Rent Alvin & the Chipmunks for Wii
view large frontback

Alvin & the Chipmunks

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, DS
GF Rating
3.8

423 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

Waste Of Time

posted by lazipcode (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bad execution. Simple games can still be fun if they make sense. First impressions make you think you'll be moving to the rhythm of the songs. Maybe get the feeling of playing the drums or something. Not so. Your only task is to move the controllers as floating stars pass over their targets. But they don't even go with the beat of the song. This is more evident with video mode where I picked a slow song and Alvin was jumping all over the stage like he was throwing down heavy metal. Seems like this game was rushed for movie marketing purposes only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

i haated it

posted by ppostar (WESTMINSTER, CO) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok i dont say this about alot of games but this one is really bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad but controls hamper it

posted by AwesomeAJ1 (NATCHITOCHES, LA) Apr 7, 2008

Member since May 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off I just want to say that I love the Chipmunks. I've loved the Chipmunks for as long as I can remember. I was in the mood for some Chipmunks music so I rented this game.

Music--
I'd definitely have to give the music selection a 10 in my book. The songs are great and they sound good coming from the Chipmunks. The music is this game's redeeming quality. It also doesn't hurt that the Chipmunk's voices are done by the VAs that did the cartoon.

Gameplay--
As in all music games you have to hit (or as in this game, swing) a button at a certain time in the rhythem of the music. Well the problem with this game is, they decided to stick the button icons in the four corners of the TV. Unless you have a really tiny TV screen, you won't be able to see all four corners of the screen and thus you will be missing quite a few notes. The controls are also clunky. The bottom two corners use the nunchuck and the Remote and when the icons match up, you swing eiter the remote or nunchuck. Well the top two corners use B + Remote and C + Nunchuck, and there are times it doesn't recongnize that you are holding down the button so when you swing, it thinks you are trying to do the bottom two. If it wasn't for the fact that the game is crazy easy, then it would be almost completely broken.

Overall, I would say that it's a good rental. When things are working, the game is a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Alvin and the chipmunks

posted by greenfrogg (Oswego, NY) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rented it for a day and brought it back. If you play raymond rabbits 1 or 2 it is nothing like it. Other than the music tunes it is really bad. The controls, there are four colored stars that represent controls you must do. Only problem is the song plays and there are stars that go to the stars you need to get. To get them, when they go over the colored stars you just move or press the controller. Well, the controls dont register half the time and it does not go to the beat. It is just a bunch of stars and you have to hope you get them in time. Since the game was made,tested,and produced 100% before the movie I assume a rush job was put on this game. Sve your rental and pass on this one. An old nintendo game is better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best

posted by spiderman3 (CINCINNATI, OH) Apr 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

i no that sum of you hate it but you thed not see the ponit

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one good game

posted by sweety (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

i enjoyed playing this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't waste your time with this TERRIBLE game!

posted by tjepaustin (GANSEVOORT, NY) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This game is the worst game I have ever played. You basically move your hands to the beat of the song. BORING!!! I am so glad I didn't actually buy this stupid game. Seriously, don't waste your time with this garbage. If you think it's harsh, it's really not. It is definitely the truth.
I live in a family of 4 kids (including me). Ages are 5, 7, 9, and I'm 11. This is the dumbest, worst, most terrible game (and all the other "insulting" words in the English dictionary) I have EVER played/watch.

NEVER BUY/WATCH/PLAY THIS GAME!!! IT IS THE WORST!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rock Band rip off

posted by Daddyof2 (EAST SYRACUSE, NY) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is pretty bad. It would have been better if they followed the movie. This game tries to be rock band with all the songs from the movie, and way easier. This game may be fun for real young kids, but even my 5 year was bored after 10 minutes. I would pass on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Who wasted their time designing this?

posted by dolphin3 (CORAM, NY) Oct 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

This game is the worst video game I have ever came across. The overall point and play of the game is not even worthy of your time. I really don't see a child being able to get the hang of this game. I did not even torment my kids by showing them this game after playing it myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of time!!!

posted by erratic08 (MIDLAND, TX) Jul 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

Do not rent this game for your kids! Being the Chipmunks, I thought my boys (6 & 9) would love it... but they hated it. Needless to say, it was back in the mail within 30 minutes!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

generic guitar hero

posted by PMap99 (WALLED LAKE, MI) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Just like the title says. It is similar to GH. Except you dont need a guitar. I always have a great time whilst playing this game. I do agree with others that some songs go to the beat while others just kind of...go.
If you dont have a guitar and need something rated G, this will work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad

posted by neilee (CENTRAL CITY, SD) Jun 4, 2008

Member since May 2008

I literally played this game 15 minutes after the waiting through the long beginning. I thought it would be fun playing story mode but all it did was make me sit and shake the Wii remote and nunchuck to different beats in the song. I didn't do well because if you shook the remote to hard it destroyed the stars behind it which gave me a worse score.

I don't know who thought story mode meant going through songs and sitting there shaking a remote without an actually story but they should be fired.

All in all I would say don't waste your time with this game or take up space in your game Q it isn't worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for 30 mins

posted by whitneylei (SUMMERTOWN, TN) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

It's a good game. It has some really good music to play to, but after a half hour I was over it. My 5 year old had a pretty good time with it. But it got too hard once you had to do all four drum beats so he lost interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad!

posted by bestgamer1 (BARRINGTON, RI) Jan 23, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

good gamers don't play these types of games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »