Rent Amazing Island for GC
view large frontback

Amazing Island

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.6

509 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for a party game; don't play it alone!

posted by gerhard220 (WEST CHESTER, OH) Mar 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really fun; it's full of minigames that you can use to compete with friends to test your skills at timing, rapid button pressing, and creativity. Let your friends create their monsters and then get right into the Multiplayer Mode, accessible from the start screen. The story mode of this game, however, is relatively short and simple. Not saying that's a bad thing, but this game is ALMOST 100% for multiplayer purposes. Definitely a good game to play if you like to have friends over, pretty good, a little on the short side when you're alone. All in all, worth it to rent. Don't buy it, since it ends shortly after you start it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Amazing Island Creation

posted by Yoshi (FELTON, PA) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I find that Amazing Island allows a person to express themselves through the 'monsters' you create. You can do all kinds of things and pretty much make your 'monster' any way you want. It is child friendly and can be fun for anyone. It may not be the most fantastic game in the world, but it is something you can play if you want something simple and creative. It is also great if you want something you can play with younger family members; which is pretty rare in today's time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by kittyluver (DOVER, DE) May 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i did like this game it was really fun when u made the monsters and also the minigames were pretty fun as well but the problem with this game was that it ended short i beated this game in 1 day i just wish there was more to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Buga's Amazing Island Review

posted by Bugaman (NORFOLK, NE) Feb 19, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I think that this game has some good qualities, like the way you can make the shape of your monster. It is fun accessorizing your monster. Some of it's bad qualities is that the courses get pretty hard at the beginning for someone who is an amateur or has never played this game before. The second course alone is very hard. It took me about 13 tries to finish it. But it will attract many types of people who are creative or love mini games like from mario party. I give this game a 6 because I just love to create things. This is a good game and I suggest it to everyone. So good luck and play your hardest. Cya.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

amazing island

posted by gingin54 (SALEM, OR) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

i could not play the game cause i could not seem how to win any of the games it had not book to help me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Huh?

posted by StarShine (CORVALLIS, MT) Feb 21, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First, I have to say that I just rented the game because it sounded interested. Boy was I wrong.
Besides the long winded characters, it didn't give much to really shoot for.
The instructions for the "mini" games were lacking, the 2 tries to make it through ( or have to do them ALL over ) was a bit sad.

Rent if you wish, but for me ... its being returned as soon as the mail carrier can get here for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Amazing Island Review

posted by i192837465 (BIG LAKE, MN) May 18, 2008

Member since May 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I think this game has an okay story-line but lacks many aspects a Stratergy game needs. This game is somewhat similar because of it's creatures, but is quite original other than that. I would not recommend this game to GameFly members but it's any okay game. It lacks too many things and it's kind of short. I beat it in about 3 hours. For those reasons I give this game a 4 out of ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rent it

posted by QScene (RALEIGH, NC) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is fun but the only fn part is making monsters so don't buy it rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Don't Bother Buying it...

posted by Wosnom (HILLSBORO, OR) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Here are some good things and bad things about this game...

Good: It's fun to create monsters, it's affordable and... that's it...

Bad: It's short, it's too easy, it's not fun to play after the game, and the gameplay is childish...

In short, don't buy it unless you're 6 years old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Amazing Island

posted by ykbane (PRINCETON, WV) Apr 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game is very weird...The only fun part is creating monsters. Also, the black whatever is a lima bean!!! If battling beans is interesting to you, rent it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

:(

posted by amydurr10 (RIDGEDALE, MO) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Waterskip Slider is hard and i cant pass it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I couldn't even PLAY it!

posted by TPDX (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I couldn't even PLAY the game! No, really! I tried to! I pressed the on button, went through the first part of the story, named my character, he had the dream, went to the island and walked over to the area where you meet the first characters and it totally crapped out on me! I tried resetting the GameCube, I wiped the disc clean (which was covered in scratches!!!) and I still couldn't play! It said to refer to the GC owner's manual but my console works fine. So in short, here is a lesson gamers, TAKE CARE OF THE DISCS/CARTRIDGES!!! Heck, lock them up when you aren't using them if you have to! Have your mom ground your little brother for scratching up the game disc you rented! Just keep them in playing condition. And wash your hands, kids! ._.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring!!!

posted by Gameingspade (NORTH BRANCH, MN) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This game is boing. The start makes no sense.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Extreme...

posted by TheLuigi (MORRISVILLE, PA) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Ugh... Amazing Island. One game that actually has to go on my top hating list. As you can tell, this game is for kids. 9-year olds at most.
But the game was so diffucult that a 21 year-old could not beat.

THE GAME IS IMPOSSIBLE

I couldnt believe how stupid and hard this game was. You pop into a storybook, no explantion, and have to defeat evil on an island with monsters you create. Sounds okay, right? WRONG.

The monsters you create can be made by personality questions or yourself. These "questions" never answer with right monster. Its EXTREMELY easy to tell that after the questions, they just randomly give out an ugly monster.
So ugly... you want to make another, but its still ugly. If you draw it yourself... good luck. To make a good-looking monster you have to be a proffesional videogame artist to do so. Its hard, folks.

The gameplay... oh yeah IMPOSSIBLE. The game is divided into parts of the island, everytime you defeat a tournament of minigames you get to go to another part.

But believe me, you'll never beat the second without tearing out your hair or smashing your TV.

The whole gameplay is minigames. No actual fighting(then why am I making monsters to do this?). You get three tries to not lose a minigame or do them all over again. The rules of the minigames seem long, making you think your ready, but no.

The first tourney includes a game where you have to tap a button REALLY fast then charge up a jump, leap into the air... and tap buttons at he right time to skip on water.

This alone took me three Gameovers("Oh no! Try again?" Be QUIET!!!!) to get an okay score on, let alone actually beat.

All minigames have to do with timing, and how fast you can press a button.
Cons - the game moves slower than you can a touch a button, so timing is always off (what???!!!?? I pressed that button! Why didn't it work??? Gameover! AHHHHHHHH!).

Button-mashing requires you to press buttons so fast you cannot do it. You cant.

And the story? Please, there is none.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

YOU NEED A NEW ONE OF IT !!!!

posted by pennyi1 (LANSING, MI) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

YOU NEED A NEW ONE OF IT !!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

...i love this game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by clawber (JONESTOWN, TX) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

you all should get this game its better than it look a awsome monster creating game and every time i get mad at the game i just calm down by creating monsters and the bad guy i'm not telling you you will just have to see for your self...... or just look at the screen shots or something

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »