Rent Armored Core 4 for PS3
view large frontback

Armored Core 4

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.8

1129 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

It's like finding out you're adopted...

posted by Luciferiad (TWIN FALLS, ID) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Seriously.

But I digress. Let me begin by saying that I've been a fan of the Armored Core series since AC: Master of Arena. While that game probably remains my all-time favorite in the series, I played and truly enjoyed every subsequent iteration.

Until this one, that is.

AC4 does boast great graphics and in-depth Core customization, not to mention a far more accessible control scheme than its predecessors. However, for every step forward this game takes in technical precision, there are two giant leaps backward in gameplay.

Murky storyline aside (as this is an Armored Core tradition), the game's difficulty curve is entirely sporadic. One mission will be a total cakewalk and the next, while simple in theory, is an absolute nightmare that will require a dozen attempts before completion.

Maybe I suck, you say? Well, I'll admit I'm not any AC master, but I can hold my own. And story missions in this franchise's previous entries have never been so frustrating. Or so short.

Yeah, my observed mission complete time probably averaged somewhere around 4-6 minutes. I never finished the game since I got so fed up with retrying the same 3 minute mission that I returned it. That was an Armored Core first for me as well.

Honestly, I wouldn't even suggest this title to hardcore AC fans. Just dig Nexus up outta your old PS2 collection, and leave this pile of sorry on the shelf. You will only be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good, do not believe bad reviews

posted by Apokalypz (HALTOM CITY, TX) Sep 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game very much. I am not usually a fan of mech games, even though I want to like them, being fascinated with giant robots (like most of us). I got this game as one of the first titles when I bought my PS3. I was very satisfied with it. Read on for details.....

GRAPHICS
The graphics are fine. Anyone who tells you otherwise is nitpicking really, really hard. I was impressed with the graphics (and still am now, 1 year after I got my PS3 and have played other games).

SOUND
The soundtrack is slightly repetitive, but otherwise it is fine.

GAMEPLAY
Awesome. Straight awesome. Well done. The trick here is to use a mech with a good set of jump jets, because trying to walk your way across the battlefield is only going to get you killed. Which is the way it should be -ten ton robots four stories high should NOT be fast on their feet. Once you get used to the jump jets the gameplay is amazing and smooth. Weapons fire and aim cleanly and there is a proper amount of difficulty curve during the normal levels.

ENEMIES/BOSSES
I have no gripe with the normal enemies-they are just hard enough that you must formulate a good strategy to take them down.

Bosses are another matter. The bosses in this game are nearly impossible, even the very first one. They are beatable-I have beaten the game several times-but can be almost "cheat" level frustrating occasionally.

THE MECHS THEMSELVES/PARTS
The mechs are awesome. Well put together, and the opportunity to constantly upgrade and change weapons is very well done. The only complaint I have is that really, the legs are somewhat pointless. Your best bet is to buy the hugest set of legs possible (either 4-leg or tank track) and just load up with weaponry-since you spend the majority of your time jetting through the air anyway. And use the shoulder mounted plasma cannon, by the way. Best weapon in the game.

CONCLUSION

This game is perfect for a mech fan. You just have to be willing to learn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its really good!!

posted by DMC4ps3fan (Lancaster, CA) Apr 19, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

please, everyone who gave this a bad review doesnt know what they are talking about. You have to like mechs and mech games to like this,they just rented it for no reason. Compared to all other mech games, this one is really fun and fast paced. It isnt slow like other mech games, i love the quick boost feature, it helps alot with the quickness of the game. Customation is great, not really confusing at all, and the only bad part is how hard the game is!! i love a challenge though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another footprint for large Mech combat

posted by Ravenx (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jan 12, 2009

Member since May 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A bit late in review but I still feel the game needs some input.

If you have ever played an Armored Core game you will be glad to see that nothing has been changed. That's of course you enjoyed the games have always been. You start with the first AC and work as a mercenary. Using the money you obtain from missions you buy new weapons and parts for AC to make it a more efficient killing machine.

What separates AC 4 from its predecessors is that it is more story driven. Though the story is a bit confusing and has many gaps and when all is said and done and the big bad AC is destroyed you are still left with questions.

Being a fan of the series I couldn't give it less than a 5 and being able to play the game in HD is phenomenal, there is so much detail! I enjoyed playing AC 4 but like I said the story was lacking and the series really haven't changed over the years. Hands down the best AC ever was Ninebreaker. Nothing like bored mercenary's participating in tournament combat. PS2 release if you are awarding which system that is for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Living up to the armored core title?

posted by 0jolly0 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Aug 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

As a die hard Armored core fan i was disappointed with armored core 4. Sure they had the usual stuff that i love; Fast action, customizing and 1 on 1 combat. but it just didn't do it for me.

Maybe it was the story line that you had to practically take notes on to understand or maybe it was the complicated layout of the customization or the easy missions. But mostly i think it was how they didn't fix my least favorite thing about armored core, the fact that you can still just get a heavy AC with a lot of fire power and the game becomes to easy or you can get a fast light AC and get blown to bits constantly.

All in all if your an armored core fan id say rent it beat it send it back. If you've ever played an armored core game before and didn't particularly enjoy it, skip it. And if you've never played any armored core game before give armored core 3 for the playstation 2 a chance before you rent this one. (gasp! renting a game not for playstation 3, xbox 360 or wii!!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

AC fans only

posted by Bluelava (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I rented this game looking for a mech feeling without going the Gundam route thinking that even though it got low reviews, it would satisfy the desire that I was wanting.

I was wrong.

Aside from customizing and tweeking your AC as much or little as you desire, the game delivers there, along with tight and responsive control; but in many other aspects it falls short. The missions are usually very abrupt, the storyline is far from entertaining and there's not much to do.

AC is famous for selling out to their hardcore fans, which is the same for this title. If you're new to this series, I would highly recommend skipping and if you have a 360, try out Chromehounds instead.

There are some pros to playing though. The customization and schematics are insanely infinite in possibility and when combining with online play, there is a major strategy to tuning your AC just right and still being able to control it precisely. In that regard, this game is a shining title, but once again, it really only appeals to the core players and with that being said, if you are one of those people, this would probably be a great game for you.

Other than that, the graphics are top notch. There a few places where the frame rate bogs down, but being a launch title, that's to be expected and doesn't hurt the game at all really. Controls are crisp and fluid. Online play is there, the majority of the arenas are small, but depending on the person, it's just a matter of playstyle and pref. If you're new coming on to the online, be prepared to get slaughtered in the beginning trails of your online play because it's pretty much the elite playing now days.

So in conclusion, a so-so launch title, a deep mech tuner, but simply not for the average gamer and that hurts it a lot. A quick rental, buy at your own risk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game!

posted by BulletMtrx (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is one of those games where u have to think alot, it forces you to make up mech-combinations from parts acquired in campaign mode and also this is one of those games for hardcore gamers who like mechs. If u gave this game a bad review this (mech) game isn't for you obviously. I see no flaws in this game, the graphics are crisp and decent and the online game play kills most mech games that are out now for 3rd generation consoles. The game play speed usually varies from just playing competitively online or just playing medium paced single player (campaign). The maps are well adapted to what the game has to dish out. The music is kinda dull but goes along easily without distracting u while playing. I have no clue how this game got such a bad gamer score but if anyone can pick out at least 1 decent mech game besides chromehounds that beats out this game in all aspects of it you might prove me wrong, and also gundam doesent count either because most of thier games arnt very good. The introduction of the boosters on mechs in this game may have thrown players off thier ground hump!ng mech game strategies, but none the less it creates an amazing multiplayer and online experience and opens up new light to action we've have never seen on mech games, no one should post negative score/comments about this game if they cant understand how the game works from just picking it up and putting it down for 5 minutes.
Simply put this is an awesome game if u can understand how to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Armored Core 4: Gamers Review

posted by peanut23 (WINTHROP HARBOR, IL) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

All i can say is wow.. Looked thought all the screen shots. Looked like an awesome game to play, but then to find out that when i got it I tried the online play. I played for 30 seconds and said this game is real bad. Don't get me wrong the graphics are phenomenal. If your transformers, robot game fan then this is your game. But for me its not I like Grand Theft Auto and Call of Duty 4 type of games. If you like those you will not like this game. Wasted time and a rental for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not great, but also not horrible

posted by LunarJon (PECULIAR, MO) Mar 23, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

I will cut right to it... The graphics could be ALOT better. The draw distance seems lacking for the hardware of the PS3. And it's true, the areas you fight in are pretty bland.

Multiplayer is kind of fun, more fun than the singly player story missions.

Customizing your mech is where you will spend most of your time. There are many different options for selling, installing and trading your mech parts. If this is appealing to you then try the game out. If you are a hardcore AC fan, or any mech game for that matter pick this one up. Otherwise wait for developers to get a little better with PS3 coding.

(Sony does seem to be putting out some horrible games on the PS3... hopefully they can pick up the pace quick!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent, but not wowing

posted by billys202 (MONTGOMERY, AL) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game starts out with a killer opening movie, but the game graphics are much different. The game graphics are good but not the best. Control of the mech can be confusing with all the different button combinations to press and the camera angle is not always spot on. Fun for a while, but not a keeper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Typical SEGA game

posted by Liquidswar (BROOMFIELD, CO) Mar 22, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 16 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

SEGA just doesn't make good games anymore. If you weren't bored by the game's screen shots and you happen to pop the game in for a run, then prepare to be disappointed.

The game is a mix between PS1 and PS3 graphics. The game play is repetitive and boring beyond belief. It's obviously a generic series put out with console releases to make an extra buck.

Don't bother renting this title unless you're really bored, and with the current PS3 line up it's possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TO FRIGGEN SHORT

posted by jdcantdie (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

i like the amoured core series but this one was way to short. i finished all missions and the simulation with 3 days not continues play either

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome games, ignore low reviews

posted by Darcwave (RALEIGH, NC) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

This game is not for everyone, it is a hard game to learn and to really enjoy the game you need to learn to be good at this game. Ignore all the other comments saying the game is horrible. Just cause you're bad at the game doesnt mean its bad. Awesome gameplay and very improved buttons and controls compared to the older games, although the controls are still hard to learn and get used to. You have to realize to beable to play a game of this caliber there must be lots of buttons you need to keep track of as well had things on your HUD. The main thing you need to know while playing this game is that its best to make a fast mech and never walk on the ground. You must take to the air at all times or at least boost on the ground otherwise you will move slow (as you would in real life due to physics). Again ignore reviews with low scores, this is an awesome game if you are a good enough gamer to learn it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wish I had paid attention to reviews

posted by MrSverdHed (LOWELL, MA) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

GARBAGE! I have nothing good to say about this game. I love FPS but this was the same fecal matter over and over! Controls feel like lead, auto targeting system was completely useless. Unwrapped, and wrapped back up for shipment in 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cheat's

posted by grizzman33 (BEVERLY, MA) Oct 4, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

WOW! Most of the game's I've played have cheat's/code's for there game's. I guess SEGA has no cheat's for this game. It would help those who have not played mech game's before out. Pluse most game's today have cheat's. If I had the chance to say one thing to SEGA. It would be "Why don't you have cheat's for this game."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Armored Core 4

posted by kcapazzi (COLUMBUS, GA) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Easily one of the worst game titles I've played on PS3. The controls are horrible, and you have to set them at the beginning of the game. The default controls don't have L and R trigger set to fire weapons. Actually, L or R don't have anything to do with weapons. The controls are completely nonsensical. Secondly, the missions last about 2 minutes each. There's no strategy. No story. Just simply land in a mission, and try not to die...which is no easy task. Things are coming at you from all angles, and if you're not a master from the very START of the game, you're cooked. It takes entirely too long to become even the slightest bit good, and the only way to do that is to keep playing the same boring missions over and over. The credit system is terrible, and takes WAY too long to earn enough points to upgrade your mech. I did NOT play this game online, so I will not review that as I would assume the game play would be more exciting. For a single player game (can't play multiple players), it's a total bust and I can only count my lucky stars that I didn't fork out 50 bucks and BUY this stupid title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

....what?!?

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

First, I'm a Raven, not a Linx. Secondly, you will refer to my Core as a Core, not a mech, nor a Next. Third, and this is the most important, if you violate any of these, I will hire another raven to take you down. Ok, Aside from that little joke about the new terms in AC4, it aint bad, but it aint great. As a seasoned player, it took a little getting used to, but once you get the feel of it, you get a little nostalgic....a little. I don't know what other people feel about AC, but to me Master of Arena was the last real actual good AC game. 3 up to last raven were decent, but AC4 is a nice push in a good direction. The user interface needs to be cleaned up greatly. I didn't even know how to find the store. Looking back tho, when I played the armored core demo on ps1 years ago, i didn't know anything then either, and had to figure it out, so....in a way, it's like starting anew. Anyway, Most of the negative thoughts i had about the game are gone, what with me enjoying it for the most part now. I'd say, if you're a fan, try it, but don't expect to be super happy about it, unless you like that kinda stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

annoying

posted by ACNecron (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

annoying is the word i would use to discribe the game. it starts of rather good, for about first two levels/chapters and then it goes bad. the level of difficulty goes really up significantly. i am still not sure how or why do you need missles since you launch about 8 or 12 and maybe only one hits while the other ones go else where. the blade has become more of a relic and you really do only rely on it as a last resort and not a mainstay weapon. my advice, get the armored core for answer since they game seems more stable and easy to adapt to even if you are not a hard core veteran of armored core series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Epic Failure

posted by natharia (NEW MILFORD, CT) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I played this game many months ago, and I thought it was horribe, the graphics were alright but the controls were way to hard to figure out, the upgrades and the weapons were all horribe, I will never rent a game like that again, just one big epic failure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Armored core 4 is horrible

posted by erik320 (SUISUN CITY, CA) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This is by far one of the worst games I've ever played. If I could have rated it a zero I would have. Game play was sub par, missions just boring. Don't rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It' To Limited!!!

posted by rico08 (PLEASANT HILL, IA) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

This game per what I have read about it, it promised unlimited fun. I first want to say that this was the first game on this series I've ever played. The game allows you to detailed your machine on many aspects of it, that made it more attractive. The mission came and I could have not been more disappointed. You're in the middle of a big city, within this city and on any of the missions you are giving a limited area where you can move about, if you go beyond this point, HQ tells you "you are living the mission area". I though to myself, am I playing Socom U.S. Navy Seals? Then my first thought was, why would they enabled these machines for flying, when in-fact you only have limited movement? Not fair, the game does not allow you to discover your machine's great potential. Then you are only given a limited supply of ammunition. Why would they create a futuristic robot which can even fly, and enabled it to carry a limited supply in weaponry? When it comes to graphics, the game it's not bad, however, since you can only fly or walk your machine for only a couple of miles per mission, and since from the beginning of each chapter you are attacked non-stop, you don't get a chance to explore the graphics. Now for the worst part of it, when you are trying to purchase weapons for your machine or up-date details of it, if you don't have enough funds for these up-dates, you can't leave the store. You try everything and it keeps going back to the store. I had to reset the game three times which were the only times I gave the game a try. So remember, if you don't have the exact amount of credits to purchase these items, prepare your-self to be stock for ever. I gave the game a 4, being fair to the game. I have seen worst.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

just terrible

posted by Montalope (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

I began playing with low expectations, in hopes that the game would be better than it was rated. As i began to play i soon came to the realization the the customization was a mess, and the shop menu made little sense. In fact the mech customization of the previous games is much better than that of AC 4. In fact the mech designing system of this game seems to be centered around buying different models of mechs rather than buying different guns and such to create your own personal mech.
Also the controls are clunky and some actions available to you are just usless.

combat is either way to easy or impossibly hard, and the same applies to the missions. One mission i am flying through a canyon shooting the occasional enemy when all of a sudden 99999 missiles come flying out of nowhere killing me.

Also ammo is a problem for the game. THERE IS NEVER ENOUGH!. and ammo conservation is difficult when killing 12 billion little red things that a flying at some base for no apparent reason.

The graphics of this game are not what they could be. After watching a quite spectacular intro the game play looks unattractive at times. And when there is a chance to really show off the games graphics they game creators fail. For instance every level begins with jumping out of a plane, however never once to u get to see the fall... the screen just goes white. Its so frustrating!

but all in all i hated it. It left we frustrated and tried, and i couldn't get trough about 6 missions before i sent this back and played fallout 3 instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What were they thinking

posted by sjdanielek (AVONDALE, AZ) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This game is really alot of fun for people who are into mechs or ac's. Problems are how the game is designed. Constructing AC's (Armored Cores/Mechs) is complicated and boring. Technical specs are overdone and impossible to understand. This game is anti user friendly. Game play is awesome tho. I can use mech maneuvers well and weapons are totaly awesome. Problems weapons seem under developed like there are a few weapons and the rest are built upon the original design with no significant difference in design or capability. This game needs rebuilt from the ground up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Armored Core 4 falls short

posted by bsupie (RALEIGH, NC) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

I have been a big fan of the Armored Core series since its conception on the playstation one and am unhappy to say that while Armored Core 4 is visually stunning, easy to play, and understand the main meat of the game is not there, in other words, thirty short missions, and while hard mode does add some aspects of replayability the last Armored Core game, "The Last Raven" has near 60+ fully developed mission not to mention Armored Core 2:another age which has 90+ missions. Armored Core 4 feels more like an extended demo when compared to the quality of the past games. There seems to be more taken out of the game such as the e-mail function in the game which added depth to the story, the arena function in the game. There are no hidden parts within the levels not to mention the use of optional parts in an AC's that you customize. So that the AC's in Armored Core 4 are less customizable than Armored Core games in the past. Looking at the game the only real improvement is in graphical quality. Good graphics are great but that is not what makes a game good, graphics make a system good, and this can be seen in Armored Core 4 because it uses the graphics of the PS3/XBOX 360 as a crutch to sell more games rather than selling an all around good game where replayability comes from exploring multiple expansive levels not just a hard mode which is a decision I usually make when I start the game. As Armored Core games go Armored Core 4 is a disappointing addition to the Armored Core series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lacking Depth

posted by NeoJester (ABBOTSFORD, WI) Aug 7, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

I agree with a lot of the critic reviews, the game is lacking depth. The missions get to be wash, rinse, repeat. A lot of the customization features are great though and I spent more of my time customizing my Mech then I did playing missions. I think there is a lot they could do with a good back story in the series and hope AC has another title. I have always been a fan of their games but they need to catch the bus and get a good story going.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse