Rent Armored Core 4 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Armored Core 4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.9

2924 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Chromehounds - brains = Armored Core 4

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Mar 21, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

49 out of 66 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

This game bears a striking resemblance to Chromehounds, which is no surprise considering they were both made by From Software. But AC4 is like Chromehounds on cra├žk - twitchy and explosive but not that much fun.

The single-player campaign consists of 30 missions that mostly involve blowing up your objectives as quickly as possible. You get graded and rewarded mainly based on your time, so there's no real motivation to use any strategy or hunt down and kill every single enemy. It's kind of a bummer. Even worse are the "escort" missions where you are required to guard objectives against countless waves of enemies. You may be tempted to actually try to kill an enemy that gets past you, but the combat area is so small that you can't without fear of going outside the borders and failing the mission. Total weak-sauce. Overall, the single-player missions are nothing special and, to be completely honest, a little boring. I saw some potential when I first booted up the game but around halfway through the campaign I gave up hope that it would actually get better.

On the flipside, multiplayer is a bit more satisfying. Bringing your custom mechs to the battle arena against your buddies' mechs is a blast - literally. While not as robust as the Neroimus War in Chromehounds, it's basically just straight deathmatch fun.

Graphically, the mechs are nicely detailed and explosions are cool. Again, much like Chromehounds, the environments are pretty bland and detract from the overall experience. Sound effects are also almost identical to those in Chromehounds, which are pretty good.

Basically, this game is Chromehounds Lite. It's more action-oriented and faster-paced, but all of the substance is removed. It's more anime styled power-sword-wielding mechs as opposed to the more realistic versions from Chromehounds and Mechwarrior. I guess there are some people that would prefer it that way, but I personally prefer the strategy and depth of Chromehounds more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So much wasted potential

posted by KrispyD (YORK, PA) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

28 out of 38 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I remember playing some other Armored Core game way back in the day for the playstation and having a blast. I was really looking forward to this game after having played the living bajeezus out of Chromehounds (another mech game from From Software). I went into this thinking that it'd be simliar to the afore mentioned game, only quicker and with more of an anime style to it. I was mostly right, but there isn't nearly the depth that I was expecting after Chromehounds.

First of all, the campain is pretty weak. The story might make the boring missions worth it if you could understand what was going on. It's all just completly insane and hard to follow. I remember starting up one mission and I was just supposed to kill a guy. No idea why. The missions, until a little over half through, are boring and repetitive. Go in, kill a target as quickl as you can. Not much more to say there.

As for customizing, which is really what a game like this is about, I was a bit disapointed on this front also. It's not that the options aren't there, it's that it's hard to figure out what is going on. There is no "store" but you press a button to see how much something costs. It makes it very hard to sit and weigh out decisions when you can't just browse the store. It's basically intergrated right into the core builder garage menu.

The multiplayer is pretty decent I guess, but it's all just the standard deathmatch fair. 1v1, FFA, 4 on 4 team... nothing special really, especially when considering the almost MMO like game that Chromehounds offered for online play. It almost seems like a step backwards.

Graphically, AC4 is barely up to standards for a next gen game. It's not horrible, but it could be better. As far as the audio goes, the effects are decent enough, but the music gets old real quick. Definatly a game to use your own soundtrack for.

All in all, it's not a horrible game, and if you want more speed in your mech than CH offers, than this could be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fans

posted by armored06 (MONROVIA, CA) Apr 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

17 out of 23 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

I'll say this game is the kind of game that either you love or you hate. I think this game could off been a bit better. I always wanted more speed out of this game and well I got that. other than that Im really disappointed at the fact that there aren't as many parts as other games. mission wise I expected at least twice as much. Arena (simulator now called) well it leaves a empty feeling. I wanted to see more rivals there as well. In my opinion as a fan this game is good but for being a next-gen game they could off done so much of a better work. Another thing that you have problems with is the controllers. They are too difficult to control they were better for ps2. Rent it if you wanna try a fast pace game, buy it if you are a fan like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A big blow up

posted by basqman (MOSCOW, ID) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I had high expectations for this game, only to have them blown out of the water with a cannon off of a mech unit. This game is very deceiving. The controls are difficult and the game doesn't have much space to play in. I would battle some player and would end up outside of the boundaries and receive warnings to return to the battle or else I loose. The graphics are very good in the movies but the game play graphics aren't as good. I was not enjoying myself because all I was doing was flying around in small areas and blowing up tanks and being shot at by another mech. Some have compared it to chrome hounds, but this game is much worse and chrome hounds was a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Attention weaklings.

posted by Quillic (ELGIN, IL) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Do not be fooled by pansies and their poor reviews.

Just because one is incapable of piloting a piece of virtual machinery that is clearly more sophisticated then they could ever comprehend

Does not mean the game is bad.

Its by far to most in depth customizable game ever in any genre of gaming.

And yes, it takes some degree of skill to play.

God forbid you cant just run around with a shotty shooting at a pre-determined angle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a disgrace

posted by Magoichi (BROWNS MILLS, NJ) Apr 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I don't know how they ruined this series, but they did. There is less customization here than the PS2 version of AC2...that game I enjoyed. I don't like giving games 1's, but I feel it truly deserves that for people to see a legitimate review to...stay away from this garbage. The movement at first seems pretty good, but then when you actually play missions?

The targeting shakes off so easily even if the enemy is still right in front of you, sometimes I have something right a few steps ahead, AND I CAN'T TARGET IT, what nonsense is that? This was once a great series, but I think this is where it's time to let it go...I was disappointed in Chromehounds too, but at least I had better control and a working target system there. It ruins the game and adds a degree of difficulty that shouldn't exist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!!

posted by Jhaedenna (FORT CAMPBELL, TN) May 14, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Armored Core 4 is absolutely horrible! The controls are worthless and illogical, and the graphics were absolutely detesting. I would not recomend this game to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unplayable

posted by d448105 (WARMINSTER, PA) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 17 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

Watching the opening movie. I thought this was going to be a great game, was I disappointed! I managed to make it to the last level in the first chapter called Sharpshooter, after getting killed 15 times there I gave up. The load out system in the garage was confusing, maybe it is clearer if you have the instruction book instead of generic control lists. I sent the game back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Auto Aim Sucks

posted by Notaro (OCEAN CITY, NJ) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok, The game itself is very solid. Graphics are nice, controls are easy (Given you can switch them around freely if you don't like the default), multiplayer is fun, my only problem with the game is auto aim. When you're doing the singleplayer missions, Aerial Interdiction for example, sometimes you have to take out certain targets in a short amount of time. The problem is, the auto aim never lets you target what you need to kill, so you kind of have to drag over the target a few times until it locks on. There are also small areas for a few of the missions, semi disappointing when you can fly around so well. That can get annoying, but for the most part singleplayer is solid. When you make your core choice, if your choice isn't working for the missions you're up to, remember selling pieces gives the full price, so you can just swap out light/heavy body pieces and weapons for what you need to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Always a fan

posted by oldcow104 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 11, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i have always loved the armored core series since #1
Out of all of the series, id say this would have to be the best! They have added many new items that i hardly pay attention to, i simply play the games for the use of strategy and explosions. Ah, the main feature of the game! Explosions, they simply have done a brilliant job of making the best kaboom i have seen in any game or armored core. I have to give this a 10 because it has the best features of a game i have seen in a long time, with the shadow effects only comparable with oblivion and halo 3...
The controls are simple, and the game provides your own way to play, whether you prefer the fast mobile and lethal mech, or the rugged bullet proof giant of destruction!

enjoy this game, but please rent to make sure it is for you before you consider buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dont waste your time

posted by MuffenMan (CORONA, CA) Aug 13, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game would be cool if:
1) I was 9
2) I was Asian
3) I lived in Irvine
4) I drove a race car from Japan
5) I didnt waste 60 minutes of my life

I thought this game might be like the old microsoft mech warrior games... was I every wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

In one word...Horrible

posted by dbol205 (STEWARTSVILLE, NJ) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Just plain bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!....

posted by ShkNBke (HARVEYS LAKE, PA) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game was absolutely HORRIBLE. the ONLY, and i do mean ONLY thing i found "cool" about this game was the fact that you can customize your Mechs
(and it wasn't even that detailed to begin with).
The game play was bad, graphics looked like a Playstation 1 game, controls were choppy, interface was worthless, and the computer was either to good or to stupid to understand a strategy for most situations.. i don't recommend this game for anybody who actually likes to play video games and have a good time while doing so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Simply Horrible

posted by Adam26 (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is next gen? Graphics were 4th rate, load screens every time you turn around, no customization, controls were terrible. Don't waste your time here folks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not what i expected(in a good way)

posted by doomedghos (SAYREVILLE, NJ) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The game Amored Core 4 to me was just gonna be another mech game nothing new same old same old. in a way it is, but the game has some pretty cool aspects. My fav is the custimazations there are so many, way more then i expected. the visouls are to be expected for a next gen but make u feel like ur in a war or bad time they take u into the game. its a faced paced game so thats another good reason. lastly it has online which is okay but to me this game is really a single player game. the bad: ummmmmmmmmmmmm visouls could have been better just a tad ummm enviorents were ifish and the multiplayer was okayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy at least. i would really give this game a try and see if u like. for frturning mech fans its enjoyable at very least. for nubs it fun and a great first mech game. i would rent it then buy if ya want

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ARMORED CORE 4

posted by XDarkX (FAIRFIELD, CT) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

this game is really awsome man single player is really fun lots of missions to play and mutiplayer is where it REALLY SHINES very fun game worth buying!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rent, don't buy

posted by Sateler (ITHACA, NY) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is alright. It has good gameplay and fast paced action. But itssingle player is very short. I beat it in 5 hours. They are fun but very unbalanced. Some missions are completely easy and almost impossible to do it without getting an "S" rank. But then again some missions are almost physically impossible. All of the achievements (or at least 80% of them, 5 secret for me still) are single player which ruins the multiplayer online mode. Not much selection in the choice of weapons. Some are under powers, some are over powered. Not a very good balance.

My advice: Dont get this game, instead get Chromehounds (segas other mech game) Its single player is not the greatest but is mostly used a training tutorial for the 6 classes that you must use for the intense 20 player squad matches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Top KNOTCHED MECH game

posted by nHoustonTX (STAFFORD, TX) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

of all the mech games i've played this is the best... i've played it on PS3 and wasn't as impressed as i was with the 360 graphics... game play is hard and online is harder... my kind of game... this is one that'll stay in my gameQ for a long time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Maybe the multiplayer is OK?

posted by zerocrossing (EMERYVILLE, CA) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Where do I start... monotonous gameplay, clumsy control layouts, poor graphics, tedious cut scenes and nonsensical narrative makes the campaign worthless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Action!!!!

posted by lecaroma6 (BROWNSVILLE, TN) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Its okay nice action and I like that fast pace type of stuff. I give a 5 because its not what i wanted to play but it helped me out a little.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty cool

posted by Bappy56 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Sep 5, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

this is a pretty good game but not for its story line though. its alot of big robots fighting to the death.and you get to push the GIANT RED BUTTON that says FIRE on it. no but you do battle through quiet challenging levels to get THE ULTAMATE CORE.(now theres one of those wierd spinny high tech thingys that says loging out)LOGING OUT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but sadly no multiplayer.

posted by NightBlackfox (LUBBOCK, TX) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

It is fun i would give it 10 but no one plays MP all that much anymore. Really awsome though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by goodgamer500 (Coupland, TX) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

awsome once i got it i thougth
i would keep it for a minute BUT WHEN I PLAYED IT I KEEPED FOR A MONTH IM GOING TO BUY IT AT GAMESTOP U ALL OUT THERE RENT IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could Have Been Excellent, But...

posted by Contessa (WELLFLEET, MA) Jan 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Armored Core 4 has the makings of a great mecha action game. But unfortunately, it fails to live up to its potential. The level of customization of your Next (giant robot bristling with powerful weapons) is wonderful, but the initial parts loadout leaves a great deal to be desired, and the feedback as to what the selected part will actually do is sometimes a bit hard to understand.

Gameplay and graphics wise, the game does not fare well. Most of the environments are poorly lit, and even in those that aren't, the enemy unit models are often tiny, and do not stand out against the background. I understand that this is "realistic", but there is a point where realism needs to take a back seat to playability. The missions have very short time limits and ammo quotas imposed on them, making them seem tense and rushed. If building a sense of tension was the goal, it was accomplished, but at a substantial detriment. The feeling upon completing the assigned missions is more "Thank god that's over" rather than "That was awesome!"

The story is minimal and weak. When you first begin campaign play, you have no idea who any of the characters are, and why you as the player are in their company. I have a feeling that this wouldn't be the case if one has played the other games in the series, but I could never get very far in those for similar reasons as this entry.

Bottom line: Armored Core 4 has the groundwork for an excellent Mecha Action/Shooter, but poor execution in the graphics, mission design and story departments. Rent it if you must, but do not expect much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

..

posted by Badd30 (ATHENS, TX) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

suck fest

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse