Rent Animal Crossing for GC
view large frontback

Animal Crossing

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

1833 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is awsome

posted by eeeeeeeeee (MOUNTAIN LAKES, NJ) Aug 28, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

25 out of 26 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I love this game it is soooo awsome. A hint for fishing is that the best fish come in the morning. I liked this game until one morning when i woke up at 6:30 and caught a huge fish. When I sold it to Tom Nook it was worth 10,000 bells!!! Then I loved this game. The other great thing about this game is that you can build a ton of renovations, like basements, second floors, and attics. The better you get at this game, the more people move in and the better Tom Nooks shop gets. I highly suggest this game to video game players out there looking for a game to have a ton of fun with. Different stuff happens every day and every day there is new and exciting stuff to do. Plus on holidays, the mayor gives a little present out!!!!! Have fun and I hope you enjoy playing the game I love!!! [guarnteed addiction]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Animal Crossing The Perfect Sim

posted by gamer12346 (Cutler Bay, FL) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Animal Crossing. This game is all about having fun and using strategy to keep your life going. In this game you start out as a person looking for a home. When you find the house you like you will have to collect money (in this game the money you collect through out the game is belles), buy furniture, and make your house BIGGER (If you would like to)! In this game you will sometimes have to deposit money. Also, you can...can...can... Play classic NES games!

The NES games that you can play are Balloon Fight, Baseball, Clu Clu Land, Clu Clu Land D, Donkey Kong, Donkey Kong 3, Donkey Kong Junior, Donkey Kong Jr. Math, Exicitebike, Golf, Ice Climber, Mario Brothers, Pinball, Punch-Out!!, Soccer, Super Mario Brothers, Tennis, The Legend Of Zelda, and Wario's Woods.

In this game there is this really cool feature were you can design your own clothes.

So if you ever get a chance to play this game turn your GameCube on and enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

U CANT BEAT THE orgianal

posted by backfire (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

first of all I LOVE THIS GAME.animal crossing is the best out of the 3 animal crossing games, wild world and city folk. well the idea of the games is that u hope on a train leaveing your family behindthen u get a house now u need to pay of your home and then u can upgrade your house and basicly live a life this game is very exciteing every day some new happens folk come in for a day festvals actives lots of stuff. u can go fishing hunt fossils and collect bugs this game is a good game for any one. and u can go on a train to a differnt village if u have two memory cards and u can connect your gameboy to it and play with four players and if u have the gameboy u can go on a boat to a island and u get a free house on the island

I love this game 10 out of 10 U MUST MUST GET ITS RIGHT NOW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Animal Crossing: The basics, i love this game!

posted by lovelove11 (SANTA CLARA, CA) Apr 5, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In 2007 I got a wii and I have always wanted to play Animal crossing. I have it for the ds and I love it! So when I tried it I didn't have a memory card so I couldn't save. My cousin's birthday was a few days later we gave him Animal Crossing. We both fell in love with that game and the next day I bought the game and a memory card. I love this game and how the diary works that is so cool! I am still in my part time job but all my neighbors know me and we are all friends. When I bought the game it came with a memory card and when I played it i got a grab bag consisting of music, frinature, and 2 Nes systems and their games. I love this game and can't wait to go play it... how about now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

my first gamecube game

posted by tiedye (GODDARD, KS) Jan 6, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this was my first game cube game it came with my gamecube and i love it its time consuming but when i have time to waste i play this game one of the best gamecube games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Your house, your character, your life...

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

When I first read about Animal Crossing, I desperately wanted this game. I would always read about it and want it even more as new articles about it came out. Everyone I knew wanted this game and it was well worth the wait as I finally got it.

Graphics
Although these are N64 graphics, I think they fit perfectly with this game. The way the trees look, or the houses, or even the animals just go perfect with this.

Sound
The music in this game is great. You might think it gets repetitive after a while, but I don't. There's a different song every hour, and you can choose what song you want for your house you get from K.K. Slider. You can also compose a town song at the board in front of the post office. The sound effects are nice, nothing special. Never really bothered me.

Gameplay
The gameplay is obviously the best part of this game. You can play all you want, pick it up when you want, even just play for short periods of time a day, and you'll still have lots of fun. The only problem is that some people don't actually like playing this "forever" and they might drop it for a while, but after a while, they have the urge to start playing again. You can do anything you want. You don't have to pay off your debt for your house, that is, unless you want a bigger house. You can fish, catch insects, dig for fossils, shop, get money, do errands for neighbors, talk to animals, and much much more. Plus, you can write letters. Sometimes, they don't really understand some words. (You can put cuss words into the letters to laugh when the animals show you the letter later on saying they loved it while you were just cussing them out) Of course, they might not like your letters. Sometimes you should send them gifts in the letters, and they might send you a gift back. (hint hint)

Replay Value
As I said before, you can come back anytime to play this. This game never ends, and I mean never. There is no ending. And also, sometimes you might "find" NES games.

Buy dont rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Animal Crossing

posted by Fireboy (MANTECA, CA) Jul 26, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Animal Crossing is above average its kinda like the sims you know the early ones where you build a city. Animal Crossing is more like the current ones living like a real person customizing all that good stuff. This game is mostly about helping other people to get furniture and other things to customize your house.

My Rating:8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LETS PLAY THIS!

posted by cronom (CENTENNIAL, CO) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I liked all the things you could do like make a different town on a different memory card and ride to that town by train. this game was a game to live nicely and i did just that in real life and in the game. it doesn't look very fun but when you start playing you don't want to stop. you could fish, dig, sleep, and to chores for friends. i've been playing this game and working on my file for a year now and i'm still not bored with it. some games i get bored of fast this is not one of those games for me. this is something i'm putting in that i shouldn't. the only thing this missed out on was violence. i really like violent games but it made up for it with tournaments to get the bass that weighed the most. well that's all i can say on this game you will have to rent it and try it out and we'll see what you think, but i'm pretty sure you'll like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game, LOVED IT!!!

posted by Pet101 (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Great game. Almost like the Animal Crossing Wild World. It has a lot of great things, yet it might have it's downs. I haven't seen anything wrong with it. I wish it had more goals but at the same time I'm glad you can do whatever you want. I would recommend this game for anyone. GET THIS GAME TODAY!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it really is perfect

posted by corktheory (FRANKLIN, IN) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game changes every day. genius concept. even if you only play it for 10 minutes every day to search for fossils and check to see what's for sale at nook's, it keeps you coming back for more. i think the best part is how easy it is to make money. too many games make the currency not worth anything, which makes you not even want to try. but with animal crossing, even if you blow all your money on furniture, all you have to do is go fishing a few times and sell what you catch to nook and you have plenty of cash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A New Life in a New World.

posted by Mushroom (FARMINGDALE, ME) Aug 23, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm a gamer with a passion for games like this one. With a little work I could have got a 10. But it's not perfect.

Good:
You can pick this game up and dive into it. There's alot of small things you can do. But nothing big. There's fishing, digging, catching bugs, planting trees, donating to the museum, writing letters, talking, running errands, you get it. It runs on real time, and you can make friends while watching people move into your beautiful tree covered village with flowers all around. that's what they mean when they say Population: Growing!

Bad:
The worst thing about this game is that you love it for a little while then all of a sudden you stop playing it, then you get a little urge to play it again, and it grows into a big urge, and then it pops and all you can think about is animal crossing. You think it's gonna be a "forever" thing but it's not. Then there's the fact that there's just not enough to do. Once you've done it all then your done you walk around the village with nothing to do. And the little surprises that pop up and scare you out of your seat.

Easter Eggs:

-I'm Doing My Job!
Push reset or turn off the console while in play and a mole called Mr. Resetti will pop up and scare you. It's funny to watch him yell at you.

-The Traveling Guitarist
On Saturday nights at 8pm-10pm, K.K Slider will play you a song up by the train station. If he asks for requests, say you have none, and he'll give you a tape to play in your house.

-Time Machine
Adjust your GameCube clock to change the date in Animal Crossing. This will allow you to skip ahead to holidays and special dates. But skip too far and your town will be infested with weeds. (Change it from the GameCube menu, or the game will know you're cheating.)

That's it. This game is great for little kids: but I advise you to rent it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by mattside (HOWES CAVE, NY) Aug 5, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ITs just down right good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game need a lot of time

posted by smrabbitry (KENT, WA) May 26, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is really cute. I didn’t find it too much fun as there was really no story line to it. It’s a good time waster, or great for young kids. How ever I would not rent it or buy it for a child that doesn’t have consistent times that they are free.

The game is a real time game. So you have to set the clock on it. But you need to figure out what times you are available to play the game because unless you want to start all over, you can’t reset the clock. The only way to rest is to erase your file on your memory card and start a new game. It was not conductive for myself because I am very busy and have no set time to sit and play games.

In this game you really only have 13 hours in which you can play and get things done (9am-10 pm on the game clock). Before 9am or after 10 pm the towns people go to sleep and the shop where you sell everything at closes. You only have so many places to put things in your pockets and so you really have to set your time wisely and be able to stick to it very closely.

Other than that the controls are very easy. The tasks that you are asked to do are very simple. I liked it when I needed something mindless to play. Other than that it gets very boring very fast.

Great game if you want your kids game time to be monitored. There’s nothing in it that is violent or objectionable at all. I would let my 3 year old play it to get the feel for video games. There is a lot of reading in it though, so mom or dad needs to be there to help out. It’s very sweet though and the colors are very nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game rocks!!!

posted by RedWolf (LITTLETON, CO) Apr 26, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is really fun. It is so cool that you have your own house and meet new ppl as you go along each day. It is so real and cool. New ppl move into the town and ppl move. you can decerate your house and grow tree. You can catch bugs and fish. There is even holidays. You even have a birthday. There is so much stuff you can do in this game I tell you to rent this game even buy it I bought this game because it is so good. Hope this helped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game

posted by Stephie (LONG BEACH, CA) Aug 14, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I really like this game! You get to design your own house, work for people, and upgrade your house if you pay off your debt. The only problem is after you pay off your debt it gets a little boring. There's nothing to do except for earn money for pretty much no reason. By then you probably have your house the way you want it. If it wasn't so boring after you pay off your debt, I would give this game a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

You Need To Know!!

posted by PackRat (GLENDALE, AZ) Apr 5, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Ok First of all the game says its 1-4 players,
its a lair its a 1 player game it says 1-4 becouse
you can only make up to 4 charicters

This Game has a bad story and there is no ending you just do the same stuff over and over again

if You Like action games do not rent or buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A second repetitive, chore-driven life.

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Feb 12, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It's like Waiting for Godot with bipedal woodland creatures! If that sounds appealing to you, this is your game. Animal Crossing brings some interesting ideas to the table, but ultimately fails to be compelling or exciting like other games offering you a whole new virtual life. Again, Animal Crossing offers some innovative gameplay. Writing letters and getting responses, improving your relationship with other members of the town and getting graded on your interior decorating skills definitely is all very different. Also, the "quests" such as collecting insects, fossils and fish, planting trees and playing courier are certainly different as well. The problem really becomes, that's all you do. Animals all talk on way too long, repeat their dialogue over and over, you send out more fossils to the museum then they can identify for you on a day to day basis, your inventory fills up far too quickly and manually putting tools in your character's hands should have been streamlined for the final build. In the end, pulling weeds and rearranging furniture gets old. Having special events and changing seasons keeps things changing, but the tasks from day to day stay relatively similar. And once you're done with activities for the day, you'll have to wait for another day to receive more letters and purchase new items, meaning this game gets drawn out over conceivably years (unless you cheat). This game is at it's best when you can visit other people's towns, trade items and work with other players to make your town better. But even so, it's appeal is limited. It can be fun. It's definitely unique. But there's only so much time you'll want to put in to making your virtual world a better one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Would've liked had I been able to play it

posted by szedwards (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I prob would've liked this game as much as the DS version if I had known that I needed a GC controller to play it on my Wii. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Multipurpose Game

posted by wolfhunter64 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 9, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I never actually owned Animal Crossing. But I played it once at my cousins' place and LOVED IT!!! This game has this charm about it that separates it from other simulation games. The goal of the game is simple: exactly what you make it. That's right; one of the great things about this game is that you can choose your main goal of this game, and then accomplish it at your own pace. Whether you want to pay off your home loan completely, complete the museum, or just live life to the fullest is COMPLETELY up to you. Some of my favorite moments were posting things on the billboard about how dumb Tom Nook is or making a design and seeing everybody in town wear it with pride. No matter how you look at it, Animal Crossing is a true classic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Animal Crossing

posted by PsychMajor (JASPER, AL) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

This is an excellent game that held my attention for many years. I had so much fun building my house bigger, buying and selling different items, fishing, and so much more. This is the first (and only) game I've ever played that operates on real time. I had to make a habit out of playing the game before 10:00pm so I could do all of my buying and selling before Nook closed up his shop for the day. The original Animal Crossing didn't have an online version, but it really didn't need one. It's just so much fun the way it is! Great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A very well game indeed!

posted by MistaCMD (LONGVIEW, TX) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

In this game, there's LOTS of nice things...
My favorite is when that dog plays songs for you.
This game is a very peaceful one, one that when you rent you may think, "Oops, I just rented a dumb game!"...BUT YOUR WRONG!
Animal Crossing is one of the best games ever for GC...so that when you get it you'll go, "Oh, nevermind, ITS AWESOME!!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love Animal Crossing

posted by lightlis (SANTA ANA, CA) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I have to thank my boyfriend for telling me about this game because I he hadn't I would have never known about it...
So I've been playing this since 2006 and I haven't gotten tired of it once...There is so much to do! You can fish, buy clothes, find fossils, talk to your neighbors, design your own clothes, buy furniture, design your dream home basically...I would recommend this to anyone, of all ages it doesn't matter. You will have something to do everyday, trust me. Anyone who knows me knows that I can play this the whole day and wouldn't be tired of it, Favorite game of all time!
Try it and you will see how wonderful this game is.
I love Animal Crossing!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

exciting exzilleration

posted by raney1 (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Dec 8, 2009

Member since May 2005

i bought the game as my earliest gamecube titles and it was fun! i had a sleep disorder and one night i wanted to clean my village when this ghost apperard out of nowwhere! another day i heard about holidays and i changged the clock a year and people were surprized to see me! they said they missed me! sadly i sold the game (what was i thinking?) and now im beggin my parents to buy it for me for christmas! all in all a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game is fun from the start!

posted by tomkarl (HAMILTON, MT) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

What we really do like about this game is:1 you can customize your house and clothes. 2 You can fish and catch bugs. 3 We like how you can do jobs for the animals. and now what we don't like: 1 You can't jump 2 You crush flowers if you run on them. 3 You can't sit in you chair if it is next to your table. 4 You can only take the train to your other memory card town. overall fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Animal Crossing for Game Cube

posted by Kylie10 (CONCORD, CA) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I enjoyed the game somewhat, however it does not have a map that is readily available to find my way around. You have to search or go to a map of the whole town in the game. This is coming from a 9 year old so hope it got expressed correctly. She enjoyed the Animal Crossing City Folks game for WII much, much better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse