Rent Are You Smarter than a 5th Grader: Make the Grade for Wii
view large frontback

Are You Smarter than a 5th Grader: Make the Grade

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS
GF Rating
5.1

724 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Good but won't last forever

posted by DanMan24 (SCHNECKSVILLE, PA) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good and is fun to play. If you play this game by yourself, then it would last about 3-7 hours. If you play it with friends and family, then it could last for days. I like the game but the questions are easier than the real game, I believe. The multiplayer mode has a slight advantage over the single player mode but only by a little. The multiplayer has some new games that you can play like spelling bee and flash cards. I think this game is definetly worth a rent, not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So simple a "5th Grader" can play it

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

If you've seen the TV show, then you know what the game is going to offer; you get ten multiple choice questions and a type in your answer question from various subjects and ranging from first grade to fifth grade. It's amazing just how hard some of the questions are.
As you answer questions correctly, you go up the pay ladder to $1 million.
And just like the TV show, you pick a kid to be your helper. Once a game you can peek at your helper's answer or take your helper's answer.
There's also one "Save" per game. Upon your first wrong answer to a multiple choice question, your helper can bail you out if he/she gets it right.
If you get a second question wrong or your first wrong guess leads to a wrong answer by your helper, the game's over. It also ends if you bail out before reaching the $1 million level or you win the $1 million.
The game has the look of the TV show, and Jeff Foxworthy and the kids do a good job of voice acting, but this has very little shelf life.
Sure, you can play it solo or up to 4 players, there's a ten question multi player quiz and a spelling themed quiz where players identify misspelled words.
But these features don't add anything exciting to the mix; this game isn't much more fun than sitting in a 5th grade class with a dull teacher.
Unless you a big time fan of the TV show, skip Are You Smarter than a 5th Grader: Making the Grade"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More fun than I expected

posted by sksuvak (TULSA, OK) Dec 21, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I expected the game to be kind of boring and annoying, but it turned out to be a lot of fun. There seemed to be a good mix of questions ranging from easy to hard. And there are a few different types of games to play, including the basic game for one to four players, and two speed round games, one with basic trivia and one with spelling. It's a great game for when you're having friends over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game for family or just to test your self...

posted by miguel916 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is not as bad as everybody says i enjoy playing this game with my family yes the graphics can look alil better but the game play is just like the tv show i honestly dont see why people dont like it... if you want to test yourself or just want to have fun with the family and friends try it out and rent it after all you can always send it back if you dont like it....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the programmers are not smarter than 5th graders!

posted by missdielle (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

We played this game for 30 minutes then put it back in the mail...when several answers are wrong, you start to question all the answers! Play the game next to a computer with the internet and you'll see what I mean. They said the formula for converting Fahrenheit to Celsius was to multiply it by 100/180 and add 32...when in fact you subtract 32, then multiply by 100/180. This is just the most blatant example...there are more...along with many confusing questions and many very obscure questions that would never have made it to the tv version. I am SOOOOO disappointed, I was really looking forward to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SOOOOOOOO BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADDDDDDD- DDDDDD

posted by Melloman16 (DINGMANS FERRY, PA) Nov 7, 2008

Member since May 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This was one of the worst games I have played in a long long time. My wife and I played it for about 15 minutes and then tossed it back into the mail. The game questions aren't all that bad, but the game looks like it's being played on a gameboy. Stay away from this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

True to the Show but Lacking Imagination

posted by schwarztot (WEBSTER, FL) Oct 5, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game holds true to the game show very well. I think the creators have done a good job taking the tv show and bringing it to the wii. What takes the fun away from this game is not having an objective other than winning imaginary money. The game would have benefited from having a system that allowed you to spend your won money to buy improvements and customize aspects of the game or to unlock other playable characters or areas in the game. As it is, this game is good to rent for a night or two, but not to own as it would get tedious very quickly.
The other downside I found to the game play was the total lack of and AI to compete against. Without another body around, the other game modes are pretty worthless. Overall, not a bad game to have at a party, but not a game I would enjoy owning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by HJoyC2322 (SEBEKA, MN) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game was horrible, my boyfriend and I just got it in the mail today and needless to say we will be sending it back tomorrow, we played for about 5 mins and then we were done. I would not recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Im not smartur then a fif grayder

posted by TinkFreak (WEST CHESTER, PA) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This game makes you feel like you are on the show. I enjoyed playing solo with a couple friends in the room helping out. The multi player games weren't as much fun. They took a lot longer. Good, cheap, entertainment. The questions can be challenging so get ready!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Educational Tool

posted by MsMommyMam (MEMPHIS, TN) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

I like to think of the Wii as more than a mind numbing boob tube enhancement device. As a parent and teacher I have to find ways to "trick" my kids into thinking that they are playing a game when they are actually learning. This game helps with general knowledge and has a great spelling quiz too. Something I have been struggling with myself is how to keep my spelling skills sharp. (Spell check and txting have spoiled me. Get it. The game is fun even if you dont win any REAL money!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game has incorrect answers

posted by jimberg98 (ROGERS, MN) May 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

There's no amount of flash that can make up for the game having wrong answers. "What do you multiply with the height of a right triangle to get the area?" Their answer: Base. This was asked as a million dollar question and the answer has to be entered free form. We tried to figure out the way it expected us to answer. Is it base divided by two, base/2, base X one half, etc. We went with the first and it told us the "correct" answer.

I thought this would be entertaining and fun for my kids since they are 3rd and 4th graders, but instead it turned out to be a game that I couldn't trust my kids to play by themselves since it would teach them incorrectly.

The visuals, BTW, are poor, and the dialog is repetitive and annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

smarter than a 5th grader

posted by jaywayne (MOUTH OF WILSON, VA) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

game was scratched

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by WolFMan666 (MAHOPAC, NY) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

makes you think while creating a challenging amount of brain teasing questions....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I must say wow....

posted by LouieIV (FORT WALTON BEACH, FL) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

The only reason I rented this game is because I played the XBOX LIVE ARCADE version of this game and it was really fun. This on the other hand was a very (and I stress the word "VERY") bad game. I really tried to give it a chance but WOW! Just terrible, plain and simple lol! PeaCe!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

easy and boring

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jan 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

I made it to a million dollars and won it twice out of 5 attempts. A lot of the questions I could answer on my own without any help. Now my husband knew a lot of the stuff so he helped me some and we cheated with the internet a few times too. I wish that they had other games that a single person could play. I couldn't do the other mini games that are on this disc as my husband wouldn't play with me. I soon grew bored with the game after less than 2 hours of play as I didn't find it challenging enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad game

posted by suzmcdan (DESTIN, FL) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

i was so glad i have game fly with this game, rented to play with family over thanksgiving, we managed to keep in in the wii for about 30 min....went back to wii sports which everyone enjoyed way more even after playing this for almost a year...graphics bad questions and game was to slow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

weak game show

posted by donsellers (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

fox worthy is pretty good but after a while the game is annoying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »