Rent Amped 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Amped 3

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.2

3450 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Extremely Underrated

posted by juiced (HILLIARD, OH) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

25 out of 27 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This is hands down the best snowboarding title I have played in years. If falls somewhere in the middle of the "over-the-top" style of play in SSX, and the true to life play of the first two Amped games.

The greatest thing about this game are the MASSIVE environments. In some of the biggest mountains it literally can take you up to 30 minutes just to make it from the top to the bottom. Want another run? Just jump on the lift of your choice via the Resort Map, and away you go. The environments vary from the average american ski resort to the huge mountains of South America. There are environments in Utah, Europe, South America, and the DC Mountain Lab, which is a really cool level in itself.

Beating all the HUNDREDS of challenges will offer you hours upon hours of gameplay, and the story mode is very, very weird, but keeps you wanting to play more. The controls will seem to be a bit sluggish and off at first, but once you learn that this isn't just another tony hawk clone in the snow, and pickup on the different timings for tricks, it is excellent. Throughout the game you unlock more and more tricks, and you also gain riding abilities, which can be expected. There is also a cool building mode, which allows you to stop, and place ramps, rails, etc. ANYWHERE on the mountains.

There also isn't just snowboarding either, you can, at any time pause the game, and switch to a snowmobile, or one of MANY objects, ranging from a couch to a hangglider, and sled down the mountain in an attempt to crash and rack up the highest medical bills. The snowmobile function is also great for getting across the mountain to the various challenges in a quick fashion.

Graphically, Amped 3 looks decent, but that's okay due to the huge environments. The game's create a character function is great to. Honestly, I didn't expect much from Amped 3, but thanks to renting it and giving it a chance, I now own it and cant wait for Amped 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amped 3 is a Definite Rental!

posted by Asurath (CHANDLER, AZ) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

There is never a dull moment in this game! There is always something new to do. The story is easily the funniest story i have seen in a video game. You start off as an average snowboarder going down the mountain in a pink bunny suite, soon enough, it's your job to save the world! The game play mechanics are extremely well done, as well. If you liked the tony Hawk games, you're going to like this game. The snowboard controls are very solid, and the sledding and hang gliding controls are easy to get used to. The achievements are fairly easy, as well. The first half are the easiest achievements ever mainly because you get them by just beating the game. Some mountains are easier to own than others( You get this when you excite all the people on the mountain). All in all this a very fun game, and a definite rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not bad

posted by jtom617 (MARYSVILLE, MI) May 8, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

great for achevemeints, i got stuck on a grinding mission where your up in the sky on those logs, trying to keep up with some girl, but i got 350 acchevements from it. Good game, kinda fun, story line is hilarious, good rent! <3 acheivements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SWEET!!! You have got to love this.

posted by Morova (LAKEWOOD, WA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I can't think of a "singe word" (i.e awesome, perfect etc...) that can describe how good this game is. This a great game to introduce the system on. Amped3 looks great, it's user friendly, its got a good blend of tricked out wackiness and realism. The mountains are incredibly huge, and there are plenty of customizable option including the ability to add your own start points and trick objects to a mountain. Precision players will find it as much fun as button mashers. Not to mention the snow mobile, sleds, hang gliders, etc...
Want to throw a snowball? that's included
Want to Spray people with snow as you carve the slope... check.

Challenge types are scattered to promote exploration and the variety is good with everything from follow the leader variants, to specific trick type challenges (i.e. spins, flips, grabs, aerials, rails, carving), to sled and injury challenges. Each challenge can be skipped or repeated as much as you like, and everything has a ranking leaderboard on xboxlive.

I'm not really into "sport" games but Amped3 is hard to put down at times. If you want a games that leaves you feeling satisfied, this IS your ticket

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So much fun! Way under-rated...

posted by Nathan (PLEASANT VIEW, TN) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is just a blast to play. I don't really understand all the bad/average reviews it's been getting. I'm finding myself to be less and less relient on what a lot of game journalist's opinions are about games. The storymode in amped 3 is as hilarious and outrageous as any game I've played. The sledding and snowmobiling are very fun as well. Now that this game has dropped below 30 bucks, I might consider buying it. If you still haven't rented this game though, what are you waiting for?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

AMPED is the best looking SNOWBOARD game ever..hov

posted by Halo360 (WINCHENDON, MA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This game is BEAUTIFUL and smooth the cut scenes are hilarious and wierd. The bad is there is NO ONLINE AT ALL and no 2 player in home except i mini game toobing...WEAK!! the story is short and can be completed in a day or 2 MAX. the cut scenes are just crazy and worth a view. OVERALL this games a good renter and fun but no replay after you beat it. This is definately the best LOOKING and handeling SNOWBOARD GAME ever and you even get to ride a snowmobile at anytime in game on any mountain....fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Stupid Funny

posted by sNakel337 (BROOKLYN, NY) May 9, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

GamerTag: Snakel337

As the title states, this game is “stupid funny”. This means, if you are not into laughing about really stupid comments, and or actions you will NOT enjoy this game. You will find yourself going through the game’s main story mode in no more than 5 to 6 hours max. However, it does offer some replay factor in that it lets you achieve other stuff such as : perfect scores, online scores(after you get a gold medal for the run), impress people(you have to build up a “bar”, then go around skating infront of people), etc.

Getting more into the stupid funny statement….personally, I don’t find most of it that funny, but perhaps some of you will. The comments are really stupid, the way they speak seems to making fun of people, how they act, etc. What I DO find funny is sledding down a hill, falling off the sled and watching my guy(the character your playing with) see his doom. Or even better yet, flying in the air(gliding or whatever), and turning it upside down and letting your character fall down…I just find it amusing how he falls and hits places to places, screams, and then wipes off the (imaginary)blood from his face.

In summary Amped is a fun game that should be rented and then decided upon if you should purchase or not.

Score: 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amped 3 is a must have!

posted by Chad711 (DALLAS, TX) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I personally have never played any of the first Amped games. I can say that this game is very fun and worth ever dollar. There is more then enough content in the game to keep you busy for months. Replay value is a biggy for me. I would rate the replay value of this game around a 8.5.



The bad. There is no way to tell how many events you have metals in on each mountain. You need to go to the main menu and look at your stats, which still do not break it down by each mountain. This would help when you are trying to find which areas you still need to carve up! To switch mountains you need to go back to the main menu. The seems a little ho-hum if you ask me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Shred Some Virtual Pow

posted by KingKeepo (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While not being as graphically next-gen as some had hoped, Amped 3 is extremely playable and a lot of fun.

From the awesome cut scenes, done with a great sense of humor and some neat design flair, to shredding the slopes and pulling off amazing tricks, this game doesn't fail to impress.

One of the most appealing things about the game is the "just one more go" factor. There are so many events, jumps, runs and storyline tasks that you just have to keep going back to get gold, and the variety is easily enough to keep you interested. Very playable indeed.

On the downside the controls were a little odd after playing through Amped 2, but that fixed itself after a while. Graphically it could have been better, but the game draws you in enough to make you not care. Some of the crash animations are a little ludicrous too...

All in all a very fun game, especially the events where you have to rack up a hospital bill by launching off a cliff and bouncing down the rocks.

Highly recommended - now grip it and rip it and rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game is not that great

posted by phillzy (EAST BRIDGEWATER, MA) May 20, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I played this game for a couple of hours and just got more bored over the minutes. It's an Okay game but its boring. If you really like to snowboard games i would recommend RENTING it but no matter what I wouldn't buy it. The graphics are good, the game plays boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Weirdest Snowboarding Game I Have Ever Played.

posted by rarrarrar (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Jun 22, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Amped 3 has got to be the weirdest and worst snowboarding game i have ever played in my life. First of all you start out in a pink bunny suite witch is so stupid, second the controls are very floaty meaning your character is unresponsive, and third it is just like the Tony Hawk Underground series. The comedy in the game is not funny and the cut scenes are stupid because they use clay figures instead of real graphics. The feel of the game is weird because there are some Nintendo characters thrown in and this is an XBOX 360 FOR GODS SAKE! There are weird characters when you choose to accept a challenge and the story of the game is stupid because you are trying to raise money to go to chile! The voice overs are average and nothing special at all. The graphics aren't even that great i mean this is supposed to be a next gen system and i just didn't see any of that in this game. My choice on the game would be to dump and go play something worthwhile like Call of Duty 2 or Ghost Recon Advanced War Fighter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More of the same

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Oct 26, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this series on the orig Xbox. Now its just kind of more of the same thing. It really hasnt brought anything new to the table, at all.

There are new mountians, but who cares, its all just a snowy hill isnt it? Im not saying thats a bad thing, but youve got to give us something new at this point to make it a worthy purchase or even rental.

Graphics are hardly nex-gen. You will barely notice a difference between the curent and the nex-gen versions in the series.

Gameplay is almost identical to previous versions, leaving the game with a serious stale taste in your mouth.

If your a die hard fan of this action sports titles you might like it as a rental. However, I wouldnt recomend it worthy of a purchase for any gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Slow and dissapointing

posted by DudeAbides (LIVONIA, MI) Jun 8, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have been a big SSX fan and was interested in checking amped out in the absence of my regular snowboard game. I foung the levels boring, the challenges were mediocre and never felt like I had good control over the boarder. The game lacked depth. It was a pain trying to figure out where to go on the mountain.
This has definitely boosted my support for the ssx franchise and I'm looking forward to their next gen release.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sweet

posted by brandon (SPOKANE, WA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game has realy good graphics but u need a hdtv to see this game shine gameplay is smooth its a very easy i had a bunch of fun just watching the game movies the cloth options are endless and cheats make the game funner i just did the cloths cheat the game has some funny parts and the achevements are easy to unlock i felt like a real snowboarder when playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

JOKE....

posted by jgkay2005 (INDIO, CA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is a joke right this game is weird but fun too it is pretty real for an snowboard game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring

posted by Vansman563 (EL PASO, TX) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 40 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

this game is pathetic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible Game.

posted by savagecyclopes (FORT BRAGG, CA) Feb 28, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This is just an overall terrible game, even when compared to other snowboarding games. Wouldn't recommend. I couldn't even play more than half an hour.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is not worth any time

posted by honorwolf1 (EDEN, VT) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

now when comparing this game to the the first amped all i can see is what a bad job they did this game has 1 nice thing you can back up the mountain with out starting the run over again thats it for this game they got rid of every thing that made amped good the story stinks and and there is not a need for 1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool game

posted by Rigo3220 (APO, AE) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

once you get the moves down, it turns out to be a fun game. it is also an easy game to get achievements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good

posted by debone (ELK GROVE, CA) Jan 18, 2010

Member since May 2008

This game was good, but not really though I've been told that SSX is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Does not comapre to SSX-3

posted by mdvx67 (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 1, 2009

Member since May 2006

Although SSX-3 must be six year old now, Amped 3 just does not cut it at 4 years old, game play is relativly terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

2 thumbs up, if I could bend my hands.

posted by Acclaimed (LEXINGTON, NC) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

GOOD:
Amped was a nice move off of the pavement if you are into skateboarding games. There is a good sense of speed through the environment. The story and videos are AWESOME. Lots of mixed media was used to create the cut scenes. I've never seen a game made like that. There are plenty of tricks to do but sometimes they happen so fast you don't know what you are really doing, this is especially evident in rail tricks.

BAD:
Honestly, I was achievement farming and I wanted to finish this game in a day, but it's not possible for my schedule. I forgot boarding games become a "how many tricks can you do in the air before you land while trying to spin as many times as you can". Those games totally blow out my hands and ends up in massive button mashing.

WORST:
The way your fingers feel by holding down the trigger buttons constantly to gain speed. Amped gave me arthritis.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOOD ENOUGH TO RENT

posted by NoobRecker (CAPE ELIZABETH, ME) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

its for sure a game u want to rent

JUST DO IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pretty Bad

posted by SBF456 (DOVER, MA) Jun 27, 2009

Member since May 2008

I played both Stoked and Amped 3 and personally, I thought Stoked was easily better. For one, Amped doesn't exactly have good graphics. In fact I thought they were terrable. Also, I thought the cut scenes would be funny but they are totally pointless and get VERY annoying. The only fun thing is all the sleds and the snowmobile you can ride but even that gets boring and the sleds are very difficult to balance. Finally, one of the worst things about the game is that when you start off, there are only about five or six tricks and you can do and you have to unlock the rest. Basically, I was just very dissapointed with this game and would easily recomend Stoked over Amped.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BOOOO

posted by SOLIDSTIX (MARTINEZ, CA) Apr 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

this game sucks big time
dont get it
it got boring in 10 minutes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse