Rent Are You Smarter than a 5th Grader? Game Time for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Are You Smarter than a 5th Grader? Game Time

Not Rentable
Also on:Wii, DS
GF Rating
3.7

420 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Some issues but still fun

posted by brram77 (MONTVERDE, FL) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Im surprised to see the incredibly low rating that most reviewers are giving this game. It is, after all, a trivia game and there isnt much you can do with it beyond copy the TV show and put in a lot of questions. And there really are a lot of questions! I played many games, some normal rounds and some speed rounds, and only got one or two repeats. Yes, it gets repetitive quickly. And sadly, playing too much will likely make you hate Jeff Foxworthy because he says the same things over and over.... and of course most of it is geared toward making you think you got it wrong when you actually got it right....how clever! But other than that, answer the questions, get a few gamerscore points and stick it back in the mail. Not a great buy by any stretch, but a very nice rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not A Good Trivia Game

posted by Englentine (APOPKA, FL) Sep 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My family and I are fans of the show. We are also fans of Jeff Foxworthy and the Blue collars, but I only mentioned them because I am not sure I can stretch how I feel about this game into as many words needed to make this a legitimate review. I don't know if I would call this an EPIC fail, but it could possibly be very worthy of the title.

First we start with the graphics : The foxworthy character looks like Jeff Foxworthy, and the kids, well. They end up looking like very creepy kids, that has the same animation every time they are shown. You are given a choice of characters, and a very limited amount of different hairstyles and outfits to customize them with. Not that it makes any difference. Frankly, I would have preffered being able to use my Avatar.

Sound : Well, they play the theme song constantly on every menu screen. so you can expect to tire of that rather quickly. No matter what guy character you chose, they all sound the same, it goes for the girl characters also.
Foxworthy does his own voice over, but it seems he has only recorded about 15 phrases, so it takes no time at all for it to become very repetitive.

Gameplay : It is very simple, pick a category, you are given a question. Press the corresponding button to the answer. Okay, fine. Very simple, yet for some reason. It takes forever to load between answers. Also do not expect to get this for some easy achievments. Most of the things you can get, will be either far too long to play. Or online, and good luck finding anyone to play online with you

Over all it is a failure of a game. It should have at least been an entertaining trivia title. Instead, it has made me not even care about the tv show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by xRASHx (WOODBURY, TN) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This has to be one of the worst games for the 360 to date. It feels like a game you could play on the computer for free and still feel like you are getting jipped. Very repetitive with the animations between questions, and like a previous reviewer said: There is even a cutscene to tell you what the right answer was for a True/False question.........rediculous. Not even worth a rent for easy achievements, because the achievements are not even easy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

An XBL title at retail price? No, thanks.

posted by StrahdZ21 (LANCASTER, PA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the same game that is available for XBL. The first two games I played already had the game repeating questions.

The way the game is set up is frustrating to say the least. And why is the contestant always a blonde woman?

One really annoying thing is when you get a true or false question wrong. It takes so long for them to go through the whole, "Let's see the correct answer." spiel. If you got a true or false answer wrong, you OBVIOUSLY know what the correct answer was.

You get so tired of repeated animations and Jeff saying the same thing over and over in the first 10 minutes of playing that you start spamming the A button and skipping scenes. But the weird part is that you can't skip every useless scene.

And when you do win, it doesn't really feel like you accomplished anything. Plus the achievement system in this game is bogus.

This game got mailed back the same day I got it.

I'd give it a big, fat, zero if I could. It is worth nothing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not bad.

posted by janema108 (SAN CLEMENTE, CA) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This game really isnt that bad. I rented it for a bunch of quick achievement points. boy, was i wrong. These achievements take some work. It took some time in the game to unlock all of the offline achievements. It sucks though because 14 of the achievements are online, and lets face it, your probably the only person online playing the game. I enjoyed the game overall, but the achievements are a pain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good game

posted by reviewman101 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is actually pretty good! After reading the reviews i was kinda thinking this game was going to be terrible. But after all its just a quiz game. Me and my family played it and it was really fun and compettive. I dont know why people say its terrible its not really not.You probbily wont have it for a long time though because it gets kinda old doing the same game modes.but if it had more game modes it will be perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

smarter than 5th grader

posted by county (PELHAM, NC) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

this is easily the worst game ive played all year. the trivia is trivia, cant complain about that. the other things bring it down. namely jeff foxworthy. hearing his little comments constantly drive me insane. he got stuck saying the same line after every question for 10 questions. the game plays much better with the tv muted. also the only playable character is a lady who looks like a soccer mom. this game is so family freindly it makes me nausious. also the acheivements dont come easily, so dont rent it for the points. in fact just dont rent it. or buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not so good

posted by unseth (LEESBURG, VA) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

This is a different version than the arcade game with more achievement points and more game modes, but it doesn't help.

Achievements: The vast number of the achievements are in online multiplayer mode, which is bad for the main reason that I could never find a single person online to play with in any mode. Not that I blame them.

And the single player ones are pretty crazy. Play the game 100 times, and answer 6,000 questions correctly. Insane. You won't be able to play this game more than 5 times. I even had one that was bugged that I should have unlocked.

Game play: Fun for the first time or two, but forget about it. Foxworthy only says about 3 different things. You have to skip every cut scene and there are a lot between each question which really slows the game down.

Also each "kid" that you can pick has two categories they like. However, it even changes during the game. For instance I picked kelly who is good at animal science. And then if you ask her after you pick her, she won't say animal science. Plus even if the kid is good an animal science, it doesn't mean anything. They still miss the question as much as if it waswn't their specialty, so who knows.

All of the questions are multiple choice except for the last which you have to type in. Make sure you know how to spell and exactly the order of the phrase or you'll get it wrong. Horrible.

There are bugs and bad graphics abound too. You can customize your character with a whopping like 2 choices per outfit.

Overall I don't see a single reason to rent this game. It'll keep you entertained for about 20 minutes and that's it. Achievement hounds need not even try. Nothing here for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »