Rent Apache Air Assault for PS3
view large frontback

Apache Air Assault

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.2

906 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

A nice breath of Air...Assault

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Nov 21, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

28 out of 30 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Ok, first and foremost...this game will not be for everyone.Apache Air Assault Released at the worst and best possible time in the history of gaming. With Call of Duty and Assassins Creed posing for the win, this just seems as if it will just be dust in the wind, especially in the US, which is a shame. because it holds its ground nicely!

A flight Simulator with a fictional twist that puts the ultimate beast in the sky right in between your legs....an Apache!, what more could you ask for? Your mission is simple....rain fire upon the enemy. Though it does take some getting used too, when you customize the controls to your liking and fly a few training missions...guiding a much needed Medivac Convoy through death's alley doesn't seem like such a bad thing

Online is much fun, i suggest you have a few friends who are going to rent this as well, because you can have up to four Apache's in sixteen different missions and most if not all are meant to please and they deliver...as long as you are communicating because most of these online missions require lots of that! Sort of like SOCOM in the sky!

So if you are looking for a "vacation" game (i.e. a break from your norm), this is it. You will get some OOO's and AAAH's as well as some OMG moments, Apache Air Assault will fill a week of your life up nicely. It has more spark than some reviewers are seeing, I think It's because they didn't give it much more than a Fly-by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally a good simulator

posted by revenger68 (PHOENIX, AZ) May 6, 2011

Member since May 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I almost rented this, but at the last moment chose to buy it after playing the demo. It's been quite a while since I've played a good simulator on a console. This is indeed an EXCELLENT, complex chopper SIMULATOR! I've been playing sims for years. This game took a bit of practice with expert settings. After a while though: you can really appreciate the maneuverability of the Apache. This game exceeds in the realistic feel and maneuverability of the chopper.

The only downfall are the missions. As with many other sims out there: they're generally about the same as seen in other sims and feel somewhat generic. there are other things that make up for this:

For the True Simulator Fan: It DOES offer the horrible modern-day 'easy' controls. but if you're not a sim fan: you'll enjoy this settings. For the true fan: You'll LOVE the advanced realistic mode. Master it and you'll be king of the skies.

Unique Co-op style playing with muliplayer: gunner and Pilot/navigator.

Gun controls: The control and feel of your main gun feels real, using the heat signatures to find targets hiding on the land or sea is really fun!

All-in-all while the game's missions have your typical 'sim' generic feel: the controls are amazing, gunnery controls are awesome and co-op is fun and IMO make up for the somewhat generic missions. Not to mention I can't remember when the CONSOLE had a true sim like this released. It's worth a rent. or in my case: A purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Quick Plat. with fair skill

posted by Toreup (Bettendorf, IA) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Hone your skills in the Chopper and you'll complete all Req. in 15 Hours or Less! Spread out gameplay over a week and you'll have a blast.
AAir A is well worth the playthrough and online Games are Easy to find/create. Campain is realistic fealing but functional on a standard controller.
Lift your patience tolerance on a few levels Once You know how to beat them and get through the Game even on Training' You will Find it fun to Re-play on a harder difficulty or try some Co-op online or Local.

Enjoy
I'd say it's a solid 6-7 Rated Game but a 9-10 for Quick and Fun Platinum Trophy/ Achievement Collector.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't mind the bad reviews

posted by earley (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game can get complex so if your new to this type of game I recommend playing on training mode once you get over the learning curve the game is fun to play, so judge for yourself and give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ahh, for all it could have been....

posted by LastRonin (TACOMA, WA) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Apache Assault is one of those games that could have been freaking awesome but stumbles badly. Visually it is up there with IL-2 and perhaps even a bit better. The terrain looks great and and the environments have a high degree of detail (plus you get to blow the stuffins outta them!). The basic controls are tricky but not too difficult. The cannon mode is fun but you don't get too many chances to take advantage of that feature. I must confess to taking great pleasure in ripple firing Hellfire Missiles at a heavy cluster of enemies.

Where this game loses me is the lack of balance. There is a strong emphasis on using the standard unguided rockets which have a five second reload time versus three minutes to reload the next batch of Hellfire or Stinger missiles. The missions lack balance and the AI always knows where you are. Chopper vs. Chopper hits the point of ridiculous when the enemy has a height advantage and supernatural accuracy. You also get a limit of 3 attempts per check point before you are forced to restart the entire level. The attempts feature puts a frustrated player into a killing rage.....and not the good kind.

Bottom line, be glad that it was rented and not purchased, thank you Gamefly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring and Tedious

posted by Osmic1 (DAYTON, NV) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Maybe this would have been a whole lot easier with the manual, but not having it I wouldn't know.

The graphics are kind of cool, but that's the only good thing going for this game.

I gave it an hour, got bored and tired of the tedium and sent it back. Good thing I didn't buy it!

Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

APACHE AIR ASSAULT

posted by libraman (REYNOLDSBURG, OH) May 20, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I felt it is more for an online player and not the kind where a person who isn't into online can enjoy as in myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not for your average casual gamer appearantly!!

posted by trackmarx (CEDAR HILL, MO) Sep 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I guess if there aiming to sell this game to a small specific demographics of gamers, they succeded. If your the average working class casual gamer looking for games to enjoy in your few hours off work, don't waste any money on this game. Maybe rent but definatly dont buy! I'm not that bad a gamer but I was stopped cold on just the 3rd scenerio (something warlords). Protecting the wrecked chopper crew of 2 just seemed impossible, even after over 30 attempts, on training level, and trying all availble weapons systems! And that there are no check points, so that you have to repeatidly play the whole scenerio over and over again is what really puts the nail in the coffin for this peice of trash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice Combat Heli Sim for consoles

posted by Woji (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Have been a big fan of Combat Heli sims for a long time, back to the days of Novalogic's Comanche series. I have been waiting for something like this to appear on the consoles and I wasn't disappointed.

Decent tutorial mode and a nice, but steep learning curve for the controls.

Definitely recommended for the sim folks out there, but not for those who are looking for Ace Combat style flying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome simulation game!

posted by alin0s (PALATINE, IL) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Why is everyone bashing this game, oh I know why. A lot of people can't take the time to appreciate a good simulation game. This game is great in the way it simulates the FLIR cameras and everything around you and it. The only failing point is you have to gun AND fly the helicopter at the same time whereas in fighter jets it's always front seat flies back seat guns. I wish it was a way where you can flip between duties or select a career at the start. so this game isnt stellar could use some spit polish but otherwise to see an Apache Air Assault 2 for PS3 woulnd't be bad if they fix the pitfalls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

posted by wildebeest (BROOKLYN, NY) May 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2009

its really good better then thay say

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Enough

posted by MrGelowe (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 18, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Not the easiest controls and the story is standard but this is a flight simulator of an Apache Attack Helicopter.

Personally I had fun time killing and blowing things up using an Apache. Don't expect game breaking or revolutionary game play. Expect a fun flight simulator.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great idea.

posted by Dre077 (AINSWORTH, NE) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

Apache air assault was not what i was hoping it would be. In third person view it was hit n miss with your weapons. If you went into the zoom and infrared mode you could easily crash your helicopter. Plus you had to be stationary to shoot from this position. There was no way to run n gun really n be accurate. So the fun was taken out for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Apache Air Strike Ps3

posted by Lechiez (GRESHAM, OR) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This is a hidden gem in my opinion the game has great graphics, its has a fun campaine and it has fun co-op multiplayer missions and lots of trophys. The apache is a little hard to fly at 1st but after some practice you get the hang of it so personally I think the game overall is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Sucked

posted by kelz413 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This game had to probably be one of the worse I've ever been exposed to. The game graphics are okay but the game play needed a lot of work it moved slow, and it wasn't realistic. The creators should bury this game in the backyard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not very fun

posted by mistabigmike (DORCHESTER, MA) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Im not sure if it was my controller but my chopper would not stay still or move where I wanted it to. So there for it made for a miserable game play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yes, this is a simulator, but not a very good one

posted by nervrek (MADISON, CT) Aug 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Pros:
It's a simulator. You don't get many simulators on consoles.
It's a helicopter simulator. You don't get many good heli sims at all.
Co-op was fun.
Lots of terrain to navigate.

Cons:
-Reload time for anything but the rockets was too long, like 3 mins to reload the Hellfire missiles or another 3 mins for the AA missiles. It was aggrivating to try and shoot down a enemy heli, which it seems you can only shoot them down from behind, and then you run out of missiles, so you have to have an annoying rocket duel. BTW, rockets reload in 10s. Another mission I remember is one where you have to hug a valley floor and sneak to an enemy base, once you are there you have to use your Hellfire missiles to take out the AA sights or you are toast. Having to wait for your missiles to reload throws a major wrench into the gameplay.
-The only good POV is the HUD without the cockpit on. The other POVs are no fun at all, you can't see anything and you can't fly the copter from 3rd person on anything but training setting.
-Some structures can't be destoryed with anything but the Hellfires and refer back to the original con as to why that is a problem.
-Some defend missions are just annoyingly hard, because there are just way to many enemies, rockets sometimes don't seem to have enough splash damage so you have to be on the money, and you probably wish you hadn't used your Hellfie missiles to take out the last batch of enemies.
-Just not enough info on the HUD... Airspeed, AOA, and artificial horizon are needed and left out.

Overall - The game is fun for a heli simulator, but the load times for the Hellfires and AA missiles kills the fun factor for this game. Good for one play through, not much after that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

apache air assualt

posted by lakotabeast (WASECA, MN) Aug 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

sent title back was very lame and kidlike not at all a good game the game sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad...

posted by Damack (NORTH PORT, FL) Aug 8, 2011

Member since Nov 2005

This game really looked like it would be fun for me.. I loved playing flight sims on my computer but I really had a hard time playing on expert just for the fact that I didn't have joystick or throttle quadrant to use... Great game non the less graphics weren't to rave about but still not too bad..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Is A Terrible Game

posted by crazzilla (WAYNESVILLE, OH) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

If you want to resort back to the Nintendo 64 days graphically, speed wise, and complexity wise, then this is the game for you. Be prepared to fly at what would seem to be 3 scale miles per hour and shoot at enemies so well drawn out that even that even the original Mario has pixel block choppy envy. I totally wasted 4 days worth of travel time asking for this game and couldn't get it back into the mail box to be returned if I wanted to.

P.S. Puke!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A little hard on the learning curve but worth it

posted by LuFranco72 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I used to play Longbow, Apache vs Havoc and Comanche years ago on older PCs and have been looking for something similar and this game is similar in the sense that you actually have to "fly" to be able to do combat.

The better you get at flying (playing in Realistic mode), the more fun you'll have with it. It's not technically the same as playing Longbow but that's because it was a dedicated sim for PCs, but for console gaming, they've made this one just right considering you're using a controller instead of a flight stick.

Good game, reminiscent of the older Gunship sims I used to play on my older PCs (with better graphics!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sucky!

posted by Greatness455 (PLYMOUTH, IN) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I hate this game so much i was lokking forward 2 birds of steel but i dont want it
now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice changeup

posted by ssarich1 (VINEMONT, AL) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I really like flight sim games. This was a good twist for some variation in the flight genre. I thought the graphics were good in regards to the choppers, but that was about it. The story was not really good and was almost non existent for the most part. This is one that you can rent and play in about 8 hours. I am sure the online may have been fun, but I am not much of an online gamer. Not great, but not terrible, so just ho hum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game sucks.

posted by ElecDyNomt (NEWMARKET, NH) Jun 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

This game is hardly even worth renting. The more I played it the worse it got darn shame too I like helicopters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ouch

posted by ps3456 (PASADENA, CA) May 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

i can't even fly the darn thing...lol! NEXT GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse