Rent America's Army: True Soldiers for Xbox 360
view large frontback

America's Army: True Soldiers

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.3

2827 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If this is how they train soldiers...

posted by Blushark71 (MOUNT AIRY, MD) Dec 11, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

64 out of 74 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I have long considered myself a gamer and with over 32,000 achievement points I have played a "few" games. Imagine my surprise to play a game so poorly constructed it warranted a "1" score. The aiming mechanism is non-existent. Game play is slow and laborsome. I know our fine soldiers of America can hit the broadside of a barn so why can't I? The answer...because a sloppy version of the PC game was thrown together to make money. I couldn't even finish this game it was so bad. Don't rent this game it's not worth the energy to mail it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game

posted by xboxfreak2 (WAYNESBORO, PA) May 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible and disgusting to look at i got it today and sent it back today the campaign is stupid and the multiplayer is lame don't buy or rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

4 years ago, this game would have been pretty cool

posted by ZackyCakes (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Dec 3, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2002

63 out of 75 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Seriously, this game looks like it could have been released in 2004. If it came out then, reviews that give it an 8 for trying wouldn't seem so ridiculous.

The graphics are washed. I didn't know who was shooting at me, where it came from and forget about trying to return fire. Realistic training, realistic squad mechanics and realistic firefights are great if you have good AI (not here) and the visuals to back it up (not here either)

Rent Call of Duty 4 instead. Timeshift or Medal of Honor aren't great games, but much better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

aa

posted by LTjellybea (LAKELAND, FL) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is not a shooter. just becasue it has sucky online, if ur lookiong for a good shooter try cod4,3,2,1 they are all awesome 4 is the best by far

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont even bother....

posted by ANDYman (FENTON, MI) Apr 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yep!, just like all of the other reviews say this game is absolutely horrible. Lets start off with the good- The cover actually makes it look like something decent. The bad- The graphics, slim choice of weapons. The ugly- Very slow gameplay, your partners(other soldiers) in the game are stupid and do absolutely nothing but slow you down. You dont even get to use real bullets but paintballs, its easy to fail, and the eight missions you finally do get to play in are pointless. This game definately qualifies as one of the worst games of the year. Plz take my advice and dont even bother with this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I feel violated

posted by SKOOT2006 (MANSFIELD, TX) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Wow. What a piece of garbage. There are so many things wrong with this game that I'm not quite sure where to begin.

First, the good. I was not stupid enough to buy this game.

Now the bad. I was stupid enough to rent this game. I also lost a few hours of my life that I will never get back. The aiming mechanics for this game are down right horrible. Shoot from the hip and you miss (even at point blank). "aim" and your hands shake so much that its next to imposible to hit anything. Run and gun (aiming or not) and just forget it.. you won't hit anything.

The tutorial is just as flawed - for example - there are times when you need to crouch or go prone to pass your qualifier, but it doesnt tell you how to do it.. you have to figure it out all on your own.

The "story" (which is really just more training, but with paint balls) is horrid. It's not that its bad just shooting paint balls, its that there are no checkpoints. None. If you die in the last 2 min of the exercise (and that is usually where you will bite the bullet), you're hosed and have to do the entire 30-45 min "mission" all over again.

Online play may or may not be fun. No idea. Could never get a game going. But to be honest, I really didn't care.

Bottom line: Don't rent or buy. Don't even add it to your game library if someone offers to give it to you for free. Save yourself the irritation. There is nothing even slightly good about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game will kick you in your junk -

posted by Mattius (CARLSBAD, CA) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

39 out of 50 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game's so terrible you'll walk away from it feeling like you've been kicked in the junk.

This "game" is a virtual combat simulator of a TRAINING MISSION. I can't stress this enough: The Army created a video game simulation of a training exercise and released it for commercial consumption.

In this "wargame," you fight against AK-47 wielding scarecrows who rush towards you then sit down when you or your squadmates "shoot" them. They pose no threat of any kind to anyone or anything. In fact, I think they're just hired actors from the local community college.

You work with an M16 with no accessories. You cannot choose any other weapons, nor can you modify your weapon in any way, although you can work through your fireteam as a different specialist: a grenadier, a Squad Automatic Weaponier, a marksman with a bolt-action M24, or a team leader.

Your mission is to follow orders and attack stationary props using standard-issued army weaponry. That's right, each target is a stationary prop. It's a video game, yet the targets you destroy are 2-D props made from brown plywood.

You can also qualify with each weapon at the range.

The Army took all the boring parts of training - the lack of adrenaline, the waiting around, the obnoxious, over the top squad leader barking out cliches about steers and queers, the "dry run" walk-throughs, the lack of spontaneity from one's adversaries, the stifling stillness while each exercise is micromanaged in real time down to each detail, the cheesy, totally implausible tactics and gear used by the enemies - and turned it into a video game.

Just... wow. The Army could not have made a less appealing promotion of Army life than using props for targets and allowing for no personal discretion of any kind towards anything... IN A VIDEO GAME!

Worst. Marketing. Strategy. Ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game SUCKS!!!

posted by bilybrger1 (LOCUST GROVE, GA) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

if this game wuz made about 8 years ago it would get an 8.But... it wuznt. the graphics are terrible, the story line is pointless,an overall...SUCKISH game. to avoid wasting your time on this stupid game dont even put it in your games Q. you will thank me later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

America's Army: True Soldiers

posted by DAMADDCOW (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have served this country for over 8 years. This game is close in very little ways to actual life. This game could not have been reviewed by the active duty portion of the Army. It is missing a campaign or mission phase. Not worth playing more than once, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Better off with PC version

posted by Ortiz3 (CHOWCHILLA, CA) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game would even have a hard time making it as a board game. If this is how they train our troops then we would all be screwed. The multiplayer is the best part of the game and thats still horrible.To tell the truth download the pc version and give that a try its not the best game ever, but it beats this version hands down. Don't expect a Call of Duty game of this one its a waste of your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

America's Army

posted by Flint879 (ALTOONA, PA) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Pros:
-Finally, ported from the PC onto consoles
-Nice variety of weapons

Cons:
-Game play is very boring, had no story line or anything to that matter
-Very glitchy for a console game
-Controls are very awkward and sometimes don't respond
-Teammates take forever to do anything such as: heal you or move from place to place

Final Thought:
Honestly, this game isn't worth picking up on the consoles. Expect to be in a mission for about 30-45 minutes due to your teammates slowness when you could breeze through every mission in probably about 5-10 minutes without their help. Not worth a rental or purchase. Also, did I mention that this game was very boring?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Bad

posted by Tjg113 (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

What some people have said about this game made it sound bad(I played the demo before i read reviews) but I thought the demo was fun. When i got the full game it was so much better. I give this game an 8.9.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't expect COD4

posted by MikeF73 (NORWALK, CT) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

25 out of 39 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

If you go into this game expecting something like COD4, you'll be disappointed. It's not fast-paced, it doesn't have the same graphical polish, nor does it have the same depth in the "ranking" system that COD4 brings. Other than the military theme, they're really in completely different categories.

This game was created as something closer to a military simulator than an action game. And it succeeds at that goal better than anything else on the Xbox. They've taken the GRAW 2 engine and made it more realistic - no crosshairs on the screen, no third-person view, etc. Teamwork, communication, and real-world military tactics are the order of the day. You'll get nowhere running out on your own.

The game has some rough edges, and the single-player options are limited and frustrating at times due to quirky AI. The graphics and frame rate aren't the best, but they're more than good enough to get the job done. But the multiplayer is excellent and very deep. There are plenty of big, open maps and a variety of different game types similar to the options found in GRAW 2. Co-op is a big part of the game, and beyond the 8 campaign missions there are also a variety of other co-op game types to keep the replay value high. This game feels like Ghost Recon used to in the days before GR2.

If you're a fan of fast-paced action shooters, look elsewhere. You'll hate this game. If you like real-world tactics, and slower-paced tense action then give this one a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AA: True FAILURE!

posted by cbsmith (NOVATO, CA) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This is the WORST game I have EVER played on the xbox 360. Period. GameFly should take this game off their website, because people are going to feel that GameFly owes the renters money for trying this game out.

At first it looked cool...playing a game as a person in the U.S. Army. When I started playing it, I quickly realized that this game was slapped together with little thought or programming experience. I was ashamed to see this was a Ubisoft game, don't let that name fool you!

The graphics are flat and jumpy, you wait forever to finally get playing when you start off, you follow your leader around who doesn't seem to have a clue at all (horrible AI). Three times while playing, the game was so bugged that I had to restart from the beginning. The first time, I was shot 15 minutes into the game and then the medic would get stuck IN me and he couldn't heal me, game over. The second time, the second time I forget, but it sucked and I had to start over. The final draw was a mission where I got to the end and everyone just stood there... No enemies at all, orders to defend, and a guy sitting in the truck picking his nose. After 10 minutes the timer went to 0:00 and nothing happened. Game over! I couldn't stand looking at this game ever again. What a waste of time!

You can't even aim in this game unless you go back and forth with the right stick hoping to hit something. You cannot even change the sensitivity, what kind of game is this?!? Everything is so slow, the gameplay, changing weapons, running, crouching...

The Army was supposed to make a great game to encourage those to join the military and give a insider view to being in the military, right? This military failed you soldier!

If Americas Army is really like this game, we are in a heap of trouble.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

army simulations

posted by gnutss (SOUTH GLASTONBURY, CT) Feb 4, 2009

Member since May 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the whole game is about training in army simulations.you fire paint balls not bullets. game graphics and movment reloading ect is all good its the fact u dont have anymissions just training. its a horrible game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Waste of time-literally

posted by Soulja (BALLWIN, MO) Nov 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Pros: Great weapon sounds and realistic recoil and visual effects. Game "looks" very nice.

Cons: Excessively long tutorials and qualification missions with no fast forward option to get around the weapon descriptions. If you want to qualify with a perfect score, better do it on the first try because it is frustrating to try a second time.

Squad training AI is horrid. The squad AI is supposed to provide medic assistance if you go down, but thanks to countless "no pass" areas I found my squad getting stuck in bushes rather than coming to my aid. The same was true for fire support. Often times I would find myself as the only person in the squad pushing forward. I would lay out smoke and move to new cover only to find my squad watching from a distance and not moving. At other times they would rush in with no sense and get themselves killed. Really, the AI just killed the experience.

I wanted to give this a good honest try as I am new to console shooters. I spent my money on PC games for years before buying my xbox last month. But this game, it is actually WORSE than the PC original I played how many years ago. Graphically it took leaps, but as far as gameplay goes, after three hours of having to repeat mission one only to be killed in the same spot while my squad did nothing to support, I gave up. Not even a full day of play and it's already on its way back to gamefly. Boo for AA:True Soldier.

PS. It sounds petty, but after 8-10 qualifying missions on each weapon, scoring expert on each weapon, and the time invested just to be able to move on, I still have zero achievements from this game. I have to say that 20 points here or there may have enticed me to keep trying, but as I said, several hours of no actual progress and no achievements to boot, I was done!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dont touch the game without Xbox live

posted by Madden06 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

if the game didnt have online play, than it would probrably get a real low rating. But playing online w friends is the funnest game ive ever played in my life. You use strategy and teamwork more than any other game ive seen. For you halo lover w the "i got the sword so im gonna walk into a room and kill everything" mentality, dont get this game.

But for those of you who want strategy and realism, this is the shooter 4 you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

True Soldiers, Fake Combat, 20 minutes lost!!!

posted by SWATDUDE (HOLDEN, LA) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

If you played the first America's Army then turn away now! Eventhough the first game wasn't the greatest, at least it had some actual combat. Also you could actually work your way up to a Special Forces Operator. This game had me hyped up when I heard it was coming out because the screenshots looked pretty decent and I figured they would fix the problems from the first one. WRONG!!

The controls for the game are awful and for some reason my soldier starts breathing like he's making an obscene phone call when I take two steps!!! The graphics are so-so. Character animations stink(One drill sergeant looked like Howdy-Doody when he talked!).

The "Wargames" are just that...a game. No actual combat. In the first America's Army, you qualified or "trained with your weapon" and then could actually go into combat. You might as well play paintball!!!

I played this game for about 20 minutes(load time included) took it back out and put it in the Gamefly envelope for it's shameful trip back to be buried with all the E.T. cartridges in the secret landfill(wishful thinking!).

As a gamer I want to be entertained. Yeah, Yeah. I know real combat isn't fun or to be glorified but games are like movies. I want to escape for a while and enjoy myself. And when the movie's over I want to leave hoping they make a sequel. I applaude games that try to use realism but you gotta draw the line somewhere. That's why people watch COPS. They want the 30 minutes of action, not the 11 1/2 hours of BS calls(barking dog, noisy neighbor, harrasing phone call, my trash can has been stolen, etc.).

Do yourself a favor and rent Call of Duty 4 if you haven't already. I actually ended up buying that game from Gamefly before it even got to my house!! America's Army:True Soldiers just leaves you with a military shooter itch that only Call of Duty 4 can scratch. Now if only I could get those 20 minutes back!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

AA true soldiers

posted by prototypeq (SHAWNEE, KS) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is supposed to be the most realistic game about the army but its not at ALL! This game is horrible the online play is bad the offline play is bad the missions are bad everything about it is bad. i recommend if you are looking for a realistic modern warfare game get call of duty 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by gameflybal (JEROME, ID) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

there is no check ponts so if your allmost done and die then u lose

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Single Player Campaign / Story mode

posted by wolfeman07 (CLINTON, ME) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i hated the idea of not having a single player mode...if i had a choice of how i would have rated this game it would have been like a 0.05 but the lowest number you can rate is one so i gave it that... in the game the only thing you can do by yourself is the training/ qualifications... thats it everything else is all online or co-op... if the ARMY decides to make another game they might want to put a single player campaign in it for better reviews.

WolfeMan2007

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by Pmoneymcw (MIDDLEBURY, CT) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game sucked before......... but a glitch prevented me from beating basic training. Traded it back in next day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD IS NOT THE WORD

posted by Gamer2k (BRONX, NY) Mar 1, 2009

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I can't say one good thing about this game. I put it in played the first board and i think i tried to put my whole 360 in the return envelope to get it back to gamefly. horrible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Need to Enroll in this Army either

posted by Memphj33 (BURBANK, CA) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was worse than actually joining the army. From the beginning you can feel the controls being uncomfortable, the physics of the game maybe realistic but quite frustrating, the need to complete the game gets washed away after the first mission, and the rest is no different. I felt the need to give it a try and once I did I felt the need to send it right back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

THERE IS NO REAL CAMPAIGN IN THIS STUPID GAME!

posted by josh5703 (FRESNO, CA) Nov 1, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Sometimes bad games are fun to play but this one is very bad. Most of it is only combat training. The only real campaign is in multiplayer. Playing local play is not very fun neither is online. If you were forced to play this or Turing point fall of liberty or go to jail,go to jail it's more fun than both of these games. Like I said before sometimes playing bad games are fun but this one just sucks,so don't play it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse