Rent Animal Crossing: City Folk for Wii
view large frontback

Animal Crossing: City Folk

Rent

Keep for: $34.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.7

3771 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The fun of animal crossing city folk

posted by gamerman3 (Louisville, KY) Aug 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Animal crossing city folk is a game were you decide how to live and what to do. Like shop, earn cash, and use the wifi connection to invite your freinds to your town or go to their town, you even have your own house. You can also go to the city where you can get your fortune told, shop, a haircut, and display and bid on items, you can also join the happy room academy where you'll get advice on how to make your room better. Be careful though life is not always fair you could get stung by bees hit by spiders or your neighbors could get sick. There are lots of hobbeis to do also like fishing, catching bugs, digging fossils, and much more. So have fun in animal crossing city folk, there are lots to do way more then I mentioned!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great family fun

posted by msjackson (PORT HUENEME, CA) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My entire family plays this game. We even find ourselves talking about it when we are not playing. Its easy, there is always something new going on, it's great for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Perfect Game

posted by RacerKing4 (AVALON, WI) Aug 25, 2009

Member since May 2009

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It took long enough for Nintendo to make an Animal Crossing game on the Wii, and it is argueably the best in the series. The basic game play is the same- make your guy, name your town and ride into it via the bus and the annoying driver, Kapp'n. That's when the fun begins. Citizens move in and out regularly, giving you someone new to talk to every now and then. Buy stuff at Nook's ever-expanding shop, display your styles at the Able Sister's Tailor, donate bells to get cool stuff (lighthouse, anyone?), send letters, and change the town tune at the town hall, learn something, chill with a cappuchino, and watch the stars at the museum, upgrade your house, go fishing, and more. Hop on the bus to go to the NEW city. Meeting potential neighbors, getting your fortune told, and watching a performance are just a few of the things you can do. The best part is that it never really ends! Wi-Fi is a nice addition. Now, if you'll excuse me, i'm going to go play some more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome, but nothing new..

posted by Mario11168 (RIO RANCHO, NM) Apr 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I love the Animal Crossing games, and I thought I would love this one just as much. If any of you have played Animal Crossing: Population Growing (For GameCube) and/or Animal Crossing: Wild World (For DS) you'll know how much changed between the two. If you play this game, you'll know how much DIDN'T change between the three.. The cliffs are back from the GameCube version, new bugs and fish can be caught, a few new people, and you get to go to a city to buy horribly overpriced furniture..

The things I liked about this game:

Wii speak for WiFi, doesn't lag on WiFi, the gameplay felt a lot more open, and there are a few new things that are partly refreshing.

Things I didn't like:

When you run on your grass, it wears down, and DOESN'T. GROW. BACK unless you don't run on it for like, a year. That was a stupid feature.. Also, the characters ended up saying the same thing over and over, instead of where they would always say something different in the older games.

I say buy this game or rent it, however, because of its long replay value. If you have NEVER played ANY Animal Crossing game, then you HAVE to get this game, but if you have played the others and you own those, I say just rent this game. It ends up getting repetitive compared to the earlier Animal Crossing games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hmm, this game is amazing!

posted by Ipownyu (KASSON, MN) Dec 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought this game because I had been a fan of the series since the original game. I loved them all and the loving does not stop for City Folk. I think that the artwork stayed in the same general category, the smaller chibi people and the talking animals are just awesome. I mean the game keeps me entertained all day, even when all the fruit is gone. The good thing is that the next day you get more fruit to sell anyway. :D I think that this is a must have for the nintendo wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I LOVE Animal Crossing! But...

posted by fruitandveggies (STERLING, VA) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me first state that I LOVE Animal Crossing. It is probably my favorite game ever. However, there are a lot of things that have changed from the GameCube version that I seriously did not like. That didn't keep me from playing it every day, sometimes for hours.
My gripes (mostly changes from the GC version):
-The most annoying thing about this game is a good portion of the gameplay is only available for people with online friends who play AC. Well, I don't have any of those and you really don't want people you don't know with your town code or they can come in and hack away, steal your stuff, etc. The auction house is 100% useless, the HRA contests are seriously lacking, you don't ever get to talk to Booker again, and the WORST part is that other people in your family cannot make another town. That seriously SUCKS. You have no way to get any other fruit (I haven't been successful getting foreign fruit from other townspeople) and if the other people play, your fossils, etc. have to be split between all four people.
-The amount of fossils you find is DRAMATICALLY reduced. And when you do finally get most of them, they are still random out of all the possible fossils, making it nearly impossible to get all of them.
-No more glowing money spots.
-The ability to make bells is greatly reduced. You can no longer expect a townsperson to have a job for you to do to be rewarded for. It doesn't happen often.
-The fish are much more difficult to catch. And you can't get the golden fishing rod (which makes it easier) until you catch all the fish.
Things I like:
-Well, it's Animal Crossing. New additions I like are Blathers' ability to check fossils, new K.K. songs, townspeople approaching you, flowers, Katrina, Redd and Gracie have shops, the townsfolk are much nicer, emotions, advanced clothing design, gifts from Nintendo, screen caps and a few other things. I could go on, but I've got a character limit!
I do recommend City Folk, but be aware of its flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The cutest game EVER!!

posted by Chakotay (AMARILLO, TX) Dec 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You move into a new town in the country and buy a house. You then have to find things to sell to pay your motgage. Fishing, catching bugs, picking fruit... all kinds of things. Shake trees to find $ and other objects.

Other residents will ask favors and give you gifts in exchange to furnish your house.

There are also fossils to find and dig up and put in the museum, as well as bugs and fish. Incredible dispays in the museum!! A coffee bar hosts a live musician every Sat night and he will give you music you can play on your sereo in your house.

You can design clothes and have the tailor shop sell them to other towns-folk, There are auctions in the city, get your hair changed, or go to a fortune teller. The town also holds contests and a flea market.

You work towards paying off your house so that it can be up-graded. Lots of furniture, wallpaper, and carpet to design your home. Also clothing and wigs, hats, glasses... you can change your look as often as you want.

BEWARE!!
VERY ADDICTIVE!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Review for a 4 year old

posted by hometown (CLEARFIELD, UT) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my 4 year old son. The pro was that once in the game he was able to walk around and interact with the town. The cons were I soon realized that besides just wandering around he couldn't do any of the main features of the game by himself. I felt like he had to hold the controller and I had to play the game which we were never able to do all of the things in the game description. Needless to say it was in the mail the following morning to be sent back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth it w/o Friends

posted by LadyCyn (GREENSBORO, NC) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I wandered around AC:CF for a couple of days, but got bored very quickly. Without friends with Wiis, hence without cities to visit, there doesn't really seem to be anything to do in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really Awesome (and cute)!

posted by DaTruth78 (BLOOMING GROVE, TX) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Animal Crossing: City Folk touched my heart and made me laugh and cry. You can almost tell what the animals are saying without subtitles.
But this is no "Orange Box" so no violence. And the loan is easier to pay off than "Wild World".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Animal Crossing - What More Did You Expect?

posted by DebLee (ALBERTSON, NY) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

38 out of 46 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I am a huge Animal Crossing fan. The game is great because of the laid-back game play, fun characters, and the vast catalog of items to collect. I had played the Game Cube version, and I thought it was great. Then I bought the DS version, and couldn't stop playing! This Wii version mixes the best of both worlds from the GC and DS versions for the best Animal Crossing gameplay so far.

As an avid fan, I purchased the guide book along with this game. Though it may not be obvious to gamers who just got the game and have only played it for a few days, but there are HUGE changes in the Wii version. There are several new characters (some appear in town, others are in the city), and plenty of new holidays were added to the Animal Crossing: City Folk calendar:
Groundhog Day, Valentine's Day, Festivale, Bunny Day, Autumn Moon Festival, Explorer's Day, Halloween, Harvest Festival, a visit from "Jingle" and many more are all brand-new, and that is in addition to regular events such as Fishing Tourneys and Bug Offs!

With new characters and holidays comes brand new furniture sets to collect. The new GracieGrace boutique in the city features a new furniture set every season, but it will cost you a lot!

Other random new features that make this game better than the DS version:
- Since the game is on your TV, you can see everything much easier,you can move the camera angle to get a better view of things on the ground.
- Switching tools is a LOT faster and easier! You just press a direction on the directional pad of the Wii Remote - no more switching to the menu to get your net or shovel (which are now available in silver AND gold).

To all the people with gripes about this game, I don't understand you. The essential format for AC has never changed, why would you expect it to now? If you like the game, rent it! But to get the full experience, buy it and play it all year long! Great game, and it keeps getting better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best...game...EVER!!!!!!!

posted by solion (CUMBERLAND, RI) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Ok,so this was like,my first time ever to play animal crossing,and...
IT IS AWESOME!!!I mean like,i eaven got my mom into it!but heres some advice,if you go to the city,DO NOT go into gracie grace.the lowest price there is like 85000 bells(dollars)!well,unless you have all your house morgage paid off (that means you have secod floor and basement).the BED cost more than my third expansion is!But anyway,if you own wild world,you can move from there and send clothes and/or furniture(im not so sure about it because,well,i dont have wild world,but it asked me at the begining).you know though
some people do think its boring,so rent it first,then buy it.you know if you like it...but if you dont,maybe you should keep it longer,because some events only happen at the end of the month.or you could be unluky and the last event in the month happend just yesterday.so,what are you waiting for?!?!rent it!!!!

p.s.i think it says what the date is on this right?well any way 11-22 has my fav event...flea market!um...i think thers one every month,but its right after the fishing turney

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

finally for the wii

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 24, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is way cool. you get to change your hair style if you want in the city and use your mii chatacer too. different holidays, new characters and much more! i give Animal crossing city folk you caught 5 different fishs out of 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I cryed it was so good!!!

posted by Smashbro (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

One of the best games that happened to the Wii Animal Crossing City Folk is an all out awesome game that you should not just rent but go out and buy right after your done reading this review!!!
With fantastic colors and the best game play. For everyone who has played the other two versions you will enjoy this one the most because there is a lot more things to do with the new city function. There are a lot more animals to talk to in your town and you get your own house!!!(in the DS version you had to share your house with whoever joined the game) Also the Wi-Fi function is the same except they added the wii speak which is really cool. All in all I just can't write enough to even begin describing this excellent game. So just do yourself a favor and buy the game NOW!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nothing new to see here, move along.

posted by CapnJack78 (SPRINGFIELD, PA) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

So, basically if you take Animal Crossing GC and Animal Crossing DS, and put them out to pasture to mate, you'd get Animal Crossing: City Folk.

There is really nothing new here except being able to take a bus from your town to the city, which has just a few more stores for you to buy stuff. There's a lot of things to collect, but beyond that there's not much of interest. We've seen all of this before.

I loved the GC and DS games, but this version is lackluster and disappointing.

Online play is frustrating, as you need yet another friend code, and it's impossible to find anyone to trade codes with unless you find an internet forum to trade codes. And that is very risky because they can come in and ruin your town.

Nintendo needs to think long and hard about the next evolution of Animal Crossing before releasing another game. The only thing they added was a few more stores in the city. Very lame. Also, a game like this really needs some kind of online community, but Nintendo is very stubborn and won't go that direction (yet).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!

posted by MyninjaWay (CLAREMONT, CA) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

12 out of 26 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

The game is amazing awesome game play A+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWWWESOMMMMMMMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

posted by Chantel (SAINT SIMONS ISLAND, GA) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

loved it!!!! I am a HUGE harvest moon and animal crossing fan. i would rate it 10000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000 if i could. LOVED IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

More of the same

posted by SheepClone (PLYMOUTH, MI) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Don't expect anything different from the newest Animal Crossing. Skip this if you've played any of the previous titles in this series. Nintendo is just selling the same game again, sort of like Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

maybe

posted by rulk98 (LOS OSOS, CA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i might just keep this one guys:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The same...only worse

posted by AGamerMom (NASHVILLE, TN) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My whole family was addicted to the first animal crossing. We would play for hours. Couldn't wait for holidays to roll around!
I was surprised at how little has changed. The beginning of the game is the same. You do the same odd jobs for Tom Nook. What is worse are the controls. They are so touchy. You are trying to make your person walk and instead, you are popping up the menu at the bottom of the screen. I really wanted to love this game but, it was such a let down.
This is definitely a "rent only" game...Don't waste your money buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty Good, But Not Perfect

posted by LouisIV (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This version of Animal Crossing is just as addictive and fun as the others. It is mainly a mixture of the first two games. The new city feature is pretty cool, and the feature to send your profile from the DS version is awesome too. I think that they could have put the city in the town, so that you could just walk up to it instead of taking the bus to get to it but, its not all that bad either. The game still features 4 player profiles, but each seems to be able to hold more in it. The game catalog is HUGE this time because it has the DS items and many new ones too. Overall I think it is a rental, not a buy, well unless you really play these games for a long time, and this is your only console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

just okay

posted by jacbob (TAFT, CA) Jan 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is okay if you have a lot of time to waste. I would have liked it better if it was a little faster paced.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wild World 1.5

posted by Thebunny (CHARLOTTE, NC) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

If you've never played an AC game, or have played it only sparingly, you may like this. However, if you have extensively played AC, this is not for you. There are hardly any new features: same characters, same system, same game. Although it is a step up from both WW and P:G, it doesn't make enough changes to warrant a new playthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

okay.

posted by peanut2 (GEORGETOWN, IN) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

The game being in real time kind of sucks. Normally when you get a new game you like to stay up and play it all night. With this, you can't. The shop is closed at night. You can only hold so much in your pockets, and I found ONE bug. ONE! It doesn't explain much. Maybe if gamefly provided a booklet??

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

animal crossing: city folk

posted by pandora25 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

ok... this is the first time i have ever played a childrens game that plays in real time. I would definitively recommend this game for those who aren't seasoned players. It was a little dull for me the fact that when it is night time in real life and there's nothing to do it's the same in the game. I'm a serious gamer and I love sim games and trying new ones. just this one wasn't for me. though i did enjoy the cute characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse