Rent Apache Air Assault for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Apache Air Assault

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.8

1318 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best chopper game on 360

posted by IRAMOR (SEASIDE, CA) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

52 out of 57 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Okay maybe its the only chopper game on 360.. that I can think of. IGN stated that this title was an excuse for Activision to take advantage of its chopper engine in Call of Duty: BO. This isn't so.

For one, this engine is NOTHING like the chopper mission in Call of Duty, the control and options are entirely different. I believe in this game they were going for more of a flight simulation feel, but there is still an intermediate mode for casual players. For the more hardcore, there is a realistic mode in which you must become more intellectually integrated with the physics and control of an Apache helicopter (or a hind) and for even further simulation there is also the ability to change your controls to operate with the flight stick for Xbox 360. Although it is difficult to control the choppers in realistic mode, I personally believe that the challenge is worth it, as this is probably the closest most of us will ever get to flying a real chopper.

Another big plus is the co operative mode, one player pilots, while the other plays gunner. Not particularly unique, but for those who enjoyed the AC-130 mission in MW2's sec ops mode, this will be a lot of fun. Being a co op fan myself, this is a nice addition.

As far as story I have not gotten deep into it, however the voice acting is decent and fairly likeable, and there are multiple breaks in the missions where you have to do action A in order to successfully get to B. One example of this is a "blackhawk down" style section in a mission where one of you're fellow apaches goes down and you must resort to using the front camera on your chopper to rain fire on enemies closing in on their position.

All in all, I think this makes a good rental at least. It may not be for some, but it is definitely a good quick thrill, and although it may not be particularly innovative, the control, sound design, camera, and graphics are excellent for its genre. I would definitely recommend this game as a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Helicopter Flight Sim for the 360

posted by JS_Helms (DONALSONVILLE, GA) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to address the ridiculous complaints about this game's controls.

Helicopters are not airplanes. Their flight characteristics are completely different and this game reflects the difficulty of controlling a helicopter in flight. One reviewer mentioned that the helicopter is unresponsive to his attempts to control it. What most people do not know is that, when making adjustments to the cyclic and collective, each rotor blade responds by changing pitch independently at separate times while passing over the tail or the nose of the aircraft, depending on what you are telling the heli to do. If you have 4 rotor blades, that means each blade will make an adjustment independent of the other 3 blades as they pass over a common point along their path. This causes a slight delay between the pilot's input and the reaction of the aircraft. There's also the issue of overcoming momentum and other elements of physics that people seem to forget about when playing a FLIGHT SIMULATOR.
I have DCS: Black Shark for my PC and it is literally the most complex and realistic helicopter flight sim currently available. If you read manuals about flying helis and try it out on Black Shark, you will get the exact reaction from the aircraft that is described in the manual. Apache: Air Assault is about 30 or 40% easier to fly than the super accurate flight sim. If you spend a good 30 minutes or so focusing on flying the Apache prior to starting a mission you will find the game much more enjoyable.

If you're not interested in the complexities inherent in helicopter flight and are looking for a straight up arcade shooter, just go away. Go far, far away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's about time!

posted by Rage584 (OREM, UT) Jan 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

20 out of 22 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I've been waiting for a good helo game for a while. This game may not be for everyone, but it's the most fun I've had in a long time. It's an entirely new platform. The controls are a little tricky at first, but once you get used to them, you can fly the bird around and rainhell from the skies.

I am currently serving in the United States Army in an Apache battalion. I really enjoy how this game is (mostly) technically accurate; the control scheme is as comparable as is possible to take th $25m gun ship and put it on an xbox controller. The controls resemble the actual controls necessary to fly an Apache: Cyclic, collective, foot pedals, TADS and FLIR systems. ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW !!!

posted by jorgensen (VICTOR, ID) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

To start with this is a helicopter game, not a fixed wing flight sim. I have been waiting for a 360 game that compares to the real flight controls for a helicopter. This is it! i don't have the 360 flight stick, just the controller, and am very impressed. the graphics r pretty dang good. I have just started playing this game and I don't see me putting it down for some time. For those who want a arcade sim , don't rent this game. If you are looking to try a close comparison to flying a real copter this game does it. the controls are pretty trick, but so are a real helicopter's. And yes I am a pilot!
I rate this game a 10. And say well done

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this reacts just like real life.

posted by rukia8492 (WHEELER ARMY AIR FIELD, HI) May 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Ok, so first things first. I'm US Army Aviation and have a PPL for numerous rotary wing aircraft.

Handling: for a helicopter this game has it spot on for you when useing the ace combat ace edge flight stick. i know poeple are complaining about it being slow to respond but any helicopter takes a bit to respond when input is done on the controlls since it's the rotar blades that provide control not like a fixed wing where you put in commands and it does it almost instantly.

weapons: I can say the weapons are indeed true to form.

sounds: yup sounds like a real apache there.

plot: go blow things up and shoot things. sounds like normal everyday operations there based on my real life deployment experiance.

graphics: it's about right for what you will see when looking out an AH-64 cockpit. not everything you see will be crystal clear.

Overall: I have to say this game did it right. it gets a good score from me due to (1) i have actual real life experiance working with army helos(i'm a crew chief on the birds for cryting out loud). (2) this was actually done right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ive been waiting for this

posted by GIDAVE (ALLEN PARK, MI) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

The days of actually playing a game, and learning it, and getting good at are dying very fast. We keep getting the same game, HALO, COD, etc, same game, different graphics, and it plays itself.
If your tired of this crud, and want something engaging, something, that you can learn and get GOOD at, then this is for you.
Im a die hard PC sim guy. I play em all. IL-2, Lock-on, you name it, I play it.
You will NOT BELIEVE this is a console game. to heck with training mode, never even tried it. I wont get into too much tech crud, but for what this is, it does GREAT.
SP game is pretty decent. run of the mill missions. single screen coop/gunner is a lil bit of a let down. Should have been on different screens so the gunner could move his own IHADS, but oh well.
ONLINE COOP BABY. find a few guys that can immerse into this and your good. I play co-op online with a few guys, and we just dont want to put anything else but this in.
No, this is NOT one of the mindless games that strip all creativity from your grasp, but allows you to fly your chopper in the middion how you want to. Wanna fly in guns blazing? wanna stay far back and designate targets for hellfires? wanna scout ahead real low, and call out targets for your coop buddys? you can do it, and it works well.
sure, theres things die hards are missing, but it still fells, and plays like a PC game.
My ACE EDGE flight stick from AC6 works STELLAR. if you have that stick, what are you doing reading this?!?? click rent and fly these sweetly model choppers, and tears some metal...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

finally a real flight sim...with helicopters :)

posted by khyron74 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'll keep this short and sweet. If you like helicopters (I do, I fly them in full simulation mode on microsoft flight simulator) and have the ace edge flight stick (really helps in the immersion and getting the most out of this sim) then this is the game. I have been waiting along time for something like this to come out. There are those who will not like it but I think a little research before buying this will show that it is a pretty true sim on a console so there is some culture shock for some. that being said it's pretty easy, if you like a challenge, want something that emulates flying a helicopter but don't have a good pc, and like something versatile and tactical then this is the game for you. If you want 5 thousand rockets and 400 enemies in the sky spamming the rocket button........might want to look somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Takes Skill

posted by TheWave97 (GAINESVILLE, TX) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is my first review so well see how it goes.

The main aspect of this game is the controls but i'll get to that later.

First off the graphics, pretty good nothing special, I mean not Like Modern Warfare But Good.
The story is like most every other shooter game with terrorist and nuclear weapons and such but ah its fun just to fly the helicopter.
Whitch is the controls, now most other reviews i've read say the controls are bad or to hard or take quite a lerning curve. Hard and learning curve are true especially in realistic difficulty. But i think this were the game really shines, because it actually takes skill to get good at the game, it only took me three/four tries on the training mission with realistic.
Multiplayer i cant say havn't tried it yet.
Their are three/four vehicles in the game two apache models, A scout uav, and a russian hinds.

All in all it depends on wether you like flight sims or not to rent or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

You'll Want to Like It - But Won't

posted by EDVOICE (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 26, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Apache Air Assault is like that person you want to like, but don't. And there's no reason to be political here: it's not you, it's THEM.

Apache Air Assault has all the makings of a competent game. Nice graphics, good sound effects, and the benefit of being the only helicopter game on the XBOX 360. However, it falters in two major areas: controls and game implementation.

The controls you can get used to (sorta): various settings allow you to switch which analog stick controls altitude/yaw/speed/etc and you can invert either control, the camera, or both. But despite this level of control customization, actually maneuvering the Apache is an exercise in constant frustration - it's not that responsive.

You can fly from A to B with little problem, but once you have to enter different view modes to handle smaller ground targets, AND maintain some control over your craft, it all falls apart. You can auto-hover, to zoom in on targets with your machine gun, but then you'll need to target bogeys just out of the angle-range of your guns, so you'll switch out of auto-hover, change position...and it's too late.

...Mission Failed.

While you're fighting the game's controls in tight, time-oriented situations, you'll be JUST out of position to complete an objective and you'll fail the mission.

For most games, this isn't normally a problem - just reload the last checkpoint. But Apache is punishing: you have to restart your mission. You can be 10-20 minutes into a mission, find yourself in a time critical situation, and fail an objective due to the poor controls, and you're back to the beginning of the mission. Boo.

And this is while playing with the standard (easy) controls. There's a more advanced control setting, though only masochists need apply. The "easy" controls are difficult enough.

It's a great thing GameFly exists, so you can rent games like Apache Air Assault before buying them - and then save yourself $40-$60 by taking a pass. Rent it, sure. Buy it? Nope.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Difficult but extremely fun......

posted by RONBO0314 (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Dec 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics of your surroundings are not all that great, but the helicopters are extremely life like and the controls on realistic mode is very challenging. If you get too excited like I do in first person shooters, you will find yourself barrelling the helicopter into the side of a mountain or the ground. It takes some practice and patience to really get a grasp for what this game is about. If you are not patient in learning how to control the chopper you will get nothing out of it but frustration and probably give this game a low review score. But if you like flight sims and refuse to be beaten by the game then you will most likely enjoy the experience, I am still playing mine through campaign and have to just walk away and play something else or I would be pulling my hair out.....if I had hair!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Apache Air Assault

posted by PABOCK (ANCHORAGE, AK) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Although I like the idea of using an Apache, this program is horrible. It looks almost exactly like a helicopter game from the 1990's. I'm sure glad we have GameFly. I was going to purchase it because there was so much hype about how great it was going to be. It's NOT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its a good game if you know what your doing...

posted by mrvelocity (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've been waiting on a really good helicopter game for many many years and now there is one. This game provides to main difficulties training and realistic (there also veteran witch ill get to later). Training is more arcade like, and will keep you from crashing your helicopter seance most people don't know how copters fly i see this being useful (My dad was a helicopter pilot so you can bet i asked some questions).

Realistic really brings your skill to fly a copter to light as well as you can do much more extreme maneuvers in this mode but beware if you don't use your controls correctly you will crash. Now i mentioned Veteran earlier. This modes only change is the difficulty of the enemies and you will have limited ammo so you will have to land at scattered landing zones on the map (Landing is not easy and is needed in all difficulties so get use to it fast). I find Veteran vary annoying because of the ammo limit. Seance this game is more realistic then most and doing the hole one man army thing dose't really work without the ammo reloads in flight because you have no wing man to speak of that fly with you unlike real life.

Now there are some really annoying things about this game such as the helicopter dog fighting… I m sorry but this is just dumb theres a resin why we have air superiority fighter jets. Then theres the spawning in this game. Seance the game is more realistic then most we have lives (thank god) it loves to spawn you right were you died so you can just get shot down again /eye roll. But for the most part i really like this game there are some flaws but what game doesn't have any. It just depends on how annoying the flaws are and seance you can skip most of the missions that have these flaws its not so bad. But you will have to play them at least once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrendous controls

posted by JoeVegas (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 31, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I was looking forward to a good helicopter game, but as soon as as started playing it I found out the controls were horrendous and completely useless, I tried in the option section to change settings and it was even worse, whoever designed that game needs to be fired.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The worst flight sim I've ever played

posted by Beuller (WASHINGTON COURT HOUSE, OH) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Terrible controls and flight characteristics. If you have played this sim, and have also flown a remote control heli, you know exactly what I mean by terrible controls and especially flight characteristics. To me, that is the worst part of this game. But there's also no stealth, enemies with RPGs and missiles can lock on to your "state of the art" Apache heli at longer range than you can (which seems completely ridiculous), and there's no real strategy involved other than spray and pray.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Thumbs down

posted by Agentwho (DUNDALK, MD) Nov 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

If you are a super sims buff then you may like this game but if you are just looking for a fun game then stay away. The controlls for the chopper itself are workable but combine that with trying to shoot your targets can be nearabout impossable. If they could go back and make the targeting system I don't know, useable this would pobally be a pretty fun game. But as it sits you just end up frustrated, so save yourself the pain and get something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Warning!!!

posted by MoSkillz (DETROIT, MI) Jan 10, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Do not rent this game if you do not already have a compatible flight stick controller. The control settings are just to unresponsive for 360 controller. A waste of time and effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Poor Game play

posted by lawday561 (JUPITER, FL) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I tried to play this game when i got it and the controls are very Bad for a flight Sim game since it has a very Slow responce time and the graphics is very choppie and not as good as Hawk by UB soft so do not waist your time on this one get Hawk instead hope this helps you out please rate me thanks Lawrence

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks

posted by niteowl910 (SHALLOTTE, NC) Jan 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I played this game for about an hour and popped it back out a real Yawner!! the controls where kinda ackward. when ya take off to not being able to climb .. your suppose to be flying an Apache.. don't waste your time on this rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

wooden boat survives missile barrage

posted by ozzman1327 (HAYDEN, ID) Nov 30, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

As The other low ratings have mentioned the controls for this game are a bit ridiculous. Its hard enough to fly let alone line up for a burst from your rocket pod only to watch as the jeeps and wooden boats below remain intact given your missles have the lethality of nerf darts.

There is a level where you must engage a column of tanks that are heading through a valley and you must destroy them prior to reaching the other side. The problem with this is I easily expended well over 500 rockets to do so. It takes like 30 just to kill one of them and I think there are 15 to 20 so the math works out.

I spent eight years in the Marine Corps with two deployments to Iraq and if these Apaches were in theatre we would have lost and gone bankrupt as a country given how many rounds were expended at reckless abandon.

DO NOT RENT/DO NOT BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Probably the worst flight sim ive ever played....

posted by 0ldSkoo1 (Tupelo, MS) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 26 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

this review doesnt need to be more than a paragraph long... all that needs to be said about this game can be summarized that quickly. this game sucks... horribly. maybe itd be better with a flight stick, i dont know. what i can tell you is this. the game is unplayable because the controls are horrible. absolutely horrible. its nearly impossible to control the copter in any view mode, much less attack something at the same time.... and it only gets worse when you take the controls off of training mode. thoroughly disappointed in this game . do yourself a favor and take it out of your cues. dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Controls

posted by Azygos (FORT SCOTT, KS) Dec 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

The worst controls ive ever had in any flying game with an xbox controller i would rather fly choppers on battle field than play this dumb game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Good,waist of time!!

posted by 96ultra (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Nov 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

Played it about 3 hours,got bored and mailed the game back!Expected way more from Activision,better look next time!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks.......

posted by Tiny_Tom_79 (LAS CRUCES, NM) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Okay. I just received this game today Friday, March 21st, 2014 and I personally think it sucks. It seems to me that with it being on the Training Difficulty Mode, which I think is supposed to easy, that you need to seriously know how to fly an Apache Helicopter. This things maneuverability is hoakey in the least. If you're trying to concentrate on hostiles that you're supposes to attack on Training Difficulty one of two things will occur. You'll either crash into the terrain or one of the hostiles are going to blow you out of the sky in this game. That's on the Training Mode Difficulty. Good grief. I would hate to see what the other difficulty is like. That is the Realistic Difficulty Setting. My suggestion to anyone wanting to play this game is to make sure you either actually know how to fly a helicopter, have experience in an actual military simulator for the Apache, or just leave it where it sits period. That's my opinion. If I could I would literally give this game a -10 because it sucks that bad in my opinion. Tom Clancy's HAWX, HAWX 2, and even the other Fighter Jet Simulation Games aren't this messed up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but not winnable

posted by JerryWaggs (MESA, AZ) Feb 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

In my opinion the designers of this game got a lot of things right. Having first hand experience flying helicopters and also first hand experience in AH64's I can tell you that this game flies like a real helicopter although not like a real Apache. I've owned this game for 3 yrs. the down side to this game is that several of the Scenarios are un-winnable
and the ACFT does not make maneuvers that a real Apache can make easily and you can't select your weapons load but, other than that it's entertaining

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Apache Air Assault

posted by MetalJihad (ALGONQUIN, IL) Aug 15, 2013

Member since Jan 2009

This has got to be the worst game I've played since whatever that submarine game was called. The controls are terrible and hard to use. I truly believe it would be easier to fly an actual helicopter. I will admit that I only played the game for about 30 minutes, but that was because I got so frustrated with trying to fly the helicopter and shoot at the same time. Do yourself a favor and don't rent this game. How it gets a rating above a 3-4 is beyond me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse