Rent Anarchy Reigns for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Anarchy Reigns

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.6

618 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

A strange beast...

posted by capthavic (ATHOL, MA) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To be honest I'm not really sure how to review this game. It seems like they tried to mix a brawler and a fighting game to meh results. The campaign has you trapped in fairly small areas/hubs where you complete challenges and main missions. The only way to progress is to earn enough points to unlock them, which is annoying because it usually forces you to play each of the side missions at least once. They aren't very fun or challenging (and who really cares about high scores?) but the only alternative is to fight the endlessly (literally) spawning enemies that attack you constantly...and that gets dull fast.

It feels like this was primarily meant to be a fighter because it does that reasonably well. The open world brawling is a lot more clunky but in both cases it is far too easy to get stun locked and killed with no way out.

I really wanted to like this game but, it was just a bore. Only got as far as the third area before calling it quits. Might be a decent fighter to play with friends but otherwise just skip the campaign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its kind of corny

posted by DrewdabossXL (MOUNT VERNON, NY) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The music fits the setting well,The graphics aren't very good,and its player base ,must be like 5 people world wide because i cannot get into one player match or ranked match.So i don't even get to see this amazing multiplayer. The story is uninteresting and the dialog cant be skipped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Multiplayer, Not Much Else...

posted by dbzfan98 (LAKEWOOD, CA) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Anarchy Reigns is an odd game. Its game play is an odd mixture of a beat-em-up and a fighting game, it's kind of but not exactly a sequel to Madworld and it's narrative is entirely weird. Sometimes weird works, take a look at games such as Katamari Damacy and Psychonauts that are incredibly odd yet remarkable games for many reasons and sometimes weird doesn't work very well like in Anarchy Reigns.
The first issue that I have with this game is its campaign, the missions are monotonous for the most part, which is made even more noticeable by the incredibly bland enviroments that the games puts you in. It has an open world system similar to the one in MadWorld so you have to kill lots of enemies over and over to unlock missions which can get repetitive, especially later on when you'll have to really rack up points to unlock the next story mission. But at least in MadWorld, there was a unique artstyle that allowed you to overlook a lot of it's flaws.
Speaking of MadWorld, this game does absolutely no job of recapping the events of it which makes it confusing for newcomers, but not only that, it makes many contradictions to MadWorld's story yet it references the events of the game as if it's only taking a few things from the "previous installment" and leaving out the others so I always felt completely lost in terms of story.
The multiplayer however is one of the few saving graces of this whole game, while some game modes like survival(which is supposed to be co-op but ultimately devolves into kill stealing) aren't good, the game shines in Tag Deathmatch and Battle Royale. It reminds me of Powerstone, it's pure chaotic madness and while every character has basically the same combos with a few exceptions(bigger characters) they play differently enough to make it interesting.
Anarchy Reigns is an odd game, it could've been another great odd game but it lacks the character and fun that the previous games mentioned earlier have to make it on that list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fighting is fun

posted by EmoChips (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 12, 2013

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

To keep it short and simple the game is worth a rent or a buy if you plan to play multiplayer. The combat, while similar for every character, is very rewarding. Think of it as 3d Super Smash Brothers, items and all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Massively Underated

posted by MorbidDoom27 (LIVERMORE, CO) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The title says it all. This game is a great game for anyone looking for a 3d brawler. For anyone who played MadWorld this game is a spiritual sequel only and has virtually nothing to do with MadWorld and will even somewhat contradict it at points. The combat, while less focused on getting creative with your violence, still feels very reminiscent of the combat in MadWorld. Many of the complaints about the combat system come from people who couldn't figure out how to make the battles flow or were playing on the easier difficulties that require nothing more than button smashing. The graphics while a bit on the japanese side give the game a unique refreshing look that is so lacking in many of today's games that just attempt to make the most realistic looking game possible. The campaign mode, while lacking in story and feeling slightly repetitive, will give you an alright couple of hours of gameplay. The multiplayer on the other hand has many incredibly fun game types and characters to choose from. Some complaints are that the characters fight too similarly due to heavy and light characters and that everyone has the same controls but there is definitely enough variety between each character's moves to make using each one of them entertaining. This game is not for everyone, but if you feel like playing a good old fashioned brawler this game is definitely worth giving a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not so bad

posted by TheGangsta (MILWAUKEE, WI) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Anarchy reigns is not as bad a game as most reviews suggest, but there are problems that keep this from reaching the full potential that it could have had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fast Exciting Gameplay w/ Boring everything else

posted by HoustonTexans (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Jan 15, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

gets very boring VERY quickly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Let down

posted by morgodrummer (MURRAY, KY) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This was a big disappointment. The combat system is lacking in depth when looking at the games it's compared to (such as Bayonetta and DMC). The camera needs constant adjustment and the lock-on system leaves much to be desired. The story doesn't make any sense at all...just ludicrous. The character dialogues are reminiscent of PS-One era games. The inability to use experience to level up your character with skill trees is a huge oversight. Instead all you do is unlock completely redundant missions. This game could have been so much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Anarchy Yawn.... where was I?

posted by Bannon9k (BATON ROUGE, LA) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

What can I say, I gave the game a shot despite all the negative signs. I knew as the game loaded I was in for disaster when the Sega logo blasted the screen. Despite that, I kept on. Then the games horrid graphics disgrace my TV... and yet I kept on. Then came the story / dialogue... Very bland and typical of japanese titles(same with character design). Voice acting isn't terrible, but the lines are. And yet, I kept on... maybe I'd at least see if I liked playing it.... yeah... not so much. If you like smashing X and Y over and over while half naked cyborgs explode into purple goo, this might be the game for you! I gave it an hour... cause thats how long it took to grind into the first STORY mission! It's already in the mail back. In short... skip this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great with the right expectations

posted by DRS (OGDEN, UT) Jun 8, 2013

Member since May 2012

This is NOT a deep game at all. The story is really weak. But it is a good button mashing combo adding game. It is a sort of mindless good time that can be fun for a bit. If you are going in with the right expectations it's not a bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Get a buddy and have a beer or its a real bore.

posted by mistawolf (LAWRENCE, KS) May 20, 2013

Member since May 2009

This game is truly just a "hack an slash" fighter game.

They put you in a level that you will do 6 missions an then move on. You play as the main toon most of the time, yet you do get to play some of the people you fight. Yet in-between missions you use the same move repeatedly among a wave of spawned units, that will die with in 3 hits. sometimes you move to next wave before you get to the next mission, thus you do harder units... up to the starting boss monsters.

If you want to have a drink or few beers with a friend its awesome game to have! other then that it will be a boring night of just hitting everything that spawns and the small missions of doing the same again.

The missions are short, easy, and you get a short video clip or some what of a story line and it keeps the small minded or drunk me, interested.

The battle system is super easy, you don't even have to try to get a good score so there's no point to get them. Most of the time your toon will got nocked around like a rag doll a bit but once you get your ground its back to killing everything.

Its hard to really "rate" a game like this, since its really not that bad yet not something I would buy. but hey easy gamer score if that's what your here for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It is what it is

posted by DragonDan2453 (CHANNAHON, IL) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

I have never heard of Anarchy Reigns before I saw it on Gamefly. There aren't many games out that I was intertested in that I didn't play already, so I decided to give this game a try. It is not surprising why I never saw one single commerical advertising this game. Why you ask? Simple. Low budget. Just playing this game for 5 minutes you can tell this is a low budget-type game. It's bland, reprtitive, and gets stale fast. Campaign is just simple missions where you beat people up. That's about it. This is one of those games that you end up playing when you have nothing else to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Feels like Bulletstorm!

posted by J_Turk007 (WYOMING, MI) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game feel just like playing Bulletstorm, the moves get pretty lame pretty quick as you proceed through each stage hacking and slashing very unimaginative enemies. To make matters worse the cinematic scenes are just two pictures of the characters heads talking back and forth, the lips dont even match the words.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »