Rent Armored Core: For Answer for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Armored Core: For Answer

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.0

2329 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Everything Amped

posted by racing101 (PASO ROBLES, CA) Sep 25, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

35 out of 41 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

i have to say i thought that this was going to be an expansion of Armored Core 4 but it wasn't, it had its own storyline and slightly different weapons, cores, arms, legs, and the really over did it with the overbooster.

The game play i have to say is absolutely insane you move soooo much faster and even the cpu steps it up by having them move faster than you, for the first chapter. The new overboost system allows you to be able to make an assualt shield which expands into hitting everything around you and destroying it, except NEXTS.

The only thing that i was a little distraut about was that the storyline was really short, but it was good, all three of them.

If you have every played Armored Core you need to play this one really fast paced and one of the best storylines in the Armored Core series.

The best thing about this game is the speed. And the amazing epic battles against the Armored Forts, they are huge it is like shadow of colouses gone mech.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Challange worth completing

posted by Lamppost (RICHMOND, KY) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Pros:
-Satisfying Battles are hard but beatable
-Multiple path campaign worth replaying
-AC customization is easy to master, but hard to perfect
-Speed feels perfect
-Free play and Arena add to games value
-No penalty for death helps even out difficulty

Cons
-Mission descriptions cause many failed missions only to be due to your ACs equipment.
-Little story really does nothing for the campaigns multiple paths
-Some missions are hard to the point of frustration
-Short missions can last less then a minute
-Weapons are purchased per side (buying a gun for your right hand will not be able to be equipped on the left)
-No auto-save

(Single player review only)

Armored Core: for answer is a Mechanized fighter, pitting you as a pilot of a mercenary Next, doing the jobs of large corporations in a futuristic earth. The game allows for you to chose your path, by deciding what company to work for, though your path is not limited till late in the game. You'll only complete around half the total missions on your first play through, so each time you play through, you'll have a chance to try something new.
This does say something as it takes only a few hours to play through the whole campaign. Missions vary from only 30 seconds to 10-15 minutes. These can be exciting from start to finish, but often have you regretting your equipment rather then yourself. Missions will never have you questioning what to do though, which helps keep you focused instead of roaming aimlessly.
Which is the best part. Controlling your Next feels dead on. From fighting an opposing Next to a might Arms forts, huge mobile fortresses with devastating firepower, every attack is potentially avoidable and everything has a weakness, making deaths feel more worth the retry then a cheap kill. Which will keep you in the garage tweaking your AC for your play style and the enemy.
AC: FA is a fun play and well worth the rent, but it focuses only on what it does best, Mech warfare

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Updated AC4-- Good Thing =D

posted by Yurizinho (DORAL, FL) Sep 18, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

36 out of 47 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This is my first review, so go easy on me guys. =D

Also, this review may be a little biased since i am an AC fan :)

While AC4 (Armored Core 4) was a great game, many people were disappointed with it's high learning curve, and controls hard to master. Despite all this, the game had a great online mode (If you had your own clan to play with), great visuals, and sound.

Armored Core For Answer makes it feel as how AC4 should have looked like. The game comes with new control setups for beginners, storyline this time was told in a better way which makes you actually feel as if you were one of the mercenaries.

One change that i personally liked it was the online mode. In the past game if you died in battle, you would have to wait until the battle ended to play again. Now FROMSOFTWARE has implemented a respawn system, which makes online play 10x more enjoyable.

It seems that FROMSOFTWARE has redeemed themselves with this new AC game.

Graphics: 9

Sound: 10

Controls: 10

Story: 10

Replay: 10

Total(Not an average): 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love or Hate it...

posted by armored06 (MONROVIA, CA) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

18 out of 23 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I say some people has very mean things to say about this game. People finds it hard and complicated. u wanna find a hard and complicated game? try eve online! This game is fun from the moment u start the tutorial! I have been a fan of this games since the very first armored core in PS. I must say I abandoned the franchise on ps2 as the quality of the game really went down. I must say AC4 gave me hope on this new console generation. Hope that was short lived. The game missions were finished on 30 seconds or so. I was really disappointed and had almost lost my hope. Then my answer came from ubisoft! (I hate u sega!) Ubisoft really turn this game around! missions do feel like mission. Big bosses and tons of enemies all around you. Next battles are as challenging as u would expect from this game. I must say if ur a fan and u have been hurt in the past, forget it all and give AC another chance. Trust me, this is the most exciting AC game I have played since PS. U wont be disappointed again. Then again if ur new to the game, I would say if u like customizing, making strategies prior a mission and then u want a fast paced pack with action big explotions... this game is for u. This will be a game that u will love or hate! This is not the casual game, its either ur in and give it ur all, or u die. Hope that helps. Oh by the way u might wanna change the buttons to shoot from A and X to left and right shoulder. use the A and X to switch weapons. Use B to use shoulder weapons Y for OB and u'll have a more responsive button lay out. Trust me its better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Answer was not in the form of a question.

posted by Achieveman (VANCOUVER, WA) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I have been a huge AC fan dating way back to its PS1 origins. Despite that I have to agree with the games critics about how most of the AC titles are just clones with different haircuts. I will say that this installment is incredibly improved, the cores overcharge actually has practicality in combat now and the general gameplay is exciting and fast paced. Armored Core: For Answer is the Forza Motorsports 3 of Mech game. Hundreds of parts and weapons, being able to tweak and upgrade individual parts to increase performance, an emblem editor and is fairly easy to use, and some of the biggest bad guys I have ever seen.

Unlike the last few installments, From Software made a legitimate effort to try to bring new life into this commonplace franchise. If you’re a fan you will love it, if it’s your first ride, you’ll probably be thinking you should have paid more attention in Trigonometry to make any sense of the spec charts for parts and weapons. On the less positive note the game itself is insanely hard. Also, just to get your AC in proper working order requires a huge amount of time and trial and error.

I personally love this game, for the fact that it is not easy to understand or play. The ability to take all these chaotic components that the game gives you, assemble them, then go up against impossible odds and succeed is a testament to any gamer’s skill and an incredible rush.

Tips: Try to use the same main components to assemble your AC as you get a small bonus in all stats. Try to corner opposing AC’s as the game likes to glitch sometimes and they get stuck. For the final boss; make sure you have about two hours, remove any breakable objects, knives, guns, pets, and loved ones from your home.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OMG MINDBLOWN

posted by ThatGuy92 (TROY, AL) Dec 23, 2009

Member since May 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Sense this was the first Armored Core game I have played I didn't know what to expect but this is now in my top 5 games of all time. Game play is intense enough for controller-throwing defeats. The game is somewhat challenging in itself but if it's too easy then it offers a "hard" setting unlike any I have played. Instead of giving the enemy's higher damage, hard adds random extras too the missions such as "Oh, no there are more Arms Forts than expected" and instead of fighting one boss there might be two or a extra NEXT to fight but it a fun way.

The mech creation was a great part of the game too. I wish i could tell you how many weapons there were but not going to count or look it up but know that there are weapons that just want to make you break out in a maniacal laugh (OMGACannon, you'll know it when you see it.). But there were a lot of them and parts and you can tune your mech with point you get from defeating bosses and winning mission on hard.

There are multiple paths you can take and three ending too the story and one mission that is beyond freaken hard but still was extremely fun to beat. If you get it for the 360 (lawl no achievement ps3) then the achievements are fun to beat although i was disappointed to find that half of them are only for online play where there are about 10 people playing.

In short, Love the game. Rent it. Play it. Send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Under Appreciated Title

posted by Luckybucke (MURRIETA, CA) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I've been playing the Armored Core series for quite some time, and although I've enjoyed them for the most part, there have been some rather obvious flaws in them, such as the confusing weapon names and the uselessness of the boosting features. This game however tweaked those problems to near perfection.

The best thing about this release of the game was by far it's speed and action. Unlike the other games, where I found it best to just make a tank and just concentrate on firepower, this game actually helps, if not encourages, ACs that use speed. With the right set up, the Overboost feature can last 10-20 seconds, if not more, and it is even possible to be permanently airborn. Additionally, they have made such features like the Quickboost much simpler to use, and also more effective. I absolutely love just flying above my enemies, dashing back and forth, dodging their attacks, and constantly pounding them with my machine guns.

One other lovely feature is the auto-aim that they've tweaked a bit. If you're locked on your opponent and they start reaching the edge of the screen, it will turn your AC to help you stay locked on. It's a bit confusing at first, but users will catch on fast. Additionally, you will remain locked on when you attempt to use your laser blades, which makes them way more useful and fun to use.

The only downside to this game, as small as it may be, is the somewhat short storyline and lack of difficulty in the Arena. The game seems to end quickly, and the alternate storylines are basically the same matches, with a few new ones in between. And once you find a good set up, the Arena is rather simple.

Overall, I would say this game is a big improvement upon the older versions, and any Armored Core fan should definitely try this game out. Even if you aren't a fan of Armored Core, try it out. The ratings that sites give this title can't be trusted. Give it a try yourself and make your own judgment on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Only for The Hardcore AC gamers

posted by BulletMtrx (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Im an orginal armored core 4 fan and Id like to say that game was awesome, but armored core for answers brings an entirely new game. Everything you knew and liked about AC4 is basically multiplied by 2 in terms of gameplay and diversity. Storyline mode in pretty easy but very tedious and boring. If you arnt a decent player youll be spending long hours some missions as for parts, there are 120 new parts added along with the orginal armored core 4 stuff. But trust me, youll want to get those new parts. Parts are unlocked through single player modes so you have no choice but to immerse yourself into them. also it is encouraged if you want to have the best parts you get S ranks on all your missions. If you arnt a patient gamer dont rent this game and if you arnt a competitive player this game is definitely not for you. Youll be spending alot of time putting together effective mech designs and completing difficult missions. This game can be a real downer to when it comes to multiplayer. From my experience you have to bring the very best parts,designs and attack strategies in order to win any online ranked or player matches. Multiplayer is so competitive that youll rarely see a player messing around in battles. The gameplay has a feverish fast paced mood at times and is purely do or die. You cannont sit still for a second while fighting against somebody in a player match. You will either get bladed or missiled to death in seconds. If you are a brand new armored core player it is recommended that you play Armored Core 4 first to get the basics of everything down or else youll typically grow very fustrated. Once you get the general idea and experience youll be able to handle mostly whatever the new version throws at you.
Be the best or die like the rest.
Just be prepared.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WORTH A RENTAL FOR AC FANS

posted by jebusnixon (FOUNTAIN, CO) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First and foremost I beat this game on hard, including becoming arena champion, in less than 5 hours. This is partly due to certain missions disappearing after others are completed, but it is mostly due to the overall shortness of the game. For fans of the AC series this game is a nice way to get back behind the wheel, head, whatever of a "NEXT." As a standalone game however this does not stand out as exceptional or memorable in any way, the game just isn't great. With titles like Gears of War and Halo making millions and getting all the media attention it isn't hard to see why the Armored Core franchise hasn't been able to compete.

Overall not a bad game, just to short, I'm shipping it back on the same day I got it with all but the multiplayer achievements. Worth renting if you like this sort of game just dont expect much.

Sort of spoiler/ stratagy for arena
Another good point is that all you need to defeat the arena is a pair of chainguns on your shoulders.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Armored Core: For Answer

posted by Mordred26 (YPSILANTI, MI) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This new installment into the AC series is a welcome one. Having been disappointed by the last game I was hoping this would address some of my major complaints about the last game. The last game having a partnership with Software (chrome hounds) I thought the level of customization was great however the rest of the game just fell apart. The level design, the missions to short and to similar. I spent more time creating my Mech then I ever did actually playing a level. However this new Armored Core is for me everything that I wanted from the last one. Co-op is a great added feature all though it still needs to feel more flushed out and less an add on. The single player campaign is great and the missions have good flow and variety. I actually got to play missions that where longer than the time it took to build my Raven. I recommend this to anyone who has played an Armored Core in the past. You should give this one a try, Isn't that why we all have gamefly! Cheers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't like it

posted by Shinrin (PANAMA CITY, FL) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Simply put, bad controls, bad camera, too clunky. I loved the previous games. This one the control are stiff, the camera is always where you don't want it to be. The interface for building your mech and checking your stats is very clunky. It's all there, but it's not refined.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Armored Core: Fail

posted by Diomedes (PACIFICA, CA) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My only impression after playing Armored Core: For Answer after several minutes was that this is a game for those who love the intense, grinding style of Japanese games. For all of those (including myself) who'd rather just play, this game is certainly not for you. Immediately, I was struck by how weak the game made out a giant robot tank to be. I know the whole point of the game is to progress and upgrade better parts, etc, but I was supremely unimpressed watching pathetic looking bullets slowly shoot across the screen in the first two missions. I know I'm not supposed to have the best weapons right away, but you can do better than having me start with two practically identical starting weapons and missiles. Another issue with the weaponry is the target reticule, which is puzzlingly bad, and looks like a ladder leading up to a target vs the traditional variety of target reticule; extremely unhelpful. The pathetic weaponry was the first letdown, the next is the controls. The controls are sensitive and allow for great movement, however, this poses a huge problem when trying to aim above mentioned pathetic weaponry. Three dimensional gameplay also poses a huge challenge, as the only kind of movement your mech is totally unresponsive to is altitude change. Trying to maneuver, aim, shoot, and maintain altitude proves a daunting task. I prefer the challenge of gameplay to come from the AI and encounter design, not basic mechanics like struggling to shoot and move. Again, there are those gamers that like this style of game, and more power to them, it's just not for everyone. My advice to those who prefer to slide easily into a game and feel challenged by its design is to skip this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Armored core is fun again!

posted by happythug (VANCOUVER, WA) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Armored Core fans rejoice!

Armored Core 4A, is a dramatic improvement to the series in all the important places. Play control is finally smooth, logical and even customizable. You actually have functional use of the right and left stick for maneuvers, something the series has lacked since its creation. Combat is now more fast paced than ever before and targeting is much better as well. The millions of possible combinations for power-armor design is very welcome. However, the 50 or so stats for the various pieces of gear, while deep, is very very very under-explained. There are still stats that I only have a vague clue of their functionality if that, and the over use of acronyms can be confounding. This game really needs a great big tutorial. Still I managed to flourish and figure out proper customization of the important stats.

You can save various Power Armor(PA) designs and this was very useful. I used 3 basic designs as templates. A heavy, high energy and high damage PA for taking out large structures. A very fast and long range PA with extreme accuracy and ballistic velocity, light weight and with limited ammo, was used for 1 on 1 battles, or 2 on one battles with other PA. Then a more mid-range PA with very effective gattlings and some long range fire as well, for battles where I had to fight off swarms of things and certain, slower moving one on one battles.

The graphics in this game are hit and miss, water looks very nice, and particle and weapon effects are very nice, but some terrains and physics are very bleh, and boring.

For fans of the series this will really re-invigorate you, and for new-comers this is the best addition to the series yet and the only real playable next-gen iteration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Armored Core: For Answer

posted by ScrewBall (Williamsburg, PA) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Armored Core For Answer is a very entertaining and enjoyable game, I for one don't understand some of the negative feedback. I really didn't think that the controls were that confusing, as they are almost the same as the other Armored Core games.

About the game play, the customization system is very complicated but I consider that a good thing it offers a chance to make an AC that's unique to your playing style. The graphics weren't that amazing but their nothing to complain about, although the explosions were very primitive looking.
The campaign is quite short and it won't take you long to complete, but if you want all the parts and even a chance of surviving online matches you need to complete it multiple times.

Although there is no human element you have to take into account that the ACs are the main characters, like the White Glint who doesn't have a face but an AC representing her.
The online play isn't very good, because you will almost always go up against the hardcore gamers if you find a match at all, and as you can tell they are really serious about the game but that is just my opinion it's quite easy to connect to a game but I'm not that good at it.

To sum it all up it's a really underrated game that deserves more credit than it gets, a definite rent and a possible buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic Game, Very difficult learning curve

posted by Truvias (NEW BERLIN, WI) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My experience with this game, has been a great one of surprise. Having played almost all of the Armored Core series, I have to say I enjoy this one the best. The combat is intense, difficult and awesome to watch when you know what you're doing. The action and gameplay are quite fast, so those new to the Armored Core series, will have a bit of trouble with this game, especially considering how detailed crafting your own AC can be. If you're willing to step beyond the easy-mode that most games have and play one that's a real challenge, this game is definitely for you. If you're the type who can't handle the challenge and end up breaking controllers over losses, then don't get this game. Games have become far to easy as of late, I think this game is a step in the right direction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

True armored Core Game....No it is not...

posted by firebird21 (DALLAS, TX) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok so when I first poped in the oddly titled AC For Answer I thought it was going to be another great experience. Boy was I wrong.

Almost as soon as I stepped into a mission with my Mech I noticed I was having a hard time turning left and right. I figured it was no big deal and went on to complete the next few missions. As soon as I unlocked some equitment I started to buy every heavy armor piece I could find. I decided to to give the arena a shot and boy was I in for a rude awakening.

It seems they wanted to increase the speed of the game and actually phase out many of their own weapons and parts. I thought this was very strange, but I went ahead and kept trying, and trying and trying. Until I finally came to the decision that Armored Core no longer supports my playstyle. And all the heavy parts and grenade launchers, missle launchers are cool to look at, but have really no use outside of many of the giant mech battles you fight though the course of the game.

Unless you build a mech with the highest moblity possible you will not enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Why Nothings New

posted by Troimerc (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wanted to like this game; I've played all of it's incarnations. The problem is that nothing has changed!? Unlike the people over at Bioware; Ubisoft, haven't changed much between this incarnation and Amoured Core4? I'm just saying" At least make some kind of an attempt at giving us (players), a game we can enjoy for its differe3nces, beyond graphics!?". Just sayin' ........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game

posted by sword86200 (BROOKSVILLE, KY) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a realy great game the score does not do it justice at all im a long time player of this series an this one is good but it is not as good as the other Armored Core 4 is better but this is still a great game just give it a try what do you honestly have to lose? lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best

posted by darkstorm6 (COVINGTON, LA) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best armorcore that ive played in a long time, the game speed was so fast you can really lose yourself to it. If you like the armorcore games you'll love this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Interesting game marred by poor controls

posted by Nicias (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

8 out of 23 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

Armored Core 4 has the potential to be an interesting, enjoyable experience. Overall, it comes up lacking. The story itself, if fleshed out, could provide an interesting backdrop. The machines themselves display a wide variety of styles, and some of the larger "Arms Forts" and other "boss" type enemies are massive in scale and quite impressive.

There are some major issues with the game that should be addressed.
The explosions in the game do not appear to be three dimensional objects. They all appear to have the same animation and look flat.
-The controls are overly complex and poorly laid out. The trigger buttons on the Xbox 360 controller are for firing weapons in an action game. Using the A/B buttons is distracting and unnecessary.
-There is little to no human element in the game, which would make the storytelling much stronger.
-The customization options for your machine are obviously quite deep. Unfortunately, the system suffers from being overly complex, poorly explained, and laid out in a manner that is very user unfriendly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Game

posted by FatTwinkie (FRESNO, CA) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The cover of the game looks like your going to get this awesome game simular to Mech Assault or Mech Warrior, but its nothing like it nor does it have any thing good in it.

The game has most of the features as the last Armored Core games with a few extras, but over all its the same game. You fly around, take out enemies, and then the mission is over. There isn't really a story line and the graphics aren't all that good for being on a PS3/Xbox 360 game console.

I wouldn't recommend this unless your going to be getting this game for some younger kids who don't care about story or cutscenes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just as bad as AC4

posted by SKOOT2006 (MANSFIELD, TX) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I really disliked AC4, however, I usually like these kinds of games.. so when I noticed this had a higher member rating than AC4, I gave it a shot. That was a mistake. I now know that the reason it has a higher rating is because most of the people that didn't like AC4 didn't even bother with this horrible game.

There is very little difference in the controls.. they are still unnatural and overly complicated (even with simplified controls). What more can I say?

Bottom line: Don't rent or buy. This game is a waste of energy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Armored core: for answer

posted by james21977 (BALLSTON SPA, NY) Sep 5, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game was horrible!!! I have rarely played a game who's play control was so terrible that you can't help but yell almost from the getgo. I think the only other title in this group for me is the first two worlds. I never recommend this title to another living soul and I think all copies should be melted down to make new discs for future games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

blah

posted by kymazter10 (TWENTYNINE PALMS, CA) Jul 19, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

it is the worst game i haver ever played they took out all of my fav guns i hated it :(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game I've ever played

posted by Steve6893 (WEST CHESTER, PA) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Not even worth talking about, I just hope that with time, this horrible experience will fade...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse