Rent Anarchy Reigns for PS3
view large frontback

Anarchy Reigns

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.6

389 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Good but could of been better

posted by Bigrob5700 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jan 20, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Here's a more informative review. I gave this game some time and I say you should rent before buying, here are the reasons. The combat is fun, it isn't deep like tekken tag team 2 or anything but it's decent enough. I'll break this review down in two sections starting with the campaign.

You chose Leo or Jack from Madworld. They have different stories but they intertwine. All you do is kill guys in the open world to do a side quest, doing a side quest allows you to do a main quest. There's 3 main quest missions per level and 10 levels total after playing both characters. Its mostly rinse and repeat, the talk scenes are off and weird, and the story makes little sense, but you got to play this to unlock the characters for multiplayer easier and some of the abilities. At least the trophies are easy to get and are all based off of the campaign.

Now for multiplayer. you got 3 classes, light which is all the girls, medium which are all the guys except Douglas, Big Bull, Garuda, and Gargoyle which are heavy. Each of these classes attack differently and have different abilities. As you level up you get unlocks such as characters and abilitys to make things easier for you. Even though the fighting is easy in campaign, multiplayer is completely different, mostly for the worse. You got your standard mutiplayer game types such as deathmatch and capture the flag, but you also have a soccer type game mode called deathball. All of this is fun but lag runs rampant in most games and you'll have to adjust to it to get better. The best you can do is select your country and pray for the best connection, else you'll die often. They can easily patch online to make it funner but I don't think this game will get the fanbase to get it thanks to games like CoD:BO2.

This game is kinda fun but the effort put in just isn't enough, and the game just isn't too known. I say give it a chance, you may like it but you'll see that it can be so much more...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad progression design

posted by Vannagan (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

In order to move on to the next level you have to gain enough points and you get points by completing a level. So this means you have to play the same level twice just to move on to the next.

So if an area has 5 levels you play the level more then once. The game play is not an action game style but more of a fighting game adventure mode (tekken force or mortal kombat konquest).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Anarchy Shames

posted by StarRaven (WELLINGTON, FL) Jan 9, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

6 out of 24 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

No. Just... no.

This game is just not good man. Really not good.

Graphics, storyline, gameplay, characters, character design, music, sound, AI, the whole list - Totally low level.

Honestly, just don't bother. Just about ANYTHING would be better than this.

This is a 10$ Bargin Bin game at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad Game. Now I see why the game is so low price.

posted by Dusk278 (SAINT MARYS, GA) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Just don't play this game.

The game play, story, co-op, and multi-player are all garbage. I know graphics don't make the game but come on! In order to play the multi-player match you need a full lobby. Even if there was a 3v3 lobby it has to be a full 4v4 lobby in order for the match to start. To unlock characters you need to either beat a certain level or reach a certain rank on the multi-player. Story mode sometimes make you replay the level in order to get enough points to reach the next level. I just played the tutorial and it already put me half-asleep of boredom. If there was any reason to hate fighting games this would be one of them. I give it a 1/10 overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

meh

posted by StinkyTrapDoor (SANTA ROSA, CA) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

exremely repetitive. felt like a launch title. graphics were like an up res'd ps2 port. wanted to like the game just couldnt get over how slow and repetitive it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really!!!

posted by AreA_17 (DENVER, CO) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Never again, my soul is begging me for that 30 minutes of life back!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever

posted by Deerhunter624 (HANSON, KY) Mar 12, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I tried this game. I didn't like it one bit you have to beat the campaign before you can play multiplayer. So what good is a fighting game that you can't fight your friends in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great budget title!

posted by Unenthused (VANCOUVER, WA) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Feb 2008

-First of all this game isn't bad. If there were more people playing it, then online would be an excellent experience, but due to a small amount of people playing means less chances of online sessions being paired up.
-The graphics aren't awful as some as the other reviewers state. Really, the graphics for the type of game are great (not the best) and definitely better than others. Add in all the chaos that's happening on a fairly large map... it's a lot to process all at once.
The sound is okay, not bad. I don't like the generic mouth movements with excessive emotion from characters... they don't line up and sure, the acting is misplaced. But the soundtrack does more than make up for the amusingly bad dialogue. I found the music to be pretty intense and makes you get into the battling a lot more. Plus, the songs are well done... not just some random techno/guitar rifts that are for crackheads.
-The online will lag. Are you surprised? I'm not! What game online DOESN'T lag??? Add in the fact you have 16 people battling on a large scale map... a room full of players from the US, Mexico, Canada, UK, JPN, and even AUS (Of course anywhere really). If that session doesn't lag, then you must be suffering from epilepsy because there's no way you'd miss those dropped frames! Occasionally you can host a room with friends and locals, but nothing is guaranteed. The lag is livable though because those who're lagging will phase in and out (the character will flash) and all you have to do is avoid them. The room as a whole won't lag enough to make a difference unless everyone is flashing.
-The gameplay is fairly simple... you learn the basic combos that apply for everyone... the only catch is that some characters maneuver differently and the "tricks"won't be as effective. Take the basic combos, add in the random items you acquire throughout the map and just kill people. You can die a lot, sure, but just make it a point to kill the most.
---Just Relax and enjo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Short and fairly repetitive

posted by Existence (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

This game is a beat-em-up action game, somewhat similar to the Dynasty Warriors series, but on a much smaller scale. The game is very short; average completion time is probably around 4 hours.

There are two main characters, and you have the option to choose which story to follow. Although you start with one, once it is finished, you automatically switch to the other. The stories do not change all that much, you just get to view it from the other character's perspective. Between stories, some missions change, some boss fights change, some cut scenes change, but some also stay the same.

There are only 4 levels per character, and the levels act as kind of a free roam "hub" where you activate main (story) missions, and free missions that can be repeated. In general, there are only 3 free missions and 3 story missions per level. As stated in other reviews, to open new missions you need to acquire a certain amount of points, but most of the time missions give plenty of points when completed.

Pros:
It's a bit flashy, and the combat is stylized in a way that looks cool, but that's about it.

Although I am not a fan of rap, I did find the soundtrack to be halfway decent.

I did find the story to be fairly interesting, although the written script isn't the best.

Cons:
The targeting system (lock-on and general) are poorly executed, which in turn messes with the camera, making it fairly poor as well.

Difficulty is a bit strange: Easy seems a bit too easy, Normal seems properly adjusted, and Hard doesn't seem to be done very well.

I felt it to be somewhat repetitive as well; all story missions are simply just boss fights (usually). Free missions generally are just "kill X amount of enemies". There are a few odd free missions that include different things though, like rolling a ball into a goal post.

I did not try multiplayer, but there is that for those interested. There are multiple characters to unlock and use via level select though, giving some r

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game for 5 year olds....

posted by zombieone (ANSTED, WV) Feb 16, 2013

Member since Sep 2009

this game is horrible, it's designed for a 5 year old at best.

The story is lame, the characters are lame, the playstyle and controls are lame. The multiplayer is horrible... yeah this game might have been cool in the 80's but not in todays market.

It tries to be a fighting game and does it poorly, no wonder this game just released and gamefly is selling it for 25 bucks..... that pretty much says it all.

I spent about 15 minutes in the "campaign" which is just you running around on a map fighting using the same combos over and over and over and over. you unlock levels by raising your score from fighting "mutants" and i use this term loosely, most of the initial mobs are guys wearing gas masks or using a flame thrower. you do eventually start fighting monsteresque type mobs that actually do resemble mutants to a extent i guess.

The multiplayer i couldnt handle more than 2 minutes of it, it pits about 16 players on one map in a "free for all" type match. It does have unlockable "equips" that boost things such as combo power by %'s and things that give better defense/offense. I couldnt play it long enough to unlock any though...lol.

Yeah avoid this game unless you are under 12, like bad controls, horrible voiceovers, and barely mediocre graphics.

It spent a total of maybe 30 minutes in my PS3 before i packaged it back up and sent it back to gamefly...Sega... I always knew most of your games sucked, but wow really you guys just keep spiriling down. It's time to find something new, because good games is not something you understand at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »