Rent Arcade Zone for Wii
view large frontback

Arcade Zone

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.8

210 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't go into this Zone

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 19, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For those of you looking to play the Atari 2600 versions of Kaboom! and Freeway, then you need look no further than Arcade Zone, a compilation of 17 mini games
This arcade starts off with three zones. The first zone is the classic zone where you play games like basketball shooting, skee ball and making pizzas (wait, that's not a classic game).
There's a sci-fi zone where you shoot targets, build a tower and make corndogs (I'm not kidding).
Then there's a Pirate Zone where you spin a wheel, play hockey and make smoothies (what's with the cooking games?)
At the onset of the game, you select an avatar from a selected group of eight. Hope you like your choice becuase you can't change it at all after you selected him/her.
Each of the three beginning zones has five games, and if you beat four of the five in all three zones, then you unlock a fourth zone, the GameMaster zone, for the last two - air hockey and Kaboom! Beat those two games and you beat the compilation.
But wait, each game gives you tickets you can use to buy some of many, many prizes at any of the four zones
Problem is, most players will be able to get through the game in about an hour, so the only other course of action is to play the games over and over again and rack up enough tickets to buy all the prizes in the arcade.
Which would be fun if these games are mostly exciting, but that is not the case here. The graphics for Kaboom! and Freeway are lacking, and the rest of the game isn't that much better to look at. (The prizes are completly forgettable.) Each game uses a simple button push or flick of the Wiimote over and over again. I found it really boring.
You can play any unlocked game in multi player mode, which adds some spice to the compilation, but almost every other mini game compilation has this feature.
Arcade Zone needs much better graphics, prizes and presentaion. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not A Bad Game...Just A Bit Off Though

posted by WiiWowGuy (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jan 13, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game wasn't that bad as people may have rated it. I just started playing Wii. I never owned one and just played here and there at friends. For a family and friends its not too bad.

Pros: I like how many game options you had. Alot of classic games (frogger, whack a mole.) and new arcade games for you to play. Like how you can play with your family. You earned tickets and could "buy" prizes.

Cons: Alot of the multiplayer games seemed jumbled, like you were falling on top of one another when you played. Loading time is horrible. The voices in the background are annoying as all get up. You didn't have all of the levels at first. Some games were locked and you had to beat a highscore. The sensor for Wii had a lag time with this game for some reason like the "Robot Bowling"

I kind of feel like its good for a beginner, but I wouldn't get this again. It was bit on the dull side, but it wasn't a complete loss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It's amazingly terrible

posted by Peekho (ALPINE, CA) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is by far the worst game I've played on the Wii. In fact, it would've been a terrible game even if it was released on the Gamecube or SNES. Loading times are outrageous for such small games and after they load they just aren't much fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ARCADE ZONE

posted by dwayne0617 (GLADSTONE, OR) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

BORING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

arcade zone

posted by ailens101 (WILLIAMSBURG, VA) Dec 1, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is to easy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth the time

posted by jparsh77 (COLDWATER, MI) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I found this game very boring and not fun at all... About the best game on their is skeeball

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Deja vu

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) May 22, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

OK the same old routine of unlocking games is not fun. I wish publishers would realize that. The constant repetitive commentary from the geeky characters in the game ruins the game after a few minutes. It was a good idea but then they screwed it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

going to dave and buster is more fun.

posted by johnnyboy3 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Oct 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

this game is bording.their is not a lot of game to play. only i like is the remake of the old actvision game they have in the arcade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sounds good, but ends in disappointment...

posted by ItsmeMario (ELIZABETH CITY, NC) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I primarily rented this game for the Skee Ball feature, but that excitement ended within the first few minutes. Even with changing the position of our sensor bar, "throwing" the ball was difficult. I ended up "throwing" three balls before getting irritated and moving on to the next game. (And believe me, I felt the consequences of my actions for the next few days..."Throwing" the ball took such force that it was almost impossible!)

The rest of the games were expected. There is a knock off of Space Invaders and even a "Whack-a-Mole" knock off. These type of games would probably keep a younger (13 & under) busy for a while.

Commentary was horrible! I eventually muted the tv after a few minutes of annoying comments from (what sounded like) the Comic Book Guy from The Simpsons.

I'm glad I rented this game from Gamefly instead of paying big $$ from our local store. I wouldn't rent it again, and I probably wouldn't recommend it to anybody except those desperate for a few minutes without the kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »