Rent Animal Crossing: New Leaf for 3DS
view large frontback

Animal Crossing: New Leaf

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.7

464 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

New Leaf, new responsibilities

posted by wolfhunter64 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 9, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

18 out of 22 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Animal Crossing: New Leaf is definitely a change from your traditional Animal Crossing game. When you start the game, you just want to have a peaceful life in your new town. However, once you get off the train you arrived in, you are greeted by 3 animals and the mayor's assistant telling you that you are the new mayor. This makes a huge step away from previous Animal Crossing games, and you start almost immediately. You are responsible for making community projects that help you and your residents. Overall, you are in charge of making your town a better place to live. What I liked about this game is that even though you live in a small town, you have a city-like main street to buy what you need. You can open up more shops there, like a barber shop, shoe store, and even a nightclub! You can unlock something called the dream mansion, which allows you to go to somebody's town via dream, but you can't really do anything to the town. You can also visit somebody's town by train, where what you do actually affects their town. If you are looking for a game where you can go at your own pace, Animal Crossing: New Leaf is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just Pure Amazing

posted by TOXICWEED (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jun 15, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Good Graphics.
Fun To Play With Friend's
Easy control's
Not A Hard Game To Play
Laid Back And Relaxing
10/10 No Doubt About It

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best of the series so far.

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Jul 11, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

There is more variety in this game so you don't get bored waiting for certain things to happen. Being able to visit Tortimers island within the first few days after starting the game is great. The more mini games you play/win the more are unlocked. It also seems that different ones are available depending on the day. While you're on a mini game island you can shake trees and find fruit to put in your storage bin to take home with you and plant or sell. One of the great things about the recycle shop is the ablity to put unwanted items for sale in the flea market. Also, each day they have one or two items that they will give you a better price on(usually double the usual). The clothes designing is much easier, as well. The clothing shop is divided between clothes/designs and accessories(which may include shoes). One of the things exclusive to the 3ds version is the ablity to spend 2 playcoins on a fortune cookie that, once eaten, the fortune can be turned in for a prize that may not be available any other way. I've only been playing for about a week but I don't think I'll ever trade this one in. I may play it less over the years but I don't think I'll ever give it up completely.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mundane

posted by GamerTech (NEW YORK, NY) Mar 24, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There's pretty much nothing to do in this game that I don't already do in real life, but with more fulfilling rewards. this game's definition of "mayor" is actually glorified groundskeeper...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just not my thing.

posted by epickduck (WILLINGTON, CT) Dec 26, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I know many people LOVE Animal Crossing. It's a charming series with likeable characters and lots to do. Me? I find it mind-numbingly dull. I just can't get into it for some reason. However, I DO see what people enjoy about it. I just don't enjoy it myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

about time!

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jun 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

i waited for this game to come out forever in the beginning it's like take your time and yes it's so relaxing i went on this game on and off couldn't put this down i give animal crossing new leaf 5 sharks out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I am sorry I crossed here, time for a REAL review!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Dec 24, 2013

Member since May 2010

This game is a REAL piece of work to be sure!
There are three goals of this game, and they are collecting cash(bells).
Collecting Nintendo knick knacks..
and collecting Gyroids..
Beyond that you can go online and show off your town which many people claim all look the same... It USED to be that the animal crossing series had another goal which was collecting 8 bit NES games, but that feature was droppped! Collecting things and earning money are the staple sub routine in MOST video games.. This game that sub routine is ALL that you do.. You collect things, day/night cycles according to Real time and the shops close at night, so you can only really play during the day,so there is obvious padding going on here.. This game has virtually no substance, you see, and padding is all there is.. If you are on any kind schedule in the REAL world, then this game might very well be a pain and a hassle to play! Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best animal crossing game

posted by Angrybirdsfan (CORONA, CA) Nov 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

It's the best one out there if you want to play animal crossing play this one first

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Life

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

I love playing Animal Crossing, being able to customize and live among furries, it's a dream come true for me. I love how this one now includes the ability to customize the town, makes for a really awesome experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SOO FUN

posted by Thegamer1337 (RANCHO PALOS VERDES, CA) Sep 25, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

i love this game if i was able to i would give it 1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 stars you get of the train and you become mayor very addicting i recommend it for all ages what are you waiting for? buy it now!(or rent it now!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Baby-Step Forward

posted by SteelBubblez (NEW HAVEN, CT) Aug 7, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I've played every Animal Crossing game from "Population Growing" to this, and I must say that this is an improvement with minor flaws.

Pros:
> Customization: As the mayor you can declare "public works projects" by talking to your secretary, Isabelle, from your desk. This lets you make things like bridges or lamp posts - things of that nature, but you can also unlock cool buildings like the cafe or police station from past games. Of course you fund 99% of the projects yourself as your fellow townsfolk aren't keen on donating their hard-earned bells, but it adds a bit more depth to the game.

> New Money-Maker: You can swim and go diving for underwater goodies after tirelessly playing minigames to earn the wetsuit at the island!

> Few New Buildings: There's "Club LOL" where you can get emotions, a shoe store, and a plant store.

(I hate to admit that that's as innovative as the game gets in my opinion.)

Cons:
> Reoccurring Annoyance: New villagers can move DIRECTLY in front of your house, two squares in front. This completely ruined the experience for me and drove me to return the game out of sheer frustration, but I know that what happened to me may simply be a rare coincidence.

> Lack of Physical Customization: You STILL can't customize your character's psychical features, other than your hair which, unless you use a chart online to match the hairdresser's questions with the style/color you'd like, can completely ruin your character until you can change it again.

> Repetitive: Can still get repetitive, but I suppose that's up to the player.

All-in-all I'd say it's a step forward, but not by much. I don't say this to put the game down as I was hooked on it for a good month and a half, but it just doesn't add much. In short, it's not that different from the other games, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but they could have done a lot more with it in terms of exploration, customization, collectibles, etc.

I give it a solid 8/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Even better than Wild World

posted by GameGirrl3 (FAIRMONT, WV) Jul 15, 2013

Member since Nov 2006

I absolutely loved Wild World..but,I had some problems connecting to other people,and there were some things you couldn't do if you didn't have others to come visit your town..well,it seems like they've gotten that fixed,and there's still so much to do even if no one comes to your town..I am excited at the fact that there are more shops,and,there's an island to explore too,how awesome is that?One big reason I've always loved Animal Crossing games is the fact that it's so relaxing and calming to play..you go at your own pace,and you play as often or as less often as you like(but you have to play kind of regularly to keep your town up).If you enjoyed the other Animal Crossing games even a little bit,I think you'll like this one even better than the rest :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best one yet

posted by matt5177 Jun 30, 2013

I was very surprised at how well this game was. It is very fun to play and by far the best of the animal crossing series. I didn't really see any downsides to this game, except that some stuff cost way to much to build. I would recommend it to anybody looking for a relaxing game. It's a nice break from call of duty games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The ultimate Animal Crossing game!

posted by mrkatamari (HYNDMAN, PA) Jun 30, 2013

Member since Oct 2008

I'll be honest. I was rather disappointed in the Animal Crossing City Folk game for the Wii. I felt that the city features were overblown, and little felt nearly as intuitive or expansive as the DS title Wild World. Plus, I just liked the touch or d-pad use on the DS title more.

Regardless, I was very excited to play a new Animal Crossing game, and New Leaf looked to add a bit more to the game to sweeten the deal. I pre-ordered it right away and was excited for it to launch.

It was immediately clear to me that New Leaf would mix much of what was good about City Folk with the intuitive controls of both the Wii (analog stick) and DS (stylus control). There's so much more to do in this entry than the previous two!

First of all, the main draw is that you can become the mayor of the town! This means that in addition to upgrading your private house to amazingly huge proportions, you also have the role of rebuilding the town and funding projects to bring back different town centers such as the police HQ or Mr. Resetti's Reset Center.

You also have the ability to essentially take up an 'ordinance' suggested by the townsfolk. Examples of what these laws do include anything from extending the store and animal activity into the wee hours of the night, or increasing the buy/sell prices of the local shops, allowing you to rake up the bells! It's a nice way to customize the game features to your liking.

Outside of the new mayoral duties is the ability to visit 'main street' which includes basically every building from City Folk. New tools include the megaphone which allows you to yell the name of an animal into the mic in order to locate them, and the scuba suit that allows you to dive into the ocean and fish up all sorts of creatures and lost objects.

All the new features make this game the ultimate Animal Crossing game. If you're a fan of the series, it's amazing. For everyone else, I must say that the game is very casual, so keep that in mind and don't expec

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Unexpected Improvements

posted by RainbowGrenade (WARNER ROBINS, GA) Jun 23, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I'm really liking the new direction they took this game in. I was surprised right off the bat by the fact that the characters are all a bit taller, as well as the additional customizations you can make to your appearance. Also, I was glad to not have to go through the tedious employment tutorial that's been in every other game up until now.
What I like most about this new installment, is that they've added a lot more playability by not only giving you more goals to work toward, but they've also made it so some options and locations are not available immediately. It's great having something different opening up for you every few days.
I'm still only so far into the game, but I look forward to the rest of the discoveries I'll be making as I continue to live in my town.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE IT

posted by BLITZCAT (MESQUITE, TX) Jun 22, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I have Wild World and City Folk, but had to be the best one yet!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really fun!

posted by Julez_x33 (MIAMI, FL) Jun 16, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Im not really a gamer untill I got my hands on to this game, Animal Crossing New Leaf. Its really cute and fun & you can be entertained for hours. I honestly love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »