some are shorter then others and some are long but the short ones usually entail some objective to eliminate a Enemy AC or strike some huge fortress with legs if you've seen the video trailer for the game you know what im talking about, there are several huge giant fortress like AC Bases that you have to assault in the game one has four or six legs and the legs are about as huge and thick as city size tower buildings the other remaining ones are a couple of ships another one is a huge hovering base that lookes like a pair of angel wings the other is a giant train with multiple Gatling guns that shoot bullets as huge as your AC this is a very fun game its worth renting and there are about 45 to 60 missions then there are the side missions where you battle rival ACs from other Corporations and by defeating them you unlock there AC schematics and you gain there logo kind of emblems its worth it the game is $60 but it has a long Length of gameplay and with tons of Combos to build from with your AC it has big replay value So Rent It Today!.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good PS3 Game

posted by player22 (DETROIT, MI) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good graphics and weapons. I liked the weapons available to shoot and had fun shooting from different points such as flying and moving sideways. The enemies in the game were cool looking and seem very realistic. For example, the missions involving naval ships were fun.

Somewhat difficult game play in order to advance from one chapter to the next. I found myself trying to kill a fly at times. For example, I had to kill white glint. White glint was difficult to shoot because it moved faster than a fly from place to place.

Overall the game was good fun but not long enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow

posted by omni77 (Minneapolis, MN) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I found this game absolutely enjoyable .. heres the breakdown.

The bad .. -
A lot of stats to manage as you are switching parts. Unlock system almost seems random ( youll have played the game 2 - 3 times through before you have all the parts for some of the standard mech schematics. buildings dont look to great up close.

the good .. -
AC's ( mechs) look GREAT. There are EXTREME customization options. the battles are fast, fierce, and pretty. You can save tons of schematics so you can re-make a mech with the press of a button (so you can have specific setups for different missions. Multiplayer includes co-op and pvp ( splitscreen , online , and lan )

the single player is a little short , but there are multiple paths so you will want to play it through many times, and you keep all your cash,parts, and schematics . so you will blast through the levels easier every time ( and work closer to having all the parts available each time ) . I find myself spending as much time setting up a mech ( you really wouldnt believe how far you can customize them ) as I spend actually fighting. A failed level just means you need to go back to the garage and remake your mech a bit .. so even losing feels like winning.

I have never seen a game with such a relatively short storyline that seemed like a must-own before. I highly suggest renting/buying this if you experience great satisfaction in the process of setting up your maachine before you take it into battle. If you dont have a head for numbers you may have a hard time ( math is almost a must when deciding between weapon A 436dmg , 1600ammo and weapon B. 912dmg, 850 ammo .. and there are many other stats to consider ). dont expect to jump right in to this game and have an awesome mech. also in pvp there is no bracket or skill level .. so you may be pitted against joe gamer who has every part in the game and a mech 10x as strong as yours when you first enter pvp.. and in co-op you may get bob noob who dies in 12 sec

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Armored Core reaches a new apex

posted by Eyros2k (VICTORVILLE, CA) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Whenever I get the chance to suggest titles to my fellow gamers, I often mention the Armored Core series. This recommendation always came with at least a minor amount of guilt, as all of the titles up to this point had their share of problems. 4 Answer (like most of the tag lines from Japan seems to be a bit lost in translation) however, has been by a large margin the most enjoyable entry.

The prime point of examination for an Armored Core game would have to be the parts, and this title has the most to tinker with to date. Beyond quantity, the quality is spot on - as the balance between parts has obviously gone through some extensive balancing - and has also seen an online update for balancing which bodes well for the future of the game.

Speaking of balance and updates, the online multiplayer looks to be a well implemented facet of the game. Both ranked and custom matches are in place, though the match making can put you up against someone well above or below your own level. Connectivity has been good in my few matches, and the extremely fast paced movement of the game - miraculously - translated fully without lag.

At the time of this writing, I am only about 30% through the game, and highly impressed with the structure. Upon starting a new game you will chose a faction to be associated with, which has a connection to the parts that will be unlocked as you play through the game. Beyond that, each act of the game allows you to play through... I would say 5 of the 8 available levels, until it progresses you to the next act. These leaving the door wide open for 4 play throughs based on that alone.

Besides the story, there are also "Collared" matches (arena). I've gone through the first 21 opponents, and the differences in AI in correlation with the AC's build - makes it very fun to play through. More credits to be earned, more parts to be unlocked.

As a long time fan of the series, this under the radar release was an absolutely perfect pre-holiday buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Amazing if you're a big fan, a letdown otherwise

posted by absolute86 (LITHIA SPRINGS, GA) Jan 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

First off, let me say - I am a huge fan of giant robots.
Secondly, if you do not like a challenge - don't play Armored Core games.

Armored Core For Answer tries but fails to do something differently than all the other armored core games. I'm playing on a PS3 - and this game freeze's or locks up on all of the big AF battles. Every. Freaking. Time.

Otherwise - it is a beautiful game with incredibly customizable mechs, a huge variety of weapons, and well balanced upgrade opportunities.

Well worth a rent, but I wouldn't never purchase this game. I would rather buy AC2 or AC Arena.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Steep Learning Curves Ahead!

posted by MondoMole (FULTON, NY) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

For those not familiar with the series, let me sum it up quickly;

Armored Core takes place in a bleak future where mercenaries pilot giant robots for corporations that run the world. The bulk of the game involves you customizing your ten ton killing machine with hundreds of different parts, weapons, radar systems and paint jobs. There are an endless amount of combinations and one person's play style can be completely different from the next. Most missions involve you killing other pilots, giant fortresses or escorting allies.

The graphics are gorgeous. Full-scale battles look rightfully epic, with missile clusters whizzing by and dust kicked up by your giant robot. It's easily the best looking Armored Core game to date. The presentation overall is very slick, though the menu system will take some time to adjust to due to the plethora of options.

The Achilles heel of the game, however, is the clunky control system and steep learning curve. Every button on the controller is used and necessary to your survival. You need to keep your targets locked on, dodge their attacks, use boosts and fire weapons to stay alive. Don't expect the AI to take it easy on you, either. The drones and mindless robots are mostly stationary are easy to mow down but the AI pilots of the enemy Armored Cores are merciless and agile. They will soar past you over and over again, bombarding you from all sides. If you don't know how to keep up you will most likely never hit them before they turn your robot into a really expensive paper weight.

Overall, this game is really for Armored Core fanatics and fans of giant robots. If you can handle the difficulty and the controls, give it a shot.

Good:
+Graphics
+Customization is endless
+Giant robots!

Bad:
-Controls are tough to adjust to
-Difficulty is steep

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not for online

posted by jon7980 (KEEGO HARBOR, MI) Jan 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

noone is ever on the online server for this game. this 1 player mode is alright though. just ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

extream machine proformance

posted by illusion88 (Murrieta, CA) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

high speed long and short range action with tons of guns and performance parts for extreme game'n. Huge levels and boss with high quality graphics just awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Much Variation

posted by KmanGT (GERMANTOWN, TN) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Don't get me wrong, i love AC games, i've played this entire series. I was really excited with the good changes AC4 made. The fight is better, the weapons are better, the enemeies are tougher, and the graphics are way better. However, AC for answer is basically the same game with new missions and only some new missions/parts. The game is short and lacks depth. At the ended i felt like there had to be more.. but there wasn't. AC4 and for answer both left me confused without answer. I have to get them credit, the game is fun, and you get to blow a lot of stuff up and fly around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nice graphics and movies

posted by ACNecron (BROOKLYN, NY) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Nice graphics and nice movies, storyline is good too, controls are the worst thing in any game i have ever played. Armored Core is not what is used to be, but a shadow of its former self. It is not as fun as it used to be up to Armored Core 3 then it went downhill fast. Too many controls and way too many options, it takes about a day or more just getting comfortable with controls. If you really are a die hard fan of Armored Core and want to play every one of them go ahead otherwise don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Upgrade?

posted by rusty (WALLINGFORD, PA) May 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game lacks a lot of the things i found enjoyable in previous games, specifically the game feels cramped and, unless I am mistaken, you can't change the controls of the game. The controls are fine once you get used to them though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Armored Core

posted by Knightruse (ROME, GA) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

For armored core fans this title doesnt stray far from the course.
Everything is basically the same as previous releases just cleaned up for the PS3 which is not that impressive. I have not been a fan since the series started to go towards the "boost only" method of play. Meaning the only way to win is to out boost your enemy no tactics, no building of the mech to out gun the enemy, just fly around stay out of range and shoot....yawn. Mechs on the ground are a death sentence.

Good if you are a fan of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Superfluous tediousness

posted by ryazbeck (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

You can use machine guns, missiles, grenades, blades or rockets and it won't make any difference in the strategy that you have to use. Fighting CPU NEXTs is the most ridiculous and tedious task you will ever take-on in a video game, and requires more attempts than you will ever have fun with. The lock-on feature is absolute junk and only works occasionally. It's near impossible to get close enough to CPU NEXTs to use rockets, or blades, or to keep your lock-on consistent. It was fun for about the first 8-10 missions, but then it just gets ridiculous. I only recommend it to the most die hard of AC fanatics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by dbp2005 (GREENACRES, FL) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I've never played any of the Armored Core games so I didn't know what this would be about. The beginning video looked amazing although I had no idea what was going on in it lol. I guess it's because I'm not into the whole anime thing but the game was really boring and the story was pointless for the most part. The robots and mission briefings were cool but it wasn't enough to keep me interested. I sent it back without finishing the first chapter, and I don't think I'll be missing much lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

renters be warned

posted by GamerVet (CARRIZO SPRINGS, TX) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

ok to start off iv allways like the AC games since i was younger i played them all since the start and despite all the impovements they still have yet to fix the one this that make most players send it back the controles have a steep learning curve wich takes a wile to get used to
even after that youl find many many molments where famly and friends will be dodging flying remotes and asorted curse words wile in the same room its a great game but with a slow as tar turning radius and confuseing menu for core mech builds it will grate your nerves qwickly
you have been warned have a nice day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad game

posted by Clyde187 (BAYPORT, MN) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 13 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

The game is not GOOD
The controls and graphics are bad(graphics-like ps2)
There is nothing about this game I liked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

abosolutly loved it!

posted by topdog207 (BRADENTON, FL) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

i've played all armored cores while i was growing up. so i know a quite a bit about the controls and how things work in the game. handleing controls are a big factor in this game i even adapted to using my right index finger to move the right stick on the controller on desprete occasions. but all together i really do love this game and i had it with me for about 2 months at one poing and pretty much only played this.

The story was alright in game but i wasnt expecting much from the story because this game is sorta a Armored Core 4.5 . at any rate what really made it for me was the customizations you can do on your AC which really made it a win for me. all together... the game is great! just takes time to break your hands into the controllers which you would have to pick up fast cause it will get really difficult throughout the game as any other game out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Improvement on 4

posted by divine7942 (NICHOLASVILLE, KY) Dec 30, 2011

Member since May 2011

A good entry in the series. It improves on AC4 in every way, though the core of the game is the same.

Mechs are endlessly customizable. The controls are difficult to master, but quite responsive. The music is pretty good in this installment as well. Once you get the hang of the controls, gameplay is entertaining, and there is a decent amount of variation in enemies and environment.

Graphics are thoroughly mediocre and nothing to write home about.

Unfortunately, the story still borders on nonsense. I'm not sure how much of this is due to translation, but the story frequently just throws characters at you that you've never seen before and expects you to care about them, and much of the dialogue is stilted.

I'm also still waiting on this series to deliver better storyline missions. Most are simple search and destroy, and none will take more than a few minutes if you know what you're doing. I'd much prefer having half the number of missions you're given in this game, if only they were longer, with reload/checkpoints, and a more open and diverse world. The giant arms fort battles are a nice touch, but they're also sometimes marked by crippling slowdown, at least in my experience on the ps3.

Overall if you're a fan of the series this is a good to great game. If not your mileage may vary significantly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

graphics

posted by angelsprotector (NORTH FREEDOM, WI) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

the graphics were realy cheese but the game itself was pretty fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great game

posted by Revan (FORT MOHAVE, AZ) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Great game but gets choppy when there are too many enemy's on screen. Makes game play bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse