Rent Arc Rise Fantasia for Wii
view large frontback

Arc Rise Fantasia

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

746 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Good JRPG but the localization didn't go well

posted by Zoobrax (FUQUAY VARINA, NC) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Arc Rise Fantasia is a pretty good JRPG. Its very classic in its design and playstyle. Its combat system is familiar but with some subtle changes to make it its own. I like the way its set up presonally. If you like your JRPG games classic than this is worth a look, (God knows how many times I've played through Chrono Trigger on SNES and DS) and I like classic JRPG.
However, this game has, sadly, not been localized very well. The voice acting has received some vicious panning from various reviews and their completely correct. The voice acting is just awful. I looked forward to the text conversations between the characters. I am not lumping all the blame on the actors, they really did not have much to work with here. Some of these lines have no way to be read in a way that would make them work. The music is actually pretty good and appropriate for where your characters are at and what their doing.
My bigger problem with Arc Rise Fantasia is how it looks. The opening cut scene (not cinematic) looks good but then we get to the gameplay graphics, sigh. Look I know we are talking about a Wii game and that we can't expect PS3 and 360 level graphics. Ok, I know, I accept that, but can we at least have graphics better than early PS2 games. Plenty of games on the Wii look just fine between cinematics and gameplay.
If these don't bother you. You know, you like old school graphics and turning off voices than hey. My complaints aside, the game is pretty good, so give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Essentially a Success

posted by ThatQris (MELROSE, MA) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Since Namco decided to eliminate half of their fanbase by not releasing Tales of Graces in the US, many Wii owners will welcome this with open arms. Arc Rise Fantasia is the traditional JRPG experience.

Graphics
Far from HD, players will more often than not be annoyed with the "pixelated" look of Fantasia. At the risk of using the wrong word, I'll call it low-definition. It looks like a PS2 game; you'll feel the same way you did a couple years ago when you played a PS2 game that looked like a PS1 game. Of course, that's not bad; PS2 had wonderful landmark RPGs, and while it's not carried in an advanced vehicle, the art is pleasing. The character designs themselves are pretty great, and every environment feels lush; every animation feels organic. Inconsistent framerate, though.

Sound
Consistently nice contemporary classical. Some epic tracks (boss battle themes, overworld theme), but in a very familiar way; nothing new. Sound effects are mostly stock from what I can tell, but again, they're pleasant.

Oh, right. It's glaringly obvious that none of the voice actors were in the same room. Leading lady Ryfia clearly learned English as a second language, and while I haven't gotten far enough to confirm that this was unintentional, she sounds horribly awkward. L'Arc sounds unexcitable. Honorable mentions must go to Adelle, who plays well the role of level-headed girl. It's reminiscent of Saturday morning anime.

Gameplay
A simple take on turn-based battles: The AP system. Those of you who enjoy cozy, relaxed battles will swoon, but there are some real challenging bosses that demand real strategy. Granted, most mooks won't be dealt with by mashing the A button. You can customize you weapons by placing Tetris pieces on a chart, but equipment is pretty shallow.

Story
Even with shallow VA, you get used to the nonsense characters. Some players may even become endeared. Some crazy plot twists, expected and unexpected. Just a standard epic tale. Epic, cliche, and nostalgic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An awesome game with a horrible drawback: voices

posted by Chikage (COVINA, CA) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. The graphics are a sight to see and pleasant to the eyes. The characters all stand out and aren't horrible to look at. For those of you anime people, the artist is the infamous Bones. One of their animes? Eureka Seven.

Pros:
The graphics are amazing.
The music is pleasant to the ears and gets good when in a battle and when some dramatic scene is played.
The controls are simple and can be used with the Wii Remote w/ Nunchuk, Classic Controller, and GameCube Controller.
The battle is interesting as there's an AP system, which is a lot like Skies of Arcadia, and can be diverse throughout the party.
The overworld is a lot like the Tales Of Games and is vibrant.
Many things to do, like upgrading weapons during battle and then using transferring the power from the weapon to another.
The magic system is like the ORIGINAL Final Fantasy, where you use a point system (which is your MP) and can upgrade it in shops
They have on-screen monsters, so no random battles (though I'm used to that due to Final Fantasy)

Cons:
It's slow in the beginning and the battle system is a little hard to get use to, but is way easier than you think.
The voices...........THE VOICES!!!!!!!!!

The biggest drawback in this game is the voices. About 90-99% of you reading this will agree on the voices. They are horrendous. In fact, this some of the worse voice acting ever....EVER!!!! L'Arc is below average. Alf's voice is wayyyyy too deep, like he chained smoked before he came into the game. This new guy I met, Niko, sounds like he has a horrible cold, and the worse of them all........the main girl, Ryfia. She is literally THE worst voice in the game. Monotonous, sounds too old for a 16 year old character, doesn't fit her character, her fighting voice is ugly....I can go on and on about her and you'll believe everything I just said.

Anyways, this game is good. No joke, but if you can get past the voices, you're in for a good game.

8/10. -2 because of the voices.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ENOUGH ABOUT THE VOICES!!!!

posted by johnnie173 (WILKES BARRE, PA) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Seriously people, listen up....
I've been playing the game for about ten hours, waiting for my ears to start bleeding after reading the "horrific" reviews of the voice acting in the game...
Guess what?
If you rent a video game to experience Academy Award Winning voice overs, you should reconsider your priorities in life.
And if you don't like the voices, YOU CAN TURN THEM OFF!!!!
Remember RPG's from back in the day that didn't have voice overs?
They were still pretty good, right?
My all time favorite, Final Fantasy X didn't have any, as I recall. Neither did Zelda: Ocarina of Time, Majora's Mask, ect.
GET OVER IT!
Don't let the nit picky reviews you've read to this point deter you from renting this game.
Is Arc a ground-breaking, life-altering experience? NO!
Is it a fun way to unwind after a day of school/work with a beer/soda? Yes!
This is a straight-up, standard, turn-based attack JRPG. The fact that Ray Romano, Jack Black, Drew Berrymore, and Charleton Heston don't do the voice overs should not deter you.
I'm giving it a "7", only because I'm only ten hours in... I assume my score will go up when I'm finished.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enjoyable if somewhat cliche jRPG for Wii

posted by JTurner82 (HIGHLAND PARK, NJ) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This has been one of my most anticipated titles for Wii, and so far I have to say that I really like it a lot. The graphics, while probably a little rough in places, are nonetheless colorful and pleasant to the eyes, and Yasunori Mitsuda's music is a definite plus. The battle system is also quite complicated yet at the same time fairly accessible.

As far as the story and characters go, this is basically stuff that we've already seen in many other RPGs, but there's nothing wrong with that. Probably my only major complaint is Ignition's localization job. As everyone else mentioned, the voice work is disappointingly off-color and flat, but not enough to ruin the actual game (and you can mute the voices, too).

ARC RISE FANTASIA is an acquired taste of a game. Anyone expecting another TALES OF SYMPHONIA or FINAL FANTASY VI probably won't find it here in this title, but anyone hungry for an RPG on the Wii since TALES OF SYMPHONIA's spin-off will undeniably devour it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad, but not amazing either

posted by beached (WILMINGTON, NC) Aug 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The JRPG genre is one of the better genres out there. However, the unenthuesiastic voices added to the text was the first sign this game was going to drive me bonkers. Next came the "Role" options. I expected it to play out a little more like FF13 with the paradigms, however instead i find my characters being useless and overall wasteful in their efforts. Casting spells against enemies with that spell class as its strength told me the computer didnt know how to fight. The overall story though is actually pretty decent, but unfortunatly the gameplay and the voice acting ruin it. I do, however like the fact that one of my favorite manga/anime artists drew the characters for said game. I give it a meh because it is an ok way to kill time if your looking to do such, but unfrotunatly, back to gamefly this one goes.

Pros:
Artwork is beautiful
Story is pretty decent

Cons:
Voice actors are terrible, they sound like they dont care and this will make you stop caring too
Computer doesnt know how to efficiently use the "Role" system
Forgot to mention their endbattle catchphrases are rediculous, as well as their leveling up phrases too

I give this game a 5, maybe one day when i run out of games to play i'll pick this title back up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not good. Not good at all.

posted by Dualmask (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a chance, thinking "could the voice acting really be as bad as they say it is?"

I have never played a game with VO so bad that it ruins any hope of good gameplay. I watched the opening scene, played a few battles, but the monotone voices, bad lines and overall lack of excitement in the game play made me wonder why I was wasting my time with this title when there are so many great Wii games I could be playing instead.

Developers have to step it up. Work on the presentation more. Stiffly-animated character models and bad voice overs don't work in 2010. This game would have sucked if it were a first gen PS2 title. As a late gen Wii title, it's criminal that this game was released in this condition. Avoid unless you like games that will put you to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FUN

posted by MikeHaney (WILLARD, OH) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game is fun but gets harder as you move on. It is a game to buy and have the strategy guide for the game. It is pretty neat game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Angelchan (MARS, PA) Apr 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

Great game to play...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

chessy done right

posted by GigasPrimus (RICHMOND, KY) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game was everything I love about RPG's and almost none of what I hate about them. First and foremost the biggest downfall, I found that the boss battles at the end of dungeons were excessivelly more challenging then the dungeons themselves. I had to back track alot to level up in order to handle most of these situations. That being said most everything else about this game was amazing loved the Arms Force system for the weapons, the character developement was way over par, and overall the game did everything well. One minor qualm however I trully wish that the costumes served a greater purpose in the game. All in all I give this game a major recommendation to all avid JRPG fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice game to hold you over till other games come

posted by redeem34 (MAULDIN, SC) Aug 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

While I understand why the voices tick people off, but If you not going to play a game base on that. then what the point of you renting half of the hidden gems out there?

Pros of Arc Rise
-weapon ability to level up
-grinding isn't so hair pulling boring
-A world map for a Wii Rpg that worth renting

Cons
-Try to pull to much off from other RPG
-Boss battles don't feel like It take much more then,attack attack,heal up, use magic, limit break, repeat till boss is dead
-story isn't groundbreaking or new, but it what we all forsee in an JRPG

Great time eater,OK game play and story. worth renting I won't buy it in store or anything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible mess....

posted by animecrazy2881 (ANCHORAGE, AK) May 1, 2011

Member since May 2011

Ok, so i wanted to give this game a try, seeing that most third party games on the Wii are lack luster. Im glad i tried it out via gamefly before buying it. The graphics are PS2 quality, which leads me to that the people who made this game either dont know what the Wii is capable of or they just dont care. The voice acting almost put me to sleep, and why is it out of sync with the characters mouth movements? Third grip is the battle system.... I dont need to be asked after every single action if i want to confirm that action. Does final fantasy need this? No, so why does this game need it? Its bad enough that the Wii is an underappreciated system, I just wish there were better games to play on it. Putting out games like this doesnt help nintendo out any. Ill wait for Skyward Sword thank you very much!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not Bad

posted by SaigoNoGetsugaT (SANTA ROSA, CA) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

When I started playing it I noticed that the graphics were pretty good, Fighting sequence just as FF and the other thing that got my adrenaline going was the fact that they have summons, I got my first GF (FF Name) and it was awesome, the only thing that hurt my ears was the voice acting, it was very bad, lips didn't match the voices, gets kinda annoying at times the voice keeps lowering and moving up so you have to be ready to be holding the remote and pressing the volume, I just muted the voices and read the subs, I wish they had the Japanese ones instead, anyways other than that is a very good game, very well thought !! Ill give it a 7/10 !! Love the fighting style !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great after the first real boss

posted by Nailbunny (GREENWOOD, SC) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

All of the reviews I've read about this game is how terrible the voice acting is... And well it is bad at the start. After a while everyone's voice seems to slowly fit into their character.

I think the battle system was done rather well. You could stack 6 spells with 1 character if you wanted, or spread it out over 2 or 3, or have everyone run around like headless chickens (last one not recommended).

The only issue I have with the battle system is the major gap between normal encounters and the bosses. Everything you fight in every dungeon up until the boss is generally a laugh because you can kill them all before they get a turn. The problem is, you take a LOT of damage in this game. And when it takes 20 rounds of constant attacks to kill a boss, and your healing/defending for 2/3rds of your rounds, the battle gets way drawn out and you die by running out liquids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not For the Seasoned Player

posted by Endria (GRAND RAPIDS, OH) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I think a casual JRPG player may have fun with this game. I played for about :30 minutes and the game was back in the sleeve, ready to head on back to GameFly.

The graphics are "OK." I have a PlayStation 3, so I might be a little spoiled. The opening sequence wasn't too bad, and helpful for those who do not want to sit down and read the manual for the controls.

The game play wasn't all that bad. The simple tell your character to fight or heal, then let the round go. I could have survived that. But it was the Voice Acting and overall Sound that got to me. My ears are still ringing.

I don't know if it is the fault of the writing, direction or the actors, but everything sounded like it was a table read at a weekend acting workshop with one mic in the room.

I might attempt this again, but I don't think I can get past the Sound issue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be so much more.....

posted by darkfayt20 (LOWELL, MI) Sep 25, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

ugh.....another un decent rpg, aside from the voices which basically made me stop playing the game, was the incredibly easy battles, I assume even the bosses are easy

sadly this is not even close to what I expected it to be

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The JRPG that Tried Too Hard

posted by Annuniel (CENTREVILLE, VA) Sep 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Arc Rise Fantasia is a good game that any RPG fan should at least try. Though there are some aspects of the game that are fuzzy, you will enjoy this game for at least one play-through.

Story 7
The story was rather solid, although slightly cliché for a JRPG. It's biggest downfall was the writer's inability to get the story from point A to point B. It was so painfully obvious at times that the justification of going to the next city may have well been 'because the script said so and we're bringing character B because she's my plot point!' If you can stop yourself from asking why in the beginning, the story unfolds quite nicely.

Character 7
Although very cliché, the characters were entertaining. Still, I am getting a bit weary of the main guy being an insensitive jerk who everyone seems to love and the main girl who's so naive and sheltered its amazing she can even dress herself. Putting that to the side, you get some interesting character developments that may surprise you.

Game Play 9
The battle system was engaging and kept you on your toes. It had a stop and go feel to it, as you would stop to give all your characters commands and watch them go in a sudden flurry of action that coincided with the enemy's turn. The bosses could be frustrating, especially if you haven't played an RPG before, as they were at a much higher level than the enemies in the dungeon around him. It wouldn't have been a bad thing to purposefully die at a boss battle, just to see what kind of attacks he had so you could better prepare for them.

Sound 4
There are no Japanese tracks. The voice acting is atrocious at best. It may have been better than some JRPGs, but that didn't save it from making your ears bleed. The background music, on the other hand, was pleasant and fit the scene accordingly.

Graphics 4
As this is a Wii game, I wasn't expecting high quality graphics. However, the graphics were at best a PS2 level. The world graphics were pleasing, but this really looked like a PS2 game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

so freaken hilarious

posted by konoar (KANSAS CITY, MO) Sep 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Yes this game so hilarious i got drunk off its pure hilarity after playing for only a few minutes, but seriously dont let that turn u away from this game. it really does have a very deep and engaging battling system like for example the AP (action points) are a great example its the points that determin what actions and how many actions the whole party can perfrom in one turn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another one bites the dust.

posted by Obscured (WEST BRANCH, MI) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Im a pretty big fan of Rpgs so I hate to see them fail. Arc Rise Fantasia suffers from the same thing alot of JRPGs do. The voice acting is real unbearable along with a easy but lack there of combat system. The characters look good and the graphics are pretty crisp for the Wii. You start the game out with Larc and meet some unique but forgettable companions along your journey. If you can get past the voice acting there is still a pretty solid rpg to be had here. If you like rpgs then it wont hurt to try it out since there isnt very many rpgs out for the Wii. If u have a different system I would stick with Final Fantasy 13.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

very hard to stomach...

posted by jjohn2478 (CARLSBAD, CA) Aug 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2008

There are almost no pros to this game aside from being funny. The problem is, it is unintentional.

The graphics are horrendous even for the Wii, the game play is boring and unoriginal, and the voice acting the worst I have ever heard before.

I couldn't even make it past the first 30 minutes. Avoid this one like the plague and move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hours of Training

posted by Expertgame (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Good grahphics and story line.That about it for pros.

The cons are that it takes many hours on end destroying monsters battle after battle to even become the same level as the bosses. A few more hours to at least make it an easy fight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Laughable at Best! Horrible to say the Least!

posted by MrDude (BURTCHVILLE, MI) Aug 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

I rented this and within the first 30 minutes I thought it was completely rediculous! Don't get me wrong, the gameplay is solid and the turn based combat is original as heck but it's not enough. The voice acting is horrible and the graphics are, at best, ps2 quality. Also, I find in the beginning, when there are armored up soldiers fighting wyverns atop flying ships, that's cool, but what ruins it is that the main hero steps out wearing nothing but normal clothing and claims, " I got this.". This is the part that I found to be hilarious and my expectations sank to none. It's NOT bad it's just that it's far to simple and stereotypical of an rpg for me even to think about. If you want some low quality fun, it's right here, otherwise just look away and put this game out of mind forever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ooohh boy

posted by itachi4eve (BONNERS FERRY, ID) Jul 31, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Well, I was looking forward to playing this but it just became too cliche. It was also the first time I was hoping for text to scroll so I didn't have to hear their horrible acting......This is a pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »