Rent Ar Tonelico Qoga: Knell of Ar Ciel for PS3
view large frontback

Ar Tonelico Qoga: Knell of Ar Ciel

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

827 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

A very quirky, inappropriate but funny JRPG

posted by Cylanth (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

38 out of 42 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

If you are not familiar with the Ar Tonelico series, its a JRPG focused on Reyvatiels (female song mages/androids). The series always has a lot of sexual innuendo, and stars almost nude female characters that appear to be very under-aged. Its no different with Knell of Ar Ciel. I felt the material can get very inappropriate at times - from eye rolling to grimacing. In order to power up your Reyvatiel, they have to strip. Yeah, you cant make this stuff up. If you can put up with the concept, the actual gameplay is pretty good. This game is much better than NISA's other recent release, Hyperdimension Neptunia. This game has a better story, better graphics and better rpg gameplay mechanics. Combat can be frantic fun, with realtime combat and strategy. Graphics are colorful, nice character models, voicework is anime quality. Story is well told, even if there are too much thrown at you sometimes. A decent JRPG, if you like the genre. Just dont let your girlfriend/wife watch you play, you will have a lot of explaining to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I was Surprised!

posted by SkySquid (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 1, 2013

Member since May 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had my doubts at first ,but as I started playing I found I deeply enjoyed the mechanics of this game. First off, this game is seriously one that matches its rating I suggest not playing if your deeply offended by the vulgarity and random innuendo that causes doubt about whether it's you or the game that is perverted, if you have problems picturing this heres a thought, imagine diving head first into an attractive masochistic womans head and solving her inner dilemmas, that is something you get to look forward to if you play...Who knows maybe you will like it as much as I did ahaha. A warning... I would be very careful on your decisions and actions and pay close attention not to oversave on a mistake because small actions can cause giant rippling effects to this games ending, however on a happy note, there is many endings to enjoy!!! My only problem was the lack of change to the characters weapons as you equipped new ones...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Game Kinda Racy

posted by bt29 (DURHAM, NC) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Storyline was a slice of apocalyptic world with the remaining humans making trouble.

Enjoyed combat but it took me almost the whole game to figure out how to use the most important player in your team. So demo could use a little clarification. The purge cut scenes were a little annoying after a while but can be easily turned off to speed up combat.

The alchemy portion of the game was important to getting the best weapons but it there wasn't anything to it. You could not fail in creating an item so I didn't really see a point except it was another aspect of the game to find. (Recipes that it is)

I like the dive portion of the game allow you to unlock different personas with your characters and depending on your choice will dictate how far you will be able to dive.

Overall I liked the game and spent almost 50 hours on it before sending it back. If I hit the 50 hour mark I would have probably been bored to tears, since I would have max each character out making the game really easy. I'll keep my eye out for the next installment of this franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding JRPG

posted by 246 (MESA, AZ) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I must say, it's an awesome game and it reminds me alot like the Tales series. Although it may not be a legit JRPG, but it's awesome.

Purging is the action that can take the Reyvateil's clothes off. That's why it does have Partial Nudity for a reason. But it's a bad thing that you can level up that quick unlike other RPGs, though. Their voice overs are fine. I'm starting to like it. It may be perverted, but it's an outstanding JRPG to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I gave it an 8 on a whim....

posted by arumat (DAHLGREN, VA) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well this game is fun, solely because of the girls and the really cheesy, embarrassing, should not play in front of family content, that is pushing the limit of almost nakedness.

Pros: Cute girls, long story, you can move to dodge attacks and block. You eventually get skills to add to the basic three hit combo.

Cons: You do not want to play this in front of family...they will look down on you with shame... it's on the edge of innuedo and honesty sometimes is not even innuedo anymore -I think it's a pro-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not for sensitive people. SUPER FUN!!!

posted by lordkor (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Apr 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Ok right off the bat, if you don't like provocative dialog and images do everyone on Earth a favor and don't get this game. I'm glad a company has the guts to put a game out where not every character speaks properly and doesn't swear. I'd say about 70% of the game is oozing with some form of innuendo or racy comment. The game centers around the main characters relationship with the Heroine, who uses songs to aid the party giving bonuses such as attack power, resistances, etc. The twist is the more clothes she takes off (called Purging), the stronger her abilities. You build your relationship via dialog and Diving. Diving allows you to enter her mind and play through various events. As you complete the levels of her mind you gain additional abilities. Aside from the Heroine aspect, you can synthesize a variety of equipment from recipes you find. The battles are real time. As an added feature there is a Harmony Bar at the bottom. Ideally, you want to hit the attack button when the line crosses a high bar, which causes more damage. Sounds odd but it's actually really fun. Also, as you fight the Burst Meter builds as does the Heroines heartbeat. The Burst allows for a powerful attack, and the heartbeat allows for Purging. Unfortunately the game isn't very long even with level spamming and re-exploring areas. Nonetheless, it's a definite rent/buy.

THE GOOD
Provocative dialog & game play.
Good amount of humor.
Synthesis.
Twist on standard battle system.
Good graphics.

THE BAD
Semi short.

THE UGLY.
Nothing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Jiggling girls aren't enough to make this worth it

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Apr 21, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I don't think anyone really explained what this game is before I got it in the mail, so here's a simple explanation.

You (a guy) follow two girls around, who can change physical bodies depending on how well you get to know them.

You (the guy) never change what happens in battle. Only the girls have the ability to buff and heal, and different abilities are found by entering their minds at any town you visit... the more you spend time with them, the deeper into their minds you can go.

Also, the girls power lies in their ability to feel the spirit of the planet, so the less clothing, the closer to the planet they are. They only go down to underwear, so it's not that racey.

Gameplay-wise, the game is a normal RPG, but attacks scenes are live, with you running around hitting the only attack button over and over. After some time, the girls have built-up power to buff or attack.

Overall, the game just isn't fun. It's very VERY text/talk heavy, and there are no bosses or ancient weapons to gather... meaning the story is really you simply following the girls around, occasionally making boring decisions on which one you like, so you can get multiple endings... probably the most endings in any game ever.

It takes a lot of time, a lot of reading/listening, and little thought. This is not quirky fun like Hyperdimension Neptune, or dating fun like any of the Persona series... it's just bland.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Fun little RPG worth trying out.

posted by SecretLoser (BOERNE, TX) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First of all, if you want a incredibly serious story and no fooling around, you are clearly in the wrong place. If you can get past some of the blatant ecchi, you are in for a fun ride.

Graphics: The character models in 3D look okay in the environment, but much better during battle, but the environments are usually pretty generic. Some of the animations of the few times the 3D models talk are pretty bad, so don't be too suprised. The eye candy mainly comes from some of the special battle animations, artwork, and cutscenes.

Sound: Voice acting is very well done in my opinion, and a lot of the sound effects are appropriate. Whether you like the quirky music probably depends on your personality, but it doesn't vary very much. I usually just set the music to zero and play my favorite metal record.

Play-ability: The game is simple but does provide some depth. The battles are fun despite their simplicity, and it's always interesting to enter the girls cosmospheres, but it can occasionally drag a bit. Add a creative synthesis system, and it's a very enjoyable game.

Special Notes: The game is noted for it's mechanic (Purge) where you strip the girls of 3 of their 4 layers of clothing to reveal more skin, so they can use more power from the Earth. This is highly criticized, and causes many reviewers to overlook positive points because of an odd phobia of women.

Audience: The game is mainly for fans of the manga/anime, but only because of the earlier mentioned Purge feature. Prepare yourself for this, and it's lack of too much of a serious tone and you may enjoy yourself very much.

I would rate this game a 7, it's an enjoyable RPG with a few twists and turns that are unusual but welcome if you are prepared for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

kickass RPG

posted by Ninja75621 (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Oct 28, 2011

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

its even better than the last 2

you get to strip girls in order to power up, and be stronger on the battlefield

and even use music as a weapon (metaphorically)

the characters are all around likeable and the combat system is preety neat and complex, and its different too

get this RPG its awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not for every player, great potential

posted by Alpha_Cookie (AIRWAY HEIGHTS, WA) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

First off, let me state that this is a JRPG, which only appeals to a very niche market here in the US. This game has its quirks, and its inappropriate moments that earn this games M rating. The games magic focuses on the getting your singer (magic person) to do the video game equivalent of a strip tease to increase their power. The travelling is what is expected of a typical JRPG clunky animation in top view environment with random screen shatters that turn into a battle, everything you'd expect from a retro Final Fantasy game, just this particular RPG reworks its combat in a "meh" sort of way. The most I can say about the combat is that it at least feels original. That's the only Pro I can really think to give it, instead of a traditional (and more successful) turn by turn, the combat in this game is set in a blandly designed combat "area" (I guess) with you basically hitting Square three times, running backwards to avoid, rinse repeat. Add in protecting your singer for a few seconds so you can just spam their attacks and you have the formula for the rest of the combat, that is really the only tactic here. Hit, Dodge, Magic, Repeat. Now, this system can be made deeper with upgrading your characters equipment and so on and so forth, nothing innovative to the JRPG genre. The voice acting (where you can find it) is actually quite good, but the greater majority of the game is unvoiced and after a voiced segment can feel a little lazy not to have voice acting in the next segment. You wont run into this problem often unless you like to take time to do side quests like me. In conclusion, I would recommend this game to any diehard fans of this games series, as this the final game in the saga, but for those of you looking for a new (or even just a good) RPG experience I would definitely rent this title before purchasing it to make sure you can dedicate yourself to this game, or at least wait for it to go on discount.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Would have been a good RPG..

posted by 831Raider (SALINAS, CA) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Its sad, this game had potential. It even would have been a decent, if not for these flaws;

-Okay the main protagonist has to remove clothes to become stronger? (I'm okay with a certain ecchi anime's if their good story and awesome action, because the gore is awesome) It does not however work in games nor did I want to see it in this particular game.

-Cool i just got a new weapon/armor and didn't notice a single change on my character.. Honestly, in this day in age this still happens?

The good;

-The story is just what you would expect, if you can ignore the ecchi story with the girls stripping, you might actually like this game.

-Interesting combat system, easy to understand for the most part..

All in all if you are a hardcore, love anime rpg fan go right ahead.. Its got solid rpg elements so knock yourself out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

interesting to say the least

posted by syrane303 (EVERETT, WA) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

alright, im not terribly impressed with most of the gameplay mechanics, was ok for what it was.

the story however during the begining and near middle was rather repetitive and lame, didnt really engage my interest, but i decided to give the game the benifit of the doubt. once you get into the second half of the game thats when the story starts taking off, in classic anime/rpg styles.

the thing i found probably the most interesting was the cosmosphere idea, and some of which were..... whats the term.... downright shocking. i wont give away the plots for them, but i will say your in for a blast from the past in one of those levels.

its definatly not a kids game for sure, but anyone whos read any of the other comments could figure that out. thus being said, dont play it around little kids. seriously, dont do it.

the battle system was rather confusing at first, but once u get the hang of it, you realized your completely overpowered. the harmonograph can either be your key to an easy victory, or your mortal enemy if you have absolutly no rhythm.

all in all, i say the game really tried, but its not the worst pile of stuff to come out of the ps3 age, 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

-_-

posted by UserWhoever (DELANO, CA) Mar 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

This game was..... how should i put it?
Horrible, for a late ps3 game you would think it would be a fantastic rpg.. i was ohhh so wrong.
never again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

JRPG usually horrible.

posted by DuskElezen (PINE BUSH, NY) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

Story - Great

Gamplay - Sub-par

Voice overs - Horrible

JP-Voice overs - Perfect

Over all I was seriously unimpressed with everything I give this a 5/10 and I feel ashamed to even give this a try I will say the character design and everything else had potential though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lame Game

posted by caperton3030 (DEATSVILLE, AL) Jan 15, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

Not only do the graphics look like a PS2 game, the voice overs from the Japanese game are terrible and the dialogue that is voiced is ridiculous. The gameplay is not fluid and can get repetitive. Lots of story and not a good one either...PASS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Went in the wrong direction.

posted by Jsouleyrette (EASTMAN, GA) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I've been with the Ar Tonelico series since the start, and the first and second games, were wonderful, decent graphics, great gameplay in general, quirky, humorous sub quests from when you dived into the female protagonists. They were all memorable, and enjoyable, however, there was always the sexual innuendo jokes about the "diving" and
"soul space", but it was always more or less, a sort of back ground thing. In this game, they took that little innuendo, and turned it into something that was straight out there. The moment you get your reyvatiel, she starts shedding clothes, and alot of the dialogue is unnecessarily perverted as well. I found myself playing this game for about two hours, and not wanting to play it because to make your reyvatiel stronger, you gotta take her clothes off. They just took the behind the scenes joke and put it where it didn't need to be.
However, the game does have decent, at best graphics, they aren't anything to be amazed over, but they're atleast decent. The music, as in all Ar Tonelico games, is fantastic and wonderful. The story, if you , unlike me can get past the embarrassing perversion, you may enjoy the core story of the game, and the gameplay, unfortunately, after the last Ar Tonelico, is weak. Its just hitting the square button on a certain rhythm to make the girl stronger, in comparison to the last game, where the combat was fast paced with the multidirection commands, it just falls short.
The game isn't horrible, but if you enjoyed the first and second game, this one more than likely won't be as enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible translation / English voice over

posted by gunnerneko (BELLEVILLE, IL) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

The game plot is interesting and the gameplay is simple, but the poor translations and english voice over in this game take it from being average to poor. The use of English is also terrible in this game. One of the main characters also can't seem to decide whether or not to refer to herself in first or third person...very annoying. If this was a trait meant to be built into her character due to her memory loss, it was written very poorly. It distracts from the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rated M? How about Rated PTO!!

posted by Schtiv (CAPE CORAL, FL) May 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

This game, and the other games in the series, should all be rated PTO for Perverted Teenagers Only. All this game is really about is getting underage looking girls to strip. The battle system is OK and the graphics are also OK but that is all this game really has going for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »