Rent Anubis II for Wii
view large frontback

Anubis II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
2.6

239 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Anubis II

posted by Orionv (JAMESTOWN, ND) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Sep 2003

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst games I have ever played. The controls are horrid. You jump by moving the nunchuk up but you also use the stick on the nunchuk. So running and jumping in a straight line is almost impossible. The attack is terrible...you are supposed to hit enemies with your staff but you always end up taking more damage. Save your time. I sent it back the same day I got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Where's quality control when you need it?

posted by hekifier (WINCHESTER, OH) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

How is this game? It's an error, abysmal, terrible, awful, horrible, I could name a hundred words and still not get it off my chest.

This is a generic platformer, where you're supposed to collect 8 pyramids that look like butt nuggets hidden throughout the level. The story involves Anubis having to defeat a spirit called Mon'hottep, at least the manual suggests, but no mention of this is in the game.

The controls are just horrendous. You're supposed to waggle the nunchuck to jump (or press Z). The motion is responsive, if a bit too much. Your wolf will jump when you just barely move the nunchuck. Combat on the other hand simply doesn't work. You waggle the remote to do a staff attack, but it will only register roughly 1/10th of the time. And even if you're lucky, the collision detection against the hideous walking pyramids and other laughable and uninspired enemies will only work in your favor about half the time. You'll probably be better off running through the levels avoiding combat all together.

The graphics set the bar for the ugliest of the ugly on Wii. Everything is a shade of yellow or another, and little polygon work makes this look like a first generation ps1 title. The sound effects are annoying and stupid, and the music is nausea inducing. The camera will frequently get in the way of the jumping puzzles.

Data Design Interactive is a company with the worst of intentions, destroying a well loved console by releasing these fourth rate "games" and infecting shelves to prey on the uninitiated. Anubis II uses the exact same engine as every other platformer they've produced, and does nothing to break the trend of their releases of painfully bad games. Skip this one, don't buy, rent, look at, or think about it, because it could scar you for a severely long time and damage your loyalty for your Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

never

posted by NOshun (EDEN PRAIRIE, MN) Feb 21, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i will never play this game never

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Anubis II

posted by plkirkpatr (HICKORY, NC) Aug 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed in this game. It had no story line and poor controls. The puzzles were overly simplified.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stinks

posted by Energyvet (ATLANTIC HIGHLANDS, NJ) Sep 13, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty bad. It had no story line. I sent it back quickly to get it out of my house.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible controls

posted by porky008 (PASCO, WA) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is my first review of a game but i do not think enough can be said about how bad the controls are for this game. it feels like the controls were wrote by someone who has never taken a programing class before. the staff on this game need to be fired

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Stay far, far away from this game!

posted by koalanerd (EL PASO, TX) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst games that I have ever played. There is absolutely no storyline. NONE. You just start playing. And after you beat the game (which took me all of 4 hours) there is no ending. It just says "congratulations, you have beat the great whoever." The idea for the control of the game would have been good if it worked. But the weapon control is really touchy and doesn't work how you want it to. The graphics aren't great and the sound is just some stupid repetitive music that I ended up turning off. I'd rather spend 4 hours watching Gigli......Twice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really Bad!!!

posted by hatman464 (MIDLOTHIAN, TX) Jan 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awful. The controls are silly and the idea behind the game is dated. I got this game for my 7 year old son to play and after 30 minutes he told me to send it back. I would not recommend this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Anubis II should be buried in a tomb.

posted by Mazdog23 (NEWTONVILLE, MA) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The idea and concept are cool, but control of character stinks to high heaven. You are supposed to use the Wii remote to swing the your weapon, but the action is spotty at best. Camera control is supposed to be a big deal for the game, but you can't even control it. Making the character move is very difficult with camera control. Was glad for Gamefly rental and that I didn't buy it. I would have returned it the same day!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Anubis II

posted by lordwenk (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game could have been a lot better. The graphics are alright, but not great. The worst part of the game is the awful controls. Trying to jump using the nunchuck instead of the a button gets old fast and trying to hit enemies with your staff usually takes more than one hit, resulting in taking hits if not dying yourself. With better controls, this might have been a much better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by shadowgame (HOLLISTER, CA) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Anubis 2 is the worst game iv ever played in my life. The controls are terrible the camera almost never follows you which makes it almost impossible to kill an enemy or play the game for that matter.If you only get 1 Wii game this year DON'T BUY ANUBIS 2.Its almost like your playing a pc game from 1990.IF I could id rate it -3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Read the Reviews

posted by timpdg (ABILENE, TX) Oct 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game could have been cute, but I could not get past the awkward controls and the horrible camera angles. I wish I had read the reviews on here first because I would not have rented this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Meh

posted by Niftyifty (MARANA, AZ) Oct 1, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I found this game interesting enough to complete the introduction level. With in the first 30 seconds of real gameplay it is fairly obvious to see that the game isn't worth anymore time than that.

I personally put the game back in the mail after roughly 5-10 minutes of gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't waste your time

posted by AKKGFK (EPHRATA, PA) Sep 21, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the worst game I've played (or tried to play) for Wii. The controls are terrible and unresponsive, making it practically unplayable. The graphics are poor. The music is silly and doesn't match the Egyptian setting. It's like an old desktop PC game you'd download for free back in the 1990s.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

for what it is...

posted by brockly (MODESTO, CA) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Anubis 2 never herd of Anubis. but what the game has matches the price tag of $19.99 game-fly give it away for 16.99. the controls make the game for what is. in this kinda of game you need a camera view all ways facing forward. as this game dose not. so you trying to jump forward as your guy facing left so in your mind you push left and he jump forward on your screen or you don't know if he line up for the jump because he looking left of you. another thing as you stand on a spinning walk way to jump on another one. you keep looking north. so the walkway spinning you guy keep turning to have the same view.. so you have to move back and forth to get the view you want so you can jump. kids under 13 might love this game. the shooting OK it lock on to your target and all you have to so is press the B button and he's dead but the swing of the staff is useless.
you will lose more health if you try to swing your staff then shoot the target. the music was over and over about the length of a sheet of music. over and over..

Pros: cute char. nice little monsters easy to play. easy to get 1UP's catching Hearts off the dead monsters.

Cons: Camera angles are Very poor and will make you frustrated, movement are touchy and move fast make it hard to stay on the walkways.

All in All: for the price and if you kids like it. you made a steal. for anyone that's 15+ years old might want to stay away.

1 out of 10: 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Worst Game I've Rented So Far

posted by MaDmAx2274 (BOISE, ID) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

In this Anubis II, you play is a little egyptian anubis with a staff. Its not as fun as it sounds. First of all, when you attack with your staff you end up taking more damage than the to cute for me monsters. The camera angles in this game are iffy to be nice. Its hard to judge where you can jump or not.

My Judgement: Don't Buy. If you like Bad Camera angles Rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Game In Progress......

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Sep 18, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

They thought maybe we skip the polishing and we will sell it for $20. For that price it is not bad; however the controls are off and everytime you try to kill an enemy you get killed because the control does not register; the lock on is a bit off too. The camera is not bad along with the music. I got frustrated with this game and I think you will to; there are so many similar games coming in October and November just SKIP THIS ONE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worst game ever

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this is the worst game I have ever played because the contrls I mean who would come up with tilt the nunchuck to move that is really stupid I hate this game so much I would just put it in the fire and it will burn one more word THIS GAME SUCKS!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not terrible

posted by futuremrst (BEAVERTON, OR) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

My daughter and I liked the look of the game but felt ill from the way the camera bounced around. My boys loved the atmosphere of the game. The graphix were good. They only would have made it longer if it had been their choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good idea, controls make game a chore

posted by Artemus (NINE MILE FALLS, WA) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

As with most games I've played on the Wii, the controls make this game more of an exercise to make your arm fall dead after an hour. The main attack is tied to swinging the WiiMote with no found alternate key. While it sounds like a good idea in theory, just like the Pirates of the Carabbean game, you sit and swing the wiimote for hours on end from wave after wave. While I didn't play too far (Stopped at the tutorial level.), jumping tied to swinging the nunchuck (It, however HAS a key to press.) and the mote to attack predicted poor for the game's overall control scheme as the sleeve said you slash your way thought hoards of enemies... Which translates to mindless swings for the duration of the game. The premise of the game looks interesting, but I just can't get over the control to really try it. Which seems to be the case in most Wii games. I think I'll just sell mine and get a 360 or PS3, a good system with games like this to choose from makes for a mediocre time and a rather shiny paperweight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »